Year Zero

  • Record Label: Nothing
  • Release Date: Apr 17, 2007
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 233 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 233

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CraigC.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    THE best NIN album thus far!
  2. JK.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    Fantastic album.
  3. GretchenA
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    trent=god go, ETS!
  4. saud
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    no words to describe its perfection.
  5. RunDMG
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Too much emphasis being given to its "sonic assaults"! I find it contains some very subtle elements, both in music and lyrics (NIN subtle???) I was worried that the album could not match his courageous efforts and best intentions - glad to report that I was wrong! Best album of the past five years!
  6. MatthewE
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    A thoughtful, unique, and most of all... inspiring album by a true artist.
  7. DonovanM
    May 4, 2007
    10
    This albumbs good. I havnt listened to a new albumb this heavily since DeLoused. If you dont like this, go listen to Fall Out Boy, or be scene and listen to indy? Sure its not a 10, nothings perfect, but it leaves every other new albumb behind by miles. This albumb has really good flow, could use a bit more variety, but it makes us for it with awsome songs all throughout.
  8. BrendanP
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Every single song on this album is simply stunning.
  9. BrandonW
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    Perfect album, and this is only the first part! With 16 incredible tracks, it is impossible to stop listening to this album due to its addictiveness. Reznor has said he didn't care what anyone thought of this album and wasn't trying to impress anyone. He simply made great music with some help. Definitely a perfect score on my rating. There definitely isn't anything out Perfect album, and this is only the first part! With 16 incredible tracks, it is impossible to stop listening to this album due to its addictiveness. Reznor has said he didn't care what anyone thought of this album and wasn't trying to impress anyone. He simply made great music with some help. Definitely a perfect score on my rating. There definitely isn't anything out there that sounds this good right now. Bring on the next disc! Expand
  10. AviD
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    The complete opposite of With Teeth: layer upon layer of electronic goodness. He's writing outside of himself now, and the lyrics are better than ever. Top notch album.
  11. KurtW
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Phenomenal.
  12. LydiaT
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I'd give this 9.5 out of 10. This is a welcome return to form for this band after the boring 'With Teeth' album. This album sounds fresh and original, and is the first album in a long time that actually managed to surprise me. I have also found it to be an album that gets (even) better with each further listen.
  13. JasonL
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    TR has smashed NIN into a million pieces, then stuck them back together with a glue made from raw talent and creative inspiration. The concept of totalitarianism/fundamentalism mixed with the self righteous religious bigotry that is so evident in the world today, makes this a warning and a great album that inspires with it's beautiful melodic destruction, crazy synths and shell TR has smashed NIN into a million pieces, then stuck them back together with a glue made from raw talent and creative inspiration. The concept of totalitarianism/fundamentalism mixed with the self righteous religious bigotry that is so evident in the world today, makes this a warning and a great album that inspires with it's beautiful melodic destruction, crazy synths and shell shocked beats. Brilliant. Expand
  14. ToddW
    Apr 19, 2007
    1
    LOSER: Wow, dude, Trent Reznor is writing about bleak things. HUMAN BEING: Yaaahhwwwn. Again. LOSER: No, wait, it's a concept album! HUMAN BEING: Strrreeetcchh. NARRATOR: Let's validate every social reject's worst nightmares with a soundtrack to scrape serial codes off of guns by. Small wonder some of the horror these twisted minds come up with when poor little rich Reznor LOSER: Wow, dude, Trent Reznor is writing about bleak things. HUMAN BEING: Yaaahhwwwn. Again. LOSER: No, wait, it's a concept album! HUMAN BEING: Strrreeetcchh. NARRATOR: Let's validate every social reject's worst nightmares with a soundtrack to scrape serial codes off of guns by. Small wonder some of the horror these twisted minds come up with when poor little rich Reznor puts pen to paper. If you Trench Coat Mafioso wanna-be's really want to hear and appreciate dark, download Joy Division, Spaceman 3, The Cure, Carla Bozulich, or Slint. But then, do us all a favor and turn your anger and angst inward. Leave the rest of us who can separate real from Rael be. Expand
  15. RingoDingo
    Sep 6, 2007
    0
    Terrible. I guess I bought the non-concept version because mine sucks. No immagery, no hooks, very forgetable. I listed to it twice, tried to make it a third time through but got bored. I then popped in 90's NIN, cried a little, because like Nirvana that music will not be created anymore. Trent isnt dead, just his ideas. You can post masterpiece on a canvas smeared with fecal matter Terrible. I guess I bought the non-concept version because mine sucks. No immagery, no hooks, very forgetable. I listed to it twice, tried to make it a third time through but got bored. I then popped in 90's NIN, cried a little, because like Nirvana that music will not be created anymore. Trent isnt dead, just his ideas. You can post masterpiece on a canvas smeared with fecal matter and people will buy it. I guess Trent smeared fecal matter on a mixing console and you all bought it. Expand
  16. WestonT
    Jun 10, 2007
    3
    Depending on who you ask, NIN fans fall into a couple of categories. The first is the old fans, who loved the gut-wrenching pain of Pretty Hate Machine and the emotional impact of some of Trent's quieter, more tentative works. Then there's the Downward Spiral / Broken crowd that loves the anger, power, and raw language that gets poured into antisocial and anthemic songs. This Depending on who you ask, NIN fans fall into a couple of categories. The first is the old fans, who loved the gut-wrenching pain of Pretty Hate Machine and the emotional impact of some of Trent's quieter, more tentative works. Then there's the Downward Spiral / Broken crowd that loves the anger, power, and raw language that gets poured into antisocial and anthemic songs. This album is neither of those. This borders on boring, which is not what I expect of Trent, and I'm hoping that he leaves the next "concept album" for Queensryche to do in any conceivable future. Rage against the current machine, not a conjured one, eh? Expand
  17. SteveT
    Apr 16, 2007
    4
    lyrically weak ... uneventful at most times a major disappointment. the thermals released an album of a somewhat similar theme only they pulled it off with great success. biggest disappointment of the year so far.
  18. DanP
    Apr 19, 2007
    2
    Terrible. One or two good songs (maybe Hyperpower! and Capital G) but that's it, "Survivalism" completely sucks, avoid this one and buy one of their old pieces of art, that are actually worth your money.
  19. [Anonymous]
    May 21, 2007
    4
    it's obscure, lacks the hooks of With Teeth and most importantly lacks the balls out screaming that makes Trent so damn good. He whispers on most songs, with beats seemingly melding into the same song over and over again. Let's hope the 2nd half is better.
  20. LucasK
    May 25, 2007
    5
    Sit down with this album, listen to it, digest it, then put it away in the cupboard for a week and I guarantee none of these middle of the road songs will be with you when you retrieve it.
  21. ReneZ
    Apr 19, 2007
    8
    Amazing how Trent releases a largely unique record each release. This album I must admit at first I was disappointed with, but with each listen it is most definetly growing on me.
  22. tamsynk
    May 7, 2007
    9
    As a long time NIN fan every new record is approached with joy and trepidation. Will it be another essential record or will it tarnish reznor's reputation? I'm happy to report it is the first. Year Zero is a very modern industrial record, with a further development of the sound on With Teeth. Hard electronic beats, political concepts, catchy choruses and grinding guitars, it is As a long time NIN fan every new record is approached with joy and trepidation. Will it be another essential record or will it tarnish reznor's reputation? I'm happy to report it is the first. Year Zero is a very modern industrial record, with a further development of the sound on With Teeth. Hard electronic beats, political concepts, catchy choruses and grinding guitars, it is all there and then some. There is a chance that a whole new audience may come if NIN get the right airplay. In addition YZ has the whole alternate reality game concept, which can only add to the experience. Only a 9 because there are two songs that didn't make it to my ipod, this is still classic work and proves that being in your 40s doesn't hinder your rock and roll. Expand
  23. BrandonS
    Apr 17, 2007
    7
    Look, this is no Downward Spiral. But I don't think it's an exaggeration to say this is his best since then. To me, it sounds like a more inspired version of "With Teeth." Reznor has been painting with the same colors for years now, but this time it's actually about something. The only problem is that it sounds just like you'd think it would, and, though the lyrics are Look, this is no Downward Spiral. But I don't think it's an exaggeration to say this is his best since then. To me, it sounds like a more inspired version of "With Teeth." Reznor has been painting with the same colors for years now, but this time it's actually about something. The only problem is that it sounds just like you'd think it would, and, though the lyrics are better than usual overall, he still spits out insipid lines like "I can't feel anymore" and "I swallowed it down." If Trent Reznor worked with a great or even good lyricist on an album, he could make another classic like Pretty Hate Machine or The Downward Spiral. Until then, at best it'll be excellent, which this is. Expand
  24. JeffR
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Album of the year so far. Great concept, great band, and more importantly, great music.
  25. RyanG
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    The most solid album since the 1999 release of The Fragile (greatest album of all time). Reznor shows his true talent with his masterful construction and just plain fucking stylish beats.
  26. J.
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Firmly cements his place as one of our very best artists.
  27. ChrisG
    Apr 19, 2007
    8
    Surprisingly strong with some uneven lyrics and a wee bit of monotony towards the middle tracks. The final song "cycle" - The Greater Good through Zero-Sum is one of the best sequencing I've ever heard on a concept-type album. Key moments: -Trent sorta "geeks out" on The Great Destroyer with the mechanical blips and distorted video game noise -Survivalism's chorus. The melody is Surprisingly strong with some uneven lyrics and a wee bit of monotony towards the middle tracks. The final song "cycle" - The Greater Good through Zero-Sum is one of the best sequencing I've ever heard on a concept-type album. Key moments: -Trent sorta "geeks out" on The Great Destroyer with the mechanical blips and distorted video game noise -Survivalism's chorus. The melody is brilliant -The Great Destroyer could have been a rambling, unfocused mess. Instead, it's one of the strongest tracks he's ever produced -In This Twilight and Zero-Sum combine ache, pain, desolation and hope. Truly terrific. Expand
  28. alanl
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    "9" because I think there are a couple of trax that could've been left out of the final track list but i think It is a smart political record. Not Reznor's best but the man's got plenty of things to say.
  29. DanielM
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    Great album....yes it may not be another "downward spiral" but how many bands ever even come close to matching an album thats considered by many to be brilliant? I have seen many slam the whole so called "viral marketing " and lyrics but, i think if your just reading the lyrics a lot of songs might not seem that good...just listen to them with the music and it changes into something much Great album....yes it may not be another "downward spiral" but how many bands ever even come close to matching an album thats considered by many to be brilliant? I have seen many slam the whole so called "viral marketing " and lyrics but, i think if your just reading the lyrics a lot of songs might not seem that good...just listen to them with the music and it changes into something much better. And for the marketing, i think it was brilliant. A story that fans could investigate and draw their own conclusions about...something that as far as i know was unlike marketing altogether. If i am coerrect it all started with a T-shirt that had many letters some of which stood out from the rest and simply said "i am trying to beleive" which led to an odd, mysterious website. Then fans finding a jumpdrive with a song on it in a bathroom after a NIN concert. All of this led to a "marekting" campaign that was not advertised but more hidden and mysterious. I dont think i have ever heard/seen anything like it and i loved the idea of it. Much cooler and more fun than seeing some ad on itunes or cdnow.com. I have been a fan since i first read the lyrics to TDS and found my musical interest expanding. WIth Teeth was not a bad album...maybe a liltte too mainstream for me but i dont see how people could bash that album and i really have no clue why The Fragile had such a seemigly poor reputation. Reznor makes me beleive that there really are some people that deseve to be called artist instead of your typical trend following radio friendly music salesman that most music nowadays seems to feel like. I'm just glad that we didnt have to wait several years for this album and i think thats another thing that shows how talented Reznor is...this album came out what...less than 2 years after With Teeth and i am sure the marketing took more time than the typical boring ad anyone else would have done. This album would likely scare away your average music listener with the abstract soundscapes but, i think it will be a treat for anyone who found With Teeth to be too mainstream sounding that you would expect from NIN. Expand
  30. RandeliusW
    Apr 20, 2007
    8
    Great album. It seems the older guys always fade and can't make something catchy. Not so here. Hopefully Billy Corgan can match/best this effort with Zeitgeist in July.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Make no mistake this is NIN as usual, but [it is] an effortless, inspired, and unaffected Trent Reznor the likes of which we may not have had the pleasure of knowing for almost a decade and a half.
  2. Amid its carefully calibrated sonic assaults, Year Zero has a number of tracks that will stop you in yours.
  3. Its nihilism can grate, but it makes an impression.