Year Of The Black Rainbow - Coheed and Cambria
Year Of The Black Rainbow Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The concept album produced by Atticus Rose and Joe Barresi is the prequel to the prog rock band's Amory Wars narrative, written by singer Claudio Sanchez.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Coheed And Cambria are always at their finest when they're being dramatic, and as such 'Year Of The Black Rainbow' is possibly their best record to date.
  2. Rainbow contains 12 thrilling sci-fi spectacles, suitable for headbanger and Luddite alike. [14 Apr 2010, p.73]
  3. As a band, C&C either inspire rabid adoration or complete dismissal; that won't change with Year of the Black Rainbow. That said, any fan of heavy progressive rock music may find this music to be of compelling interest, whether one buys into the conceptual nature of the Amory Wars or not.
  4. Rainbow is definitely Sanchez's show: His dreamy vocals give all the fantasy crap real human warmth. [May/Jun 2010, p.966]
  5. The adventurous nature of Coheed and Cambria was what made them so thrilling. And while this new tangent of popular method could win them a fair few new fans, it may leave some of the loyal wanting more from their next opus.
  6. It's full of fascinating, stirring moments, but overall, Year of the Black Rainbow suffers just a little too much from its own grand, sprawling ambition.
  7. There's no trace of Coheed's oddball eclecticism here, or of their dynamic pop sensibilities; instead the emotionally and tonally monochrome Black Rainbow gives the impression of a typically humorless metal act.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Arguably the weakest of Coheed and Cambria's albums (I'm not much a fan of SSTB, call me a heretic. The joy for me begins with IKSSE:3), Year of The Black Rainbow is not at all without merit. "The Broken", "Here We Are Juggernaut", "Far", "This Shattered Symphony", "World of Lines", and "Pearl of the Stars" are all fairly enjoyable excursions in the Pre-Amory Wars mythos. Musically it's all fairly pedantic prog-rock intertwined with vague and slightly touching love songs, nothing astounding instrumentally. Fair enough. Taken into context with the story, though, and fleshed out with the accompanying book, this album still very much works for me. Many reviewers describe a rather "dark and dreary" overtone, and I'll agree. However, it's only because the story is so. Rife with tragedy and grief, the tale sets the stage for SSTB and the Amory Wars in general. As an album alone, it's only fairly good. I'm writing this review in context, as the album plays a crucial role in the rest of Coheed and Cambria's epic tale. Reader, keep an open mind. Follow along with the book. As a whole, you'll find something special here.

    Then move on to the Afterman Saga, and be completely blown away.
    Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    A solid hit and change of style from No World, The Black Rainbow boasts some catchy tunes along with a bunch of tracks very impressive in musicianship. Expand
  3. May 8, 2011
    8
    A very strong album throughout. It's interesting how they decided to write a prequel to their previous four albums and the production and instrumentals certainly sound different enough to make it feel as such.
    Wouldn't say it's their best album but still recommended.
    Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    4
    This was everything BUT Coheed. A little too over-engineered and mediocre in many parts, this album sadly stands alone in their amazing discography...
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    3
    Really disappointing - total lack of their typical anthemic songs (save, perhaps, Here we are Juggernaut). Over-produced, the whole album feels dark and dreary. In my opinion, their worst album to date. Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2012
    3
    The best word to describe this album would be disappointing. Evolution is usually a natural thing for a band, if every album sounded the same it would be very monotonous, but this album is a failed attempt of Coheed leaving behind all their groove and pop elements and going full prog-rock. What we're left with is a bleak and dreary album with only a couple of songs that are even worth listening to. I do believe that the producers of this album are equally to blame, Coheed and Cambria are not the Industrial/Prog-Rock hybrid band portrayed on this album and never should be. I only hope as a huge fan myself Claudio and the band learn from this and go back to their emotionally driven and funky Post-Hardcore roots that made them such a great band to begin with. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2014
    1
    Aside from Here We Are Juggernaut, which is easily one of their best songs, this entire album is trash. It's so disappointing as well because Coheed and Cambria has always put out quality work. I agree with Neverender, Year of the Black Rainbow stands alone from all of their other work in the worst way possible. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews