User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KarolK
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    Well, what can I say... I knew it would be good... but I hadn't expected such a charming, passionate album. It's Morrissey.
  2. juana
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Moz is here!!!
  3. juanj.
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Great!!!
  4. ferm
    Mar 8, 2009
    9
    The only reason me not giving it a 10 is because the recycling of Thats how people grow up and the similar sound on the last two songs...but i think Its not your birthday anymore is one of his greatest songs... ever !!! theres an anguish on his vocals, a sadness thats is so beautiful and only he can do that...Carol, and Paris are also refreshing and Sumtin squezzing my skull is so The only reason me not giving it a 10 is because the recycling of Thats how people grow up and the similar sound on the last two songs...but i think Its not your birthday anymore is one of his greatest songs... ever !!! theres an anguish on his vocals, a sadness thats is so beautiful and only he can do that...Carol, and Paris are also refreshing and Sumtin squezzing my skull is so dynamic...even though hes not at the excelent level vocally as he was six years ago hes still one of the greatest voices ever. Miss a little bit the arrangements on the music from Ringleader but still im a MOZHEAD Expand
  5. BradleyH
    Feb 21, 2009
    9
    "When I last spoke to Carol" is so relevant to a generation dealing with depression in the decline of the empire and the security promised us by our parents and grandparents, Morrissey still sees and acknowledges youthful pain.
  6. luciusmag
    Feb 26, 2009
    9
    It's really good, equally up there as 'You Are The Query''.
  7. ThomB
    Mar 20, 2009
    9
    This album is a great listen, not just because anything coming out of Morrisey sounds fantastic, but because he returns with his signature melodic hooks and musical instrumentation. One begins to wonder if he needed the Smiths at all. "That's How People Grow Up" and "Black Cloud" stand out particularly, but all songs in this album are fantastic. Once again, a great Morrisey record to This album is a great listen, not just because anything coming out of Morrisey sounds fantastic, but because he returns with his signature melodic hooks and musical instrumentation. One begins to wonder if he needed the Smiths at all. "That's How People Grow Up" and "Black Cloud" stand out particularly, but all songs in this album are fantastic. Once again, a great Morrisey record to save us from a disappointing year in music (or should I say decade?). Expand
  8. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    The best album to date of the 21st Century's incarnation of Morrissey, Years of Refusal finds Moz back at the top of his lyrical game. Not every song is brilliant, but there are several tracks on this album that could go toe to toe with anything the man's ever produced. The music is equally sharp, and it's some of the most aggressive rock that Morrissey has put out.
  9. alexr
    Apr 7, 2009
    8
    A good solid Morrissey album. Not his best, not his worst. I would say this is his best since his return, though.
  10. J.G.
    Mar 25, 2009
    6
    Easily accessible, fresh sounding record with Morrissey in full concert with the rest of his band. That said where are the keen insights, the sly wit? A great Moz album to introduce non-Moz fans, but for die hards not enough of the wit, humor, and majesty that has made Morrissey.
  11. ThomasT
    Feb 18, 2009
    3
    The Smiths were bad, this is worse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Years Of Refusal is Morrissey on top form.
  2. A Morrissey record you can dig into without caring much about the man's lyrics.
  3. His ninth album, Years of Refusal, stares down existential dread with muscular glam-rock riffs, cheesy synths, heroic mariachi flourishes and a whole lot of punch lines.