Wonky - Orbital
Wonky Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth album for the British techno band is its first since 2004's Blue Album and the duo reforming in 2008.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    Wonky restores the Hartnolls' reputation among electronic music's greats. [May 2012, p.103]
  2. Apr 2, 2012
    It's further proof that Orbital aren't content to stand still and rest on the laurels that have made them ones to watch at festivals. 'Wonky' as an album is sexy, smart, and filled with all the potential to smash the competition.
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    Wonky is Orbital's most pop album; it's supremely, relentlessly, even ruthlessly melodic, and laden with irresistible momentum throughout.
  4. 70
    Is this the best album of Orbital's career? Certainly not. But it is their best album in the past 15 years.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    Wonky is the sound of what a band has learned along the way. [Jun 2012, p.160]
  6. Apr 10, 2012
    Wonky finds the head-lamped pair still hitting those marks [being innovative within the confines of electronic music], even if it isn't quite as revelatory now. [No. 86, p.56]
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    Wonky is a work full of many flaws and too few shining moments, but as ammunition for the obvious tours to follow, there's enough here to be effective enough in a large enough setting.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 11, 2012
    After an all-too-long hiatus, the Hartnoll brothers are back with a vengeance. Wonky is a powerful album, perhaps more powerful than anything they've released since their heyday. The production is impeccable, and Flood's mixing skills are put to good use here, extracting every essence out of every beat and bleep, creating a tapestry of sound both immediately approachable and with a panorama of hidden depth. The songs themselves are very varied, ranging from the dance floor hits of Wonky, Beelzedub and Stringy Acid to the more ethereal and soundtrack-friendly mood pieces like Never, One Big Moment and Distractions. The arch, from the first song to the last, is very strong, with only one questionable choice thrown in the mix - namely, the Zola Jesus collaboration, New France, which is interesting but ultimately an ill fit to the flow of the album - and the momentum of emotion and energy leaps from one high to another high, with the quirky ease of an acid-tripping, Kraftwerk-loving butterfly.

    This is their best album this side of the millennium, and a fantastic return to form to the original innovators of electronic home-listening music. They have produced something more than a dance album. Sure, it takes elements from current trends, like Dubstep and electro-house, but it sounds uniquely Orbital and very much like a logical progression to their work in the 1990's, in that it combines beat-oriented and dancefloor-friendly machinations with an audiophile's fascination with aural detail and a dedication to emotionally dictated musical architecture. Highly recommended.
  2. Aug 26, 2014
    Been a fan of Orbital for a long time and this, possibly their last album, is an awesome addition to their discography. Two or three songs aren't as a good as the others but the first and last songs are so good that, if this is their last album, I'm completely satisfied. Expand
  3. May 26, 2012
    Album Orbital - "Wonky" could surprise positively. Overall it is in fact a very ear-catching electronic music which is a combination of dubstep, techno and hause. The songs are distinctive - primarily through the instrument add-ons evident in songs such as "Never","One Big Moment" or the longest and somewhat experimental "Distractions". Album that is worth noting. Expand