Yeah Yeah Yeahs [EP]

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 1 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeL.
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    This is one of the best cd's i own and the yeah yeah yeahs are the best performers ever
  2. EricS.
    Sep 12, 2002
    0
    Another excruciatingly annoying, over-hyped NYC band. And come on...the no-bass gimmick has already been used. This is pseudo-blues rock for the tone deaf.
  3. capsized
    Nov 3, 2002
    6
    Art Star and Bang are the two gems on this album, but otherwise it's very inconsistent. They are a great live band, but I wonder how far the beer spraying, i'm so messed up attitude, can take them.
  4. Sara
    Oct 12, 2002
    10
    I love it.
  5. violetc.
    Oct 18, 2002
    7
    this is a promising debut and i look forward to hearing their new release, machine, that will be out in november. a pretty good taste of what this band has to offer.
  6. DericH.
    Jul 16, 2002
    6
    Wasn't into it much at first. KarenO sounds like Little Neil at times, but it grew on me. Especially Bang and Art Girl. Decent first attempt for this kind of band
  7. dsfadfasdfasdf
    Sep 5, 2002
    10
    thought it was fantastic
  8. SteveL.
    Aug 16, 2002
    8
    Fun and surprisingly catchy...can't wait to see what they do with a full-length CD.
  9. Jan 11, 2013
    7
    Nice introduction from Karen O and Co. This indicated what was the come in the future, nice, often frantic, sometimes off the wall, Rock. If you like this band you'll like this EP and if you don't you won't.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. The EP barely hints at how great the band has become in the past year, especially since the sound quality is roughly at a firing-a-BB-gun-into-a-garbage-can level.
  2. This isn't a record, it's a portfolio: it's noisy but catchy, it lets them try out different styles, and it makes you give a good goddamn.
  3. Just when the bombast teases with sounding like nails on a chalkboard, the band turns things around to remain more cool than annoying.