Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jan 10, 2013
    60
    Wretched & Divine is a solid album of neo-hard rock that might just be the thing your inner Crüe fan has been looking for..
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    40
    There is nowhere near enough invention on display to disguise the blank-eyed earnestness of the lyrics.
  3. Jan 10, 2013
    70
    It's like BVB's other output in that it's not perfect, but the high points are still pretty damn high.
  4. Jan 10, 2013
    40
    The album is just a bunch of incredibly inoffensive hard rock masquerading as metal, and while its not good by any stretch of the imagination, it isn't a travesty to music either.
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    While Wretched And Divine might not be a game changer, for many people it could--and it should--be an opinion changer. [5 Jan 2013, p.54]
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    This concept album describes the story of the kids who feel "unwanted" or "unknown", sort of in a gothic high school reunion tour. The firstThis concept album describes the story of the kids who feel "unwanted" or "unknown", sort of in a gothic high school reunion tour. The first half is very good, but once it hits the middle i started to get scared. At first I thought Resurrecting the Sun wasn't very good, it took multiple listens to get any sort of connection to it, same with Shadows Die . The instrumentation is the standout on this album, Lost It All being one of my favorites out of the 19 track album. Overall the album is not as bad as the mainstream critics are suggesting, I am in no way a fan of their first two albums but my friend happened to let me borrow the CD after he thought i'd like it.
    Take a listen, folks!
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    I recommend this album to a fan of rock music. It has one of the best modern rocks songs ever (In The End) and a great concept. EasilyI recommend this album to a fan of rock music. It has one of the best modern rocks songs ever (In The End) and a great concept. Easily should've been Kerrang's best album Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    5
    While a drastic improvement over the band's first two records, Wretched and Divine offers nothing new or remotely creative. What we getWhile a drastic improvement over the band's first two records, Wretched and Divine offers nothing new or remotely creative. What we get instead is a collection of watered down rock (and I use that term very lightly) anthems accompanied by irritating spoken intervals. Black Veil Brides' biggest let down is probably their inability to write interesting lyrics. The words are bland at their best and I assure you that every single emotional theme explored on the album will have been done to death by a plethora of other artists years before. Essentially, Andy Biersack and his crew are leathered-up pop stars with distorted guitars. Full Review »