Woman King [EP] - Iron & Wine
Woman King [EP] Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sam Beam's latest release is a 6-track EP recorded with Brian Deck.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 91
    His loosest, most inspired set yet. [Mar 2005, p.86]
  2. Woman King is, in essence, the sound of a songwriter with an intuitive grasp on his craft, swiftly acknowledging the studio's crucial supporting role in his songs' structure and rearing.
  3. Woman King is the sound of Iron & Wine becoming a band; the sound of a singer-songwriter taking that all-important step forward; the sound of a group refusing to slip into the trap of staleness and homogeneity.
  4. Woman King subtly opens the sonic palette up to include more percussion, piano, and wait is that an electric guitar?
  5. [It] hints at a more complex approach to songwriting without abandoning the qualities that made us pay attention in the first place.
  6. While his latest EP... explores newer textures... it continues to harness what is becoming Beam's signature sound. [#9]
  7. His world-music diversions should challenge even those who aren't pedestrian Iron & Wine fans--but that's what EPs are for, right? [Apr 2005, p.116]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. [Anonymous]
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    Iron & Wine's finest work. Not a bad song on it. I just wish it was longer.
  2. TomasM
    May 1, 2005
    10
    I think this release has changed the Iron & Wine style from Our Endless Numbered Days. It's more focused, a little less washy. It really I think this release has changed the Iron & Wine style from Our Endless Numbered Days. It's more focused, a little less washy. It really reminds me of where Jason Molina is taking his music with the new Magnolia Electric Company stuff - a little heavier, more definite riffs, very reminiscent of Neil Young and his time with Crosby Stills and Nash. Personally, I love this change, I really think it focuses Iron and WIne's obvious songwriting talent and makes the payback more immediate. I came away with a much stronger initial impression than when I bought the other two albums. The Woman King EP really blew me away. Expand
  3. HarryH
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Jezebel is the upmost enspiring song i've heard by Iron&Wine yet.
  4. AnneL
    Feb 23, 2005
    9
    I love this EP. I didn't know if I would like Iron and Wine with electric guitars, etc, but somehow it still works. Each song is I love this EP. I didn't know if I would like Iron and Wine with electric guitars, etc, but somehow it still works. Each song is awesome, but Jezebel really stands out. Expand
  5. JohnR
    Apr 6, 2005
    9
    Another stellar Iron & Wine release, with not a wasted note. Excellent ep.
  6. ChrisC
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    I like this a *lot* better than Endless Numbered Days. It has everything that was good about Endless Numbered Days, but with more energetic, I like this a *lot* better than Endless Numbered Days. It has everything that was good about Endless Numbered Days, but with more energetic, engaging songwriting. I can't wait for Beam's next full album, if this is a preview. Expand
  7. RavingLunatic
    Apr 2, 2005
    4
    Jezebel is still fantastic, and In My Lady's House is pretty good, but the rest just bites. These songs are not good. I've listened Jezebel is still fantastic, and In My Lady's House is pretty good, but the rest just bites. These songs are not good. I've listened to them several times, and they still do not come close to connecting. I think everyone is so anxious to give Sam Beam plaudits for changing up his style that they've overlooked the stale songs. Buyer beware. Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews