Write Me Back - R. Kelly
Write Me Back Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: R. Kelly's latest release is a continuation of the 1950-70s R&B and soul music he explored on his 2010 album, Love Letter.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 91
    Kelly's party-host earnestness is far more infectious than his three-way scenarios ever were.
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    His relaxed intonation shows a talent that doesn't need to be stretched to the limit to produce its best work.
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    He delivers deceptively subtle music that retains all of the singer's seductive charms and inimitable style.
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    Write Me Back proves that Kelly's mode throughout Love Letter was no fluke.
  5. 70
    With the release of his 11th studio album, Write Me Back, Kelly has found a balance between both sensibilities, and forged an album that's a definitive career landmark.
  6. Jul 3, 2012
    67
    Write Me Back isn't groundbreaking, even for Kelly, but the territory it does cover is glossy and confetti-strewn.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    40
    This-porridge-is-just-right uptempo mush.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    I wanted to review this R Kelly cd before reviewing his new one, Black Panties This cd is a ten out of ten for me old school R&B, rhythmic, sing a long, fun, and wonderful vocals it is one of my favorite, uplifting cd's. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    This album is AMAZING. It's a respectable continuation to Love Letter. Standout tracks to me are "Green Light," "Believe in Me," "Feelin' Single," and one of my personal favorites "Believe That It's So." R.Kelly never disappoints and the influences of The Temptations, Smokey Robinson, Sam Cooke, and the hey-day musicians of Motown mixed with R.Kelly's modern interpretation is just perfect. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    8
    Na atual situação do mercado fonográfico, me refiro particularmente ao lado artistico, ver um artísta se manter fiel ao que ele é de verdade é edificante. E ver que essa escolha resulta em um trabalho como em Write Me Back do cantor R. Kelly é maravilhoso.

    Conhecido nos anos '90 principalmente com o mega sucesso I Believe I Can Fly, R.Kelly não apenas se mantém fiel ao R&B que o fez famoso, mas faz um visita ao passado do soul music em um álbum excepcional. Aqui ele busca suas influências no R&B dos anos '70 misturando com um pouco de pop para dar liga em algumas canções mais agitadas. Com sua produção em todas as músicas ele continua a mostrar seu talento como produtor ao criar canções com batidas já ouvidas, mas em nenhum momento deixa elas datadas ou moderninhas demais. Eu poderia ouvir Ray Charles, Stevie Wonder, Aretha Franklin e até mesmo Michael Jackson gravando algumas das canções nas décadas passadas ou mesmo nos dias de hoje. R.Kelly é um cantor exemplar. Mesmo longe de genialidades vocais ele consegue um desempenho sólido, poderoso e alguns momentos excepcionas. Sempre falando de amor e como compositor de todas as canções (apenas três tem compositores adicionais), ele poderia ter indo mais fundo em outros assuntos que fizeram o estilo uma arma de conscientização social. Contudo, a várias canções com letras ótimas que combinadas com a produção refinada de R.Kelly resultam em canções memoráveis como em Love Is (com forte influência da canção Love is in the Air), All Rounds On Me com toques de rock soul, a romântica When a Man Lies, a genial Fool for You e no single Feelin' Single (resenha a seguir). Quem disse que bons tempos não voltam? Ok, eles não voltam, mas podem ser lembrados da melhor maneira.
    Collapse
  4. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    Similar to his previous album, Love Letter which was inspired by the 1960's (which I loved, although the 1960's were before my time), this album is supposed to be inspired by the 70's. And, personally I find that to be very true. The beats, style of song and tempo indicate the 1970's for most of the songs.His voice is still sounds very good. I didn't like all of the songs but did like "clipped Wings", "believe in me", "You are my world" and "Feeling Single." Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    Album that definitely matches up to his other albums providing a solid overall album. Contains the classic loves songs everyone enjoys along with under control party songs. Expand