• Record Label: Nothing
  • Release Date: Apr 17, 2007
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 224

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CraigC.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    THE best NIN album thus far!
  2. JK.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    Fantastic album.
  3. GretchenA
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    trent=god go, ETS!
  4. saud
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    no words to describe its perfection.
  5. RunDMG
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Too much emphasis being given to its "sonic assaults"! I find it contains some very subtle elements, both in music and lyrics (NIN subtle???) I was worried that the album could not match his courageous efforts and best intentions - glad to report that I was wrong! Best album of the past five years!
  6. MatthewE
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    A thoughtful, unique, and most of all... inspiring album by a true artist.
  7. DonovanM
    May 4, 2007
    10
    This albumbs good. I havnt listened to a new albumb this heavily since DeLoused. If you dont like this, go listen to Fall Out Boy, or be scene and listen to indy? Sure its not a 10, nothings perfect, but it leaves every other new albumb behind by miles. This albumb has really good flow, could use a bit more variety, but it makes us for it with awsome songs all throughout.
  8. BrendanP
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Every single song on this album is simply stunning.
  9. BrandonW
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    Perfect album, and this is only the first part! With 16 incredible tracks, it is impossible to stop listening to this album due to its addictiveness. Reznor has said he didn't care what anyone thought of this album and wasn't trying to impress anyone. He simply made great music with some help. Definitely a perfect score on my rating. There definitely isn't anything out Perfect album, and this is only the first part! With 16 incredible tracks, it is impossible to stop listening to this album due to its addictiveness. Reznor has said he didn't care what anyone thought of this album and wasn't trying to impress anyone. He simply made great music with some help. Definitely a perfect score on my rating. There definitely isn't anything out there that sounds this good right now. Bring on the next disc! Expand
  10. AviD
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    The complete opposite of With Teeth: layer upon layer of electronic goodness. He's writing outside of himself now, and the lyrics are better than ever. Top notch album.
  11. KurtW
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Phenomenal.
  12. LydiaT
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I'd give this 9.5 out of 10. This is a welcome return to form for this band after the boring 'With Teeth' album. This album sounds fresh and original, and is the first album in a long time that actually managed to surprise me. I have also found it to be an album that gets (even) better with each further listen.
  13. JasonL
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    TR has smashed NIN into a million pieces, then stuck them back together with a glue made from raw talent and creative inspiration. The concept of totalitarianism/fundamentalism mixed with the self righteous religious bigotry that is so evident in the world today, makes this a warning and a great album that inspires with it's beautiful melodic destruction, crazy synths and shell TR has smashed NIN into a million pieces, then stuck them back together with a glue made from raw talent and creative inspiration. The concept of totalitarianism/fundamentalism mixed with the self righteous religious bigotry that is so evident in the world today, makes this a warning and a great album that inspires with it's beautiful melodic destruction, crazy synths and shell shocked beats. Brilliant. Expand
  14. tamsynk
    May 7, 2007
    9
    As a long time NIN fan every new record is approached with joy and trepidation. Will it be another essential record or will it tarnish reznor's reputation? I'm happy to report it is the first. Year Zero is a very modern industrial record, with a further development of the sound on With Teeth. Hard electronic beats, political concepts, catchy choruses and grinding guitars, it is As a long time NIN fan every new record is approached with joy and trepidation. Will it be another essential record or will it tarnish reznor's reputation? I'm happy to report it is the first. Year Zero is a very modern industrial record, with a further development of the sound on With Teeth. Hard electronic beats, political concepts, catchy choruses and grinding guitars, it is all there and then some. There is a chance that a whole new audience may come if NIN get the right airplay. In addition YZ has the whole alternate reality game concept, which can only add to the experience. Only a 9 because there are two songs that didn't make it to my ipod, this is still classic work and proves that being in your 40s doesn't hinder your rock and roll. Expand
  15. JeffR
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Album of the year so far. Great concept, great band, and more importantly, great music.
  16. RyanG
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    The most solid album since the 1999 release of The Fragile (greatest album of all time). Reznor shows his true talent with his masterful construction and just plain fucking stylish beats.
  17. J.
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Firmly cements his place as one of our very best artists.
  18. alanl
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    "9" because I think there are a couple of trax that could've been left out of the final track list but i think It is a smart political record. Not Reznor's best but the man's got plenty of things to say.
  19. DanielM
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    Great album....yes it may not be another "downward spiral" but how many bands ever even come close to matching an album thats considered by many to be brilliant? I have seen many slam the whole so called "viral marketing " and lyrics but, i think if your just reading the lyrics a lot of songs might not seem that good...just listen to them with the music and it changes into something much Great album....yes it may not be another "downward spiral" but how many bands ever even come close to matching an album thats considered by many to be brilliant? I have seen many slam the whole so called "viral marketing " and lyrics but, i think if your just reading the lyrics a lot of songs might not seem that good...just listen to them with the music and it changes into something much better. And for the marketing, i think it was brilliant. A story that fans could investigate and draw their own conclusions about...something that as far as i know was unlike marketing altogether. If i am coerrect it all started with a T-shirt that had many letters some of which stood out from the rest and simply said "i am trying to beleive" which led to an odd, mysterious website. Then fans finding a jumpdrive with a song on it in a bathroom after a NIN concert. All of this led to a "marekting" campaign that was not advertised but more hidden and mysterious. I dont think i have ever heard/seen anything like it and i loved the idea of it. Much cooler and more fun than seeing some ad on itunes or cdnow.com. I have been a fan since i first read the lyrics to TDS and found my musical interest expanding. WIth Teeth was not a bad album...maybe a liltte too mainstream for me but i dont see how people could bash that album and i really have no clue why The Fragile had such a seemigly poor reputation. Reznor makes me beleive that there really are some people that deseve to be called artist instead of your typical trend following radio friendly music salesman that most music nowadays seems to feel like. I'm just glad that we didnt have to wait several years for this album and i think thats another thing that shows how talented Reznor is...this album came out what...less than 2 years after With Teeth and i am sure the marketing took more time than the typical boring ad anyone else would have done. This album would likely scare away your average music listener with the abstract soundscapes but, i think it will be a treat for anyone who found With Teeth to be too mainstream sounding that you would expect from NIN. Expand
  20. tomd
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    a masterpiece!! brilliant use of noise samples, beautifully crafted album. possibilby his best since "pretty hate machine". he makes the avant-rock and experimental work in a very accessible way. my faith in NIN is restored after being somewhat bored with his last few efforts.
  21. C.
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    Best NIN album since The Downward Spiral. Loud, noisy, angry, and above all, focused.
  22. shun
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    Why do people still want another Downward Spiral?, I would rather see something different. I think this album is certainly more mature, and lyrics are the step forward by his standard. I really enjoy this album, I like its audacity and themes, not to mention some really great music.
  23. BenW
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    Don't Compare this one to past NIN albums - it stands alone both in theme and musical genius, seeing a high quality result achieved. 9/10
  24. ErwinK
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    This is really really good. Probably one of the best political albums even made. Trent has channelled all this anger away from self-flagelation into a demonic dystopian view of the future. The first half of the album is full of wicked, spikey, delectible peices of NIN sounds - like broken glass mixed with macadmia nut ice-cream. In the middle of this album you have this track, The This is really really good. Probably one of the best political albums even made. Trent has channelled all this anger away from self-flagelation into a demonic dystopian view of the future. The first half of the album is full of wicked, spikey, delectible peices of NIN sounds - like broken glass mixed with macadmia nut ice-cream. In the middle of this album you have this track, The Warning, an incredibly spooky track which talks of a messianic alien. Very creepy X-Files. Nice. We are delivered from salvation not by the second coming but by a giant hand coming down from the sky. The second half of the album is more moody and brooding. The final track sounds very David Bowie IMO. Expand
  25. DanR
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing. Way to stay ahead of the game, and surpass the expectations of even the most hardcore fan.
  26. stephena
    May 13, 2007
    9
    totally outstanding album.well worth the wait .nice to see someone try new directions in music.reznor knows what he's good at & knows how to make it work.good mix of industrial ,rock,punk &the future.this will be ain top ten of 2007
  27. BrianP
    May 18, 2007
    9
    An all out great album. For me, this is a much more exciting listen when compared to Reznor's previous 2 albums. It's on par with Pretty Hate Machine, Broken and The Downward Spiral.
  28. BillN
    May 2, 2007
    9
    NIN best album in years. Better than WithTeeth and The Fragile (and i liked both albums).
  29. maplejet
    May 25, 2007
    9
    Another great NIN release. This band is heading straight for the top of the music world.
  30. spaced
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Reznor lets loose with a vision of the future engulfed in an electronic haze that any fan of his previous work will be only too eager to absorb. One in which there is no god, the government rules with an iron fist, and our planet is engulfed with war and death. A cynical eye might say that he's not stretching things too far here. A very engrossing listening Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Reznor lets loose with a vision of the future engulfed in an electronic haze that any fan of his previous work will be only too eager to absorb. One in which there is no god, the government rules with an iron fist, and our planet is engulfed with war and death. A cynical eye might say that he's not stretching things too far here. A very engrossing listening experience from beginning to end, and the best stuff i've heard all year. highly recommended. Expand
  31. William
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    This is an inspired piece of art.
  32. JorgeS
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    The best album of the year, and of the best albums of Nine Inch Nails.
  33. JustinC
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    Great album. Reznor's return to full glory. He hasn't made anything this good since The Downward Spiral, and with a few more listens, I think this could surpass even that album.
  34. ArchV
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    Another amazing record by Trent. I really enjoy his new experimental sound and the way that the whole album sounds. I gave it 10/10 and waiting for the second concept part.
  35. Arley
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Very good NIN Album!
  36. JacksonY
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Truly genius. One of the best album made in years. People have never heard anything sound like this before.
  37. DanielF
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    A fantastic album that ranks right among the top of NIN's work. The best album from Reznor since The Downward Spiral. A complete concept album with amazing structure and sounds... no fan of good music should be without it!
  38. Jason
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    Very interesting use of sounds interacting with eachother, much more like his earlier work. Wonderful album.
  39. CarlosD
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    Not only one of Trent's best, but one of the best things I've heard so far this year.
  40. MichaelB
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    NIN's new album is quite a departure from the last one. Instead of heavy riffs and crushing beats, the songs blend noise rock with downtempo electro. The lyrics paint the picture of a bleak dystopian future run by a fascist government. The vocal work is classic Reznor: dark and full of rage. The album as a whole is great, albeit not near as versatile as records like The Downward NIN's new album is quite a departure from the last one. Instead of heavy riffs and crushing beats, the songs blend noise rock with downtempo electro. The lyrics paint the picture of a bleak dystopian future run by a fascist government. The vocal work is classic Reznor: dark and full of rage. The album as a whole is great, albeit not near as versatile as records like The Downward Spiral or The Fragile; the songs are all quite similar and tend to blend into one another. That aside, most fans of rock and/or electro will find the album enjoyable, and NIN fans will love it. Expand
  41. ThomasB
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Not only are the songs genius, the idea behind the album is more inspiring than the shit you hear on the radio today. It blows With Teeth out of the water and that's saying a lot. Trent Reznor will never cease to disappoint me.
  42. jeffersw
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Trent is back, and this is the first thing that hasn't dissapointed since "the perfect drug" stopped me dead in my tracks (trent + D n' B breakbeats = awesome!). This record is quite a welcome surprise. after all these years of mediocrity, it seems Trent has something to say, and the muse to say it well, once again. also, cheers to the obvious shoegazer references. I'd Trent is back, and this is the first thing that hasn't dissapointed since "the perfect drug" stopped me dead in my tracks (trent + D n' B breakbeats = awesome!). This record is quite a welcome surprise. after all these years of mediocrity, it seems Trent has something to say, and the muse to say it well, once again. also, cheers to the obvious shoegazer references. I'd always thought NIN could use more "space' in the compositions. and the drum programming is his best in YEARS... Expand
  43. JustinH
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    It's nice to see such a tremendous talent like Trent Reznor still relevant and still artistically viable. Year Zero really is the beginning of a new era for Nine Inch Nails, and this could catapult Reznor to heights unforseen- even moreso than what the Downward Spiral achieved. "The Beginning of the End" this is anything but.
  44. JuanB
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    Just heard the album for the first time and I have to say...its amazing....from the sounds to the lyrics...everythings just in its right place and time...also liked the whole concept thing... PS: The best since Downward Spiral? Have u all forgotten Trents masterpiece The Fragile? just wanted to comment on that one.....
  45. MikeC
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    This was one amazing first listen, and I'm almost positive it will get much better with repeated listens. Definatly worth the money.
  46. JakubK
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    I just couldn't ask for more. This is absolutely masterpiece by Reznor standards, and it's even bigger opus magnum in the nowadays music standards. It's way different than any previous Nine Inch Nails album, and it's *his* best album both concept and lyrics-wise
  47. JeffO
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Balls out!
  48. JohnR
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Best new work so far. A must have for any fan and/or person of decent taste in music.
  49. petera
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    considering the art involved with this effort and the brilliant concept reznor get an A+. Im not saying that this beats the classic downward spiral but it is just as good. have an open ear when listening. enjoy
  50. JoshB
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    This CD marks a new direction for NIN while still keeping that classic NIN sound that we all love. The CD stands on its own even without the ARG; I can't wait for part 2 which is due next year!
  51. MichaelS
    Apr 21, 2007
    9
    I have been a nine inch nails fan since Trent performed at the very first Lollapalooza. like I believe every nail fan, I loved pretty hate machine, broken and the downward spiral. Since spiral though, it seems to me as if the nails albums have been good, but now where near as incredible and addicitve as past albums. Year Zero, for me at least, brings nails right back into that era. I I have been a nine inch nails fan since Trent performed at the very first Lollapalooza. like I believe every nail fan, I loved pretty hate machine, broken and the downward spiral. Since spiral though, it seems to me as if the nails albums have been good, but now where near as incredible and addicitve as past albums. Year Zero, for me at least, brings nails right back into that era. I think it innovative, amazing and addicting. Can't wait for part II next year. Expand
  52. RandyM
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    Reznor's best album since "Downward Spiral." Pretty cool stuff here.
  53. RossE
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    great
  54. RichardH
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    I'm not going to compare this CD to the Downward Spiral. I'm not going to liken it to With_Teeth or go on and on about 'digital hardcore' since I have no idea what that even means. But what I will say about this disk is that it is Reznor's most ambitious outing since The Fragile. And he pulls it off easily. From it's darkest growl to it's softest whisper I'm not going to compare this CD to the Downward Spiral. I'm not going to liken it to With_Teeth or go on and on about 'digital hardcore' since I have no idea what that even means. But what I will say about this disk is that it is Reznor's most ambitious outing since The Fragile. And he pulls it off easily. From it's darkest growl to it's softest whisper this disk simply bleeds into you. With each repeated play-through the sounds between the lines of each song have slowly unfurled and I've become completely absorbed in this fictional future that is actually simply a slightly darker depiction of the current status of our world. For fans of the sound that Reznor has been crafting starting with the Fragile this CD should be highly recommended. For fans of the earlier era stuff that have disliked the sound of his more recent work, you may be less thrilled. Expand
  55. CurtisO
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    Hard to compare against the spiral, I would consider this album closer to drone/ambient affair with with heavy bass semi-aggressive overtones. Definitely a great follow-up to with_teeth. Hopefully Trent's new found inspiration will lead to more albums with less time in between.
  56. RobM
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Almost all tracks are excellent. Trent really delivers again after his great With Teeth return
  57. DavidD
    May 23, 2007
    10
    The best since the downword spiral. Trent Rezonr seems to have got his edge back. Great CD
  58. nicol
    May 5, 2007
    10
    trent's best work since the downward spiral...definately an upward one !!!!!!!!!
  59. JasonS
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Finally an album released over the last few years that is a whole album. Kick ass.
  60. JD.S.
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    In response to Weston T's attack at this being a concept album, you are obviously not paying to anything outside of your own little head. Pretty Hate Machine was a concept album primarily about a system within society (be it humans, love, work, etc. Trent's smart enough to be ambiguous). Broken was the failure of that and The Downward Spiral is the end result. The Fragile and In response to Weston T's attack at this being a concept album, you are obviously not paying to anything outside of your own little head. Pretty Hate Machine was a concept album primarily about a system within society (be it humans, love, work, etc. Trent's smart enough to be ambiguous). Broken was the failure of that and The Downward Spiral is the end result. The Fragile and With Teeth are far more complex and "sprawling" but repeated listens are always enlightening if you pay attention. Now that Trent has released his least ambiguous album to date, people are making a big deal of it being a concept album, when in fact it may musically be the least interesting Nine Inch Nails concept album yet, just for the fact that every little detail is laid out to perfection through the brilliant Alternate Reality Game that coincided with the release of the album. The true lifeblood of NIN and the reason, i contend, for the hardcore cult following that will buy anything NIN releases is the ambiguity. You may think Closer is about sex, after listening to it in the context of The Downward Spiral however, it's quite obvious that it's a very, very negative song about how low one can truely get. That's not even the definitive meaning of the song and you may disagree, but that is what makes NIN great and important in a sick world of endlessly cliche manufactured "rock stars." Instinctively, I tend to discredit every new NIN album as "the one where he finally lost it" but then i listen a few more times and it starts to make sense.. Now many years later, I still find new and interesting things in every Nine Inch Nails album, no matter how many times i've heard them and that, I can assure you, is no accident. Expand
  61. StevenR
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Trent is back, and in full force. As a huge NIN fan, this album surpassed my expectations and then some. I really recommend this.
  62. ZachS
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Yeah, um Year Zero is rocking 2007, thats it in a nutshell. Honestly if you a fan of Nine Inch Nails you will dig this album like no other, but if you hate them just jump off a cliiff cus you deserve to die! haha just kidding but really from hyperpower! all the way to zero-sum you will just bw amazed
  63. Pier-PhilippeD
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    This is the strongest NIN album since The Fragile. Dense, complex, intricate, innovative yet incredibly catchy, this might be the album that will bring NIN back into the mainstream.
  64. TomH
    Apr 14, 2007
    9
    Very good
  65. allyw
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    A little different compared to past albums but this album just proves that Trent Reznor still has it. From political stabs to global warming, Trent seems to hit every topic. This album is charged with Hyperpower!
  66. JeffOslin
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    Amazing! The NIN we've all come to love and know.
  67. AdamT
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Fantastic album, not much can be "said" about it. Its more of an album you just have to sit down and listen through. It mixes many genres together. The artwork is awesome, and many surprises await the listener!
  68. BrianK
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Reznor can do no wrong, and proves once again with his systematic, noisy, yet refined, digital prowess that he is once again a rock god among rock men, I like the concept and it weaves into a nice story and paints a dark and detailed image of our society should we give into the ways completely we are seemingly putting ourselves through. Also classic NIN always has a nice balance of Reznor can do no wrong, and proves once again with his systematic, noisy, yet refined, digital prowess that he is once again a rock god among rock men, I like the concept and it weaves into a nice story and paints a dark and detailed image of our society should we give into the ways completely we are seemingly putting ourselves through. Also classic NIN always has a nice balance of industrial growl and catchy hooks, Reznor once again does not dissapoint. Great Album! Expand
  69. USAtheist
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    If you just ignore all the crypto-sites, phone numbers and all the viral marketing shenanigans, you'll notice that the music is like Autechre gone punk--this is what Digital Hardcore was supposed to sound like!
  70. isaacn
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Few records will keep your interest from begining to end. This one will not only execute that task it will keep your finger on the replay button time after time
  71. Benji
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Wow! This album kicks so much ass it's painful
  72. MikeM
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Depth and innovation.
  73. juliettee
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    Fantastic. Back to the crunchy machine noise I've known and loved since I was a kid. Trent's gone and restored my faith in him.
  74. TomiR
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    This album is something worth waiting for! My favourite is Zero-Sum.
  75. TylerG
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    This CD is my favorite NIN CD since Downward Spiral, this CD kept me wanting more, i loved every track, Industrial music at it's best, Year Zero is one of te finest albums this year
  76. VanB
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    "Year Zero", on my list, is the best album so far this year. It's hook filled tracks are poppy enough to catch the ears of radio listeners and MTV slaves alike, but is complex and layered so delicately that it turns off some fans of "With Teeth". Reznor's honestly bitter lyrics paint a percfect picture of the true thoughts of an average americans mind.( like he says on CAPITAL "Year Zero", on my list, is the best album so far this year. It's hook filled tracks are poppy enough to catch the ears of radio listeners and MTV slaves alike, but is complex and layered so delicately that it turns off some fans of "With Teeth". Reznor's honestly bitter lyrics paint a percfect picture of the true thoughts of an average americans mind.( like he says on CAPITAL G, There's a lot of me inside you / maybe your afraid to see. ) Expand
  77. TannerM
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    This album works best as a whole. great songs. great music, great message. Zero sum could easily go down as one of the best closers of all time
  78. TRuiner
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Staying 2 years ahead of everyone else as usual.
  79. MaxL
    May 24, 2007
    10
    I think that Trent Reznor has just proved he's still alive and kicking. Year Zero is as fine as all his other works, yet it feels simpler. For this, I say at last, someone isn't afraid to do simple and well constructed songs (as the Beatles were doing in their time) There's a lot of work in it, a lot of thinking and you can hear that quality has mattered in the creation of I think that Trent Reznor has just proved he's still alive and kicking. Year Zero is as fine as all his other works, yet it feels simpler. For this, I say at last, someone isn't afraid to do simple and well constructed songs (as the Beatles were doing in their time) There's a lot of work in it, a lot of thinking and you can hear that quality has mattered in the creation of that album. The general feel of it keeps going all along, yet you almost feel like listening to hip hop at some times (My Violent Heart, The Greater Good) , and hard rock in others (Survivalism, Meet Your Master, The Beginning of the End) with catchy chorus and great instrumental parts. Overall, this is the most complete and fitting with itself album Nine Inch Nails' brain has made since The Downward Spiral. Expand
  80. JesucristoElSeñor
    Jun 23, 2007
    9
    Although Year Zero might not be as uncompromising and angst-ridden as Reznor's previous albums (the exception being WIth Teeth), it is a multilayered, musically vigorous and urgent piece of work. As an album it is extremely cohesive and is minimally self-indulgent (remarkable coming from the artist who created Pretty Hate Machine and the Downward Spiral) and provides the some of the Although Year Zero might not be as uncompromising and angst-ridden as Reznor's previous albums (the exception being WIth Teeth), it is a multilayered, musically vigorous and urgent piece of work. As an album it is extremely cohesive and is minimally self-indulgent (remarkable coming from the artist who created Pretty Hate Machine and the Downward Spiral) and provides the some of the most compelling lyrics of any Nine Inch Nails album. The songs are catchy, the production is stellar, and the tracks present strides in the development of the band's sound. Expand
  81. booyah
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This album is awsome. 'Me, I'm Not' and 'Capital G' are definate standouts but the whole album rocks. I can't wait for part 2 next year
  82. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Nine Inch Nails' most ambitious offering to date, with a concept based around the future of the human conciousness we see Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross exercising their most experimental works into pop/rock anthems, a benchmark for modern music production.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Make no mistake this is NIN as usual, but [it is] an effortless, inspired, and unaffected Trent Reznor the likes of which we may not have had the pleasure of knowing for almost a decade and a half.
  2. Amid its carefully calibrated sonic assaults, Year Zero has a number of tracks that will stop you in yours.
  3. Its nihilism can grate, but it makes an impression.