Yeezus - Kanye West
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 991 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Listening to this album is the equivalent of licking iggy azalea's clean, then shoving your tongue into the small hair follicle opening (or pore) of your favorite gay porn stars nipple. "I just talked to Jesus, He said what up Yeezus" The sheer imagery of Mr. West calling to the son of god on an iphone makes me cum sperm biscuits. If you give this album anything less than a 100, I will personaly shove my up your dick hole, trust me, this is pure pleasure, but from the reaction of your father, it wasn't for the reciever. Never the less, MBDTF was getting by a sheer excellence, but this, this is like getting by the raunchiest, most dirtiest you've ever gazed upon, truly a magnificant symmetrical veins, proportionate tip, shaft. I swear to god i have literally a massive turd and licked it and this album is still better. I also played this while i was stroking my massive shrivled up and even with the condom on I have had sperm fly into my eyes on few occasions) i lasted less than 10 seconds max, i also farted while i came if that alters anyones mind on wether this album is great or not. Thank you yeezus christ, for the greatest album i've ever heard. 100/100 Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    If there's one thing you can expect from Kanye West, it's that you never know what to expect from Kanye West. Yeezus is darker and more twisted than his last fantasy that had us all screaming masterpiece, and after a few listens through this album, you'll be thinking the same thing.
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    A very different type of Hip Hop album. One of the year best album. Kanye West returns with an excellent album Daft Punk and Kanye West makes a great team. This album is very short but every song is worth listening to.

    The album has a electronic sound to it. The highlight song on the album is "Bloood on the Leaves." "New Slaves" and "Black Skinned Head." Those are clearly the best
    tracks on the album. Lyrically Kanye did a very great job. Kanye West never been an outstanding lyricist but he also been an good lyricist.

    This isn't his best album...but it still an outstanding album and deserve Grammys buzz. I love how kanye didn't out out any singles for the album. Very brilliant album ....I must say this is the most interesting album he made. I'll always love his first two album more than his new album but I wouldn't be surprise if some people label this album as his best yet.

    The thing I disliked about the album is the features ....I never been a fan of albums with too many features but that just me... This album is worth listening to,,, it's better to listen to the album from track 1-10 with out skipping songs the first few times.
    Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    People will understand and appreciate this album in time. It's Kanye's Kid A.

    Initially, I only thought the album was ok. If I wrote this review right away, I might have given it a heart sinking 5 (I'm a massive Ye stan).

    But as time went on, I started to enjoy it more and more. Now I listen to it almost every day. It just caught me off guard because it didn't hit off with me right
    away like all of his other solo efforts. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    I've been listening to music from different generation 60's 70's 80's 90's and this generation no album made me this speechless this i by far the best album this year and one of my favorite albums of all time This album is not for everybody but you should give it a listen to see if it's for you
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This album is nothing short of a masterpiece, i still prefer MBDTF but this is grabbing at it's heals. Kanye west is a genius and if you doubt that then you clearly need to go listen to your trashy beats with no lyrics.
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Wow lost for words Amazing from start to finish & I wasn't even a fan of him but I have to give respect where is due & now he made me a fan Thank you Yeezus you just made me a believer Bound 2 was crazy from the Uh Uh honey & send it up with that grimey beat was crazy & the Jamaican dude killed it
  8. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus captivates exactly what I wanted from a 9.5 album. It is best to avoid Starbucks on your commute to work tomorrow morning due to an excess of basic ordering croissants. I will use sweet and sour sauce as lube going forward. Drake could never aspire to make such an influential album. smh.
  9. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Yeezus is the type of album you can listen to if your sad, happy, or angry. I was disappointed after the first listen, but after a couple more this album grows on you.
  10. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Coming off the maximalist splendor of MBDTF, which captured many, including my own, opinions for best album of 2010, Kanye has scaled back the grandiosity of the music he makes, but has not lost any of the emotional impact. These ten songs bite and snarl like the dogs he samples "Black Skinhead" bringing to mind comparisons to aggressive hip hop groups such as Death Grips or Public Enemy. The sweeping varied orchestration of MBDTF and the profuse sampling of his earlier work is traded for hypnotic, pounding synths that evoke Suicide or Nine Inch Nails. The sounds are as aggressive as the lyrics that replace maudlin attempts at sincerity with blunt, violent sexual imagery and blatant egoism. Yet as disgusting and challenging this album can be, especially for those expecting MBDTF 2, it elicits a primal feeling in the listener and is much more rewarding on multiple listens then any of his previous works. It has just taken the place of my favorite album of the year so far, and itll be particularly hard to upset. Expand
  11. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus is captivating, exhilarating and mind blowing at the same time. Every song has it's own entity and it pushes new boundaries for hip hop and music as a whole. If Kanye would put out a single from the album, Blood on the leaves would be the perfect single coming from this diverse 10 track disc.
  12. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    I'm a big Kanye fan and Kanye certainly delivered here. This is not a hip hop album, but rather a musical exercise where Kanye experiments with anything and everything at his disposal. Despite this mish mash of sounds, the album is extremely successful and in my mind, it's a modern day classic, much like My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was. It will be interesting to see what kind of influence this album has on future hip hop artists as it will undoubtedly impact the genre for a long time. Expand
  13. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The epitome of the word "masterpiece". Kanye proves he doesn't have to make music targeted at mainstream society to produce a classic album! Don't expect Ye to ever sound the same again, he's entered a new plain of existence. One no other artist will venture any time soon.
  14. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Unbelieveable album. Top-notch album with amazing production, and as per usual, Ye's mixture of politics, religion and humour in his lyrics. Put it this way, he made Chief Keef sound good.. And we all know how bad he is!
  15. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    A terrific piece of record. A dark, abrasive, industrial hip hop album, Yeezus is a breakthrough. You can feel the anti-pop vibes it sets off. The production is strikingly magnificent, the samples couldn't be more befitting and contents of the lyrics is an unorthodox yet innovative representation of various themes including (but not exclusively) Christianity and anti racism.

    Bottomline,
    it's not what you expect from Kanye, but still a masterpiece

    Essential tracks: Black Skinhead, New Slaves, Hold My Liquor, I am God
    Expand
  16. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yet another fantastic album from Yeezy. As always, he keeps it new and exciting and you never quite now what to expect from him. Yeezus, like MBDTF, pushes the boundaries of what a hip hop album can be, sonically and thematically. There's no other musician who can put Justin Vernon and Chief Keef together on a track about heartbreak and emptiness (Hold My Liquor) and make it work so amazingly.
  17. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    King Kanye, this album is GODLY. Although it can have a polarising affect on listeners this is no doubt a hip hold album way ahead of its time. This will be seen as one of the most defining albums of recent rap history.
  18. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Another classic by Kanye West. Yeezus features examples of some of Kanye's greatest production to date with tracks like 'Bound 2' and 'I'm in It' alongside some of the greatest verses written by him such as 'New Slaves' and 'I Am a God'. Unbelievably good; every one of the 10 tracks is excellent. Kanye at his usual best: experimental, abrasive and stupidly enjoyable to listen to.
  19. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Another masterpiece by Ye. It will absolutely take a few listens for this to settle in for most listeners (myself included), but that just reflects the fact that Kanye has pushed the boundaries of hip hop-- and pop music-- yet again. Loud, abrasive, progressive, and entertaining as hell. Contradictions abound, but you already knew this was a Kanye album.
  20. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus is polarizing & innovative. From the rock infuences in "Black Skinhead" to the chilling combination of Billie Holiday's rendition of "Strage Fruit" & TNGHT's trap banger "R U Ready" Kanye West continues to push boundaries & pave his own path as one of Hip-Hop's most memorable artists.
  21. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Step up from from Watch The Throne
    If you loved WTT and felt like Graduation lacked substance then this is the album for you.
    While tackling social issues Kanye manages to continue his exploration of the sound of the future with the first 3 tracks produced by Daft Punk.
    You can see similarities with its predecessor Dark fantasy which also mixed Social issue rant sex lies drugs,...
    but in a way only West can.
    The songs are so creatively structured that you dont know what to expect (dancehall, soul rap, rock, scream,..) until the last bit.
    He managed to be minimalistic while still mixing genres that we never thought were mixable like Justin Vernon and Some dancehall.
    Anyways this is nowhere near Dark fantasy but it is a great answer to it and a step forward from the 2 albums I mentionned at first.
    Have a nice ride Its not an album its a musical actually.
    Expand
  22. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    This album will define every hip-hop album after it. So So different, that u want to hate it at first, but after, its genius. HURRY UP WITH MY DAMN CROISSANTS!!!
  23. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Dark, cold, sometimes frightening. The generally polar opposite opinions this album is generating are not surprising. It's a masterpiece, and it's often not very accessible, which is what makes it a masterpiece to begin with. Some people don't like inaccessible, which is fine. It's a challenging record that will piss off a lot of people. Completely brilliant. What would Jeromey-romey-romey-rome think? Expand
  24. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    took time to get used too for sure I was disgusted by the album first listen. But now I can't get enough. I love every song except on sight. Definitely has to grow on you. And you have to get past that this is not a "soul sample" album even though it does use some samples extremely beautifully.
  25. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Kanye proves again why he's the best at pushing boundaries. This album is above and beyond plain hip-hop definitions. Its punk, its rock, its electro and house, and it all works together in great harmony.
  26. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    For Kanye, there's purpose in repulsion. And on Yeezus, he trades out smooth soul and anthemic choruses for jarring electro, acid house, and industrial grind while delivering some of his most lewd and heart-crushing tales yet. This is willful provocation that Ice Cube, Madonna, and Trent Reznor could all be proud of. Some of the record has him tackling the same issues he's been rapping about since The College Dropout, albeit with a fire-eyed stare. On his debut's "Family Business", he poignantly lamented a jailed cousin's absence at the Thanksgiving dinner table in a manner "so sweet, like a photo of your granny's picture." On Yeezus, he's still addressing the plight of incarcerated black men, but now he's incensed. With "New Slaves", he confronts us with vulgar stereotypes while exposing the prison-industrial complex for the deeply systemic racist sham that it is. Expand
  27. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Revolutionary, great album, hip hop heads will not get it. New slaves & black skinhead will change the structure of music for some time

    Also Cole lost
  28. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    excellent album.
    just wanted to bump the user score up a bit.

    carry on.
    #KTT

    150 character limit hasn't been reached. I Am A God, hurry up with my damn massage.
  29. gsc
    Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This album with it's fearless egotistical lyrics, dark themes, and hard inventive beats is Kanye's best album yet. This is an album more complex and more complete than anything the artist has done before. All the songs flow into each other and all but one "bound 2" would feel out of place on any other Kanye album. This is an album that requires more than one listen to truly appreciate. The first time you listen to it you're left dumbfounded and do not know what to make of the strangeness you have just heard. But upon a second listen you realize this is the birth of a new darker Kanye. The egotism of this album would be unforgivable if this album was not as good as it is, but it is. Yeezus is the dark twisted masterpiece of a mad genius. Expand
  30. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    check my full, in depth review of Yeezus on Music Medication: http://wehcmusicmed.blogspot.com/, where i also give links to some of my favorite tracks!
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    50
    His concerns are serious--consumerism, race, fame, relationships--but he rarely addresses them with the craft or focus they deserve. [Sep 2013, p.66]
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Contradiction incarnate, Yeezus is Kanye's most Kanyeish LP yet. [Sep 2013, p.103]
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    Nasty, brutish, short, and wholly compelling, Yeezus begs only one question: where next? [Sep 2013, p.89]