XXX - Danny Brown
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    80
    XXX is a bloated album; 19-track albums are a thing of the early millennium past. But this bloat is a gluttonous glory.
  2. 90
    XXX might just represent the most polished and fully formed manifestation of street-meets-art rap so far.
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    70
    Beyond its confrontational veneer lies a 19 track collection of a good number of 2011's hardest, freshest, most concrete bars imaginable.
  4. Nov 4, 2011
    80
    That's the magic of XXX: whether joy, sadness or disgust, Mr. Brown will make you feel something.
  5. Nov 4, 2011
    82
    His gleeful love of words not only elevates some pretty heavy subject matter; it also helps distinguish XXX as one of the most compelling indie rap releases in an already strong year.
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    86
    XXX is something much more complex, challenging, and rewarding than a dirty joke.
  7. Nov 4, 2011
    80
    XXX is another excellent release from the man who is one of the best rappers out there, proving that you can be lyrical and street at the same time, and that hip-hop doesn't have to be one dimensional.
  8. Jul 10, 2012
    80
    Brown's vivid storytelling skills bear testament to a major talent. [Jun 2012, p.108]
  9. Dec 6, 2011
    80
    On XXX his own aesthetic seems fully formed. [Oct 2011, p.65]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Truly amazing. Have not heard an album like this. Innovative. One of my favorites of 2010, however if you're not into experimental music,Truly amazing. Have not heard an album like this. Innovative. One of my favorites of 2010, however if you're not into experimental music, don't bother. Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    So refreshing to hear a rapper with some zany far-out personality. I have grown to love the crazy danny brown with the insane voice on songsSo refreshing to hear a rapper with some zany far-out personality. I have grown to love the crazy danny brown with the insane voice on songs like xxx and monopoly but I also freakin love the more serious, softer voice of songs like party all the time. A lot of people are sleeping on him because they don't like how he sounds or how he looks, but i really could care less. The dude has talent and i can't wait to hear more from him. Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    One of the best and most inspiring rap record to come out in the last Five years, From the crazy songs like: Outer space to Aderall Admiral toOne of the best and most inspiring rap record to come out in the last Five years, From the crazy songs like: Outer space to Aderall Admiral to Straight bars like : Pac blood, To the fun : blunt after Blunt, I will, Lie4, Bruiser Brigade, To the storytelling of: noosebleeds or Party all the time, Then the Depressing: 30 just an all around Great rap record which has you waiting for his next album. Full Review »