• Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: Mar 5, 2013
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    60
    While some songs are utterly slow paced, they are obscured by the strength of the aforementioned tracks as well as “The Fall” and “Last Dance.”
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    60
    It's all as plush and spotless as hotel bedding--lovely, but it may leave you craving a bit a mess. [Apr 2013, p.109]
  3. 50
    The monotone pace is lifted by the sprightly ‘3 Days’, but ultimately Woman is cloyingly pedestrian.
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    40
    It all comes across as fairly overwrought, working very hard to sound effortless and losing its sense of self in the process.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    It´s amazing to see that reviewers are comparing Milosh´s voice a man) to Sade´s one without being amazed about it! The perfect example thatIt´s amazing to see that reviewers are comparing Milosh´s voice a man) to Sade´s one without being amazed about it! The perfect example that shows that the concept of genders does not really exist nowadays. But, taking apart the similarities with Sade´s earlier works and her smooth ability to sing love as nobody did it until today, this project is a sort of what Sade could have done ultimately with a more organic and warm instrumentation. These guys are inspired by someone who certainly impacted them when they were teenagers, the only ex-model that really managed to have some credibility as a sensual and awesome singer. I don´t think that they´ve only reproduced what flipped them out. They are the owners of a special sound, sensual as the one that nobody managed to reach until now. Rhye exists, it´s for real and their concert for the boilery ballroom proves that they are not a counterfeit! Full Review »
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Soothing vocals, you can hardly believe it's a man singing. It's a very sensual and relaxing album, but there are also catchy choruses.Soothing vocals, you can hardly believe it's a man singing. It's a very sensual and relaxing album, but there are also catchy choruses. Without a doubt one of the best we'll hear this year!!!! Full Review »
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    From the first time I saw the cover for Woman, I told myself I'm listening to this album immediately. t didn't take me long to fully fall inFrom the first time I saw the cover for Woman, I told myself I'm listening to this album immediately. t didn't take me long to fully fall in love with this record. It's a quick, half an hour gem that holds some of the most beautiful, potent indie pop music I've heard in quite some time. The sounds are slightly minimal, but very smooth and jazzy, while the vocals are incredibly stunning. Every tracks holds it's own ans as a full album sounds very cohesive and structured perfectly.

    All In All, Rhye craft a fantastic debut record. It's refreshing and sometimes simple, yet utterly captivating. A-
    Full Review »