xx - The xx
xx Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut album for the South London quartet.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's hard to imagine their music getting much better. But it's not hard to imagine their lives getting much better. Which may be all their music needs.
  2. It's a perfectly executed ending for an album whose understated pleasures will surely amount to one of the year's most treasured releases.
  3. xx is a fantastically innovative album, and this band is exploring new territory.
  4. There is a lightness of touch at play that gives the XX a sophistication beyond their years. It probably means that their dream pop will become the ubiquitous dinner party album du jour.
  5. It's strange that such a traditional set-up (drums, bass, keys, guitars, voices) has resulted in one of 2009's most unique debuts.
  6. While the band's subtlety and consistency threaten to work against them at times, XX is still a remarkable debut that rewards repeated listens and leaves listeners wanting more.
  7. Their quest for a catchy chorus is often derailed by a love of hazy atmospherics, creating a soundtrack suited for little more than late-night navelgazing. [Fall 2009, p.72]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 87
  2. Negative: 4 out of 87
  1. NickV.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Music these days is in essence utter shit. This is different.
  2. chris
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Amazing, simply amazing.
  3. Mike
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best albums i have ever heard, not trying to recreate just another popular sound. This is in my opinion a groundbreaking album, and a huge breath of fresh air in what seems to be a fastly genre merging music market. Expand
  4. BKC
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    Great album, very mature sound for the the age of this group. Possibly my favorite album of 2009.
  5. CarolT
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    Cool!
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    Good ambient indie guitar record. It's got a very consistent style across the album with all the tracks slipping into each other smoothly. The best thing about this band are that they have a unique and distinctive style and have brought something new to the market. Received great reviews in general, I have to agree for the most part. Only thing I would like is a little more variation in the songs and perhaps a couple of more quicker paced tunes. The last third of the record goes at a crawling pace. Having said that the consistent style across the album is probably one of the main things that make it all sound so well put together and well thought out. The record gives a very specific vibe - always reminds me of darkness. It's like being in an empty night club or something. My favourite tracks are "Intro", "Islands" and "Heart Skipped a Beat" Expand
  7. Luke
    Aug 24, 2009
    1
    This is nonsense.

See all 87 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2009

    The Best Albums of 2009 Image
    Published: December 29, 2009
    We recap the best-reviewed albums of 2009 and collect dozens of music critic top ten lists to determine the best album of the year. While the results point to a clear winner, you can listen to songs from the top 50 albums to help you find your own favorites.