• Record Label: Motown
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2003
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NseE
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Awesome!! There are just 8 tracks on this cd but you hardly notice due to the lenght of the songs, as well as the twists and turns they take (point in case, 'I want you' with it's rock guitar finale). Standouts include 'Iwant you', 'Back in the day', 'Love of my life worldwide', 'Bump it', 'The grind', 'Danger', Awesome!! There are just 8 tracks on this cd but you hardly notice due to the lenght of the songs, as well as the twists and turns they take (point in case, 'I want you' with it's rock guitar finale). Standouts include 'Iwant you', 'Back in the day', 'Love of my life worldwide', 'Bump it', 'The grind', 'Danger', 'Woo', 'Think twice'.. that's the whole cd! Might not be a very commercial cd, but very very good! Expand
  2. mayaNN
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    Im freakin lovin this one- I think it has made its way to my desert island top 10- you can feel some of the chaka khan influence in some of the tracks
  3. DamienR
    Oct 26, 2003
    9
    Love the cd, with the exception of Love of My Life Worldwide...
  4. DuncH
    Jan 9, 2004
    9
    This is a fruity confection which has a positive summery groove. A little indulgent perhaps but so few other artists could pull this off - she has the best voice around.
  5. MichaelD
    Feb 9, 2004
    10
    Astonishing
  6. hayleya
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    Beautiful.......
  7. ZoeshaMountain
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    I don't care what anyone says. You shouldn't judge a CD by the review. Listen to it for yourself and let your own mind decide! The CD is the bomb
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. May 27, 2011
    75
    At times sprawling and eccentric enough to have her schooling a fictional audience on the flute-accented "Woo," this melding of old-school funk, jazzy instrumentation and dancey bleeps nevertheless flows well.
  2. The sad fact is that this rarely makes good on the promise of 2000’s masterful Mama’s Gun.
  3. Although sometimes her reliance on mood threatens to get the better of Worldwide Underground, Badu remains faithful to the old school of flow, a blend of drums and rhythm designed to service soul's best instruments: its vocalists.