Yeezus - Kanye West
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1039 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    People need to listen. Listen. You will not like it, You will LOVE IT. It changes everything. Give it a second, third and fourth listen. I bet you that you will love it. Evolution. Every time. Good Job Kanye WeST.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    Complete garbage... Ive tried to like this album. I listened to it 3 times. The beats, the lyrics, the overall feel of the album is just wack. Kanye needs to go back to his late registration college dropout days because this just sounds like noise.
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    Yeezus christ this album is dreadful. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay past his peak
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    A powerfully strong and sweeping album, Yeezus breaks down barriers and cares little about the fallout. A great album full of sexual and religious imagery (most Kanye albums are). Production is fantastic with heavy-hitting synths and bass beats. A new song, a great sound. Yeezus demonstrates that Kanye is back on his feet (although he never even fell).
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Yeezus. You either love it or you hate it. I love it. Blood on the leaves is permanently stuck in my brain; the last minute and a half of that song... Amazing work Mr. Kanye West.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I have been a casual fan of Kanye's music since 'Diamonds', but fell in love with Yeezus on the first listen, and have only grown to appreciate it more and more as I've listened more and more. I believe that Kanye is one of the few mainstream artists that is committed to constantly challenging himself and evolving...Yeezus is brutal yet subtle and caring, easy to listen or hum along to,I have been a casual fan of Kanye's music since 'Diamonds', but fell in love with Yeezus on the first listen, and have only grown to appreciate it more and more as I've listened more and more. I believe that Kanye is one of the few mainstream artists that is committed to constantly challenging himself and evolving...Yeezus is brutal yet subtle and caring, easy to listen or hum along to, yet challenging and in some instances thought provoking, consistent in its story telling, yet contradictory and I unreservedly recommend it. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kanye is years ahead of the rap game. Yeezus is not an easy listening album, but it's so well produced and full of raw emotion. From the attention grabbing On Sight with it's distorted, off beat instrumental, to the soul kissed Bound 2, Yeezus is simply a masterpiece. Kanye has exceeded all expectations, which were already high. Expand
  8. Apr 30, 2014
    0
    "I just talked to Jeezus, he said, "WHAT UP YEEZUS??!" I said, **** im chillin, tryna stack these millions" (Car crash sonic disaster blares in the background)
    I AM A GOD, I LIKE MASSAGE'S, KIM OPEN MY DAMN GARAGE, I LIKE RESTAURANTS, I AM A GOD!

    This is what critics like these days huh. Smh.
  9. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Kanye doing what he does: making great music. I find this album oddly both fun to listen to and annoying as hell The best moment is on "New Slaves" when Cher bursts into chorus. Yeezus isn't the most fun to listen of Kanye's albums, but it deserves to be considered among his best.
  10. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    The transformation Kanye West has taken throughout his hip-hop career has all led to this 40 minute, sprawling descent into industry hell. Kanye sounds at his most angered, most torn down by the entertainment industry and previous love affairs, more so than on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The production ranges from grimy electro, to minimalists tribal drums, and fantastic samples.The transformation Kanye West has taken throughout his hip-hop career has all led to this 40 minute, sprawling descent into industry hell. Kanye sounds at his most angered, most torn down by the entertainment industry and previous love affairs, more so than on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The production ranges from grimy electro, to minimalists tribal drums, and fantastic samples. Kanye's lyrics are his most deranged on Yeezus, rhymes upon rhymes about how he feels as if he is a slave in in the entertainment industry and all the scum he encounters throughout his day to day life. Not to mention his view on previous relationships, something he's been singing about since 808's & Heartbreaks. If there's one complaint to be had about this record, it's that it loses replay value if you've listened to it at least 5 times, which is true for any album really, but more so if comparing it to other Kanye West records.

    All In All, Yeezus is about a black man on the brink of insanity, pushing through day to day demons that probably will never escape him, and also a fantastic, dark voyage of hip-hop music. A-
    Expand
  11. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    Yet another example as to how West is the absolute epitome of talentless douchebag...but thankfully, the world smartened up and also made this album a commercial failure. The man needs to give up...he has yet to record anything worthwhile...how critics continue to misdirect praise to this joke of an "artist" is beyond me. The man is all ego, ZERO substance. This album is, like all hisYet another example as to how West is the absolute epitome of talentless douchebag...but thankfully, the world smartened up and also made this album a commercial failure. The man needs to give up...he has yet to record anything worthwhile...how critics continue to misdirect praise to this joke of an "artist" is beyond me. The man is all ego, ZERO substance. This album is, like all his albums, horrifyingly terrible. Expand
  12. N10
    Jun 18, 2013
    7
    I don't really have much too write about this album. Cause clearly people hate on Cole's beautiful and darker sophmore project just for the sake of Kanye West's Yeezus. Sad to see how people instantly throw words around before they even heared it. If so I would gladly listen to your opinions. In my opinion when it comes to the lyrics, Born Sinner is the winner of the two by far, on YeezusI don't really have much too write about this album. Cause clearly people hate on Cole's beautiful and darker sophmore project just for the sake of Kanye West's Yeezus. Sad to see how people instantly throw words around before they even heared it. If so I would gladly listen to your opinions. In my opinion when it comes to the lyrics, Born Sinner is the winner of the two by far, on Yeezus it felt kinda lazy with it but he sure had his moments at times. Not Ye's best tough. Production wise Yeezus has more flavour to it, more harder bass and production. Either you love the production of Yeezus or you simply dislike it. I'm a huge Kanye fan but to me the lyrics didn't to me or the production really well. Yeezus is good, great in it's five first tracks. And Black Skinhead is so far one of the year's best with New Slaves. Born Sinner.. too me, is fantastic. He's rhymes are really well put-together and he's flow switches up good and dosen't get boring. 18th June is a great day in Hip Hop. Let's welcome "the newer" faces, if J. Cole's albums are at least as good as Born Sinner then he sure is going to do ous well in the future. And thank you Mr. West for keeping Hip Hop exciting. Ps. MBDTF is one of my fave. Expand
  13. Jun 20, 2013
    3
    Honestly, nothing impresssive. Very pretentious and try-hard from start to finish. This exaggerated praise will prove to do nothing but inflate his already over-blown ego.
  14. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    Great album, took me a few plays to appreciate it, but worth while. Lyrically I felt it lacked a touch which is why I wouldn't give it a full 10. xxxx
  15. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    This is total rubbish... it's not music, it's just some moron rapping stupidity over boring repetitive drum beats. it's not even music, it just sounds like when you accidentally play a few youtube videos at once.
  16. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Kanye West shows once again, through Yeezus, that he is transcendent of most musical norms. It seems anymore as if Kanye West could release an album of nothing but talking about philosophy and himself, with absolutely no music, and we would see it as the next great thing in music. But it is so, because with every album Kanye is pushing what we as a society thought were his limits, to theKanye West shows once again, through Yeezus, that he is transcendent of most musical norms. It seems anymore as if Kanye West could release an album of nothing but talking about philosophy and himself, with absolutely no music, and we would see it as the next great thing in music. But it is so, because with every album Kanye is pushing what we as a society thought were his limits, to the point where many think the man is limitless. The obvious sell for this album is its originality, but it is original because it blends old Kanye with newer Kanye, with a fusion of something we haven't seen from him before. While not his best work, it certainly ranks near the top, clumped in a group with The College Dropout and Late Registration, just not quite as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. As we take in Yeezus for what it is, we also are steadily preparing for Kanye's next album, which figures to be another step into musical history. Best album of 2013. Expand
  17. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    YEEZUS, is the album's name. Kanye feels like a God, and can do whatever the hell he wants, even if it's sacrificing some great lyricism heard on MBDTF for a lot of braggadocios, dick in your mouth, stupid punch lines. We've heard Kanye spit those kind of lines before, recently on Watch The Throne and Cruel Summer, so to me lyrically, this album feels like a recovery from the top 40YEEZUS, is the album's name. Kanye feels like a God, and can do whatever the hell he wants, even if it's sacrificing some great lyricism heard on MBDTF for a lot of braggadocios, dick in your mouth, stupid punch lines. We've heard Kanye spit those kind of lines before, recently on Watch The Throne and Cruel Summer, so to me lyrically, this album feels like a recovery from the top 40 pop/rap sound he's been putting out.
    So if you're looking for that MBDTF Kanye, or even College Dropout/Late Registration Kanye, just listen to Black Skinheads, New Slaves, and Bound2.
    BUT, if you don't mind hearing some really ambitious, dark, hard-hitting production bang on your whip, drowning the lazy lyricism and hooks, well you're in for a ride.

    Pros

    . Kanye's most ambitious production to date, brings industrial music out to the open. Some really dark sounds. Saving grace.
    . Kanye's aggressiveness comes even harder on this album.

    Cons

    . Lazy lyricism. 2Chainz inspired punclines, dick inspired hooks haha.

    Recommended Tracks: Black Skinheads, I Am A God, New Slaves, I'm In It, Guilt Trip, Bound2
    Expand
  18. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    I don't recall listening to a worst album than this one. It is unbelievable how most critics can't tell a rubbish record from revolutionary one. So disappointing. There is no highlight in this album. The lyrics are terrible, so is the production and the music in general. I cannot believe RS ranked it on the second position of 2013's best albums. This magazine and these new audiences areI don't recall listening to a worst album than this one. It is unbelievable how most critics can't tell a rubbish record from revolutionary one. So disappointing. There is no highlight in this album. The lyrics are terrible, so is the production and the music in general. I cannot believe RS ranked it on the second position of 2013's best albums. This magazine and these new audiences are destroying what once we knew as great, enjoyable music. Expand
  19. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    If you like electronic music and rap, look no further. I happen to have grown up on Daft Punk, and though this makes me an outlier, I didn't love Kanye until 808s. Some people find this album abrasive, but I'm used to these kinds of sounds from electronic music. I really enjoy the beats. The one thing holding it back for me is that some of the lyrics are superficial, but that's Kanye a lotIf you like electronic music and rap, look no further. I happen to have grown up on Daft Punk, and though this makes me an outlier, I didn't love Kanye until 808s. Some people find this album abrasive, but I'm used to these kinds of sounds from electronic music. I really enjoy the beats. The one thing holding it back for me is that some of the lyrics are superficial, but that's Kanye a lot of the time. I wouldn't say all of the lyrics are bad though, especially in New Slaves and Blood on the Leaves. Expand
  20. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Yeezus fails at what My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was fantastic. It hasn't a concrete atmosphere and it lacks innovation (as a hip-hop album). Punchlines are there but they are not really concentrated and cohesive. But I think this is maybe the most important thing when you are listening to this new Kanye's album. It is empty, unsettling, dark, aggressive and still mind-blowing. AndYeezus fails at what My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was fantastic. It hasn't a concrete atmosphere and it lacks innovation (as a hip-hop album). Punchlines are there but they are not really concentrated and cohesive. But I think this is maybe the most important thing when you are listening to this new Kanye's album. It is empty, unsettling, dark, aggressive and still mind-blowing. And it gets better with every listen. Yeezus just rose again. Expand
  21. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Put simply if you don't like this album, you're a hater. The production is truly legendary, and anyone who says the album doesn't have meaning or is narcissistic didn't listen well. Yeezus is a true work of art and will go down as a revolutionary album in the increasingly electronic music world.
  22. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's pretty damn sad... when a person cannot make it through a "musical" album. Kanye...you f*cking suck...even at naming babies...you f*cking suck. I wonder if you were on meth when you were making this album... Expand
  23. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    "Yeezus" is one of the most innovative albums of all-time. It cannot even be classified as just "rap". Kanye West can now be considered as his own very genre. Songs like "Hold My Liquor" and "Blood On The Leaves" make you realize there's still hope for modern music yet. Not quite to the diversified level of his last solo album, "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy", but an amazing album it's"Yeezus" is one of the most innovative albums of all-time. It cannot even be classified as just "rap". Kanye West can now be considered as his own very genre. Songs like "Hold My Liquor" and "Blood On The Leaves" make you realize there's still hope for modern music yet. Not quite to the diversified level of his last solo album, "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy", but an amazing album it's own right. Expand
  24. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Yeezy has done it again and like all his previous albums its something totally different than the others.... The music production is exceptional his lyrics darker than ever. Kanye West always pours his heart and effort into each album and this was no exception and in this one Kanye is at his best creativity efforts lyrical, musical and promotion wise. This album although is a great pieceYeezy has done it again and like all his previous albums its something totally different than the others.... The music production is exceptional his lyrics darker than ever. Kanye West always pours his heart and effort into each album and this was no exception and in this one Kanye is at his best creativity efforts lyrical, musical and promotion wise. This album although is a great piece of work isnt as good as MBDTW but still a Kanye album is a Kanye album. I just dont get all the ignorant haters.... Expand
  25. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Really Good Album sounds total different from his past albums and you will have to listen a couple of times but this album is dope lyrically/production wise on point its a masterpiece
  26. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye West must of lost something in the last 3 years but still manages to deliver a kick-ass album. Kanye West is definitely one of the more outspoken and lyrically talented rappers of this day and age, but i don't think this album is as World changing the "God" wanted. I mean this is expected, personally, i think it would be extremely hard to compete with his previous effort "MyKanye West must of lost something in the last 3 years but still manages to deliver a kick-ass album. Kanye West is definitely one of the more outspoken and lyrically talented rappers of this day and age, but i don't think this album is as World changing the "God" wanted. I mean this is expected, personally, i think it would be extremely hard to compete with his previous effort "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" but Kanye still knows how to deliver and hasn't lost his touch completely. What i do love about this album is i feel that Ye has connected back into his roots of The College Dropout while still using his overproduced beats that critics have fell in love with. Now, Yeezy is actually bringing back some rap and doing a good job mixing the two together. I hope for more efforts like this for the future ofr raps "God". Expand
  27. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye's lyrics are both as lazy and as clever as ever, but the production is incredible. Occasionally repetitive flow, but Kanye's album gives me the same feeling as listening to "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy". Great album, and a new take and sound to his music.
  28. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Great album. Beats are very simplistic and loud, almost perfect production, lyrics are brash and in your face, occasionally inconsistent. This isn't an album for anyone who solely listens to hip hop, it pretty much transcends the genre. 9/10
  29. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    This is a weed plate...Something I'd use to break buds on...The only people who would find this album "revolutionary" are people who aren't familiar with anything outside of top 40...He's biting styles left and right, but his take on other genres is sub-par to put it nicely...and the lyrics...bwahaha!...Kanye is the type of guy that would have a baby with Kim Kardashian...enough said
  30. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    I honestly think this album goes right over people's heads............................................................................................
  31. Jun 23, 2013
    5
    The experimental production makes this a positive in all for his career, but as an album it is extremely lacking. Unfortunately, it has an enjoyable feel to it, that combined with Kanye's excellent musicianship, makes it easy to overlook the massive flaws. I can still listen to this album in the background of anything and enjoy the experience, but any kind of critical look leads to anThe experimental production makes this a positive in all for his career, but as an album it is extremely lacking. Unfortunately, it has an enjoyable feel to it, that combined with Kanye's excellent musicianship, makes it easy to overlook the massive flaws. I can still listen to this album in the background of anything and enjoy the experience, but any kind of critical look leads to an extremely painful feeling.

    The lyricism in this album is by far the worst Ye has ever put out. I find it extremely annoying when people praise his lyricism in this album, citing his focus on the racism of others or the racism of blacks towards blacks or any other such thing. Sure, he has a few conscious lines, but not a single one of them brings any new message from anything he's said before, and every time he's said it before, it was done better. Not a single line in this album strikes me as even somewhat stellar, and it's coupled with the extremely painful lines such as "I'd rather be a dick than a swallower". That line specifically also shows a weakness in Ye's lyricism in this album, where he is too lazy to think up lines that follow one another and just decides to repeat the same ones multiple times.

    His egoism is something I will never look at negatively, as I think it is an incredible asset to his persona, and I normally love how he always proves himself right in so many ways. But for an album that contains a song titled 'I Am a God' (featuring God), he does not provide the backing.

    I will however say that the production on this album is quite interesting, impressive at parts, surprising at others, and for that reason is why I say that this album is a good step for his career. As long as he decides to actually put some effort into his writing, and possibly take more time putting some of his storytelling talent into his next album, I think his next album could be legendary if he takes some of the experimental sounds on Yeezus and puts them to a better use.

    Lyricism: 1/10
    Production 7.5/10
    Content: 2/10
    General Cohesion: 3.5/10
    Expand
  32. Jul 1, 2013
    0
    Lazy garbage, per Wikipedia:
    "The album was to be turned in two days later. Kanye was planning to go to Milan that night. Five songs still needed vocals and two or three of them still needed lyrics. In the two hours before he had to run out to catch the plane, he did exactly that: finished all lyrics and performed them with gusto."
  33. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    How in the universe of music does this album have a more positive score than that of J. cole's Born Sinner? This album is trash and it should not be bought by anyone who listens to Hip-Hop music. I don't have a problem if a person wants to do something different with their music just make sure it's good. This is a lyrical failure he is capable of sooooo much better but he did not put isHow in the universe of music does this album have a more positive score than that of J. cole's Born Sinner? This album is trash and it should not be bought by anyone who listens to Hip-Hop music. I don't have a problem if a person wants to do something different with their music just make sure it's good. This is a lyrical failure he is capable of sooooo much better but he did not put is all in this album at all. I am not a Kayne hater I loved every album that he has done before this one even 808's and heartbrakes that was actually a good album but this....This is trash do not buy and Rate J Cole's Born Sinner higher because it is a much better album than this one. Expand
  34. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    An album you have to listen to multiple times to really appreciate. The first few tracks aren't the strongest: send it up new slaves can blend together at times with a similar dark electronic vibe. Then the outro of new slaves hits and the album takes off from there. Hold my liquor, Im in it, and Blood on Leaves are some of the most fascinating songs Mr. West has come out with. Bound 2 isAn album you have to listen to multiple times to really appreciate. The first few tracks aren't the strongest: send it up new slaves can blend together at times with a similar dark electronic vibe. Then the outro of new slaves hits and the album takes off from there. Hold my liquor, Im in it, and Blood on Leaves are some of the most fascinating songs Mr. West has come out with. Bound 2 is also a fun throw back. The more you listen to it, the more you like it Expand
  35. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    This is what you get when you mix very clever writing with expert sampling and producing. it has some really emotional moments, like the brilliant breakdown at the end of new slaves and the first verse of blood on the leaves to the awesome pumping beats on black skinhead to the hypnotic track guilt track. favorites: black skinhead, im a god, new slaves, blood on the leaves, im in it.
  36. Aug 28, 2013
    0
    I can't understand where all of the positive hype about this album is coming from. I understand how original Yeezus is and all the risks 'Ye took in releasing this with no true single and such... I get it. However, that doesn't instantly forgive the abominable lyricism of this collection of songs. Kanye used to produce and write some of the most inspirational and well produced music in theI can't understand where all of the positive hype about this album is coming from. I understand how original Yeezus is and all the risks 'Ye took in releasing this with no true single and such... I get it. However, that doesn't instantly forgive the abominable lyricism of this collection of songs. Kanye used to produce and write some of the most inspirational and well produced music in the hip hop genre. Now he takes a leap of faith that falls incredibly short and people are loving the fact that he jumped, not the music itself. It is definitely original and it pushes the boundaries, but none of these songs are songs that you can really listen to and enjoy.... Expand
  37. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Even though it can be pretty jarring at times, the album grows on you over time with each listen. One of the most quotable albums of recent memory, with Yeezy giving us 2-3 laugh out loud per song. It sounds like a soundtrack to a Nero-esque orgy. Blood on the Leaves is absolutely beautiful, and is the stand out song. Great from start to finish, and while I wouldn't put this album aboveEven though it can be pretty jarring at times, the album grows on you over time with each listen. One of the most quotable albums of recent memory, with Yeezy giving us 2-3 laugh out loud per song. It sounds like a soundtrack to a Nero-esque orgy. Blood on the Leaves is absolutely beautiful, and is the stand out song. Great from start to finish, and while I wouldn't put this album above MBDTF or Late Registration, it's a great entry into Kanye's already stellar body of work. Expand
  38. Sep 5, 2013
    0
    This album is Grade-A trash. The lyrics are absolutely terrible and the production is so so. This is coming from a Kanye fan btw. I love all of his other albums but this is a disgrace and the only reason people think this is good is because Kanye made it. If B.o.B or Kid Cudi had made this these same people would be trashing it.
  39. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Yeezus christ this album is dreadful. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay past his peak
  40. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This sounds like a M.I.A. album with some hardcore rap verses on it. A very innovative album by a very innovative artist. I love it. The best tracks are Black Skinhead, Blood on the leaves, On Sight, New Slaves & Bound 2.
  41. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    On the walls of various chosen buildings and the SNL stage, the words "NOT FOR SALE" lit up the darkness. On the stage West's silhouette brought out the birth of a new era and his own evolution, on the building West's fiery return projects itself upon the hopeful and excited fans. The derivative hip hop beats don't appear here, he's not selling himself. He's simply letting go, and forcingOn the walls of various chosen buildings and the SNL stage, the words "NOT FOR SALE" lit up the darkness. On the stage West's silhouette brought out the birth of a new era and his own evolution, on the building West's fiery return projects itself upon the hopeful and excited fans. The derivative hip hop beats don't appear here, he's not selling himself. He's simply letting go, and forcing us to accept it with rocky, crude and reluctant understanding. What Kanye serves is impetuous, gut wrenching and takes you by surprise. But then again that's hip hop isn't it? By pushing the envelope he leaves a big crash in the ocean of music, West rises in ranks and gives us a breathtaking journey that's only just beginning. Reluctantly, I can't help but to begin and relive again and again. Soak in the repercussions, for just as the projection shut off as "New Slaves" ended on the W Hotel late at night in LA, we and the world had just gotten a glimpse of Kanye's artistic statement. What's next for Kanye West? Considering the birth of North West, nothing for a while now. Still, the anticipation for what's next is at an all time high and the stage has been set. Let's begin. Expand
  42. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    'Yeezus', the follow-up to West's critically acclaimed 2010 solo record 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' and his 2011 and 2012 collaboration albums 'Watch the Throne' and 'Cruel Summer'; is minamalist, dark, and highly experimental. Album highlights "Black Skinhead", "On Sight", and "New Slaves" showcase the galloping manifesto sound that West was aiming to create. Similar to many of'Yeezus', the follow-up to West's critically acclaimed 2010 solo record 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' and his 2011 and 2012 collaboration albums 'Watch the Throne' and 'Cruel Summer'; is minamalist, dark, and highly experimental. Album highlights "Black Skinhead", "On Sight", and "New Slaves" showcase the galloping manifesto sound that West was aiming to create. Similar to many of West's previous records, 'Yeezus' contains several genius samples; however 'Yeezus' is much less mainstream than his previous efforts; shown by the album's lack of singles (with the exception of "Black Skinhead" and "Bound 2", which were both released after the album dropped).

    Although the album is arguably the best hip hop record of the year, I can't help but be slightly irritated by West's evident which is clearly displayed by the track "I Am A God" and his decision to barely promote the record, which makes it seem like West was just trying to prove that he could have an album go to #1 without significant promotion. Of course, 'Yeezus' did go to number 1, and its not like West has ever really been a wholesome or down-to-earth dude, but West's narcissistic personality comes off a little too strong on 'Yeezus'. Despite this, the album is still exquisite.
    Expand
  43. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    If Paper Street made music instead of soap, Yeezus would be the eruptions coming from that lonely house. The most interesting part about this album that separates itself from the rest of hip-hop (and Kanye's other work) is how Mr. West the god integrates all types of art into music. Architecture, technology, politics, and fashion all play it's role. Of course, he did not do this himself.If Paper Street made music instead of soap, Yeezus would be the eruptions coming from that lonely house. The most interesting part about this album that separates itself from the rest of hip-hop (and Kanye's other work) is how Mr. West the god integrates all types of art into music. Architecture, technology, politics, and fashion all play it's role. Of course, he did not do this himself. Kanye West & Friends would be a more appropriate artist name as he is joined by the world famous Daft Punk for some of the big tracks on the album such as 'I Am a God' and 'Black Skinhead'. He has his whole lineup of writers and producers he uses for creative ideas. Overall, this album came out five years too early to be widely appreciated, but clearly shows Kanye is not content as being the media and major corporations pet on a leash. With that anger behind him, nothing can stop him from creating this unforgettable piece of work. Expand
  44. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    To the ego of Kanye West, controversy is a virtue. Continually, pushing the boundaries of Hip-Hop as 'ranted' in his Zane Lowe interview/harangue 'Rap the new Rock 'n' Roll'.
    He teases any listener with statements 'I am a God' perhaps warranting an extensive reply of unconventional attention. Kanye does not make music for the fans of Radio Hip-Hop nor for the common easy going listener.
    To the ego of Kanye West, controversy is a virtue. Continually, pushing the boundaries of Hip-Hop as 'ranted' in his Zane Lowe interview/harangue 'Rap the new Rock 'n' Roll'.
    He teases any listener with statements 'I am a God' perhaps warranting an extensive reply of unconventional attention. Kanye does not make music for the fans of Radio Hip-Hop nor for the common easy going listener. And melodically, the album plays on the notions of dichotomy, from uncomfortable screechy synths to truly harmonious echoes of beauty. He is continually subverting a society in which typical every day norms are replaced by the 'Black Skinhead'. This prevalent undertone is unfortunately disguised by Kanye's array of misogynistic and perhaps unattractive verse.
    However, this album is alone, remarkably Kanye is attempting to catalyze a progression in music, 'again'. The original controversial reception of 80s & Heartbreaks has now morphed into an appreciation for what we hear every day. In this album Kanye West once again stamps on the fence surrounding our microcosm of normal music and he takes full credit for this. He is the square peg in a round hole.
    Expand
  45. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Brilliant at first I wasnt so sure about the album after the first listen because it is hard to listen to but there's no such thing of listening there is only re-listening so after I listened again I loved it
  46. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Yeezus is a great album that is helping rap evolve. Kanye finds a new way to push hip hop into a new boundary. Soon other hip-hop acts might join Kanye in having EDM production on their albums. Yeezus is just the start of the new boundary that Kanye created.
  47. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    I admit Yeezus can be a bit hard to listen to at first; the beats are very ‘in your face!’ and Kanye’s lyrics can be a bit off-putting, I cant tell you how many times the man mentions his ‘black penis’. But then again that’s what I always liked about him, the guts to do whatever he wants, a lot of artists are afraid to take that far. It may not sound like it now but this what ourI admit Yeezus can be a bit hard to listen to at first; the beats are very ‘in your face!’ and Kanye’s lyrics can be a bit off-putting, I cant tell you how many times the man mentions his ‘black penis’. But then again that’s what I always liked about him, the guts to do whatever he wants, a lot of artists are afraid to take that far. It may not sound like it now but this what our generation needs. Expand
  48. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Great instant classic album......Onsite to New Slaves is the best album stretch of the last few years in hip hop. I'm not sure if anyone has done what Ye is is doing on the mainstream level as far as Hip Hop goes. He is definitely taking chances on the album and executes it perfectly. Sonically the best produce album I've heard this year. Jay-Z can learn a thing or two from Kanye causeGreat instant classic album......Onsite to New Slaves is the best album stretch of the last few years in hip hop. I'm not sure if anyone has done what Ye is is doing on the mainstream level as far as Hip Hop goes. He is definitely taking chances on the album and executes it perfectly. Sonically the best produce album I've heard this year. Jay-Z can learn a thing or two from Kanye cause MCHG was terrible. Expand
  49. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    chaotic and dying, unlike anything ever done by him, from the beats to the lyrics all remente something new and shows the way the future of music. Kanye rose on the musical term with this album
  50. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Brilliance mixed with Ignorance with a side of Egotistical-ness, if thats even a word. But overall for what it is being an experimental album, I really feel like Kanye delivered just in a different way then he did with MBDTF, Dropout, and LR
  51. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    The difference between Yeezus and other albums released in 2013 was how different it sounded and it was done successfully. This is definitely the music of the future.
  52. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Expect the unexpected. Open your mind. Free your mind of any prejudices. Be open and listen to the lyrics closely. Kanye is here to speak his mind in a very raw way. It's industrial in sound and very punchy in it's delivery. This isn't for the laid back listen. But it can be once you are used to it. It's different from his previous albums but there are familiar elements mixed in. KanyeExpect the unexpected. Open your mind. Free your mind of any prejudices. Be open and listen to the lyrics closely. Kanye is here to speak his mind in a very raw way. It's industrial in sound and very punchy in it's delivery. This isn't for the laid back listen. But it can be once you are used to it. It's different from his previous albums but there are familiar elements mixed in. Kanye West is still in top form here. The good far outweighs the bad. It's hardcore Kanye.....but spoken through....well....YEEZUS. Expand
  53. Jun 24, 2013
    4
    Pretty bad...like not at all what I was hoping for. I like the experimental direction he took and maybe if he incorporated the right lyrics this could have been a great album, but with songs like "I'm a god" there is really no words to describe how egomaniac that is. I know it's part of his persona and it makes him who he is but that is just retarded. Also why does every other word have toPretty bad...like not at all what I was hoping for. I like the experimental direction he took and maybe if he incorporated the right lyrics this could have been a great album, but with songs like "I'm a god" there is really no words to describe how egomaniac that is. I know it's part of his persona and it makes him who he is but that is just retarded. Also why does every other word have to be ni@@a? I mean really can't some one release a rap album where that word is actually used in context and not just filler? I want another rap album like Madvillany to come out. Guess I'll just have to keep waiting. Expand
  54. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    This Kanye's most out there album to date, but that does not mean it's not up there with his best. At first listen it might seem that West has taken the easy way out, trading his signature production for hard beats and blips that sound more like a acid Nine Inch Nails, but after further evaluation the listener will grow to appreciate the album for simple masterpiece that it is.
  55. Jun 20, 2013
    6
    When it comes to the production, the mood and the overall sound, this album is notable for its uniqueness and creativity, though the rough and extreme nature of this album will be too much for many people.

    the lyrics however are simplistic and often off-point. this album's serious tone is marred by many corny lines. such as him wanting to pour sweet and sour sauce all over an asian
    When it comes to the production, the mood and the overall sound, this album is notable for its uniqueness and creativity, though the rough and extreme nature of this album will be too much for many people.

    the lyrics however are simplistic and often off-point. this album's serious tone is marred by many corny lines. such as him wanting to pour sweet and sour sauce all over an asian woman's body.
    Expand
  56. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    If there's one thing this proves, it's that he's learned from Watch The Throne. Kanye's joint effort with Jay-Z tried to be bigger than it was capable of at times, and while it was a solid effort, stripping it down for a more raw sound on Yeezus has paid off. This is as innovative as any rap album has ever been.
  57. CPB
    Jun 18, 2013
    6
    This album is nothing special. I don't why people are praising this album, the only two good songs are 'New Slaves' and 'Black skinhead'. Those are actually the only two songs with something to say, also. Everything else is just Kanye riding his own dick thinking he's a "genius" (even though Death Grips did a more grittier version of this album before with the 'Money Store'). Now thisThis album is nothing special. I don't why people are praising this album, the only two good songs are 'New Slaves' and 'Black skinhead'. Those are actually the only two songs with something to say, also. Everything else is just Kanye riding his own dick thinking he's a "genius" (even though Death Grips did a more grittier version of this album before with the 'Money Store'). Now this isn't a horrible album, but no where near great (like College Dropout, Graduation and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy; all of which were great albums). Expand
  58. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    "How much do I not give a f*ck?" Mr. West asks in On Sight, the first track of Yeezus. The answer is clear. The question is quickly followed with a familiar College Dropout sample sounding tune that goes on to say "He'll give us what we need It may not be what we want." Which, is the perfect way to describe what this album is. Not something we want(old Kanye), but something we need(New Kanye).
  59. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    The first side of YEEZUS is bold and to the point. The production is great and Kanye delivers his lines with passion. "On Sight", "Black Skinhead" and "New Slaves" rank among the best tracks Kanye has delivered. On the second side of the album the pace slows down and some of the songs (notably "I'm In It") are forgettable with their stale synthesizer beats and autotune'd vocals. Had theThe first side of YEEZUS is bold and to the point. The production is great and Kanye delivers his lines with passion. "On Sight", "Black Skinhead" and "New Slaves" rank among the best tracks Kanye has delivered. On the second side of the album the pace slows down and some of the songs (notably "I'm In It") are forgettable with their stale synthesizer beats and autotune'd vocals. Had the album been a passionate percussion-heavy punk rap barrage all the way through, we'd be listening to a classic. Now it seems half-assed and hurried. Expand
  60. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    After the Picasso-art of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye West reinvents itself again, with an album much more Hip-Hop and Minimal than MBDTF thet reminiscent in some ways Watch The Throne and 808s & Heartbreak. Songs like On Sight, Black Skinhead and Blood on the Leaves are examples of good and innovative production, that's right, the production that perhaps on this album is theAfter the Picasso-art of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye West reinvents itself again, with an album much more Hip-Hop and Minimal than MBDTF thet reminiscent in some ways Watch The Throne and 808s & Heartbreak. Songs like On Sight, Black Skinhead and Blood on the Leaves are examples of good and innovative production, that's right, the production that perhaps on this album is the most innovative of the year with Daft Punk, No.ID, 88 Keys and Kanye same in the height of the form. In conclusion, Yeezus of abstract-art is an album of pure genius that we have never heard. A classic to remember for many, many years. Expand
  61. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This is the first time, I am reviewing a brand new album. I usually take some time to get used to an album but some albums are such that they stick with you even when you listen to them just once. After listening to this album nearly seven times now, I think I am in a position to review it properly. Basically its great!!

    Yes, he is back with his 6th album. By this time as a fan I knew
    This is the first time, I am reviewing a brand new album. I usually take some time to get used to an album but some albums are such that they stick with you even when you listen to them just once. After listening to this album nearly seven times now, I think I am in a position to review it properly. Basically its great!!

    Yes, he is back with his 6th album. By this time as a fan I knew that this album like all his other albums has to be different or break some trends and most likely set a few new trends. 3 years after creating arguably one of the greatest rap albums of all time. He is back again doing what he does best, defy the norms and he still refuses to make the rap albums that everybody else seems to make. Its only been 3 days since the album was released but I can say this with full conviction:

    I took notice of this genius when I heard his second album: Late Registration. Shortly, its my favourite rap album of all time.

    With this album, Kanye West de-constructs the rap/hip-hop conventions, chops them up and makes something that’s sonically akin to Massive Attack’s: “Mezzanine” than say, any of his other albums. He created his own genre twice before with “808s & Heartbreak” and “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy” and this one is inventive and different in the same vein as these two albums.
    Expand
  62. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I wouldn't say its better than Yeezy's last solo effort, but it comes pretty damn close. Yeezy tries something new with the dub-step beat behind On Sight. Excellent start. Hold My Liquor is halfway through the album's disappointing 10 tracks, and its straight amazing. The album ends with Bound 42 which everybody drooled over because it was sort of a throwback to College Dropout. This isn'tI wouldn't say its better than Yeezy's last solo effort, but it comes pretty damn close. Yeezy tries something new with the dub-step beat behind On Sight. Excellent start. Hold My Liquor is halfway through the album's disappointing 10 tracks, and its straight amazing. The album ends with Bound 42 which everybody drooled over because it was sort of a throwback to College Dropout. This isn't hip-hop, nor is this a rap album. Kanye changed up his style again and was very successful.... again. Of course people aren't going to like this album because its not stupid trap beats & raps. Its straight up MUSIC. NO GENRE. JUST ART IN ONE ALBUM. You hate this album? Get out of here. Your opinion is stupid. You're entitled to it, but its stupid because you're writing Kanye off because he's not hip-hop. Expand
  63. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I can see why people don't like this album...its very different. But Kanye is Kanye and he always does something different..I think this album will grow much more on the people who don't like it if they just take it for what it is. Great album imo.
  64. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Kanye does it again. Yeezus is a triumph of unparalleled musical imagination, created by the ultimate music nerd who thinks nothing of genres and styles and gleefuly mashes everything he wants like a mad alchemist, creating an unholy concoction that works even though it really shouldn't. Who else would even dare to have Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and Chicago drill poster boy Chief Keef singKanye does it again. Yeezus is a triumph of unparalleled musical imagination, created by the ultimate music nerd who thinks nothing of genres and styles and gleefuly mashes everything he wants like a mad alchemist, creating an unholy concoction that works even though it really shouldn't. Who else would even dare to have Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and Chicago drill poster boy Chief Keef sing on the same track? Who would imagine that you could mix TNGHT and Nina Simone? Who would slap a hefty chunk of a track by a 1970s Hungarian prog rock band at the end of his own composition and then sing all over it? Only Yeezus. Expand
  65. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    People are comparing this album to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and I think that's the wrong approach because both albums are vastly different, and excellent in their own ways. This album helps Kanye's producer credit more than his lyrical credit, but I've still got it in heavy rotation on my phone. Black Skinhead is probably the best track. This a really high quality album, despitePeople are comparing this album to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and I think that's the wrong approach because both albums are vastly different, and excellent in their own ways. This album helps Kanye's producer credit more than his lyrical credit, but I've still got it in heavy rotation on my phone. Black Skinhead is probably the best track. This a really high quality album, despite the barely-there artwork. My only gripe is that there are only 10 tracks. Perhaps he will release volume II in the future. Expand
  66. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Another classic from Kanye West. It's natural that some people don't like it; he's pushing the boundaries of hip-hop. You'll thank him in 10 years. An excellent album.
  67. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    Another great album by Kanye. Sadly, the lyrics don't live up to the music on this album. They are quite forgettable and not well thought out. Musically is a new direction for Kanye. The sound is very reminiscent of Death Grips (industrial/glitchy hip hop) however, he is able to deliver is own take on this style.
  68. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    MBDTF is one of my favorite albums of all time, so when I heard that this was coming out I was really excited. This album turned out to be not bad, but a huge disappointment. Kanye threw all meaning and lyrical genius out the window for this album. Most of his rhymes are incredibly simple. The production was great on tracks like "New Slaves", "I Am A God", and "Black Skinhead" but I feelMBDTF is one of my favorite albums of all time, so when I heard that this was coming out I was really excited. This album turned out to be not bad, but a huge disappointment. Kanye threw all meaning and lyrical genius out the window for this album. Most of his rhymes are incredibly simple. The production was great on tracks like "New Slaves", "I Am A God", and "Black Skinhead" but I feel like the production got worse and worse as it went on. I didn't really like this album, but I can understand the appeal. Expand
  69. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Yes, i'm a Kanye West fan but I had my doubts about this at first. I felt it was too derivative from Death Grips and Clipping.'s sound and that it was a bandwagoning attempt but I was half-wrong. Yes, he was attempting the sound but at the same time, he did something a bit difficult. He gave it a mainstream appeal! That's what I love about this album (or mixtape, since its short and isYes, i'm a Kanye West fan but I had my doubts about this at first. I felt it was too derivative from Death Grips and Clipping.'s sound and that it was a bandwagoning attempt but I was half-wrong. Yes, he was attempting the sound but at the same time, he did something a bit difficult. He gave it a mainstream appeal! That's what I love about this album (or mixtape, since its short and is structured like a mixtape). It's certainly no MBDTF or even Late Registration but this is up there with them Expand
  70. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Well there are 2 kind of people in the matter of Yeezus .... the sane and insane people and of course people who think Yeezus is a masterpiece are sane ...... This album is beyond description and until now it's the best album in the new millennium!
  71. Jul 10, 2013
    5
    It starts off with a raw electronic sound, that sonically is different to Kanye’s Work, and this sound has been created with the help of Daft Punk. I have never been a fan of rap, or Kanye West other than “Runaways” from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. So the fact that I can listen to this from beginning to end is a feat in itself, but it is still poor. I like the raw electronic soundIt starts off with a raw electronic sound, that sonically is different to Kanye’s Work, and this sound has been created with the help of Daft Punk. I have never been a fan of rap, or Kanye West other than “Runaways” from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. So the fact that I can listen to this from beginning to end is a feat in itself, but it is still poor. I like the raw electronic sound on the beginning of the album, the industrial feel, and the good use of samples to break up and add to the songs, but the lyrics are poor. They are boring and predictable, Saying that the first two songs are better than the rest of the album until the end. “On Site” and “Blackhead” are good, I can listen to them and they don’t have any of the incessant auto-tune that features later on in the album.

    “New Slaves” maybe could be the most dance floor friendly seeing as it is bass heavy, and it’s one of the few songs where the lyrics mean something, even if Kanye goes about it in a brash way, not exactly using the most sophisticated language.

    From there on, the album becomes a mess, until “Bound 2″ with the seductive sample of Brenda Lee going “Uh huh Honey”, along with a bridge featuring Charlie Wilson that really breaks the song up, and I like that it came as a surprise, it was refreshing. Sure the lyrics may again be poor, “I want to you hard in the sink”, but it’s enjoyable, and for one song, I can look past the flaws.

    Overall, musically the album is decent, I like it here and there, Kanye has some good ideas that he ruins with his rap and the autotune, I really have no strong likes or dislikes to this album, just disappointment with what could have been, and the score is maybe just out of kindness.
    Expand
  72. Jun 24, 2013
    1
    The songs are generic and very un-inspired, West has fallen off, every single song sounds like a filler, it seems as if he was just bored and decided to get in the studio. There isn't any melodies, drum patterns. This is not music at all. I do not recommend this album, Buy it at your own risk.
  73. Aug 23, 2013
    5
    Yeezus is the sixth solo studio album from Chicago hip-hop artist Kanye West. He has had his fair share of up's, (My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Late Registration), and down's, (808's and Heartbreak, Cruel Summer). Yeezus has to fall into the second category with the downs.

    When I first saw the track listing, I thought it was a joke. There were few features and none of them looked
    Yeezus is the sixth solo studio album from Chicago hip-hop artist Kanye West. He has had his fair share of up's, (My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Late Registration), and down's, (808's and Heartbreak, Cruel Summer). Yeezus has to fall into the second category with the downs.

    When I first saw the track listing, I thought it was a joke. There were few features and none of them looked good on paper. Specifically I'm talking about the Chief Keef and King L features. Why on Earth did Kanye get these artists on his album, when he can obtain any feature he wants? Now I know a lot of people will argue that it's because they originated in Chicago like Kanye. Well then why didn't he get Lupe Fiasco, Common, or even Chance the Rapper? Was it because "Touch the Sky" and "Don't Stop", which both feature Fiasco were horrible, (that was complete sarcasm). I mean Kanye has already done a song with Chief Keef, and made Keef's song way more popular than it was. Chief Keef then goes on to say that Kanye didn't help him get popular at all. So pretty much Chief Keef says screw you and you decide to work with him. Brilliant.

    As I was saying the features don't add anything at all. I didn't even know that Frank Ocean was on "New Slaves". Chief Keef's feature is horrendous and full of auto-tune which sounds horrible. Kid Cudi does better than he normally does, but that isn't saying much. King Louie is one of the best features on the album, and if that isn't an indication that the features are weak, I don't know what is. Justin Vernon is alright, but he doesn't have the same presence that he did on MBDTF.

    The beats are different and very electronic. I don't hate them, they are kind of enjoyable. Once again though, I prefer more soulful production that Kanye has done. That probably explains why I love the last track on this album "Bound 2". Black Skinhead's beat is fantastic and makes me want to punch a wall. All of the beats provided from Daft Punk are fantastic except for parts on "On Sight". The beat for his verses are too annoying and repetitive. The hook was pretty good though. I didn't like two beats in particular though. The beat for "Guilt Trip" just sounds very generic, and the beat on "Send It Up" gets annoying after awhile. "Guilt Trip" samples "Blocka" by Pusha T, and is a horrible song to sample. It didn't even come close to giving me the same thrill that a song like "Power" did, which sampled King Crimson.

    Lyrics are just irrelevant here for the most part. Lines like "Black dick all in your spouse again", "But I gotta put my dick in her mouth", and "eating Asian p*ssy all I need was sweet and sour sauce" all sound like Lil Wayne lyrics and a line like "get this b*tch shaking like Parkinson's" sounds like a Tyler the Creator punch line used for shock value. Why Kanye steps down to this level of lyricism is beyond me. A song which I love "Blood on the Leaves" still gets complaints from me. It has auto-tune in the beginning which sounds horrible. While using auto-tune he is rapping about Molly. Okay Trinidad West. I have read that Kanye had to rush and write two songs in a day or two and it clearly shows with sloppy lyrics. I bet that the lyrics on "I Am A God" was one of those songs. "I just talked to Jesus. He said what up Yeezus." How weak is that? A song like "I'm in it" is just filled with sexual imagery. Typically I would have a problem with this, but Kanye has proven he can make a song like this with "Hell of a Life". Unfortunately, "I'm in It" just sounds like a generic rap song that will be forgotten about, if it is even remembered in the first place.

    It's safe to say that I am a huge Kanye fan. He is one of my favorite hip-hop artists ever, but when he puts out a weak product I have to call him out for the weak effort. "Cruel Summer" and "Yeezus" are two of the weakest projects that Kanye has worked on. Kim Kardashian needs to stop consuming Kanye's life. Maybe Kanye should go back to dating Amber Rose, (sorry Wiz).
    Expand
  74. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    This album is incredible. Kanye will never top it. He's one of the biggest artists in the world and has made an album that could have been made on some indie Chicago label. In saying that, the production quality on the album is phenomenal. Kanye has managed to make a record that is unmistakably his own despite being outnumbered hugely by collaborators. I honestly cannot think of anotherThis album is incredible. Kanye will never top it. He's one of the biggest artists in the world and has made an album that could have been made on some indie Chicago label. In saying that, the production quality on the album is phenomenal. Kanye has managed to make a record that is unmistakably his own despite being outnumbered hugely by collaborators. I honestly cannot think of another album I've devoted more time to, and that's its defining quality.

    It has to be noted that this is the record that most effectively parodies the #madrichalert culture that has produced so much appalling radio friendly hip-hop. He may or may not be slightly serious in thinking that he's a god, but he's got the greatest claim to be and he seems to be the only rapper around that doesn't care despite that. This has to be the perfect record to define everything that's good about music right now because of that.
    Expand
  75. Jun 20, 2013
    6
    After originally only getting to the forth track before I had to quit, I gave it a second chance which ultimately lead to a third listen through. After being annoyed by it at first, and realizing that it isn't the instant classic as his previous albums, it grew on me. I found myself vibing to a lot of it. This is definitely not Kanye's best work, but it's worthy of looking past the loudAfter originally only getting to the forth track before I had to quit, I gave it a second chance which ultimately lead to a third listen through. After being annoyed by it at first, and realizing that it isn't the instant classic as his previous albums, it grew on me. I found myself vibing to a lot of it. This is definitely not Kanye's best work, but it's worthy of looking past the loud frantic beats and trying to see what he was going for. I think Cole got the best of him on June 18th, but Yeezus will, of course, outsell Born Sinner. Expand
  76. Jun 22, 2013
    3
    This album has little to offer and I am very disappointed in Kanye. With only 10 tracks on the album, it is a rip-off to even purchase. Not only are there just 10 tracks, it sounds like he recorded the entire album in an echoing gymnasium 3 hours before the album was due to his label. Kanye said he didn't want it to be radio-style music, but you can still make good songs without soundingThis album has little to offer and I am very disappointed in Kanye. With only 10 tracks on the album, it is a rip-off to even purchase. Not only are there just 10 tracks, it sounds like he recorded the entire album in an echoing gymnasium 3 hours before the album was due to his label. Kanye said he didn't want it to be radio-style music, but you can still make good songs without sounding radio-friendly. In "Blood On the Leaves", he sounds like a bad version of T-Pain, sounding even more generic than T-Pain himself. Overall the album leaves much to be desired from the rapper who previously never failed to impress me. In my opinion the worst thing he ever could have done for his career was get married and have a child. Expand
  77. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Is this album Yeezy’s best? Not quite. But is it unlike anything he has ever produced? Definitely. It’s eccentric, unnatural, and about as far away from the Kanye we all know and sometimes love, but Kanye proclaims himself as the Jesus of the game today, and if he keeps diving into new frontiers, then that shouldn’t change.
  78. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing except for the first song, which starts the entire ordeal on a sour note. However, by the time "Hold my liquor" is reached, the album has reached it's epitome, and ending the album on "Bound 2" was hands down an excellent choice. Perfect.
  79. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Overall, I found this to be a rewarding and enjoyable album, however, it does has have some issues that need to be adressed. First off, Kanye's lyrics feel lazy and contain some bad punch lines on the majority of the tracks. Second I felt that some of the collaborations didn't add too much to the album, for example, I feel like Frank Ocean's feature on New Slaves feels phoned in, ChiefOverall, I found this to be a rewarding and enjoyable album, however, it does has have some issues that need to be adressed. First off, Kanye's lyrics feel lazy and contain some bad punch lines on the majority of the tracks. Second I felt that some of the collaborations didn't add too much to the album, for example, I feel like Frank Ocean's feature on New Slaves feels phoned in, Chief Keef singing with auto tune on Can't Hold My Liqour isn't pleasant, and Kid Kudi's singing feature on Guilt Trip didn't really bring much to the track. Although this is not one of Kanye's best lyrical works, the album is augmented by some dark industrial/electronic flavored production, similar to the vein of underground acts, most notably Death Grips. The harsher, more abrasive, and minimalist production gives the album some nice dark overtones, and are strong pumping beats. I really enjoy the driving beats on the opening track, Black Skinhead, and I am a God. Another production highlight on this album is Blood On The Leaves which features a great sample of Nina Simone singing strange fruit. Additionally, the closing track has a more soulful vibe to it, which provides nice contrast. The atmosphere of the album is great, the tracks fit together well and its great to see Kanye try to use some new influences, because he could easily be making great music in his old style. I also was impressed with his social commentary on New Slaves.The best tracks on this album were Black Skin Head, New Slaves and Blood on the Leaves. I'd say my least favorite is I'm in it. This album would have been better if Kanye had written better lyrics and put more time into it to refine it more. He was going somewhere great with this, however he ruined some of the vibe with too many trashy punch lines(although some of it is forgivable taking into account that the album's name is Yeezus and Kanye's ego is a part of his music). I really did enjoy this album, I would like to give it a higher score but the issues are gonna bring it down a bit. I would highly recommend checking out Death Grips who have even more gritty production and have horrifyingly disgusting lyrics. Expand
  80. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Anyone who expects this album to be as good or better than MBDTF is obviously going to be disappointed. But anyone who says this isnt anything knew is obviously lying. It takes production elements from all his previous albums and mixes them together in just 40 minutes. Although the lyrics might not be as good as what we have come to expect from 'Ye they are still better than pretty muchAnyone who expects this album to be as good or better than MBDTF is obviously going to be disappointed. But anyone who says this isnt anything knew is obviously lying. It takes production elements from all his previous albums and mixes them together in just 40 minutes. Although the lyrics might not be as good as what we have come to expect from 'Ye they are still better than pretty much every other artist alive today and he does tackle some serious themes throughout the recording. This album isn't an easy listen and it wont click the first time you hear it, it takes perseverance and time to start to like this album, but after a few listens you will really start to see the genius of 'Yeezus'. Expand
  81. Jun 20, 2013
    3
    Critics you can't be serious, this album is trash and this isn't music. All of Kanye's previous albums outdo this one by a long shot. Kanye is getting confused with believing in a God and thinking he is God.
  82. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This albums so special, it really is masterpiece with the mix of electronic beats and dark aura with Yeezy's lyrics cutting deep making it uniquely amazing. This is the start of the revival of Rap with J.Cole, Wale, Jay-Z and Drake to follow.
  83. Jun 23, 2013
    3
    This review was pretty simple. There were 3 good songs out of 10.

    Pros:

    + Black Skinhead
    + New Slaves
    + Blood On The Leaves

    Negatives:

    - Everything Else
  84. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    When Kanye sat down to write Yeezus, it wasn't with the intention to make his long-time critics do a huge 360 and suddenly become his biggest fans.

    This album was written for the people who've followed Kanye's progression and can dig the changes he's describing to us; from man to famous man, famous man to 'god' and Yeezy to Yeezus. There's something about these changes that should be
    When Kanye sat down to write Yeezus, it wasn't with the intention to make his long-time critics do a huge 360 and suddenly become his biggest fans.

    This album was written for the people who've followed Kanye's progression and can dig the changes he's describing to us; from man to famous man, famous man to 'god' and Yeezy to Yeezus. There's something about these changes that should be depressing and somehow painful (it seems like Kanye's going through a rough time) but is actually just somehow exciting.

    Dark, sleazy and satisfying. A+
    Expand
  85. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Yeezus is a good album. Kanye said he was taking a minimalistic approach with Yeezus, but this is not at all true. The beats are unique, & interesting, so to say. The rapping isn't remarkable for Kanye, or remarkable overall, but it's good. New Slaves and I Am a God has standout rapping, and awesome beats, though the beat is much too overpowering in New Slaves, only song I don't listen toYeezus is a good album. Kanye said he was taking a minimalistic approach with Yeezus, but this is not at all true. The beats are unique, & interesting, so to say. The rapping isn't remarkable for Kanye, or remarkable overall, but it's good. New Slaves and I Am a God has standout rapping, and awesome beats, though the beat is much too overpowering in New Slaves, only song I don't listen to with a bass boost. As for the lyrics, typical Kanye lyrics. Blood on the Leaves is a song that seems to not have made it on to Kanye's 808s & Heartbreak, but it's still a good song, though it does feel out of place on Yeezus. Then there's Guilt Trip, featuring Kid Cudi. Another song that seems to not have made it onto 808s & HB, but this one is just bad. It feels like a song just put there to add a song and fill up some space. Kanye could have at least made us another filler song, better than the Guilt Trip. Overall, I'm satisfied with my purchase, but don't think Yeezus lived up to the hype. Expand
  86. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Kanye is great because he does what he wants, because he's an egomaniac with a stunning gift for writing both beats and rhymes. Every album has been a different extension of his genius mixed with a facet of his personality. If My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was his expression of celebrity and intimate feelings, then Yeezus is Kanye at the VMAs, telling Taylor Swift that Beyonce wasKanye is great because he does what he wants, because he's an egomaniac with a stunning gift for writing both beats and rhymes. Every album has been a different extension of his genius mixed with a facet of his personality. If My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was his expression of celebrity and intimate feelings, then Yeezus is Kanye at the VMAs, telling Taylor Swift that Beyonce was better. This album is Kanye screaming at the world, ego inflated, that whatever he does is a masterpiece because only HE can pull it off.

    Yeezus, the title, suggests this. It's an obvious allusion to Jesus, who by the words of the Bible could do things others could not. This is Yeezus. It's Kanye doing what others can't. He took a synth and turned it into a dark, grinding, acidic extension of his ego.

    However, this album isn't all dark grit and grind. I personally think "Bound 2" belongs more on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy in terms of stylistic qualities, but its beautiful sampling and clever lyrics will not be depricated in the slightest by being a part of this album. It might be my favorite song Kanye has ever made, it's that good.

    If you have an open mind, you'll enjoy this album. It takes two or three listens to really get a grasp on what Kanye was trying to do here; however, once this has been achieved, this album is brilliant in its own right.

    This isn't My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. This is more ambitious, more egotistical, more narcissistic. Not every can produce M.B.D.T.F. (a classic, mind you) every album. This is about as close to a great repeat effort as one can be. It's a great album. IF there's one thing we know about Kanye, ti's that he doesn't think he has a ceiling. This album is a reflection of that.

    Enjoy it.
    Expand
  87. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    When I first heard this album, I was like "WTF is this Ye?". The 2nd time I heard it, I thought "okay this isn't too bad".

    And then something strange happened. I was in the same boat as others wanting that "classic" Kanye back for a while. Those soulful, sped up samples that created his signature style. But then I went back and listened to College Dropout, Late Registration and
    When I first heard this album, I was like "WTF is this Ye?". The 2nd time I heard it, I thought "okay this isn't too bad".

    And then something strange happened. I was in the same boat as others wanting that "classic" Kanye back for a while. Those soulful, sped up samples that created his signature style. But then I went back and listened to College Dropout, Late Registration and Graduation....and then I went back and listened to Yeezus, and got this feeling...like Yeezus filled me with an energy that those past albums couldn't touch. Those were all great albums (I also really enjoyed 808 and MBDTF), but Yeezus is clearly in another league in terms of the emotion and feeling you receive from it.

    And this is where I realized that what separates Kanye from other artists, lets just use Jay Z as an example, is that Kanye is constantly pushing hip hop to new heights and barriers. While Jay Z plays the conservative route...giving people what they want to hear, Kanye gives people music that they didn't realize they wanted to hear. I remember a quote by Steve Jobs, when asked why Apple doesn't do a lot of consumer research (compared to Samsung, MSFT, etc...) and his reply was "Because people don't know what they want".

    I feel Kanye has the same approach. A creative innovator like Kanye isn't just going to give us an album of sped up samples like some want, because that's been done. He's going to keep giving us new music, and new perspectives on things. And I love it. I don't want 10 albums that sound all sound alike (blueprint 1, blueprint 2, etc..), I'd rather have 10 albums that all sound uniquely different in their own awesome way (Rubber Soul, Sgt Peppers, White album, etc...) wouldn't you?
    Expand
  88. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    Providing you with a slow drip feed of pieces of Mr. West's psyche, a select blend of aggressive and enigmatic. Yeezus does not stun. Instead you are cloaked by the egotistic, hypnotic wording of a man that longs to exceed the levels of hip hop innovation he had a very large role in creating for not only others, but himself. This does not happen instantly. The process is slow. For myselfProviding you with a slow drip feed of pieces of Mr. West's psyche, a select blend of aggressive and enigmatic. Yeezus does not stun. Instead you are cloaked by the egotistic, hypnotic wording of a man that longs to exceed the levels of hip hop innovation he had a very large role in creating for not only others, but himself. This does not happen instantly. The process is slow. For myself it took around a good 4/5 strongly attentive listens to try and understand how this whole thing is meant to shape out. I still don't get it.

    I think that's why this album has been so deeply polarising. And why I fall on the positive side of the that polarisation.

    I do not love it, because I feel as though Kanye West is yet to make his masterpiece. I do not love it, because I want to feel safe in this knowledge. I do not love it, but I like it very much.

    Highlights:
    Black Skinhead The screaming. Slow build. Chugging beat. Powerful, delectable angsty goodness.
    Blood On The Leaves Reminiscent, intense, fearful. Definitely a personal highlight. Something very "808's" about it.
    Bound 2 A warm, fuzzy send off that melts the ice that has coated the prior 9 tracks.

    Lower Points:
    I'm In It Not too fond of the sampling. It feels predictable, almost tacky.
    Guilt Trip I feel as though something went wrong with this one. Kinda rushed lyrically. I feel quite bad about that too, because Kid Cudi does a fine job towards the end. I kind of wish I liked it.
    Expand
  89. Jul 24, 2013
    5
    Following his highly successful collaboration album with Jay-Z ('Watch the Throne'), rapper Kanye West is back with what will most likely be the most polarizing album of 2013. The original reception for this album ranged wildly from hailing it as the greatest rap album of all time, to dismissing it as the worst record Kanye has ever put out. Unfortunately, I find it hard to stray away fromFollowing his highly successful collaboration album with Jay-Z ('Watch the Throne'), rapper Kanye West is back with what will most likely be the most polarizing album of 2013. The original reception for this album ranged wildly from hailing it as the greatest rap album of all time, to dismissing it as the worst record Kanye has ever put out. Unfortunately, I find it hard to stray away from the latter.

    The overly noisy and cacophonous production is just one of the things that hurts 'Yeezus'. On the majority of these tracks, it sounds like Kanye is just being different and loud for the sake of being different and loud, and not to reach a deeper musical meaning or theme. Sporadic outbursts of crazy randomness are all over the production of this LP, which in the end to me seem pretty damn uninspired. With the exception of a few tracks (see "Black Skinhead" and "New Slaves"), a no point is Kanye able to generate any of kind of groove rhythm, melody, or really any real musical substance whatsoever. Perhaps the highlight of the album production-wise is the closer "Bound 2", which really sounds like a bonus track from Kanye's previous solo album, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy'.

    Although I've never been a huge fan of Kanye's lyrics and flow, this album even perhaps reaches a new low. With again the exception of a few tracks, almost practically every song on 'Yeezus' is composed of cheap, egotistical, and overall pretty stupid lyricism. If after 'Watch the Throne' you thought it was impossible for Kanye to be even more eccentric, you thought wrong (see 'I Am a God' lol). 'New Slaves' is one of the few songs on this album that contains a relevant lyrics and themes.

    Overall, the only reason why this album is rated as a 5/10 is thanks to the presence of a few golden tracks, that don't feature annoyingly noisy production or stupid lyrics. And don't get me started on the auto tune.

    STANDOUT TRACKS:
    'New Slaves'
    'Black Skinhead'
    'Bound 2'
    Expand
  90. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Yeezus is a very complex album. It is definitely innovative. The album combines hip-hop, house, dancehall and R&B themes that combine to make something that I can't really describe. I absolutely love the production on the album but Kanye lets me down lyrically especially on Black Skinhead which with some strong rapping could have been a great track. Best tracks in my opinion are Bound 2,Yeezus is a very complex album. It is definitely innovative. The album combines hip-hop, house, dancehall and R&B themes that combine to make something that I can't really describe. I absolutely love the production on the album but Kanye lets me down lyrically especially on Black Skinhead which with some strong rapping could have been a great track. Best tracks in my opinion are Bound 2, New Slaves, I'm In It and Blood On the Leaves. Bound 2 is the only track that really sounds like Kanye of the College Dropout and Late Registration era. New Slave is another song with great production that lets me down a little bit in terms of lyrics. I'm In It is a slap and I love Assassin's verse. Overall the album feels a little bit too thin lasting only 41 minutes. There also isn't a real radio hit track that Kanye seems to be able to produce at will. I know Kanye is very much into being innovative and original but if he had just put 2 potential hit radio songs on Yeezus it would have been a great album. As it stands Yeezus is confusing, vulgar, narcissistic, deep, confusing, a few steps below great, inconsistent, and confusing. Yeezy's rapping feels a little bit too lazy like he wasn't really trying to go all out lyrically. Half of Yeezus is great and the other half is seriously WTF did I just listen too. Expand
  91. Jun 29, 2013
    8
    I give this a 9 only because it is not his very best album, but we are talking about Kanye. There are incredibly high expectations that come with him. He is a jack-of-all-trades. He has mastered everything from Soul in College Dropout, to Strings in Late Registration, to Pop in Graduation, to Autotune in 808s & Heartbreak, ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING in My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and heI give this a 9 only because it is not his very best album, but we are talking about Kanye. There are incredibly high expectations that come with him. He is a jack-of-all-trades. He has mastered everything from Soul in College Dropout, to Strings in Late Registration, to Pop in Graduation, to Autotune in 808s & Heartbreak, ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING in My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and he has now moved to the new "trap" genre on Yeezus. Kanye is a truly transcendent artist and will go down as one of the greatest hip hop artists, if not one of the greatest musical minds to ever live. Yeezus is a just a microcosm of what Kanye can do. Expand
  92. Jul 1, 2013
    4
    This album is very weak, kanye knows a lot about music so i guess that he had heard a lot of Nine Inch Nails, but the thing is that he knows that now Experimental/Noise hip hop is the with artist like Death Grips or Clipping so he tried to do his version of the genre....

    AND HE FAILED!!!!!!!!. Oh god! i loved his old stuff but this sucks...
  93. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Am I late to the Yeezus party? It's been almost a month since the release of Yeezus, but I feel I need to get my opinion out there. On my first listen of Yeezus, I hated every minute of it, except a few tracks. I despised the autotune on Blood on the Leaves and Guilt Trip, and some of the subject matter felt like he wrote it in 2 minutes, and said it, I'm Kanye, people gon' buy my sh**Am I late to the Yeezus party? It's been almost a month since the release of Yeezus, but I feel I need to get my opinion out there. On my first listen of Yeezus, I hated every minute of it, except a few tracks. I despised the autotune on Blood on the Leaves and Guilt Trip, and some of the subject matter felt like he wrote it in 2 minutes, and said it, I'm Kanye, people gon' buy my sh** anyway.' Then I listened again, and again, and again. I don't know how 'Ye does it, but Yeezus has become my fourth favorite 'Ye album (CD, LR, MBDTF). My ears still hurt listening to the ridiculous gong show that is 'I Am A God' (HURRY UP WITH MY D*MN CROISSANT), but I sincerely enjoy a large percentage of every track on this album.

    Favorite Songs: Black Skinhead, New Slaves, Guilt Trip, Bound 2
    Least Favorite Songs: On Sight, I Am A God

    Edit 2014: Kanye is a genius. all praise Yeezus.

    Favourite Tracks: Most of 'em
    Least Favourite Track: On Sight

    Overall grade: 95-96/100
    Expand
  94. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    From the moment one hits play on Kanye West's sixth studio album, Yeezus, strange radio waves begin to make their way through the listeners' eardrum and into the cerebellum. The sounds are immediately abrasive before becoming agreeable, immediately deprogramming any preconceived notion that this is a typical rap album. It is here most hearers will be lost. Listeners, however, are in forFrom the moment one hits play on Kanye West's sixth studio album, Yeezus, strange radio waves begin to make their way through the listeners' eardrum and into the cerebellum. The sounds are immediately abrasive before becoming agreeable, immediately deprogramming any preconceived notion that this is a typical rap album. It is here most hearers will be lost. Listeners, however, are in for quite the ride, one that will forever change hip hop as we know it.

    I think now is a good time to inform the reader I was of the opinion that 808s and Heartbreaks was "garbage Kanye" and The College Dropout was "the real Kanye", important to note. This was a skeptic's ear to Yeezus.

    I imagine executive producer and hip hop pioneer Rick Rubin smiling a wry smile about an album like Yeezus years before it was created. "What if the most respected electronic producers worked with one of the biggest hip hop artists in the industry to create a multi-collaborative, minimalist album?". The idea was probably quickly brushed away by rational thoughts like "Nah. No one has the balls nor vision for that" or "Who the hell would do that?"

    Enter Yeezus. Sonically, it is 40+ minutes of caution to the wind. The Chicago ties are well documented, the acid house and industrial genre influence apparent. This has been done before in hip hop, and in fact, it could be argued this is a commercial adaptation of previous Saul Williams-Trent Reznor collaborations. Yeezus separates itself in the nuances, though. The first sample on the album comes at the 1:17 mark and says "He'll give us what we need, may not be what we want". This is a fine tuned monster we're dealing with; an album that assumes a certain intelligence from its audience and does not apologize to those who do not understand

    Lyrically, this is quintessential Kanye. The punch lines are abundant and raunchy, and making a welcome return are socially conscious lines about the prison industrial complex, corporate control and modern slavery. And yes, there is such a thing. Like crack, both the lines and drum patterns have been boiled down a highly flammable essence. At its core, its just beats and rhymes. This sole fact keeps it in the hip hop realm, somewhere, years away from being accepted.

    The album triumphs most when any confining parameters are shed. Indeed, the very idea of God is shaken within the confines of Yeezus. There is perhaps no better example on the album than "Blood on the Leaves", a song about the woe of an unwilling father which features a sample from Nina Simone's cover of Strange Fruit. On paper is seems clever if not downright odd to sample a song about lynchings on a song about unwelcome borne fruit. It is executed to near perfection, with TNGHT supplied arrangement reaching horn-apexed crescendos as Simone exclaims "black bodies swingin in the summer breeze".

    Many were(and are) caught up in the proclamation that Kanye West "is a god". If that is the case, let them forever stay in ignorance of the Nation of the Five Percenters. But I digress. The son of a Black Panther, Mr. West is well versed in his heritage, or rather, the dehumanization of it. Said West of the tittle of this project, "West was my slave name. Yeezus is my god name." Let us also gloss over the beliefs held by the major four religions and speak nothing of destiny in accordance with free will in godmind. This is but an album review. The track, however, again plays with an idea often attributed to Kanye. How egotiscal he must be, unless of course, he is serious. Any Youtube researcher can tell you West is a part of the globalist elite, the Illuminati, and the demonic yelling at the end of the track is only but further proof of devil worship. Indeed he tells us on Black Skinhead "I think I'm possessed, it's an omen". Whether you believe it to be literal or liberal, is your choice.

    West finally comprises on the last track, the sample driven Bound 2. To me, it sticks out like a sore thumb and proves to be one of the worst on the album. Worst being a relative term, of course. It feels out of place, and instead of a traditional Kanye chop, its done in a looped style, which makes the track feel a bit busy and un-involved. When considered in the body of work (the body of Yeezus, if you will), its almost a statement track. Just because its what you might want to hear from Kanye doesn't mean its good, and just because Yeezus isn't necessarily what you want to hear from Kanye doesn't mean it isn't great.

    This album will change the way hip hop is accepted in the years to come. I firmly hold that Yeezus will have Revolver like influence in the hip hop community and open doors both to new artists and different collaborates alike. Ever the lane maker, Kanye West has once again opened the door for a new era of artist. Yeezus is probably not the best work of this multiple Grammy award winner, but it will be his most influential, and for that, I applaud him.
    Expand
  95. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    This album is a masterpiece. I don't know why people have stated that they dislike this album, they must not know what good music is. Every song is amazing and the incorporation of rap, drill house, and dance-hall make this album better than born sinner and Magna Carta Holy Grail 10 times over.
  96. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    His most game-changing and misunderstood album since 808's and Heartbreak. It will take the rap game at least another 10 years to catch up to this one.
  97. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    At first listen, you might find this album terrible because it is so different from past albums. After listening to it 3 or 4 times, you'll start to realize how unique and brilliant this album is. Out of the 10 songs, I really like 5 of them. That is a high amount for any album. The five songs I don't like as much, I can still appreciate how unique sounding they are. In a world whereAt first listen, you might find this album terrible because it is so different from past albums. After listening to it 3 or 4 times, you'll start to realize how unique and brilliant this album is. Out of the 10 songs, I really like 5 of them. That is a high amount for any album. The five songs I don't like as much, I can still appreciate how unique sounding they are. In a world where rappers copy each other and use the same instrument choices and drum beats in multiple songs, Kanye West is in a league of his own. No one is close to creating as unique and new sounds as he is. Give this album a few listens completely through and you'll see how good it truly is. Expand
  98. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    Undoubtedly Kanye's most harsh, dark, and experimental work, Yeezus is the culmination of his egoism and productive creativity. Unfortunately, his latest album fails to lyrically live up to MBDTF.
  99. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I was tempted to give Kanye a "1" for releasing a new album while I am supposed to be studying for the bar. But after repeated listening, I just cant do it. This album is simply freaking brilliant, might be even better than his last. As usual Kanye exhibits his brilliant sampling skills, beats and backing music are sick, use of autotune that actually doesn't make me want to shoot myselfI was tempted to give Kanye a "1" for releasing a new album while I am supposed to be studying for the bar. But after repeated listening, I just cant do it. This album is simply freaking brilliant, might be even better than his last. As usual Kanye exhibits his brilliant sampling skills, beats and backing music are sick, use of autotune that actually doesn't make me want to shoot myself in the ear. And of course, his unparalleled flow, clever as hell rhymes sprinkled throughout, and language-invention skills (he's taken us from "safe-belt" to "pregnanated". Kanye, you are a brilliant goddamn bastard. Oh, and stay away from my wife. Expand
  100. Jul 15, 2013
    3
    Kanye West is a lyrical genius. He showed it on this one. My favorite song on this whole album was "Hold My Liquor" with Cheif Keef. It's pretty bad for THAT to be the best song. "Bound 2" was just annoying, the beat was just weird with the voice in the back round. I disliked this album ALOT.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    50
    His concerns are serious--consumerism, race, fame, relationships--but he rarely addresses them with the craft or focus they deserve. [Sep 2013, p.66]
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Contradiction incarnate, Yeezus is Kanye's most Kanyeish LP yet. [Sep 2013, p.103]
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    Nasty, brutish, short, and wholly compelling, Yeezus begs only one question: where next? [Sep 2013, p.89]