Xscape - Michael Jackson
Xscape Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The posthumously released eight-track album from the pop singer features unreleased songs completed between 1983 and 1999 with new production from executive producer L.A. Reid, as well as Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon, Rodney Jerkins, John McClain, StarGate, and Timbaland. A deluxe edition includes a disc of songs without the current producers input. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. May 13, 2014
    Jackson's music mixed celebration and terror, as if he was unable to find, or maintain, the division between the two. His music offered a place to both explore and escape those tensions. On this album, it does again.
  2. There’s nothing here to quite match his finest moments, but nothing stinks and that, I suppose, is the best you can expect.
  3. Jun 4, 2014
    For the most part, Xscape honors [Jackson's] legacy and should help to relieve some of the mistrust that some may have with those in charge of the icon’s estate.
  4. May 12, 2014
    Timbaland and Reid evoke the Michael Jackson we all love and miss, finding songs that are worthy and giving them arrangements that are simultaneously nostalgic and modern. It's a difficult trick to pull off but they largely succeed, so XSCAPE is a worthy and memorable coda to Jackson's career.
  5. May 14, 2014
    Although rejected by the singer in his lifetime, this is pop, not high art, and it has been handled with considerable care, giving us a glimpse, however illusory, of what this extraordinary talent might actually sound like had he lived.
  6. May 12, 2014
    It's an understandably ad hoc collection that conjures up snatches of wonder from scraps of genius.
  7. 0
    Though the revamps are distractingly overwrought (this project could have been called The 20/20 Xperience), Jackson’s voice, pure and fierce as ever, cuts straight through Timbaland and company’s more-is-more fireworks display.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. May 20, 2014
    The genius of Michael Jackson shines through on this album. Very refreshing to hear the pure vocal as the centerpiece of this album. The mix sounds like classic Michael without a bunch of studio hocus pocus. Hearing this album makes me appreciate the talent of this man and miss his presence in music today even more. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2014
    One of the best albums that Michael Jackson has released after Dangerous. This is what the modern MJ would sound like! I just can't believe how the producers have been able to create this miracle album! Expand
  3. May 15, 2014
    Excellent MJ vocals (as always), fantastic songs! Producers contemporized the songs did a great job, with respect to Michael Jackson. Plus, the deluxe version includes the originals as Michael left them. This album is a true gem Expand
  4. May 14, 2014
    The album provides a sneak to king of pop's music from 80's & the 90s and probably how mj would have sounded if he had released an album now being alive could be a bit different i believe but still the songs feel fresh as if he had song yesterday the music is great .The album recaptures moments of classic Mj.There are moments on Xscape when classic Michael Jackson is recaptured. From the electronic womps and finger clicks But it's on the opening cut and lead single where Jackson's spirit is fully felt.The album is surely to top the charts as its no 1 in 50 countries already.The best songs from the album that are sure to be chart toppers are Love Never Felt So Good,slave to the rythm,A place with no
  5. May 25, 2014
    The album really exceeded my expectations entirely! Has a modern and timeless feel that appeals to both his younger and older fans (A Place With No Name is a great example). Two thumbs up! Expand
  6. May 14, 2014
    MJ's most cohesive and entertaining release since "Dangerous". Some of the re-workings are just as fantastic as the demos and each song sounds as relevant today as it could have been then. Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2014
    A timely reminder of how mundane and over-rated Jackson was.

    Bland, unchallenging, light-weight pop songs - over-produced (by an army of
    producers) to prop-up Jackson's mediocre talent.
    His relationship songs are unconvincing - precisely because he never had a normal one!
    All of his songs are inauthentic - as you'd expect from someone who was never "real".

    The usual mix of sickly ballads and harmless dance tracks.
    The usual limited vocal gimmicks.

    His initial fame I can understand - but his enduring fame is mystifying.
    A triumph of USA-style hype over content!

    The Emperor has no new clothes - and he's dead! But that will of course change nothing for the faithful...

See all 21 User Reviews