User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 78
  2. Negative: 7 out of 78

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. neillm
    Mar 17, 2005
    0
    Tha album is disappointingly average and deserves 0 for the cover alone. Disgusting
  2. BrianM
    Jan 25, 2005
    3
    So let me get this straight: the Trail of Dead release a monster epic and then proceed to release the worst followup in the history of albums? After listening to this CD, I just feel like the band doesn't care anymore. So why should I?
  3. JRossi
    Apr 1, 2005
    5
    A huge disappointment considering TOD's other albums. Unfocused, half-realized, a black mark on the band.
  4. TimD
    Jan 25, 2005
    1
    Trail of dead have released the biggest artistic failure of the year (we can only hope). Let us cry for the death of a truly monsterous band.
  5. KyleK
    Jan 28, 2005
    0
    They can't do anything right
  6. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Nice piece of work. I don't want to write a review that would mean that I would have to listen to it right now, I do not want to right now, but this is still a 10 love it. Is that enough characters now,
  7. joris
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    One word: woooooooooow Source tags and Codes was good, but is musically not much compared to this masterpiece... just listen to Cauterwaul or To Russia My Homeland 11/10
  8. AwenL
    Jan 29, 2005
    8
    A bit heteroclite: seems torned between an old and a new(?) Trail of Dead. Felt a bit disappointed after the first listening, mainly/only because it's 'different' from the 2 lasts albums, but the fourth or fitfh session convinces me (they're honest, they're good). And it's in loop now.
  9. rickcoe
    Feb 14, 2005
    9
    one of the best albums i've heard in ages , anyone who has given it a bad review just hasnt heard it enough. Each song has it's own sound from punk angst and chill out pink floyd/ beatles sounds.
  10. ChrisM
    Feb 9, 2005
    8
    Though not as structurally sound as "Source Tags", "Worlds Apart" makes up for its lack of cohesion in its constant striving for new sounds and forms, from surging orchestral epics to wistful indie to visceral rock. A must have.
  11. jasonf
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    fucking rocks new good sound
  12. NAXOS.A.
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    It's so beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  13. JayW
    Apr 3, 2005
    8
    Very nicely done! Combines the trademark jaggedness alongside a strange concept album meets broadway feel. Check it out!
  14. VictorP
    Sep 27, 2006
    8
    Despite numerous slanderous reviews that call for the collective heads of all members of the trail of dead, this album actually is quite a good listen and is one that grows on you the more you play it. If you're a fan of the trail of dead, definitely take the time to listen and appreciate Worlds Apart taking it only for what it is, a change of direction.
  15. matto
    Jan 20, 2005
    7
    Though this isnt as good as Source Tags & Codes and at first listen i thought it was terrible it does grow on you a little bit, nonetheless though it still isnt a master piece or that good of a CD in general.
  16. JoanneB
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Listening to World's Apart (the song) for the first time was a revelation comparable to hearing Float On (Modest Mouse) or All These Things That I Have Done (Killers) or Bleeding Powers (Ted Leo) initially - there is an immediate, visceral response to the presence of real genius.
  17. andrewr
    Feb 11, 2005
    3
    worlds apart is completely different from source tags and codes. the problem is that its also mostly bad. caterwaul stands out as the only song to really embrace the good finishing stylez of stac and is actually a good song. the rest arent,
  18. NickV
    Feb 1, 2005
    9
    Let's be clear about this, Trail Of Dead's started good, got better with Madonna and found perfection with Source Tags. Yeah, they could have made another Source Tags, but instead opted to give us a new sound that brings together the best of classic rock, indie, noise, and classical to create the most inspirational albums in a long while. And if you think they lost their edge, Let's be clear about this, Trail Of Dead's started good, got better with Madonna and found perfection with Source Tags. Yeah, they could have made another Source Tags, but instead opted to give us a new sound that brings together the best of classic rock, indie, noise, and classical to create the most inspirational albums in a long while. And if you think they lost their edge, just go see them live, they're still destructive maniacs. Expand
  19. JarkkoS
    Feb 16, 2005
    9
    Very, very good rock album
  20. JeffH
    Feb 2, 2005
    9
    Great stuff from a great band. Instead of burying vocals now there on top, instead of burying the melodies now there on top. In a way, it's Source Tag's & Codes turned inside out or in reverse. When you think of it that way, it's a mini stroke of genius.
  21. StephenB
    Feb 2, 2005
    5
    Disappointing album. Only a couple of songs are really at the level we expect out of AYWKUBTTOD. The album as a whole lacks the level of intensity of their last one. Plus there are a couple truly AWFUL moments on here ('The Best' starts off good, then goes into the crapper with an embarrassing final chorus). There's nothing wrong with venturing into new sonic territory, but Disappointing album. Only a couple of songs are really at the level we expect out of AYWKUBTTOD. The album as a whole lacks the level of intensity of their last one. Plus there are a couple truly AWFUL moments on here ('The Best' starts off good, then goes into the crapper with an embarrassing final chorus). There's nothing wrong with venturing into new sonic territory, but too many of their experiments fail to match the quality and energy of their previous albums. Not a total waste of time, but more is expected from these guys. Expand
  22. WillH
    Feb 7, 2005
    8
    If you are looking for a repeat of "Source Tags" you are in the wrong place....This is a mature progression for the band and is an epic work.
  23. declanm
    Mar 24, 2005
    8
    i havent heard any other of there music but was impressed with the album as i found it refreshing and am a little surprised with some of the bad press recieved at the end of the day its a feel good rock album period
  24. Mark
    Apr 5, 2005
    4
    Loved ST&C but this is a very disappointing release. Sounds like they tried half-heartedly to grow since ST&C but after 3 years you'd think if they were actually any good they would put something more accomplished than this out.
  25. JohnR
    Apr 6, 2005
    5
    NME nailed this one- 'Worlds Apart' reads like a suicide note of a band that's tried to intellectualise its place in the canon of Western music and, in doing so, recognised its own irrelevance.' How a band that seemingly understood pure emotion like no other (Source Tags feels so far away) overeach this badly is beyond me. There's a few good areas, but... ugh.
  26. KyleA
    May 30, 2005
    9
    If Source Tags was an accidental rock epic, Worlds Apart is the purposeful one. Is it the lesser album? For this reason, somewhat. Are the songs just as fantastic? Absolutely. "The Rest Will Follow" and "Let It Dive" can rank with "How Near, How Far" and "Relative Ways" any day.
  27. Josh
    Jun 25, 2005
    10
    Maybe their best work
  28. kevink
    Jan 9, 2007
    9
    I was surprised this got much lower reviews than Source Tags. This album has more energy and is to me an easier listen. The second track, which truly starts the album, just comes at you with such intensity and power. 'And The Rest Will Follow' is such an epic battle-sounding song, if that makes any sense. I just love it and I love the energy this band has. Wish I could see them I was surprised this got much lower reviews than Source Tags. This album has more energy and is to me an easier listen. The second track, which truly starts the album, just comes at you with such intensity and power. 'And The Rest Will Follow' is such an epic battle-sounding song, if that makes any sense. I just love it and I love the energy this band has. Wish I could see them live. Bravo Expand
  29. CaseyP
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    I was amazingly surprised at the overall negativity of the professional criticism. There's always the question of personal taste, so it makes no difference to me. I found this album beautifully fulfilling. It's epic and wide scope sweeps over me every time I listen to it. Each and every song finds it's own place on this album, each and every song destroying the I was amazingly surprised at the overall negativity of the professional criticism. There's always the question of personal taste, so it makes no difference to me. I found this album beautifully fulfilling. It's epic and wide scope sweeps over me every time I listen to it. Each and every song finds it's own place on this album, each and every song destroying the preconception made by the previous. Overall, the album is amazing, and contnues to make me listen over and over. Expand
  30. GöstaJ
    Jan 21, 2005
    9
    My god! This album is sooooo good! At least the first 5 songs. The best part is when he says "Fuck you man!" to the happy children.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Alternative Press
    60
    The least pretentious--and most accessible--thing AYWKUBTTOD have ever released. That's probably because it sounds a lot like your record collection. [Feb 2005, p.92]
  2. Filter
    92
    This is the best album Trail of Dead has ever made. [#13, p.94]
  3. Simply put, 'Worlds Apart' is a delicately violent piece of art.