WZRD - WZRD
WZRD Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut album for the rock project from Kid Cudi and producer Dot da Genius features Empire of the Sun as special guests.
  • Record Label: Republic
  • Genre(s): Rap, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Rap, Underground Rap, Left-Field Hip-Hop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 75
    [Kid Cudi carries it] off despite some occasional proggy water-treading. [23 Mar 2012, p.74]
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    70
    WZRD's strengths are rooted in Kid Cudi's vocal tone, one that is gripping and melodic despite his quite limited singing ability.
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    60
    WZRD, the album, is sort of emo, sort of dream pop, and surely an indulgent effort that surprises with its chemistry and willingness to follow the music.
  4. 40
    The album lacks the urgency of successful rap and rock, instead wallowing in a blah middle ground in its best moments.
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    40
    The rudimentary guitar, starchy beats and formless synths just sound rough, never fun or spontaneous.
  6. Jun 22, 2012
    40
    Wonky vocals and a lack of guile strangle the project, not least on Efflictim, where a terminal aimlessness befits the melodramatic-teen lyric[s]. [Jun 2012, p.115]
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    40
    The delicate balance of good-then-bad-then-good-again ideas and taste appears rarely on WZRD.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Great album. Loved all the songs, Cudi is a pure genius when it comes to creating songs. With his collaboration with Dot Da Genius, I believeGreat album. Loved all the songs, Cudi is a pure genius when it comes to creating songs. With his collaboration with Dot Da Genius, I believe they create a great album, although it is not traditional rap or rock, they blend together good enough to create great songs. Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    This is a very good and very misunderstood album. Like the other 2 albums, this one grew on me the more i listened to it. When i first heardThis is a very good and very misunderstood album. Like the other 2 albums, this one grew on me the more i listened to it. When i first heard it, I did not like it at all. The songs were weird and I did not understand them. But that was the same case with Man on the Moon I and II, so I decided to keep listening and give it a try. Well I'm glad I did. This album is really just like all of Cudi's other's. It has the same flow, same style, he just sings and uses the drums and guitar. (But he does that in all his other albums too) I promise anybody that is a Cudi fan, give this a try and let it grow on you. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    You have to give him credit for trying something new. I would say that he and dot didn't do too bad. I actually like this album. It'sYou have to give him credit for trying something new. I would say that he and dot didn't do too bad. I actually like this album. It's definatly not his strongest. We all can agree man on the moon: the end of day was the best! Overall, this album is good....but not up to cudi's full potential. I award him for making this. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2012
    7
    There is one important thing to remember when listening to this album: It is not a hip hop or rap album. He calls it a "rock album", which IThere is one important thing to remember when listening to this album: It is not a hip hop or rap album. He calls it a "rock album", which I guess it counts as.

    With that being said... the album is pretty good. I think it has decent beats and his lyrics are pretty good. Some of the songs are definitely lacking that original Cudi style, but I can still dig it. The only thing that I really don't like is that he pretty much completely changed his personal style. He now talks about how he doesn't smoke anymore and stuff like that... kinda weird for him if you ask anyone. I understand he went through a lot in his life recently, but this album seems like a complete 180 in that sense.

    It's good for a pretty relaxed listen as he never goes too hard. Some songs do have some good pep. All in all, I enjoy listening any time.
    Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2012
    5
    This album is not quite a disaster, but lacks quality. The production is definitely not the best, and Kid Cudi perhaps does not understandThis album is not quite a disaster, but lacks quality. The production is definitely not the best, and Kid Cudi perhaps does not understand very well the new role as a rock singer. The ideas are there but must be developed. Collapse
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    This is the worst piece of **** I have ever heard. Cudi's doesn't even know how to mumble, much less carry a note, and he's not even close toThis is the worst piece of **** I have ever heard. Cudi's doesn't even know how to mumble, much less carry a note, and he's not even close to singing. He sounds like he's a kid with DOWN syndrome drowning, recorded with a toaster and autotuned. And that's over Dot Da Idiot's terrible imitations of actual dream pop and shoegaze. WZRD should be castrated. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    This album is not good. Cudi calls it a rock project but it's nothing like rock, just a bunch of cheap synths with lacking vocals. I There wasThis album is not good. Cudi calls it a rock project but it's nothing like rock, just a bunch of cheap synths with lacking vocals. I There was only one decent track in this (Teleport 2 Me) and ithe song is very cheesy. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews