Yeezus - Kanye West
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 913 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Listening to this album is the equivalent of licking iggy azalea's clean, then shoving your tongue into the small hair follicle opening (or pore) of your favorite gay porn stars nipple. "I just talked to Jesus, He said what up Yeezus" The sheer imagery of Mr. West calling to the son of god on an iphone makes me cum sperm biscuits. If you give this album anything less than a 100, I will personaly shove my up your dick hole, trust me, this is pure pleasure, but from the reaction of your father, it wasn't for the reciever. Never the less, MBDTF was getting by a sheer excellence, but this, this is like getting by the raunchiest, most dirtiest you've ever gazed upon, truly a magnificant symmetrical veins, proportionate tip, shaft. I swear to god i have literally a massive turd and licked it and this album is still better. I also played this while i was stroking my massive shrivled up and even with the condom on I have had sperm fly into my eyes on few occasions) i lasted less than 10 seconds max, i also farted while i came if that alters anyones mind on wether this album is great or not. Thank you yeezus christ, for the greatest album i've ever heard. 100/100 Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    great production but it sounds like an instrumental album

    extremely bad rapping and extremely bad lyrics.
    Kanye definitely needs to step his game up
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    If there's one thing you can expect from Kanye West, it's that you never know what to expect from Kanye West. Yeezus is darker and more twisted than his last fantasy that had us all screaming masterpiece, and after a few listens through this album, you'll be thinking the same thing.
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    2
    I don't like it not even a little. Kanye placed the goal of innovation over the goal of making good music. The production has its moments, but slips too often into a rumbling synths, bassy buzzsaws, high-pitched metallic shrieks that overshadow what little lyrical element exists but that's preferable to the hamfisted lyrics.

    Kanye may have abandoned catchy production and mass appeal,
    but his lyrics burned the bridge. Kanye has always been a juxtaposition, mixing the fragility and transparency of a glass champagne flute with the narcissism and braggadocio that is typical of hip hop. Kanye has fallen (or jumped) from this tight-wire balance, landing deep within the infinite void of his own ego. The lyrics are self-exalting, self-congratulatory and self-centered. On more than a few tracks, Kanye is battling old shadows with incendiary lyrics, responding to echos with a rebuttal to the choir no one is arguing the point anymore, but Kanye continues to tantrum on; not with the witty lyrics of his past albums, but with brutish blusters, caterwaul screams, and childish yowls laced with production cuts and reverb. And, when the time comes, Kanye delves into closet of hiphop's past and drags out the autotune to compliment his tired arguments.

    Kanye's flow ebbs due to a conscious decision to adopt the slow-paced percussive style of southern rappers that bounce over club bangers. Kanye's wavering confident self-aware delivery of the past that made his previous records so great is nowhere to be found, but is certainly missed.

    The media will, of course, gush over the emperor's new clothing, with words like 'brave' and 'genius', but it will only be lip service and mouthed praise. Deep down this isn't about His music, this is about Him as a concept, and idea, a brand. the media's love affair with Kanye was built on the foundation of quality music, but in the wake of countless spectacles of egotism, and displays of self-unawareness, supported by unearned comparisons have laid the brickwork to this taj mahall, Kanye mutters to a reporter, "I am the best ever" and those words migrate to the front of music magazines and the world begins to echo back kanye's own praise, first framed as a question, but like all echos, the end trails off and the statement, "Kanye is the best" becomes a statement. And he has been the best, he has been really really good, but not this time, and no one will have the guts to tell the self-crowned emperor that he is naked.

    I applaud Kanye's vision and ambition to continually grow and change as an artist, but new isn't always better, and sometimes it's terrible. Kanye's music is lacking the soulful sweetness and depth that counteracts his acerbic ostentatiousness. I won't be buying this album, and I will certainly be more skeptical of any subsequent releases.
    Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    A very different type of Hip Hop album. One of the year best album. Kanye West returns with an excellent album Daft Punk and Kanye West makes a great team. This album is very short but every song is worth listening to.

    The album has a electronic sound to it. The highlight song on the album is "Bloood on the Leaves." "New Slaves" and "Black Skinned Head." Those are clearly the best
    tracks on the album. Lyrically Kanye did a very great job. Kanye West never been an outstanding lyricist but he also been an good lyricist.

    This isn't his best album...but it still an outstanding album and deserve Grammys buzz. I love how kanye didn't out out any singles for the album. Very brilliant album ....I must say this is the most interesting album he made. I'll always love his first two album more than his new album but I wouldn't be surprise if some people label this album as his best yet.

    The thing I disliked about the album is the features ....I never been a fan of albums with too many features but that just me... This album is worth listening to,,, it's better to listen to the album from track 1-10 with out skipping songs the first few times.
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    How can you adequately follow up to the greatest hip hop album in music history? Well, you can’t. Kanye West got subsequently worse after My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, with his Jay-Z collaboration Watch The Throne being more back to the roots, yet still awesome and his record’s group album Cruel Summer being not much more than well-made fun for the summer with tons of prominent guests on it. His newest release Yeezus is anything but spectacular just look at its cover. And if West’s Saturday Night Live performance of ‘New Slaves’ and ‘Black Skinhead’ induced you to think that his much anticipated 6th studio album is completely different to his former releases, it’s not either. He was clearly experimenting with beats when he made the album and some Daft Punk productions are quite unique in hip hop, admittedly; but his rap style, which is the topmost in a hip hop album, has stayed very similar to earlier releases. What is it then that still makes it a great album? It’s actually the fact that it isn’t anything new. The Chicago rapper mixes every single one of styles he had in his rap career into this album, meaning The College Dropout’s and Late Registration’s pun- and wordplay-laden lyrics, 808’s & Heartbreak whining, poetic lyrics and Autotune effects, and MBDTF’s epic atmosphere. And seriously, there isn’t anything bad with that because there’s something for everyone included in Yeezus: However, a bit more uniqueness wouldn’t have derogated the record, that’s for sure. Basically, the album may be disappointing just because it isn’t as colossal as ‘Ye’s former albums, but doesn’t lack anything that would make it a great hip hop record. It should seamlessly fit in in your Yeezy CD collection at home and even if it may take some listens to get accustomed to it, you will like it eventually. Yeezus is an original, unconventional, and adventurous hip hop album like you’ve never seen one before. He tries a lot of new things with his music and although he doesn’t succeed every time, it’s great fun to listen to his musical mixture of feelings. Just think of the majestic beats and Justin Vernon’s grand guest parts how can you not love that? Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    3
    The lyrics are lazy and the production is not interesting enough to warrant wasting space on my ipod. Nothing and I mean nothing on this album is worthy of a 10.
  8. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Sonically, this is a great departure for West, and it's pretty exciting. But thematically, this is absolutely nothing new, for him or hip-hop/rap. But you can't just have a good album with just music alone, and unfortunately his lyricism and tone just completely destroy this album could have had. Maybe I am being harsh with a zero, but I guess hyped destroyed it as well. I was expecting something great with all the raving from everybody, but with the expectations set before me this album was pretty underwhelming. I agree with a user who said this earlier. A lot of the praise for Kanye simply comes from him being Kanye, not that he actually does anything good or not. And sadly, this time he did not. Expand
  9. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    WOAT Lyrics! Unbelievable how bad this Album is content wise. And it isn't groundbreaking at all, there are many other Artists who made a LP with a similar sound
  10. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    I've been listening to music from different generation 60's 70's 80's 90's and this generation no album made me this speechless this i by far the best album this year and one of my favorite albums of all time This album is not for everybody but you should give it a listen to see if it's for you
  11. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    People will understand and appreciate this album in time. It's Kanye's Kid A.

    Initially, I only thought the album was ok. If I wrote this review right away, I might have given it a heart sinking 5 (I'm a massive Ye stan).

    But as time went on, I started to enjoy it more and more. Now I listen to it almost every day. It just caught me off guard because it didn't hit off with me right
    away like all of his other solo efforts. Expand
  12. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Wow lost for words Amazing from start to finish & I wasn't even a fan of him but I have to give respect where is due & now he made me a fan Thank you Yeezus you just made me a believer Bound 2 was crazy from the Uh Uh honey & send it up with that grimey beat was crazy & the Jamaican dude killed it
  13. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus captivates exactly what I wanted from a 9.5 album. It is best to avoid Starbucks on your commute to work tomorrow morning due to an excess of basic ordering croissants. I will use sweet and sour sauce as lube going forward. Drake could never aspire to make such an influential album. smh.
  14. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This album is nothing short of a masterpiece, i still prefer MBDTF but this is grabbing at it's heals. Kanye west is a genius and if you doubt that then you clearly need to go listen to your trashy beats with no lyrics.
  15. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Coming off the maximalist splendor of MBDTF, which captured many, including my own, opinions for best album of 2010, Kanye has scaled back the grandiosity of the music he makes, but has not lost any of the emotional impact. These ten songs bite and snarl like the dogs he samples "Black Skinhead" bringing to mind comparisons to aggressive hip hop groups such as Death Grips or Public Enemy. The sweeping varied orchestration of MBDTF and the profuse sampling of his earlier work is traded for hypnotic, pounding synths that evoke Suicide or Nine Inch Nails. The sounds are as aggressive as the lyrics that replace maudlin attempts at sincerity with blunt, violent sexual imagery and blatant egoism. Yet as disgusting and challenging this album can be, especially for those expecting MBDTF 2, it elicits a primal feeling in the listener and is much more rewarding on multiple listens then any of his previous works. It has just taken the place of my favorite album of the year so far, and itll be particularly hard to upset. Expand
  16. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus is captivating, exhilarating and mind blowing at the same time. Every song has it's own entity and it pushes new boundaries for hip hop and music as a whole. If Kanye would put out a single from the album, Blood on the leaves would be the perfect single coming from this diverse 10 track disc.
  17. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    I'm a big Kanye fan and Kanye certainly delivered here. This is not a hip hop album, but rather a musical exercise where Kanye experiments with anything and everything at his disposal. Despite this mish mash of sounds, the album is extremely successful and in my mind, it's a modern day classic, much like My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was. It will be interesting to see what kind of influence this album has on future hip hop artists as it will undoubtedly impact the genre for a long time. Expand
  18. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    i'm gonna break down each song and what i think. i have listened to all kanye west albums and i listen to many types of music to to get where i'm coming from.

    #1. on sight: i just wasn't feeling this track i actually think the beat is kinda boring i always skip this track 4/10

    #2. Black Skinhead: another track i'm just not feeling but i don't think its a bad track i can listen to it
    without the urge to skip 7/10

    #3.I Am A God: This is where the album starts for me the track jump right into hard bass and has the most classic line and funny line on the album "hurry up with my damn Croissants" the screams are a bit disturbing 9/10

    #4. New Slaves: strong track sick beat with barely any drums and kanye delivers his lines perfectly my personal favorite 10/10

    #5. hold my liquor i like this song but there's nothing to make it really stand out from other tracks 8/10

    #6. im in it: ahh this song is okay to me few good lines and okay beat i cant really understand what the high pitch singer is saying overall the song feels kinda sloppy 7/10

    #7.blood on the leaves: i think this track is a banger, one of my favs i play over and over again 9/10

    #8.guilt trip: feeling the beat alot. the lyrics are okay, song samples pusha t blocka. kid cudi comes in at the end and pulls the song together 8/10

    #9. Send it up: i can see how people could not like this song, its nosiey as i actually think this track is a club banger( maybe not in any hood or real hip hop clubs) king Louie going off Last night my came in twos and they both suck like they came to lose". i listen to a lot of dub step so the synth is not that annoying to me :-P 9/10

    #10 bound 2: i think its a all round classic yeezy track not to much to say about 9/10

    Overall i give the album a 8 its not like his last album which i think was his best work but it's still a interesting listen. takes a few plays to start feeling this album you gotta listen to each song before you can get a feel of the album don't just scrim though it
    Expand
  19. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Yeezus is the type of album you can listen to if your sad, happy, or angry. I was disappointed after the first listen, but after a couple more this album grows on you.
  20. Jun 18, 2013
    2
    Good beats poor lyrics. Yeezie the beezie just doesn't have the life experience to say anything interesting. If you would like to know the latest name brands to purchase pickup the album or the latest GQ. Oh and did he mention how cool he was?
  21. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    This album is crap, how is this better than j cole's. You can't even understand the lyrics, it's just a bunch of loud screaming. I laugh at the people who say this is innovation, this cannot even be called music
  22. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Album is rubbish, hurts my ears, this isnt music its screaming, kanye needs to lay off the drugs and get back to that college dropout style, also hes a gayfish
  23. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The epitome of the word "masterpiece". Kanye proves he doesn't have to make music targeted at mainstream society to produce a classic album! Don't expect Ye to ever sound the same again, he's entered a new plain of existence. One no other artist will venture any time soon.
  24. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Unbelieveable album. Top-notch album with amazing production, and as per usual, Ye's mixture of politics, religion and humour in his lyrics. Put it this way, he made Chief Keef sound good.. And we all know how bad he is!
  25. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    A terrific piece of record. A dark, abrasive, industrial hip hop album, Yeezus is a breakthrough. You can feel the anti-pop vibes it sets off. The production is strikingly magnificent, the samples couldn't be more befitting and contents of the lyrics is an unorthodox yet innovative representation of various themes including (but not exclusively) Christianity and anti racism.

    Bottomline,
    it's not what you expect from Kanye, but still a masterpiece

    Essential tracks: Black Skinhead, New Slaves, Hold My Liquor, I am God
    Expand
  26. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yet another fantastic album from Yeezy. As always, he keeps it new and exciting and you never quite now what to expect from him. Yeezus, like MBDTF, pushes the boundaries of what a hip hop album can be, sonically and thematically. There's no other musician who can put Justin Vernon and Chief Keef together on a track about heartbreak and emptiness (Hold My Liquor) and make it work so amazingly.
  27. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Another classic by Kanye West. Yeezus features examples of some of Kanye's greatest production to date with tracks like 'Bound 2' and 'I'm in It' alongside some of the greatest verses written by him such as 'New Slaves' and 'I Am a God'. Unbelievably good; every one of the 10 tracks is excellent. Kanye at his usual best: experimental, abrasive and stupidly enjoyable to listen to.
  28. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Another masterpiece by Ye. It will absolutely take a few listens for this to settle in for most listeners (myself included), but that just reflects the fact that Kanye has pushed the boundaries of hip hop-- and pop music-- yet again. Loud, abrasive, progressive, and entertaining as hell. Contradictions abound, but you already knew this was a Kanye album.
  29. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus is polarizing & innovative. From the rock infuences in "Black Skinhead" to the chilling combination of Billie Holiday's rendition of "Strage Fruit" & TNGHT's trap banger "R U Ready" Kanye West continues to push boundaries & pave his own path as one of Hip-Hop's most memorable artists.
  30. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Step up from from Watch The Throne
    If you loved WTT and felt like Graduation lacked substance then this is the album for you.
    While tackling social issues Kanye manages to continue his exploration of the sound of the future with the first 3 tracks produced by Daft Punk.
    You can see similarities with its predecessor Dark fantasy which also mixed Social issue rant sex lies drugs,...
    but in a way only West can.
    The songs are so creatively structured that you dont know what to expect (dancehall, soul rap, rock, scream,..) until the last bit.
    He managed to be minimalistic while still mixing genres that we never thought were mixable like Justin Vernon and Some dancehall.
    Anyways this is nowhere near Dark fantasy but it is a great answer to it and a step forward from the 2 albums I mentionned at first.
    Have a nice ride Its not an album its a musical actually.
    Expand
  31. Jun 25, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I seriously have an issue with all the positive critics this album is receiving; I still can't understand it.

    This album supposedly had all the elements to success with the rooster of producers on the track, I was expecting a great Daft Punk Yeezy collaboration, totally waiting for it... but it turned out ridiculously.

    I can understand the concept of changing the style, moving to industrial music, mixing it with Hip-Hop and Acid house, creating a new fusion genre (sort-of)... but this absolutely ridiculous. On "Guilt Trip" he even went further to introduce 8-bit bass synthesizer. The samples are horrible too, sampling screwed up a potentially nice track like "Bound 2".

    Kanye West's lyrics are the most narcissist, and it's sad because other than "New Slaves", the whole album revolves around "Screw your music, I go home to bang Kim Kardashian every night" ("I am a God" is a proof)

    Still I find the track "Blood on The Leaves" to be a cool track, the Nina Simone sample created a great amp along the dirty-brass and piano melodies. "Send it Up" might be rocking clubs within a few months probably the drum-line in "Black Skinhead" is nice. And that's that for the album.

    Yeezus is totally overrated and underwhelming in my opinion, an experimental album that totally "went Chernobyl", specially on a production-level; hopefully we can move along that as soon as possible.
    Expand
  32. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Kanye's infamous transformation from a former genius and groundbreaking artist to an obscene, average-talented rapper and producer started with whatever "Cruel Summer" was supposed to be and eventually peaked in "Yeezus". He has somehow managed to be on a level with Kendrick Lamar and that's not a compliment at all.
  33. Jun 22, 2013
    5
    Kane produces Yeezus enough to make it worth listening to for a bit, but also throws his questionable ego, lazy lyricism and horrible guest acts in the mix.
  34. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    took time to get used too for sure I was disgusted by the album first listen. But now I can't get enough. I love every song except on sight. Definitely has to grow on you. And you have to get past that this is not a "soul sample" album even though it does use some samples extremely beautifully.
  35. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    King Kanye, this album is GODLY. Although it can have a polarising affect on listeners this is no doubt a hip hold album way ahead of its time. This will be seen as one of the most defining albums of recent rap history.
  36. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    For Kanye, there's purpose in repulsion. And on Yeezus, he trades out smooth soul and anthemic choruses for jarring electro, acid house, and industrial grind while delivering some of his most lewd and heart-crushing tales yet. This is willful provocation that Ice Cube, Madonna, and Trent Reznor could all be proud of. Some of the record has him tackling the same issues he's been rapping about since The College Dropout, albeit with a fire-eyed stare. On his debut's "Family Business", he poignantly lamented a jailed cousin's absence at the Thanksgiving dinner table in a manner "so sweet, like a photo of your granny's picture." On Yeezus, he's still addressing the plight of incarcerated black men, but now he's incensed. With "New Slaves", he confronts us with vulgar stereotypes while exposing the prison-industrial complex for the deeply systemic racist sham that it is. Expand
  37. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    This is the worst album i have ever heard. It sounds like Kanye just went in the studio and said it, lets just make some noise and put my name on it. Do not pay for this trash.
  38. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Revolutionary, great album, hip hop heads will not get it. New slaves & black skinhead will change the structure of music for some time

    Also Cole lost
  39. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Maybe I'm overreacting by rating it a 0, but this album is just not for me. The sounds are very displeasing to my ears, and they made me literally cringe. The only songs that are okay to me are Blood on the Leaves and Bound 2, and even on both of these songs I feel Kanye messed up my vibe.

    Many people enjoy this album, but I just don't. Simple as that.
  40. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    I would like to say I'm a Kanye West fan, but this album is complete garbage. It is lacking in the lyrical ingenuity or anywhere near the quality of beats ias in n any of his previous solo album. I have no clue how much Spotify paid for this, but i want a refund.
  41. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    This album will define every hip-hop album after it. So So different, that u want to hate it at first, but after, its genius. HURRY UP WITH MY DAMN CROISSANTS!!!
  42. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Dark, cold, sometimes frightening. The generally polar opposite opinions this album is generating are not surprising. It's a masterpiece, and it's often not very accessible, which is what makes it a masterpiece to begin with. Some people don't like inaccessible, which is fine. It's a challenging record that will piss off a lot of people. Completely brilliant. What would Jeromey-romey-romey-rome think? Expand
  43. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    As usual with a Kanye West album, the production is great just look at that list of collaborators. It's an interesting left-turn away from the maximalism of his previous releases into something raw and more dark. But it isn't 'genre-defining' or anything like that: if you like the bass-driven industrial tracks with the heavy production, check out Death Grips' The Money Store; if you like the trap-influenced tracks then listen to Hudson Mohawke's solo work or his TNGHT stuff. West has (successfully) found a more commercially-appealing middleground between the two. What's more, the lyrics sometimes go beyond the standard West obnoxiousness and into brash and over-aggressive raging. ("Hurry up with my damn croissants"). The album does grate a bit towards the end as a result. Nevertheless, it's fun to listen to overall. Expand
  44. gsc
    Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This album with it's fearless egotistical lyrics, dark themes, and hard inventive beats is Kanye's best album yet. This is an album more complex and more complete than anything the artist has done before. All the songs flow into each other and all but one "bound 2" would feel out of place on any other Kanye album. This is an album that requires more than one listen to truly appreciate. The first time you listen to it you're left dumbfounded and do not know what to make of the strangeness you have just heard. But upon a second listen you realize this is the birth of a new darker Kanye. The egotism of this album would be unforgivable if this album was not as good as it is, but it is. Yeezus is the dark twisted masterpiece of a mad genius. Expand
  45. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    This album is pretty disappointing. Nothing bold or creative about it. It drones on for the first half of the album, has a couple of average songs, then sputters against towards the end. I think he has too much going on in his life to put out a great album atm. Hopefully future efforts will be better, because this was disappointing.
  46. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    check my full, in depth review of Yeezus on Music Medication: http://wehcmusicmed.blogspot.com/, where i also give links to some of my favorite tracks!
  47. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    The energy in this album is unbelieveable, the beats and the lyrics are fresh and relentless. Though not perfect, this album truly is great. 9.25/10
  48. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Every song on this album is worth tons of listens. Imagine taking Kanye West's entire discography, weeding out all of the bad parts (excluding lyrics), then mashing them together in a rapid-fire listening experience. Teamed up with Daft Punk, the same people who made his megahit "Stronger" work, Kanye once again uses their abstract electronic production to great use on four-five tracks.

    On Sight is quite possibly the greatest opener for an album ever. The beat and flow just immediately catch your attention and drag you in. Not to mention there's a cool interpolation of "Stronger" at the end.
    Black Skinhead is the most obvious representation of angry Kanye. The instrumental is astounding and the lyrics are among Ye's best. Same thing with New Slaves.
    I Am a God is boastful and obnoxious (HURRY UP WITH MY DAMN CROISSANTS!) but at the same time mesmerizing.
    Only Kanye West can make a Chief Keef and Juston Vernon collaboration work. Hold My Liquor is that uber-catchy dark collaboration with three completely different hooks.
    I'm In It is twisted porn in music. The hook's singer is hysterical, and his verse is the fastest on the album but also hardest to understand with the accent. Kanye raps about eating Asian with sweet and sour sauce, too, so that's relatively funny.
    Blood on the Leaves is everything good about 808s and Heartbreak, with Guilt Trip as its little cousin of a song.
    Send it Up is loud. Not in the instrumental or the rapping, but Mr. Rick Rubin did quite a lot to the hook's volume. Why? Makes no sense if you listen to the song, but OK. Song is catchy but weak.
    Bound 2 is retro Kanye. He ends this album where he began but also provides a conclusion. The production samples a soul song just as Kanye did in his yesteryears. The amazing thing about this track, though, is that Kanye West's instrumental says that he's "bound to fall in love!" and his lyrics detail his struggle throughout the years relating to his relationship with Kim Kardashian. This track shows the journey Kanye has taken and where he has ended up over the years.

    Beyond the bragging, beyond the ego, beyond the award-show thief, you have Kanye West: a jazz/soul loving, heartbroken man who has finally found love.
    Collapse
  49. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Greatest Kanye album of all time... OF ALL TIME. I mean no homo bruh bruh but I luh dis so much Imma play it at my wedding NO HOMO but for my ladies that's some real HEHE
  50. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    Garbage! pure, unfiltered garbage. Praise Jesus if you can make it through the first song without feeling nauseous. I have been a Ye fan since Freshman Adjustment and this is by far his worst work. Nothing inspiring, nothing worth mentioning even (other then the lines we all know..'crossiants'). What a let down top 10 of the worst rap albums I've listened to
  51. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Kanye proves again why he's the best at pushing boundaries. This album is above and beyond plain hip-hop definitions. Its punk, its rock, its electro and house, and it all works together in great harmony.
  52. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    Maybe the best album form kanye, i mean his wordplay is amazing, his screaming is on another level, genius cause he has a penius, see that wordplay, masterpiece
  53. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    Overly produced. Lyrics were outright pathetic. Couple decent songs. No replay value for me. I understand he wants to go outside the boundaries of hip-hop, but I can't even give this a pass.
  54. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus left me dazed, with ears ringing. I mean this in the best way possible, Yeezus has an impact. It challengers the listener with obscure production and incredible sonics. Yeezy comes out spitting clever, braggadocios rhymes but at the same time touching up on his own views on social and political issues. This is the album Kanye always wanted to make and I am glad he did.
  55. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    10 songs in a full album is a rip! He goes overboard with the beats. Raps about himself all the time. Impossible to relate to his album. The beats hurt you ears, too hyped.
  56. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    excellent album.
    just wanted to bump the user score up a bit.

    carry on.
    #KTT

    150 character limit hasn't been reached. I Am A God, hurry up with my damn massage.
  57. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    After the first listen I wanted to immediately play it again, and then again after the second listen, and so on. I can't honestly say that about any other hip hop album that has dropped in a while. Musically it's great, and anybody who understands MUSIC would agree. Lyrically, it's tongue & cheek but that's always been Kanye, no reason for him to change that up now. Whether or not this entertains you is where opinions come in, but how the music is composed is great. I feel that most of the bad ratings come from a biased mind, who judge Kanye personally & music talent on their own definition and not the actual meaning. Expand
  58. Jun 21, 2013
    5
    With all the hype surrounding "Yeezus," the album is only a production achievement. Reminiscent to "808s & Heartbreak," Kanye provides his auto-tune with very heavy, industrial hip-hop beats. The result is an album that most casual listeners will dislike, save a few songs ("Blood on the Leaves," "Bound 2"). Otherwise, heavy clipping is apparent and the synth uncomfortable-sounding. Lyricism is sub-par at best, only touching on some issues of race while other times, Kanye delivers punchlines similar to Lil Wayne. If this album were produced by anyone else, it would be considered not worthwhile at all. Because it is Kanye, though, he is given credit for his foray into industrial hip-hop, albeit not much. Expand
  59. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    There is no substance to this "album". I grew up listening to actual innovators of music....Kanye falls way short of this. This sound that he is trying to pass off as "revolutionary" is like cancer to your ears. The younger generation may love this CD, but that just proves how far music has fallen. Save your money, don't buy this 10 track travesty. The production is all bad, the lyrics feel forced and uninspired, and the man is claiming to be a god. The packaging of the album should tell you the story of what you are getting with your purchase, a lackluster attempt at trying to revolutionize music without trying. If he is still selling this well then the sheep that listen to this garbage are all brain washed by his antics. He's a pretty transparent person when you really step back and look at it. "I don't want to be famous" only holds so much weight while you are laughing all the way to the bank with the peoples money you just stole. If you really aren't doing this to be famous, donate that money to someone who needs it. Stop lying and calling yourself an artist. All of the real hip-hop heads have already seen through your skirt wearing facade. Expand
  60. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye has gone out and changed his sound, as usual. This time, he's dabbling in industrial hip hip. Yeezus is more or less an expansion on the industrial genre, using it as a perfect vehicle for Kanye's social commentary and infinite egotism. Though it may not be as honed as something like Death Grips' The Money Store, Yeezus is aggressively schizophrenic, and there's not a weak track to be had. One of the best of 2013. Expand
  61. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    Wow As much as I love Kanye since the Roc a fella days, and reading some of these critic reviews, I cannot help but get the feeling that this album is the audio equivalent of watching a model at a fashion show with a steaming turd on her head and having the critics tell me its "high brow" and "innovative" fashion.

    Mr West has officially "jumped the shark"
  62. Jun 22, 2013
    1
    I think it is a very boring album, with nothing new to offer. All the hype is for nothing. People like this music because they are told it is good through different medias, but it is nothing more just pop music, in a fancy packaging, which want you to believe it is unique.
  63. Jun 27, 2013
    4
    Initially this album sounds amazing. The minimal production, the intensity it's a giant middle finger.
    I loved Black Skinheads and New Slaves. However, aside from those tunes you're mostly going to find lyrics about Kanye's dick and how he likes to put it places.
    The lyrical content is severely lacking. This is a nasty record that could use some more soul, or at least something to say.
  64. Jun 20, 2013
    5
    It's really bad.

    The techno, daft punk continuation and at this point....he really has nothing to say. Like most rap artists, lyrically they don't have much to say once they reach the top and have the money. West is unable to transition as very few have and goes off into the realm of bragging.

    Is he a still great as a producer and making beats? Absolutely but his prowess on the
    mic is dwindling fast. Expand
  65. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    An average attempt at best, Yeezus fails to reach the heights of which Mr West is capable. Strengthening his reputation as Hip-Hops biggest shock jock seems more of a priority, the album descending into angry offensive and shallow lyrics, self-congratulatory lyrical hubris and some token synthesized whining we've become all too familiar with. Many critics seem unwilling to criticise Kanye, for fear of being labelled as 'out of touch' and 'not getting his genius' but honestly there is very little god-like about this album. The album isn't terrible, 'New Slaves' and 'Black Skinhead' prove he still has it, and the production is solid throughout. Kanye has the potential to be hailed as a legend, however this album will only serve to weaken his catalogue and as a result his claim to that throne Expand
  66. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This, is quite simply, the greatest project Mr. Kanye Omari Yeezus West has ever created EVER. Anyone who says otherwise is a hipster who says "his old music is better". Other than that the naysayers are idiots who aren't rap fans to begin with. Highlights of the album are I'm In It, I Am A God,Blood on the Leaves & New......f*ck it. THE WHOLE ALBUM IS AMAZING... GO BUY IT NOW. OR ELSE.
  67. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This album moves hip-hop into a new era, its THAT good. Every song brings a new element into the genre, my personal favorites being Send It Up, I am A God, who am I kidding, they all are my favorites. Its not quite as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, but it's definitely his 2nd best album to date, 10/10.
  68. Jun 20, 2013
    0
    I don't know how people keep buying this insufferable tripe. His lyrics are not only offensive and brash, but they are down right idiotic. For example, lets take the song "New Slaves". A clarion call towards the ills of capitalism, Kanye being pigeonholed by an industry, with an emphatic statement reminding his black brothers that we are the "New Slaves" to the corporate master. Not a bad message, if it wasn't so hypocritical. Kanye West, or rather the Louis Vuitton Don (his old moniker) himself is a corporation, with ties to Nike via his Air Yeezus lines as well as his own clothing companies. He has crafted a song entirely aimed at exposing the ills of capitalism, and yet, he hasn't the hindsight to look into his own life and see that the clothing lines he either supports, endorses or manufactures are largely made in sweatshops. While this is just one song that i find trouble with, the confusing messages/themes run rampant throughout this album. The music is top notch, well produced, and finely crafted, something that we have all come to expect from Kanye. However, I cannot get passed the lyrics on this one. Expand
  69. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    first listen i was heavily disappointed, but having faith in Kanye I listened again and it sounded much better. With every listen the record grew on me as I discovered new layers to it, and it once again shows that Kanye is the most innovative artist out right now in pulling this off.
  70. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    This album is way more than I was expecting! With Ye's most experimental release yet we see a hard defined Ye that would please most of his new and old fans. It sound like if Kanye got MBDTF and pushed it a little bit further. He also speaks out more against the Illuminati which unfortunately is the only way to convince people you're not a devil worshiper. My disappointments on this were, first that he didn't produce this all himself, but the help benefits Ye like on the TNGHT produced track "Blood on the Leaves" Also I didn't care much for the features on this. Overall this is an outstanding album. Expand
  71. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This is truly a work of art that needs multiple listens to fully appreciate it for what it is. Yeezus is a huge creative chance and the only guy who could pull it off with such perfection is Kanye West. Yeezus isn't the Hip-Hop album out on June 18th, but it is the best album.
  72. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Incredible. Daft Punk, Rick Rubin, Mike Dean, Travis Scott and Bon Iver. Its revolutionary.

    BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  73. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    An incredible experimental rap album. Kanye West is the most innovative rapper around and never fails to deliver quality music while changing the genre for the better. Some people dislike West because of his so-called "arrogant" personality, but he really isn't. West speaks his mind and says what he feels is right. Furthermore, an artist's personality should not affect your opinion of music, which has always been top notch. Expand
  74. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Like every Kanye album...Ye has taken a current trend and twisted it into his own perfection...and like every Kanye album, it's amazing. Kanye has done it again, providing a dark "alternative" album that leaves listeners questioning their first listen, and deeply falling in love every listen after. I highly suggest that everyone listen at least twice, and take in the beautiful music Ye has blessed us with. Can't complain about this 10 track album when every song blows you away. Congrats Yeezy, you did it again. 10/10 Expand
  75. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Very experimental hip hop album, but it comes together very well. This album is dark and edgy, especially in the beginning. If you're looking for great lyrical content then this is not the album for you, because the lyrics are average at best, but what this album lacks in lyrical content it excels in production.
  76. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Was it going to be hard living up to the hype left in "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy's" trails? Yes. Does "Yeezus" do it? Yes. But will fans feel the same? Not sure. "Yeezus" is a polarizing album that ditches a lot of the soul of previous efforts like "College Dropout" and the sheer scale and bravura of "Twisted Fantasy" and replaces it with a haunting, dark electro-infused vision of Hell. While Kanye's lyricism does, at times, leave a bit to be desired, the production is awe-inducing; a sign of an album that's years, if not decades, ahead of its time. Expand
  77. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    As with all Kanye West's albums the production is on point. The beats range from hardcore electro such as the track "onsite" to hour soulful hip hop sounds found on "bound 2." The album is influenced by many different genres and thats a good thing. Kanye's lyricism isn't the what it used to be on his former albums. That being said i think his minimalist approach used for the lyrics really works and flows with the beats. All in all a great project. Expand
  78. 929
    Jun 18, 2013
    10
    West is unquestionably doing whatever he wants here. And whether or not we actually need these 10 mongrel pop songs, it’s thrilling to watch the man discover new ways to stick out his neck. “Soon as they like you, make ’em unlike you,” he growls on “I Am a God,” describing the rope-a-dope methodology that’s made him today’s most complex pop star. (Fittingly, it’s the winning line from a song about a perennial self-loather being on a first-name basis with Jesus Christ.)

    “Yeezus” has already been branded as West’s ugliest album, but he’ll always be a populist at heart, incapable of releasing anything truly repulsive. For all of the charred melodies and serrated rhythms on “Yeezus,” this is still luscious electronic music sculpted into elegant shapes that only signal threat. French dance music duo Daft Punk and studio sage Rick Rubin were called on to collaborate, helping West evoke hip-hop’s icy, electro roots while echoing the sly, synthetic snarls of Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails.

    There’s still plenty of ugliness scribbled on West’s lyric sheet. He plumbs the depths of his id like a knife scraping the bottom of the peanut butter jar. He turns civil-rights-era mantras into gross pillow talk that no human should ever utter in real life. He promises to get the club “shaking like Parkinson’s.”

    “Black Skinhead” crams all of this attitude into one dystopian, Gary Glitter-ish jock jam that would be perfect for the stadium scene finale of “Akira,” the legendary Japanese anime film that West adores. “I keep it 300 like the Romans,” he spits during the refrain, a boast that blurs fantasy and reality, Hollywood retina candy and Chicago gang violence. (“300” is slang for Chicago’s Black Disciples street gang, as well as the title of a 2007 action flick in which ancient soldiers bathe one another in CGI blood.)

    Despite a handful of arresting quirks and kinks, the lyrics on “Yeezus” are West’s least refined and probably his least compelling. But they don’t feel lazy so much as drunk on bitterness. After engineering something as magisterial as his 2010 opus “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy,” this is West at his most wasted, stumbling through rubble.

    It’s all over in about 40 minutes, instantly provoking questions about legacy. The last time West took a risk this great, with “808s & Heartbreak,” he taught hip-hop about the potency of vulnerability and ended up paving a four-lane highway for Drake, Kid Cudi, the Weeknd and Future. Will “Yeezus” teach a rising generation of rap stars to melt poison from their frozen hearts?

    And how will the auteur himself reconcile the unholy mess he’s been making? “Yeezus” might blow our collective hair back for the summer, but West has to live with these tunes for the rest of his life. His girlfriend, Kim Kardashian, delivered a daughter Saturday. How do cynicism and self-obsession jibe with being a dad?

    In addition to keeping us thinking about him, West’s music always keeps us thinking about the future. He’s a visionary who’s managed to tweak the serial rhythms that dictate so much of our pop culture diet. He doesn’t do cliffhangers. He jumps off.
    Expand
  79. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Ground breaking album in hip hop, Kanye pushes the barriers of rap even further! Production is next level and Ye proves hes on a level of his own. Only downfall is the album is over before you know it.
  80. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Listening to this album is the equivalent of licking iggy azalea's clean, then shoving your tongue into the small hair follicle opening (or pore) of your favorite gay porn stars nipple. "I just talked to Jesus, He said what up Yeezus" The sheer imagery of Mr. West calling to the son of god on an iphone makes me cum sperm biscuits. If you give this album anything less than a nuffy
  81. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Essentially, this is Kanye West following the same career trajectory as Radiohead, coming off the highpoint of the masterful OK Computer with the unexpected and momentous Kid A. Although Yeezus has for the most part received all the praise it deserves, ten years from now it will be heralded as both a genre definer and bender, and the artistic highpoint of West's remarkable career.
  82. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    Complete garbage... Ive tried to like this album. I listened to it 3 times. The beats, the lyrics, the overall feel of the album is just wack. Kanye needs to go back to his late registration college dropout days because this just sounds like noise.
  83. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    Yeezus christ this album is dreadful. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay past his peak
  84. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    While most people won't like the experimental tones of Kanye's album, the few people that do decide to listen to it fully will absolutely fall in love with it. All of the tones sound rough on the first listen, but with every replay, the beats get the better and the lyrics get deeper. This is nothing compared to the older albums like The College Dropout and Late Registration, but it's the difference that makes the difference. Expand
  85. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Simplesmente genial! Melhor álbum do ano. Simplesmente genial! Melhor álbum do ano. Simplesmente genial! Melhor álbum do ano. Simplesmente genial! Melhor álbum do ano.
  86. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    Yet another example as to how West is the absolute epitome of talentless douchebag...but thankfully, the world smartened up and also made this album a commercial failure. The man needs to give up...he has yet to record anything worthwhile...how critics continue to misdirect praise to this joke of an "artist" is beyond me. The man is all ego, ZERO substance. This album is, like all his albums, horrifyingly terrible. Expand
  87. N10
    Jun 18, 2013
    7
    I don't really have much too write about this album. Cause clearly people hate on Cole's beautiful and darker sophmore project just for the sake of Kanye West's Yeezus. Sad to see how people instantly throw words around before they even heared it. If so I would gladly listen to your opinions. In my opinion when it comes to the lyrics, Born Sinner is the winner of the two by far, on Yeezus it felt kinda lazy with it but he sure had his moments at times. Not Ye's best tough. Production wise Yeezus has more flavour to it, more harder bass and production. Either you love the production of Yeezus or you simply dislike it. I'm a huge Kanye fan but to me the lyrics didn't to me or the production really well. Yeezus is good, great in it's five first tracks. And Black Skinhead is so far one of the year's best with New Slaves. Born Sinner.. too me, is fantastic. He's rhymes are really well put-together and he's flow switches up good and dosen't get boring. 18th June is a great day in Hip Hop. Let's welcome "the newer" faces, if J. Cole's albums are at least as good as Born Sinner then he sure is going to do ous well in the future. And thank you Mr. West for keeping Hip Hop exciting. Ps. MBDTF is one of my fave. Expand
  88. Jun 20, 2013
    3
    Honestly, nothing impresssive. Very pretentious and try-hard from start to finish. This exaggerated praise will prove to do nothing but inflate his already over-blown ego.
  89. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    This is total rubbish... it's not music, it's just some moron rapping stupidity over boring repetitive drum beats. it's not even music, it just sounds like when you accidentally play a few youtube videos at once.
  90. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Can't say I like this guy personality or anything associated to him outside of music. Howvere, gotta admit, this is a good album. Quite a departure from past Kanye albums as has always been the case. His lyrics are not the tightest in comparision, but I love how this album pushes hip hop in another direction. A bit electronica at time but stripped down at other times. I don't like all the tracks but as usual, Kanye is polarizing. Expand
  91. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Surprisingly great album. I loved My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy however felt Watch the Throne was just okay. This album is different, however it grows on you. Love him or hate him, Kanye West is an amazing musician and proves it with Yeezus.
  92. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    YEEZUS, is the album's name. Kanye feels like a God, and can do whatever the hell he wants, even if it's sacrificing some great lyricism heard on MBDTF for a lot of braggadocios, dick in your mouth, stupid punch lines. We've heard Kanye spit those kind of lines before, recently on Watch The Throne and Cruel Summer, so to me lyrically, this album feels like a recovery from the top 40 pop/rap sound he's been putting out.
    So if you're looking for that MBDTF Kanye, or even College Dropout/Late Registration Kanye, just listen to Black Skinheads, New Slaves, and Bound2.
    BUT, if you don't mind hearing some really ambitious, dark, hard-hitting production bang on your whip, drowning the lazy lyricism and hooks, well you're in for a ride.

    Pros

    . Kanye's most ambitious production to date, brings industrial music out to the open. Some really dark sounds. Saving grace.
    . Kanye's aggressiveness comes even harder on this album.

    Cons

    . Lazy lyricism. 2Chainz inspired punclines, dick inspired hooks haha.

    Recommended Tracks: Black Skinheads, I Am A God, New Slaves, I'm In It, Guilt Trip, Bound2
    Expand
  93. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye tries to do something different with each of his albums. His last solo album, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, is a masterpiece. I don't think he'd be able to create an album just as good as MBDTF just yet. However, Yeezus is definitely welcomed and a fresh listen. It's different, experimental, and wild. The production is phenomenal and the lyrics always have those hidden meanings you gotta search for, just like any other Kanye album. The album starts off strong with colab productions between Kanye and Daft Punk. The final track, Bound 2, is an ode to his old style (College Dropout/Late Registration) with some new spice, and is a great ending to the total 40 minutes this album will give you.

    Of course, this album isn't for everyone. It's darker than anything he's put out before. My first listen, I didn't feel the album. But now, after listening to it much more, I can definitely saw this album is worthy of a 9. People who don't like this album are just scared of experimentation and change.
    Expand
  94. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's pretty damn sad... when a person cannot make it through a "musical" album. Kanye...you f*cking suck...even at naming babies...you f*cking suck. I wonder if you were on meth when you were making this album... Expand
  95. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing! Kanye can't go wrong! Wow lost for words Amazing from start to finish & this is way better than all the June eighteen albums coming out.
  96. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Hurry up with my damn croissants. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . :hah:
  97. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    An incredible album. Truly. Great production, entertaining and provocative lyrics. Cemented classic by Pitchfork (9.5). This is the opposite of J Coal's audio nyquil.
  98. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The most highly anticipated album of the year, Yeezus, by Kanye West has finally been unleashed and it’s ready to invade your ear drums.
    Opening the album is the ultramodern banger, ‘On Sight’ which was produced by Daft Punk. The track is driven by a menacing, fuzzy synth that is backed by some intensely abrasive drums. This track is one of many on the album that bring back the Acid House
    sound that was started in Chicago in the ’80s. ‘On Sight’ particularly is reminiscent of one of the first in the genre of Chicago House, ‘Acid Tracks,’ by Phuture and has Kanye dancing all over the track like a savage beast. “Yeezy season’s approaching,” Kanye raps. “..The monster’s about to come alive again.” Following, is the recalcitrant and near-tribal track ‘Black Skinhead’, that threads between both Ye’s traditional boastering of anti-establishment and anti-racism themes. “For my theme song” Kanye raps at the start of the Daft Punk produced track similar to his line “I guess every superhero need his theme music” on ‘Power’, the first single to his 2010 project My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. Perhaps “Black Skinhead” is supposed to pick up where ‘Power’ left off, delineating the aftermath and hangover of a power trip. The metaphor could be stretched even further to foster the idea of Kanye having some sort of allegorical attraction to the DC superhero Batman. Being a “dark knight” or being seen as a vigilante or bad guy, when only trying to do good. Kanye has been showing up to recent performances wearing masks and elaborate costumes going on about how he “isn’t a celebrity.” He is the hero for music and culture in a similar way Batman is a hero for Gotham City. The media may claim the perspective of both as something that should encourage hate, they are “The hero the city deserves, but not the one it needs right now.” At track number three is the highly controversial ‘I Am a God’ which has Kanye basking in all the negativity he’s experienced the hate received for everything from his music to his fashion and proclaims himself to be a God over a barrage of synths, howls and bass. Kanye won’t stop until another god decides to strike him down.

    Keep Reading http://dopedrops.com/2013/06/kanye-west-yeezus-review/
    Expand
  99. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Ok everyone, if you don't like Yeezus, it's either you have a hatred for Kanye, you didn't give it a chance, or you want another college dropout album. Personally I think that this album is great not only for the incredible amount of time Kanye puts in, and not for the unmistakable genius throughout the entire album. This album also proves that Kanye can make any style of music. he had gone from soul to pop to straight up rap to industrial. He has made a great album in every genre of rap. This album is an easy 10, especially when you consider the risk he took in creating a whole new style. He could have easily made another fantastic album like My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, but instead, he did his own thing and created my personal favorite album of all time. By the way, the purpose of that American Psycho video was to show that I am a god is not a song about how amazing Kanye is, it's about him going crazy and convincing himself that he is god. Expand
  100. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    About 5 listens deep and I'm still amazed by this collection of music. Looking at the producer list it's no wonder this has the flavor it does. But where are those bonus tracks?
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    50
    His concerns are serious--consumerism, race, fame, relationships--but he rarely addresses them with the craft or focus they deserve. [Sep 2013, p.66]
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Contradiction incarnate, Yeezus is Kanye's most Kanyeish LP yet. [Sep 2013, p.103]
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    Nasty, brutish, short, and wholly compelling, Yeezus begs only one question: where next? [Sep 2013, p.89]