Wrapped in Red

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 10 out of 54
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    Kelly's best ever. Reminds us of why we voted for the singer on Idol. Best producers, incredible production, fantastic selection of songs- remaining eclectic while showing renditions of the classics like we've never heard before. Even the original songs sound better than any filler track you'd hear on the standard album. So pleasing. The ruby in Kelly's library.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Normally I really don't like christmas song but Kelly.. Oh my God she has really amazing voice. Really good job Kelly you deserve best wishes. I always listening this album and this feels like already Christmas
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    The production is flawless and it provided the atmosphere Kelly needed to express her musicality. Besides, amazingly well-arranged. She definitely got it right.
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    This is probably one of the best Christmas albuns presented in recent years. The repertoire of christmas classics together the powerful and gentle voice of Kelly, makes this record unique and wonderfull.
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    Her favorite album, but also one of the best Christmas album ever. Her voice sounds like an angel on Earth bringing peace to everyone. Kelly definitely shows why she is the original American Idol and has the most solid career we've ever seen of one contestant whose won a reality show.
  6. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Vocally, Kelly Clarkson never lets you down and this Christmas Album is no exception. Lead single "Underneath the Tree" is a Christmas keeper and "Wrapped in Red" shows a now mature and robust sound. I cannot stop listening to this album and certainly putting me in the X-Mas sprit. Well done Kelly and much success with this. Acrown to your recent marriage and expected baby. Again, well done!!
  7. Nov 17, 2013
    4
    Eh, Don't know about this one. In my opinion, she has gotten blander over the years and her voice is not as appealing as it used to be. I know that she will slay this album when she performs it live but I can't listen to this after hearing her other albums.

    Summary: Not her best album, Voice is worse, Bland
    Grade: 39%
  8. Jan 2, 2015
    8
    Her voice has never been more raw, powerful. The classics are good, but the original songs on this album are what stick. "Every Christmas" is a powerhouse.
  9. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    Her voice is a vision of heaven that makes me cry at every high note. The best songs are Wrapped In Red, Underneath The Tree and White Christmas. So much love on this record, I love it!
  10. May 18, 2014
    0
    "Kelly Clarkson's new christmas album is one of the most loving music i heard ". so far she is like one of the fame survivor she experienced love , joy , protection , hate . I think its the holiday that makes her happy and get away from that negative energy . Grade A+
  11. Aug 7, 2015
    10
    What a great album. I'd give it a 9.5, but I can't so instead it is 10. Amazing selection that gives a good spread of genres. And each classic is has nice changes to differentiate it from other covers. Very nice production on the instrumentals. Kelly's voice is as solid as ever. Her low notes have never been more stable. She slides in and out of her head voice beautifully. And the beltsWhat a great album. I'd give it a 9.5, but I can't so instead it is 10. Amazing selection that gives a good spread of genres. And each classic is has nice changes to differentiate it from other covers. Very nice production on the instrumentals. Kelly's voice is as solid as ever. Her low notes have never been more stable. She slides in and out of her head voice beautifully. And the belts are amazing. The 5 original tracks are all very good(at least; Winter Dreams is probably my favorite Christmas song). I'm glad she waited so long, because it was SO worth it. I'd say this belongs in the top 5 on all "Best Christmas albums" lists. Expand
  12. Dec 11, 2015
    10
    Good stuff. Pretty good production relatively speaking. Doesn't rely entirely on her voice either. Great covers, and amazing original songs. Kind of crazy that her best work is probably a christmas album.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 2, 2013
    60
    Clarkson takes the view that Christmas is as much about wistfulness and unfulfilled wishes as it is unbridled joy.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    100
    Wrapped in Red is a stylistic maverick, for sure, but the original tunes are worthy of sitting next to the standards, and when Kelly sings, it’s like Christmas all year round.
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    70
    Wrapped in Red should prove a welcome gift to fans of the powerful pop star as Kelly Clarkson mixes classic carols and hymns with several originals co-written by the singer.