Wrecking Ball

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Wrecking Ball Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced with Ron Aniello, Springsteen’s 17th studio album was inspired by the impact of the financial crisis and is the last album with Clarence Clemons, who passed away in June 2011.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    The most despairing, confrontational and musically turbulent album Bruce Springsteen has ever made.
  2. Uncut
    Mar 12, 2012
    90
    He's never sounded quite so bitter as he does on Wrecking Ball.
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    89
    Wrecking Ball spins Springsteen's most focused work since 2002's The Rising and most defiant and hooky since 1984's Born in the U.S.A.
  4. 75
    Springsteen's emerged with some good material for his new album.
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    70
    While accordions, fiddles, acoustic guitars, and human voices are prominent--befitting the songs' back porch country, folk, and blues vibe--canned clap tracks, woozy keyboards, and whirring sound effects sometimes sit uncomfortably alongside them.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    60
    Wrecking Ball feels cumbersome and top heavy, Springsteen sacrificing impassioned rage in favor of explaining his intentions too clearly.
  7. 37
    As a post-Occupy album, it's less ripped-from-the-headlines and more cribbed-from-older-and-better-ideas.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 6 out of 26
  1. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    A strong effort from "The Boss". Great songs include We Take Care of Our Own, Shackled and Drawn, Jack of All Trades, Wrecking Ball, RockyA strong effort from "The Boss". Great songs include We Take Care of Our Own, Shackled and Drawn, Jack of All Trades, Wrecking Ball, Rocky Ground, Land of Hope and Dreams, and the bonus track American Land. The lyrics are great and a tribute to the 99%. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    In terms of sheer cohesiveness and intent, this album ranks high among Bruce's post-Tunnel of Love (1987) releases. He sings with such urgencyIn terms of sheer cohesiveness and intent, this album ranks high among Bruce's post-Tunnel of Love (1987) releases. He sings with such urgency and passion that it's nearly impossible not to get swept up in its cinematic beauty. As always, Mr. Springsteen connects with his listeners in a primordial, guttural fashion. An eclectic collection of songs, this record pushes Bruce outside his usual comfort zone with great results. Expand
  3. MES
    Mar 7, 2012
    10
    I've followed Springsteen from many years and admittedly liked his earlier records more than his recent ones. Magic represented a return toI've followed Springsteen from many years and admittedly liked his earlier records more than his recent ones. Magic represented a return to form. Working on a Dream was one step back (Lead off with 'Outlaw Pete'? Really?). But he's taken two strong steps forward with Wrecking Ball. These are very substantial songs. Beautifully crafted. He's experimenting with some interesting new sounds and perhaps, as been suggested by others, borrowing from Arcade Fire who admit to having borrowed from him. Perhaps there's something to musical incest. Nonetheless, this album requires at least four listenings before its magic hits you like a, well, like a wrecking ball. Powerful stuff. Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Bruce succeded in making another great album. All the songs are very good, although Wrecking Ball and Land Of Hope And Dreams (I love both)Bruce succeded in making another great album. All the songs are very good, although Wrecking Ball and Land Of Hope And Dreams (I love both) were already known. I really like the folk sound of some of the songs (Easy Money, Shakle and Drawn, Death To My Hometown, We are Alive), and the more classic Springsteen's songs like We Take Care Of Our Own (the best of the record). All the songs will be also better in live performances! Expand
  5. JMU
    Mar 6, 2012
    8
    "Wrecking Ball" takes what's best from Bruce's recent output and parlays it into a powerful political broadside. This record boasts the edge,"Wrecking Ball" takes what's best from Bruce's recent output and parlays it into a powerful political broadside. This record boasts the edge, urgency and focus of "Magic," the eclectic sonic landscape of "Working on a Dream" (and then some), the rambling Americana vibe of the Seeger Sessions and, yes, the ambition of "The Rising." The result isn't a perfect record, but a damn good one whose high points match the best of his output over the last 10 years with the exception of "The Rising" and "My City of Ruins," two tracks that probably rank in his all-time top 20 or so. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    6
    "Wrecking Ball" is as close to the Springsteen I grew up with as any record I've heard by him in years. Does this make it a great record?"Wrecking Ball" is as close to the Springsteen I grew up with as any record I've heard by him in years. Does this make it a great record? Yes, and no. I'm glad he still has it in him to make good records, but the "angry working man" routine has worn off for me. Springsteen is a millionaire tens, if not hundreds, of times over and it's simply exhausting to listen to him mumble over and over while trying to convince his legions of fans he still understands what it's like to live paycheck to paycheck.

    If you love Bruce, you'll love this. If you're a casual fan, skip it.
    Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    0
    Absolutley garbage, the same pointless drivel he's put out of the last 20 years. Bruce needs to come up with something orignal instead ofAbsolutley garbage, the same pointless drivel he's put out of the last 20 years. Bruce needs to come up with something orignal instead of rehashing and slapping a new title on the album.. Collapse

See all 26 User Reviews