XI Versions of Black Noise

XI Versions of Black Noise Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The remix album of the electronic artist's 2009 album features production by such artists as Animal Collective, Four Tet, and Moritz Von Oswald.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. May 5, 2011
    Far from a cynical money-maker, this is the unwieldy outfit that unanimously improves those essential runners: harder work to start with, but providing great rewards at the finish line.
  2. May 5, 2011
    XI Versions is electronic tiramisu--slightly unnecessary and a little showy, but wholly dynamic, and a fine finish to a satisfying main course.
  3. 70
    It might be an altogether superfluous release but when the music is as expertly crafted to begin with, it's a solid sensation for anyone to notice.
  4. May 5, 2011
    XI versions works best as a companion for smitten Black Noise fans, and it offers a couple of nice moments that Four Tet and Animal Collective completists might want to keep in their back pockets.
  5. Uncut
    May 10, 2011
    Black Noise was the most seductive techno album of last year, and it probably deserves better than this somewhat perfunctory remix comp. [May 2011, p.93]
  6. May 5, 2011
    Though the thesis of this remix album restricts remixers to only one album, the remixers limit themselves further, and seem afraid to do too much more than reaffirm certain dance touchstones already done away with by Weber himself. They've missed the sanctity for the structure.
  7. 37
    The pointlessness is grating. XI Versions' final three songs do show signs of life--Animal Collective, Walls, and Pantha himself manage to work up a buzz--but they can't compensate for time killers by Lawrence, Carsten, and Efdemin that make inoffensiveness offensive.

See all 11 Critic Reviews