X - Kylie Minogue

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. A savvy, shiny, slyly sophisticated set of thoroughly modern dance floor exercises, it's the record we hoped Girls Aloud might make.
  2. It’s not [her] strongest performance so far, and that comes basically down to song choice and production.
  3. Likability has got Kylie Minogue this far, and it pulls her through again--even the weak tracks on X have a sparky enthusiasm that makes their magpie modernism sound less cynical.
  4. I can count three sure hits on this club-crossover coup if radio plays it right.
  5. The majority of X is exactly what it's meant to be: a collection of songs by a pop artist who is aware of her past achievements and doubly aware of her need to stay relevant in the face of unwanted diversion.
  6. Minogue's tenth album arrives on the heels of her battle with breast cancer; thankfully, the experience hasn't made her music discernibly deeper.
  7. 70
    More often than not, X's hooks, tunes and Minogue's bubblegum-perfect hum achieve candy-coated ecstasy. [Mar 2008, p.106]
  8. 60
    In short, a glittering sign reading "business as usual"--even if it’s not a return to adventurous Kylie gold.
  9. X is business as usual for a Kylie Minogue album: a handful of great tracks surrounded by stuff that's so obviously filler you could inject it into cavity walls and save up to 33% on your energy bills.
  10. Her 11th album is full of potential hits (and not too many boring mid-tempo plodders). Unfortunately, there's nothing quite as catchy here as 'Can't Get You Out Of My Head,' although a few tracks come close.
  11. One of the most contemporary (and least pleasant) aspects of X is its scattershot production, which gives it the focus-grouped attention deficit disorder more typical of a Gwen Stefani record than one of Minogue's laser-honed disco-princess home runs.
  12. X is merely a slightly above average collection of tracks.
  13. It's not the production, as copiously sexy as it is, that makes this great: It's that Kylie has an ear for fantastic pop-rock tunes restyled for 2008, and she approaches them not as merely amusing sonic glitter, but as totally vital music.
  14. Traditionally, Kylie Minogue has been at her best attempting pure pop, not chasing credibility, but X--her tenth studio album, and the first since 2003's "Body Language"--somehow pulls off the trick of being both
  15. Even the filler feels like a well-deserved celebration, lit up in bright neon and glittering with tinsel.
  16. Though X doesn’t raise Ms. Minogue’s own high standards, it does sometimes meet them.
  17. X isn’t the comeback album some may have been hoping for, but it is a welcome return for Minogue.
  18. Immediately following 'Heart Beat Rock,' we are treated to a long stream of high-class filler.
  19. Kylie's persona infuses the album, even if her vocals do not. As pop heatseekers go, X is a heartbeat away from perfection.
  20. If Kylie's musical ambitions extend further than play-safe good times of X, she's keeping them, like everything else, to herself. [Dec 2007, p.108]
  21. 40
    Sampling Serge Gainsbourg's quivering strings for 'Sensitized,' however, only serves to highlight the album's lack of truly knee-wobbling moments. [Dec 2007, p.98]
  22. 40
    The search for the perfect stand-alone song leaves a ragbag of unrelated ideas. [May 2008, p.77]
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. JohnB.
    Apr 4, 2008
    It's an average pop album. I expected something much better from Kylie. There are several amazing tracks (2 Hearts, Like a Drug, In My Arms, Speakerphone, Wow), but most other tracks are not so good. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    Probably one of the most underestimated albums Kylie has ever released. This album offers different genres of dance in a grand mixture. Download: The One, 2 Hearts, Speakerphone Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2012
    Kylie's most electric album to date. Fun, stylish and sometimes touching music from the ultimate 'Princess of Pop'. She gave her adoring fans exactly what they wanted, and that's what matters most. Full Review »