xx Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 386 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut album for the South London quartet.

Top Track

Islands
I don't have to leave any more What I have is right here Spend my nights and days before Searching the world for what's right here Underneath and... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's hard to imagine their music getting much better. But it's not hard to imagine their lives getting much better. Which may be all their music needs.
  2. For a debut album it's brilliantly realised and contains not an inch of flab across its 11 songs. Debut album of the year? It's beyond doubt.
  3. It's a perfectly executed ending for an album whose understated pleasures will surely amount to one of the year's most treasured releases.
  4. It's difficult to imagine 'xx' having quite the seismic impact of that opus [Arcade Fire's debut], but the album will win many friends for its beautifully haunting, understated charms.
  5. Uncut
    80
    The finished result occupies land between Young Marble Giants' "Colossal Youth" and Tricky's "Maxinquaye": not the equal of either of those landmark albums, maybe, but certainly cut from the same cloth. [Sep 2009, p.89]
  6. As overwrought as the lyrics are, the songs have an attractive, dreamy, atmospheric quality that helps the London band avoid embarrassing teen melancholy. It's also surprisingly hypnotic.
  7. Under The Radar
    50
    Their quest for a catchy chorus is often derailed by a love of hazy atmospherics, creating a soundtrack suited for little more than late-night navelgazing. [Fall 2009, p.72]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 93
  2. Negative: 4 out of 93
  1. NickV.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Music these days is in essence utter shit. This is different.
  2. chris
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Amazing, simply amazing.
  3. TroyP.
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    I played this record non-stop for weeks after I bought it, and liked it more every time. After a while, it got displaced by new and possibly I played this record non-stop for weeks after I bought it, and liked it more every time. After a while, it got displaced by new and possibly interesting new releases. But, I keep coming back to xx again and again. Intimate and free-flowing, The XX have made a nearly flawless album, and I can only hope that they have at least one more in them. In any case, this was the record of 2009, hands down. Expand
  4. BKC
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    Great album, very mature sound for the the age of this group. Possibly my favorite album of 2009.
  5. MycroftW.
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    If not the best, then definitely the most original album of the year. It's the music Timbaland would make, if he was a bunch of insecure If not the best, then definitely the most original album of the year. It's the music Timbaland would make, if he was a bunch of insecure nineteen year old goths from Britain. And I mean that in the best way possible! Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    8
    Their music's working best when it's instrumental. I'm not saying their voices are bad but the Intro is the very best song on the whole albumTheir music's working best when it's instrumental. I'm not saying their voices are bad but the Intro is the very best song on the whole album and additionally one of the best songs in the year 2009! It's just that their singing isn't necessary. In some songs, yes, but not everywhere. The lyrics are nothing special and especially the woman's voice was importunate to me. But enough negatives: this album is so recreative and great composed, also if I can only pick three special songs out of them 11. (Intro, Heart Skipped A Beat, Crystalised) Expand
  7. Luke
    Aug 24, 2009
    1
    This is nonsense.

See all 93 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2009

    The Best Albums of 2009 Image
    Published: December 29, 2009
    We recap the best-reviewed albums of 2009 and collect dozens of music critic top ten lists to determine the best album of the year. While the results point to a clear winner, you can listen to songs from the top 50 albums to help you find your own favorites.