User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 81
  2. Negative: 2 out of 81

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnB.
    Apr 4, 2008
    5
    It's an average pop album. I expected something much better from Kylie. There are several amazing tracks (2 Hearts, Like a Drug, In My Arms, Speakerphone, Wow), but most other tracks are not so good.
  2. AnjaM
    May 10, 2008
    10
    The album is a definite comeback. Most of the songs have single potential and Kylie proved once again that she can produce real pop music!
  3. LisaA.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    I think this cd is great! I agree that there isn't a real "standout" track, however, it is of generally higher quality than her last two albums. I think her longevity and ability to rise above both cancer and "Britneyesque" behavior show true talent and professionalism.
  4. Diego
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing, reminds me Fever, true pop/dance music!
  5. HC
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    There are tracks here that are pure pop goodness, but not many.
  6. Justin
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    Pop perfection! Kylie stays true to her pop roots and delivers another great album!
  7. DavidV
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    There is something here for everyone. Only 3 tracks fail to grab me, but that doesn't mean they wouldn't play to someone else's tastes.
  8. SamW.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Absolutely outstanding album. Every song is bursting with individuality! such a refreshing collection of tracks. furthermore, just what expectations do people have of Kylie? She has excelled herself through and through with this record, as have her production team. Thumbs up! What a delight to listen to at any time of the day! Magnetic Electric should be released without a doubt!
  9. NikkiF.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    This new cd, "X", puts Kylie back on the pop map!!! it blows Britney outta the water, cuz Kylie can actually sing!!! from the 1st track on down it is a journey, it's amazing!! like a drug, all i see, the one, stars, and the hidden track rippin up the dancebfloor are just a few of the fab tracks!! take a listen you will love this cd!!!
  10. PS
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    AMAZING!!! awesome 80's dirty pop and electronic songs... I found alot of bonus tracks floating around the net, would of liked those to be on the release!
  11. MichaelB.
    Dec 9, 2007
    6
    Begs, borrows, and steals from the leaders in the dance/pop field! Minogue remains a safe, predictable follower! Could she please lose the fake Brit accent? It is so grating!
  12. jayM
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    One of the best and classy pop albums this year! Kylie sure knows how to put a album together, She simply never disappoints her fans! For get HARD CANDY, For real pop experience, get this album instead!
  13. JBaby
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Kylie is back and better than ever.
  14. JadenR.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic! Sweet peace of Wow & No More Rain to the jaw-dropping work of Speakerphone! 10 through and through.
  15. AjayD
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    This Album is Far better then most crap pop artists put out these days. All the Tracks here are well produced and classy! Kylie does not disappointed her long time fans at all, The Streak continues!
  16. JamesK
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    I may be a bit biased since I've been a fan of Kylie for most of her career, but I don't know what all of these critics are talking about. Maybe many of them expected some great cancer battle revelation or a some kind of dance pop-cum-deep confession album, but since when was dance pop not supposed to be fun or deeply confessional? Yeah, this record is at times overproduced I may be a bit biased since I've been a fan of Kylie for most of her career, but I don't know what all of these critics are talking about. Maybe many of them expected some great cancer battle revelation or a some kind of dance pop-cum-deep confession album, but since when was dance pop not supposed to be fun or deeply confessional? Yeah, this record is at times overproduced (Nu-di-ty) and maybe not innovative (Stars), but take many of these songs alone and you've got a fine collection of pop gems: 2 Hearts may not have been the best choice for a first single, but alone it's a fine record; Like a Drug is electro heaven, All I See is perhaps, one of the finest Kylie R&B moments ever, and The One is dance pop perfection! Love her or hate her, Kylie has got charisma and natural charm that few pop stars out there possess. Her natural ability to attract audiences young and old, in spite of lack of great vocal ability and sometimes annoying and nasal cooing, are what still makes her one of the best pop stars ever!!! Expand
  17. RichF
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    A grower, not a shower. A little disappointing but listen to it a few times and it will grow on you.
  18. DavidJ.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    A great comeback! Fresh, catchy songs from beginning to ending! Combines different styles of music for a big success! Totally recommended!
  19. Martin
    Dec 2, 2007
    6
    Some killer tracks but unfortunately a lot of filler. More of a compilation than an album. A pity - she has played the game much better on the last two albums.
  20. [Anonymous]
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Its really cool.... some songs are so nice!! 2 hearts and all I see.... just cant get them out of my head!!
  21. GordonR.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Been a fan fo since her original 80's debut, She always sets high standards for herself and she again has given her best. I love this CD.
  22. ZaneS
    Feb 21, 2008
    6
    It's fine. Just fine. "Speakerphone," "Like a Drug" and "2 Hearts" really do stand-out. Then there's "Stars," "Cosmic" and the nonsensical what's-it-doing-here "Nu-Di-Ty." "Wow" is wonderful!
  23. MatthewT.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Although it is not as cohesive as Madonna's Confessions on a Dancefloor Album, it is certainly more heartfelt. "No More Rain" and "Cosmic" highlight the singer's struggles with breast cancer and triumphant return to the stage, while "The One", "Speakerphone", "Like a Drug" and "In My Arms" are as good as dance-pop gets. The hidden track obtained by putting the CD into a computer Although it is not as cohesive as Madonna's Confessions on a Dancefloor Album, it is certainly more heartfelt. "No More Rain" and "Cosmic" highlight the singer's struggles with breast cancer and triumphant return to the stage, while "The One", "Speakerphone", "Like a Drug" and "In My Arms" are as good as dance-pop gets. The hidden track obtained by putting the CD into a computer is another piece of Dance-Pop gold. An Absolute MUST for any fan of fantastic pop. Expand
  24. AlejandroS.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    This album fulfilled every hope I had about it. Kylie's back and better than ever. Some tracks such as In My Arms, 2 Herats and Sensitized are both well produced and creative and the whole album has a amazing 80's air to it.
  25. Sep 23, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've got to say, Miss Minogue has made some pretty good music back her years, however, her 2008 album "X" has not been a smash, although charting globally and the hit single "2 Hearts", it isn't what we call a "Disco, House, Electropop" album. It is good, but lacks the music we really like. Expand
  26. Dec 26, 2010
    7
    For a return to the music industry after an unexpected hiatus, X is a decent effort. This album hold quite a lot of sentimental value, but this should not delude from the fact that this album does show a lot of disjointed pot holes. Different writers and different producers have all had their hands in this: Kish Mauve, Xenomania, Calvin Harris, Steve Anderson and so forth and it definitelyFor a return to the music industry after an unexpected hiatus, X is a decent effort. This album hold quite a lot of sentimental value, but this should not delude from the fact that this album does show a lot of disjointed pot holes. Different writers and different producers have all had their hands in this: Kish Mauve, Xenomania, Calvin Harris, Steve Anderson and so forth and it definitely shows as this album takes on multiple identities, rather than one 'album' entity. I think every track on here is worthy to be on a Kylie album, just not together. Personal favourites are: Like A Drug, Speakerphone and Sensitized. Expand
  27. Feb 23, 2011
    8
    This album is simply stunning. Although not her most acclaimed work, i personally think this is one of her best albums to date. There's just something about it. It's got style, quirk and that usual hint of pop gold that only artists like Kylie can offer. The album recieved a Grammy nomination for 'Best Dance/Electronica Album' - and rightly so, working with the likes of Calvin Harris thisThis album is simply stunning. Although not her most acclaimed work, i personally think this is one of her best albums to date. There's just something about it. It's got style, quirk and that usual hint of pop gold that only artists like Kylie can offer. The album recieved a Grammy nomination for 'Best Dance/Electronica Album' - and rightly so, working with the likes of Calvin Harris this album put her right back were she belonged in the world of electronica/dance and pop music. One negative to point out though. I don't think her record label and herself decided to release the best tracks, 'Like a Drug' and 'Speakerphone' in my opinion are two of the best tracks on the album, but instead, for some reason her Label seem to want to place her in the 'R'n'B' genre - using tracks like 'All I See' for US airplay, and with no disrespect - Kylie is over 40 now - and i don't see how RnB is really going to suit her, even though 'The One' was not RnB sounding - again i don't understand why that track was used for UK and Australian airplay/release - when there were MUCH better tracks to choose from. But excluding the choice of released tracks this album - as a whole - is stunning. A true classic, grammy nominated deserving album. Collapse
  28. May 25, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this album! "WOW", "In My Arms" and "Speakerphone" are phenomenal, strong and my personal favourite songs from this album. Album as a whole is energetic disco-pop.
  29. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    An utterly stunning comeback. Track by track this album oozes stylish sex appeal. Kylie prooves with this album that unlike Madonna (and all those other frustrating comparisons) she moves with the times with her own sound, not jumping from genre to genre to proove how cool she is. Electro pop has never felt so fresh and classic all at the same time, play it loud, play it quietly it staysAn utterly stunning comeback. Track by track this album oozes stylish sex appeal. Kylie prooves with this album that unlike Madonna (and all those other frustrating comparisons) she moves with the times with her own sound, not jumping from genre to genre to proove how cool she is. Electro pop has never felt so fresh and classic all at the same time, play it loud, play it quietly it stays with you all day, and to myself, it will stay for years to come. There might be the odd dull moment or moment that feels a little forced, but hey, what artist doesn't nower days ? A truely outstanding album that shouldn't be forgotten as one of the ultimate comeback albums. Expand
  30. May 1, 2012
    8
    Kylie's most electric album to date. Fun, stylish and sometimes touching music from the ultimate 'Princess of Pop'. She gave her adoring fans exactly what they wanted, and that's what matters most.
  31. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    Probably one of the most underestimated albums Kylie has ever released. This album offers different genres of dance in a grand mixture. Download: The One, 2 Hearts, Speakerphone
  32. Apr 8, 2015
    8
    A great album with innovative character, being released after a difficult phase of the singer. Brought a electropop sound with the album "Blackout" Britney Spears that was not common in the music industry.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. A truly welcome return.
  2. X is more filler than killer.
  3. X is merely a slightly above average collection of tracks.