Wonderland Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second full-length solo release from the former member of The Former Alliance, Erick Berglund.
  • Record Label: Modular Recordings
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Club/Dance, Indie Electronic, Alternative Dance
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 91
    Each spin offers a chance for escape, but what endows Berglund’s sophomore effort with the glow of a masterpiece is its accessibility.
  2. Feb 5, 2014
    In rightly avoiding the sweeping, anthemic electro jams of compatriots like Robyn and Niki and the Dove, Berglund offers an unpretentious and hypnotic listening experience, the kind of album that allows its audience to be a member of a nameless, nebulous crowd immersing itself in pure street spectacle.
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    Like a violent assault by a Moshi Monster, it's fluffy, frightening and utterly overwhelming. [Apr 2014, p.105]
  4. 75
    There’s an abundance of ideas packed into these pop songs, and Berglund’s ear for melodies and harmonies, as well as piecemeal-sampled grunts, yelps, and hollers make for an exotically infectious whole.
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    While Berglund still seems intent on taking a sideways swipe at pop culture, his sophomore album Wonderland is full of elegant contradictions, bridging the gap between bratty and Balearic.
  6. Jan 31, 2014
    The world of CEO remains an intriguing, if frustrating, place.
  7. His taste for sonic jumble can be overwhelming.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    Brings a bit more of indie Electronica here than previous record. Some Animal Collective worship here for sure. Overall though, a lot of the songs are way too dense, fruity and colorful and they're pretty basic as well. Produced very well, but the vocals are too fluffy. I do find some of the softer moments nice, but it's just too simple and disguises itself as something more complex on the surface when it's not deep down. Expand