Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 75
    The most relevant debut album the Idol machine has cranked out in years, and it nicely justifies this particular WGWG's [White Guy With Guitar's] burgeoning career.
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    71
    Phillips sounds natural enough within that [Dave Matthews Band] style, more acolyte than imitator, which makes the album one of the more engaging champion debuts in the show's inconsistent history.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    70
    Phillips may be an artist of just a few ideas, but he believes in them. And he's not afraid to use them over and over.
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    50
    If you don't listen closely, it goes down easy, but listening with just a slightly critical ear reveals those similarities [to Dave Matthews] as near farcical.
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    50
    The World from the Side of the Moon is ultimately a polite, conservative album that balances Phillips's genuine affection for roots music with the commercial bent that comes with being part of the American Idol franchise.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    He's far better in originals like "Gone, Gone, Gone" and his hit "Home," which build from folksy picking to hooting power-ballad choruses, a pleasantly popified take on Arcade Fire. Those songs are redundant too--but the tunes leaven Phillips' overbearing self-seriousness.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    As the 11th winner of American Idol, we all thought that that show cannot produce more artist with the likes of Kelly Clarkson and CarrieAs the 11th winner of American Idol, we all thought that that show cannot produce more artist with the likes of Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood. But this 'white guy on guitar' proved us wrong. "The World From The Side of the Moon" is by far the strongest debut album by an 'Idol' winner to date. Almost every track on the album is written by 'Phillips' himself, and considering that it is well-written. "Gone, Gone, Gone" is my favorite track from the album and SHOULD be a single. The track celebrates love and all the other things you would do for it. Accompanied by an anthem-ic chorus which would leave listeners mesmerized by this tune. "like a drum my heart never stops beating for you" - mine to, Phillip. Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    What a wonderful time for this album/CD comes out. Just in time for Christmas!! "The World From The Side of the Moon" is one of the bestWhat a wonderful time for this album/CD comes out. Just in time for Christmas!! "The World From The Side of the Moon" is one of the best written, soulful and sung that is right up there with Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood. Here Phillip Phillips did in just a not even a year as what these awesome ladies as done. Phillips and his musicians as really out done themselves. I and most of his Phanatics do see a great deal of awards in his future. We love how in his life he brings other future artists in. All in all Phillip Phillips is an all around star. Not just musically but as a human being. We love Phillip Phillips and we are very Proud of him here in Albany/Leesburg Georgia!!! Kudos!!! I rate Him a 10 all the way!!! Full Review »
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    4
    This album is nothing but a Munford & Son/Dave Matthews clone. Nothing new or original. Not really impressed with any track on the record.This album is nothing but a Munford & Son/Dave Matthews clone. Nothing new or original. Not really impressed with any track on the record. Phillips doesn't have that great a voice with limited range, but that doesn't stop anyone in the industry today with the likes of the invention of autotune. Full Review »