Wrecking Ball

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2012
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 68
  2. Negative: 8 out of 68
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2012
    6
    The ballads drag, but the anthems are rousing and joyous even when the sentiments are not. "Death To My Hometown" might even top the Pretenders' "My City Was Gone" as the best song ever in whatever tiny sub-genre we might call this.
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    6
    "Wrecking Ball" is as close to the Springsteen I grew up with as any record I've heard by him in years. Does this make it a great record? Yes, and no. I'm glad he still has it in him to make good records, but the "angry working man" routine has worn off for me. Springsteen is a millionaire tens, if not hundreds, of times over and it's simply exhausting to listen to him mumble over and"Wrecking Ball" is as close to the Springsteen I grew up with as any record I've heard by him in years. Does this make it a great record? Yes, and no. I'm glad he still has it in him to make good records, but the "angry working man" routine has worn off for me. Springsteen is a millionaire tens, if not hundreds, of times over and it's simply exhausting to listen to him mumble over and over while trying to convince his legions of fans he still understands what it's like to live paycheck to paycheck.

    If you love Bruce, you'll love this. If you're a casual fan, skip it.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2016
    4
    In Lyrics "The Boss" Always is Excellent Here too!!!! In Melodies in most cases as well, But insn't the case in Wrecking Ball (2012)..........................................
  4. Apr 8, 2016
    4
    .....................................................................................................................................3 AMaZing Songs Here, that Are Most Potent, and Beautiful than Working On A Dream (2009) Songs...

    But the rest is tedious
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    89
    Wrecking Ball spins Springsteen's most focused work since 2002's The Rising and most defiant and hooky since 1984's Born in the U.S.A.
  2. Magnet
    Apr 11, 2012
    70
    The 62-year old Springsteen sounds every bit the angry, empathetic and impassioned social commentator he was on post-Y2K rockers like The Rising and Magic. [No.86, p.57]
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    More than anything, Wrecking Ball is a record with heart.