X - Def Leppard
X Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: X marks the veteran English arena-rock band's tenth album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. They've just made the best rock album since Andrew WK's 'I Get Wet'.
  2. X may be their niftiest since Adrenalize.
  3. Certainly there are some weak tracks... but Long Long Way To Go and Unbelievable are expertly crafted pop-rock tunes. [Aug 2002, p.122]
  4. A bunch of even-handed adult-pop that is melodic without being tuneful, or memorable for that matter.
  5. 40
    X is hindered by a glut of ballads and plodders. [#9, p.144]
  6. 30
    There's artistic maturation, and there's just plain old selling out. This, friends, is a prime example of the latter.
  7. The five Brits waste their major talents on midtempo songs like "Everyday" and "Four Letter Word."

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. LaurieI
    Sep 15, 2003
    10
    I loved the CD. I think some of these critics suck. That album is great. there a couple of song that are not as great as others but i could I loved the CD. I think some of these critics suck. That album is great. there a couple of song that are not as great as others but i could listen to them all day long. in fact they are all i play. i just click with them. They have been my favorite band since they came out and most of the lyrics touch my heart/soul. They were awesome in concert an aug 1 2003 on joe's 44th birthday. i didn't want it to end and i wished they played more dates near me, i would be there for each and everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. BrentP.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    This album is solid, with great songs, and is the most musically mature album, Def Leppard has done. Is it their signature hard rock? No. But This album is solid, with great songs, and is the most musically mature album, Def Leppard has done. Is it their signature hard rock? No. But is IS Rock, with some songs that will surprise you. Expand
  3. RobinB.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    I love the new album, i really enjoy it. I have two, one for the car and one for house. That should say it all.
  4. CharlesG.
    Sep 10, 2002
    9
    It's a good rock-pop album. A powerful mid-tempo collection very catchy... I love Torn to Shreds, You're so beatiful, Scar and Cry.
  5. RyanM
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    A late-career classic which only gets better over time.
  6. ConradC
    Jan 17, 2003
    8
    not so bad, incredible mix and production, but too many ballads; Four letter words introduction is an incredible remembrance to Ac/dc songs, not so bad, incredible mix and production, but too many ballads; Four letter words introduction is an incredible remembrance to Ac/dc songs, but thank god, with the tradiconal leppardettes armony vocals; i feel they miss the Mutt´s touch in the songs. Its better than euphoria. Collapse
  7. MatthewR.
    Sep 7, 2002
    3
    Very middle of the road. Nothing on this CD is very memorable. I've tried many times to listen to this CD all the way through and like Very middle of the road. Nothing on this CD is very memorable. I've tried many times to listen to this CD all the way through and like Slang, I can't. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews