Yeezus - Kanye West
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 912 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    Are you a believer of Yeezianity???? Well you should be. Yeezus is undoubtedly his most abrasive album to date. He is as aggressive and egoistical as ever before on this project. When you're a GOD you make the rules hence giving a single F***k on his lazy braggadocios lyrics used where it could be seen a major flaw but when its as organic as 'Ye makes it out to be we cannot be disappointed. For every stan out there who loved My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, it could turn out to be a surprise or a disaster for some however it thrives on excitement. He made it clear he's here to be the next Steve Jobs, Andy Warhol e.t.c. but seriously with a discography as compelling to most current artists today giving him the benefit of the doubt is an understatement. Daft Punk did brilliantly on constructing the acid-house influenced track "On Sight" and its Punk influenced "Black skinhead". I cannot say its his best album to date due to its craft work as times sounds underwhelming however Kanye West has once again set his ego bar at an all time high, as for things goes its simply a breath of fresh air. 9/10 Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Brilliance mixed with Ignorance with a side of Egotistical-ness, if thats even a word. But overall for what it is being an experimental album, I really feel like Kanye delivered just in a different way then he did with MBDTF, Dropout, and LR
  3. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    The album is an angry, muddled, ignorant, slapped-together heap of vulgar expression that works better than anyone else in music could've done. It's an album so angrily sure of itself it'll have you convinced that a man worth 100 million dollars faces oppression comparable to that of a slave.
  4. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Well there are 2 kind of people in the matter of Yeezus .... the sane and insane people and of course people who think Yeezus is a masterpiece are sane ...... This album is beyond description and until now it's the best album in the new millennium!
  5. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    Yeezus is, in my opinion, best album of 2013. The reason people give it any bad reviews is because they haven't given Yeezus enough time to sink in. It's incredibly unique and creative, to the point where it takes several listens to get used to. In the past, Kanye hasn't failed to produce some of the most artistic, chart-topping, best-selling albums, and to this day, still hasn't. Once you hear the album you're left breathless. If you haven't heard it yet, or don't like it, give it a few listens and it'll grow on you. Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Put simply if you don't like this album, you're a hater. The production is truly legendary, and anyone who says the album doesn't have meaning or is narcissistic didn't listen well. Yeezus is a true work of art and will go down as a revolutionary album in the increasingly electronic music world.
  7. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    It's hard to call Yeezus Kanye's most inventive work, because literally every album he has released was extremely creative in its own time. What I can say is that Yeezus is the only rap album this year that I've heard where it genuinely caught me off-guard. There were multiple moments throughout the album where I said out loud "he can't do that... you can't do that, right?" But he did it. He would switch from one sample to the next, different tempo, no supporting beat, and then he would jump right back in to his flow with a new beat and sample behind himself.
    One of Kanye's trademarks is his repetitious use of sampling. Each song is incredibly unique, from the primal, angry satire of Kanye backed with a huge drumline and Tarzan-ish screaming in Black Skinhead, to the industrial, heavily distorted opener On Sight. Bound 2 and Hold My Liquor were standout tracks for originality, although Blood on the Leaves and New Slaves were more recognized and also very inventive in their own right.
    Nothing is in this album that doesn't belong in there, and that's a rare thing to say in the age of digital music recording. He went through ridiculous amounts of modifying, mixing, re-writing, and post-production over the course of this album, ultimately ending with the hiring of Rick Rubin the "reducer" less than three weeks before the album was due, to help over-see the final, drastic changes to the album.
    This album gets a 9.5, but I am going to round down to a 9 because there were some lyrical moments that were distastefully sexual and not even in a clever way. If that album were without the track I'm In It, I might round up to a 10. Still, Kanye's style and artisanship are still leagues ahead of most rappers in the game today, and this album deserves a listen from anyone who claims to be tired of the "same old same old."
    Expand
  8. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    I love the album. Its dark, grimy, and most of all creative. I also understand its probably not for everyone, but at least its elicits a response unlike most music that comes out today. Tracks no one can deny include Blood On The Leaves, New Slaves, and Bound 2. Tracks people waver on include On Sight, Hold My Liquor, Im a God. The only track I don't really "get" is On Sight, I like or love every other track. Expand
  9. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    The difference between Yeezus and other albums released in 2013 was how different it sounded and it was done successfully. This is definitely the music of the future.
  10. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Kanye's most recent album is by far his most extreme. Its angry, violent, dark yet brilliant. Amazing production is he icing on the cake. Best album of the year.
  11. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    chaotic and dying, unlike anything ever done by him, from the beats to the lyrics all remente something new and shows the way the future of music. Kanye rose on the musical term with this album
  12. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    This is worth listening to... The creativity of his production along with his egotistical rhymes makes Yeezus an ultimate classic even though it's not in West's top 3 albums...
  13. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Great instant classic album......Onsite to New Slaves is the best album stretch of the last few years in hip hop. I'm not sure if anyone has done what Ye is is doing on the mainstream level as far as Hip Hop goes. He is definitely taking chances on the album and executes it perfectly. Sonically the best produce album I've heard this year. Jay-Z can learn a thing or two from Kanye cause MCHG was terrible. Expand
  14. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    I admit Yeezus can be a bit hard to listen to at first; the beats are very ‘in your face!’ and Kanye’s lyrics can be a bit off-putting, I cant tell you how many times the man mentions his ‘black penis’. But then again that’s what I always liked about him, the guts to do whatever he wants, a lot of artists are afraid to take that far. It may not sound like it now but this what our generation needs. Expand
  15. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Kanye West shows once again, through Yeezus, that he is transcendent of most musical norms. It seems anymore as if Kanye West could release an album of nothing but talking about philosophy and himself, with absolutely no music, and we would see it as the next great thing in music. But it is so, because with every album Kanye is pushing what we as a society thought were his limits, to the point where many think the man is limitless. The obvious sell for this album is its originality, but it is original because it blends old Kanye with newer Kanye, with a fusion of something we haven't seen from him before. While not his best work, it certainly ranks near the top, clumped in a group with The College Dropout and Late Registration, just not quite as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. As we take in Yeezus for what it is, we also are steadily preparing for Kanye's next album, which figures to be another step into musical history. Best album of 2013. Expand
  16. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    People will understand and appreciate this album in time. It's Kanye's Kid A.

    Initially, I only thought the album was ok. If I wrote this review right away, I might have given it a heart sinking 5 (I'm a massive Ye stan).

    But as time went on, I started to enjoy it more and more. Now I listen to it almost every day. It just caught me off guard because it didn't hit off with me right
    away like all of his other solo efforts. Expand
  17. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Yeezus is a great album that is helping rap evolve. Kanye finds a new way to push hip hop into a new boundary. Soon other hip-hop acts might join Kanye in having EDM production on their albums. Yeezus is just the start of the new boundary that Kanye created.
  18. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Brilliant at first I wasnt so sure about the album after the first listen because it is hard to listen to but there's no such thing of listening there is only re-listening so after I listened again I loved it
  19. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    To the ego of Kanye West, controversy is a virtue. Continually, pushing the boundaries of Hip-Hop as 'ranted' in his Zane Lowe interview/harangue 'Rap the new Rock 'n' Roll'.
    He teases any listener with statements 'I am a God' perhaps warranting an extensive reply of unconventional attention. Kanye does not make music for the fans of Radio Hip-Hop nor for the common easy going listener.
    And melodically, the album plays on the notions of dichotomy, from uncomfortable screechy synths to truly harmonious echoes of beauty. He is continually subverting a society in which typical every day norms are replaced by the 'Black Skinhead'. This prevalent undertone is unfortunately disguised by Kanye's array of misogynistic and perhaps unattractive verse.
    However, this album is alone, remarkably Kanye is attempting to catalyze a progression in music, 'again'. The original controversial reception of 80s & Heartbreaks has now morphed into an appreciation for what we hear every day. In this album Kanye West once again stamps on the fence surrounding our microcosm of normal music and he takes full credit for this. He is the square peg in a round hole.
    Expand
  20. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Yeezus christ this album is dreadful. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay past his peak
  21. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    While most people won't like the experimental tones of Kanye's album, the few people that do decide to listen to it fully will absolutely fall in love with it. All of the tones sound rough on the first listen, but with every replay, the beats get the better and the lyrics get deeper. This is nothing compared to the older albums like The College Dropout and Late Registration, but it's the difference that makes the difference. Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    The transformation Kanye West has taken throughout his hip-hop career has all led to this 40 minute, sprawling descent into industry hell. Kanye sounds at his most angered, most torn down by the entertainment industry and previous love affairs, more so than on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The production ranges from grimy electro, to minimalists tribal drums, and fantastic samples. Kanye's lyrics are his most deranged on Yeezus, rhymes upon rhymes about how he feels as if he is a slave in in the entertainment industry and all the scum he encounters throughout his day to day life. Not to mention his view on previous relationships, something he's been singing about since 808's & Heartbreaks. If there's one complaint to be had about this record, it's that it loses replay value if you've listened to it at least 5 times, which is true for any album really, but more so if comparing it to other Kanye West records.

    All In All, Yeezus is about a black man on the brink of insanity, pushing through day to day demons that probably will never escape him, and also a fantastic, dark voyage of hip-hop music. A-
    Expand
  23. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This sounds like a M.I.A. album with some hardcore rap verses on it. A very innovative album by a very innovative artist. I love it. The best tracks are Black Skinhead, Blood on the leaves, On Sight, New Slaves & Bound 2.
  24. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    If Paper Street made music instead of soap, Yeezus would be the eruptions coming from that lonely house. The most interesting part about this album that separates itself from the rest of hip-hop (and Kanye's other work) is how Mr. West the god integrates all types of art into music. Architecture, technology, politics, and fashion all play it's role. Of course, he did not do this himself. Kanye West & Friends would be a more appropriate artist name as he is joined by the world famous Daft Punk for some of the big tracks on the album such as 'I Am a God' and 'Black Skinhead'. He has his whole lineup of writers and producers he uses for creative ideas. Overall, this album came out five years too early to be widely appreciated, but clearly shows Kanye is not content as being the media and major corporations pet on a leash. With that anger behind him, nothing can stop him from creating this unforgettable piece of work. Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kanye is years ahead of the rap game. Yeezus is not an easy listening album, but it's so well produced and full of raw emotion. From the attention grabbing On Sight with it's distorted, off beat instrumental, to the soul kissed Bound 2, Yeezus is simply a masterpiece. Kanye has exceeded all expectations, which were already high. Expand
  26. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I have been a casual fan of Kanye's music since 'Diamonds', but fell in love with Yeezus on the first listen, and have only grown to appreciate it more and more as I've listened more and more. I believe that Kanye is one of the few mainstream artists that is committed to constantly challenging himself and evolving...Yeezus is brutal yet subtle and caring, easy to listen or hum along to, yet challenging and in some instances thought provoking, consistent in its story telling, yet contradictory and I unreservedly recommend it. Expand
  27. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    'Yeezus', the follow-up to West's critically acclaimed 2010 solo record 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' and his 2011 and 2012 collaboration albums 'Watch the Throne' and 'Cruel Summer'; is minamalist, dark, and highly experimental. Album highlights "Black Skinhead", "On Sight", and "New Slaves" showcase the galloping manifesto sound that West was aiming to create. Similar to many of West's previous records, 'Yeezus' contains several genius samples; however 'Yeezus' is much less mainstream than his previous efforts; shown by the album's lack of singles (with the exception of "Black Skinhead" and "Bound 2", which were both released after the album dropped).

    Although the album is arguably the best hip hop record of the year, I can't help but be slightly irritated by West's evident which is clearly displayed by the track "I Am A God" and his decision to barely promote the record, which makes it seem like West was just trying to prove that he could have an album go to #1 without significant promotion. Of course, 'Yeezus' did go to number 1, and its not like West has ever really been a wholesome or down-to-earth dude, but West's narcissistic personality comes off a little too strong on 'Yeezus'. Despite this, the album is still exquisite.
    Expand
  28. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    On the walls of various chosen buildings and the SNL stage, the words "NOT FOR SALE" lit up the darkness. On the stage West's silhouette brought out the birth of a new era and his own evolution, on the building West's fiery return projects itself upon the hopeful and excited fans. The derivative hip hop beats don't appear here, he's not selling himself. He's simply letting go, and forcing us to accept it with rocky, crude and reluctant understanding. What Kanye serves is impetuous, gut wrenching and takes you by surprise. But then again that's hip hop isn't it? By pushing the envelope he leaves a big crash in the ocean of music, West rises in ranks and gives us a breathtaking journey that's only just beginning. Reluctantly, I can't help but to begin and relive again and again. Soak in the repercussions, for just as the projection shut off as "New Slaves" ended on the W Hotel late at night in LA, we and the world had just gotten a glimpse of Kanye's artistic statement. What's next for Kanye West? Considering the birth of North West, nothing for a while now. Still, the anticipation for what's next is at an all time high and the stage has been set. Let's begin. Expand
  29. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    This is what you get when you mix very clever writing with expert sampling and producing. it has some really emotional moments, like the brilliant breakdown at the end of new slaves and the first verse of blood on the leaves to the awesome pumping beats on black skinhead to the hypnotic track guilt track. favorites: black skinhead, im a god, new slaves, blood on the leaves, im in it.
  30. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Yeezus. You either love it or you hate it. I love it. Blood on the leaves is permanently stuck in my brain; the last minute and a half of that song... Amazing work Mr. Kanye West.
  31. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Simplesmente genial! Melhor álbum do ano. Simplesmente genial! Melhor álbum do ano. Simplesmente genial! Melhor álbum do ano. Simplesmente genial! Melhor álbum do ano.
  32. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Even though it can be pretty jarring at times, the album grows on you over time with each listen. One of the most quotable albums of recent memory, with Yeezy giving us 2-3 laugh out loud per song. It sounds like a soundtrack to a Nero-esque orgy. Blood on the Leaves is absolutely beautiful, and is the stand out song. Great from start to finish, and while I wouldn't put this album above MBDTF or Late Registration, it's a great entry into Kanye's already stellar body of work. Expand
  33. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    Shocking, experimental, and abrasive, Yeezus may not be West's best work, yet it still features some brilliant lyrics and some memorable moments. Highlights include "On Sight," "Black Skinhead," "New Slaves," "Blood on the Leaves," and "Send it Up."
  34. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Kanye shows so much passion in his music, you cannot help but to appreciate. And Kanye never settles for what people would enjoy. He makes music HE'd enjoy and the result is an instant classic. Yeezy is probably the biggest egomaniac in the music industry, but he sure can back it up with great production and meaningful lyrics.
  35. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    At first glance the album seems like a shoddily put together mishmash of kanye west trade mark hyper sexuality and narcisim but as we evaluate the whole, in a deeper context it is truly a brilliant commentary on the rap industry as a whole. It is both a well executed self parody and an amaze feet of originality, defying the very conventions that would black list any lesser artist almost immediately. In summary, this album is the absolute and unabashed truth, all bow down to yezzus Expand
  36. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    This album is a masterpiece rivaled only by the best songs of each of his albums. The production is near flawless, and lyrically Kanye manages to pack depth and social commentary into some lines, humor and raunchy imagery into others. 5 years down the road from now, people may even consider this his best album.
  37. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Expect the unexpected. Open your mind. Free your mind of any prejudices. Be open and listen to the lyrics closely. Kanye is here to speak his mind in a very raw way. It's industrial in sound and very punchy in it's delivery. This isn't for the laid back listen. But it can be once you are used to it. It's different from his previous albums but there are familiar elements mixed in. Kanye West is still in top form here. The good far outweighs the bad. It's hardcore Kanye.....but spoken through....well....YEEZUS. Expand
  38. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Yes, i'm a Kanye West fan but I had my doubts about this at first. I felt it was too derivative from Death Grips and Clipping.'s sound and that it was a bandwagoning attempt but I was half-wrong. Yes, he was attempting the sound but at the same time, he did something a bit difficult. He gave it a mainstream appeal! That's what I love about this album (or mixtape, since its short and is structured like a mixtape). It's certainly no MBDTF or even Late Registration but this is up there with them Expand
  39. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    An album you have to listen to multiple times to really appreciate. The first few tracks aren't the strongest: send it up new slaves can blend together at times with a similar dark electronic vibe. Then the outro of new slaves hits and the album takes off from there. Hold my liquor, Im in it, and Blood on Leaves are some of the most fascinating songs Mr. West has come out with. Bound 2 is also a fun throw back. The more you listen to it, the more you like it Expand
  40. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    After the Picasso-art of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye West reinvents itself again, with an album much more Hip-Hop and Minimal than MBDTF thet reminiscent in some ways Watch The Throne and 808s & Heartbreak. Songs like On Sight, Black Skinhead and Blood on the Leaves are examples of good and innovative production, that's right, the production that perhaps on this album is the most innovative of the year with Daft Punk, No.ID, 88 Keys and Kanye same in the height of the form. In conclusion, Yeezus of abstract-art is an album of pure genius that we have never heard. A classic to remember for many, many years. Expand
  41. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Kanye does it again. Yeezus is a triumph of unparalleled musical imagination, created by the ultimate music nerd who thinks nothing of genres and styles and gleefuly mashes everything he wants like a mad alchemist, creating an unholy concoction that works even though it really shouldn't. Who else would even dare to have Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and Chicago drill poster boy Chief Keef sing on the same track? Who would imagine that you could mix TNGHT and Nina Simone? Who would slap a hefty chunk of a track by a 1970s Hungarian prog rock band at the end of his own composition and then sing all over it? Only Yeezus. Expand
  42. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    If there's one thing this proves, it's that he's learned from Watch The Throne. Kanye's joint effort with Jay-Z tried to be bigger than it was capable of at times, and while it was a solid effort, stripping it down for a more raw sound on Yeezus has paid off. This is as innovative as any rap album has ever been.
  43. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    This album is incredible. Kanye will never top it. He's one of the biggest artists in the world and has made an album that could have been made on some indie Chicago label. In saying that, the production quality on the album is phenomenal. Kanye has managed to make a record that is unmistakably his own despite being outnumbered hugely by collaborators. I honestly cannot think of another album I've devoted more time to, and that's its defining quality.

    It has to be noted that this is the record that most effectively parodies the #madrichalert culture that has produced so much appalling radio friendly hip-hop. He may or may not be slightly serious in thinking that he's a god, but he's got the greatest claim to be and he seems to be the only rapper around that doesn't care despite that. This has to be the perfect record to define everything that's good about music right now because of that.
    Expand
  44. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    If you like electronic music and rap, look no further. I happen to have grown up on Daft Punk, and though this makes me an outlier, I didn't love Kanye until 808s. Some people find this album abrasive, but I'm used to these kinds of sounds from electronic music. I really enjoy the beats. The one thing holding it back for me is that some of the lyrics are superficial, but that's Kanye a lot of the time. I wouldn't say all of the lyrics are bad though, especially in New Slaves and Blood on the Leaves. Expand
  45. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I was tempted to give Kanye a "1" for releasing a new album while I am supposed to be studying for the bar. But after repeated listening, I just cant do it. This album is simply freaking brilliant, might be even better than his last. As usual Kanye exhibits his brilliant sampling skills, beats and backing music are sick, use of autotune that actually doesn't make me want to shoot myself in the ear. And of course, his unparalleled flow, clever as hell rhymes sprinkled throughout, and language-invention skills (he's taken us from "safe-belt" to "pregnanated". Kanye, you are a brilliant goddamn bastard. Oh, and stay away from my wife. Expand
  46. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    At first listen, you might find this album terrible because it is so different from past albums. After listening to it 3 or 4 times, you'll start to realize how unique and brilliant this album is. Out of the 10 songs, I really like 5 of them. That is a high amount for any album. The five songs I don't like as much, I can still appreciate how unique sounding they are. In a world where rappers copy each other and use the same instrument choices and drum beats in multiple songs, Kanye West is in a league of his own. No one is close to creating as unique and new sounds as he is. Give this album a few listens completely through and you'll see how good it truly is. Expand
  47. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    His most game-changing and misunderstood album since 808's and Heartbreak. It will take the rap game at least another 10 years to catch up to this one.
  48. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    This album is a masterpiece. I don't know why people have stated that they dislike this album, they must not know what good music is. Every song is amazing and the incorporation of rap, drill house, and dance-hall make this album better than born sinner and Magna Carta Holy Grail 10 times over.
  49. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    "Yeezus" is one of the most innovative albums of all-time. It cannot even be classified as just "rap". Kanye West can now be considered as his own very genre. Songs like "Hold My Liquor" and "Blood On The Leaves" make you realize there's still hope for modern music yet. Not quite to the diversified level of his last solo album, "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy", but an amazing album it's own right. Expand
  50. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This is the first time, I am reviewing a brand new album. I usually take some time to get used to an album but some albums are such that they stick with you even when you listen to them just once. After listening to this album nearly seven times now, I think I am in a position to review it properly. Basically its great!!

    Yes, he is back with his 6th album. By this time as a fan I knew
    that this album like all his other albums has to be different or break some trends and most likely set a few new trends. 3 years after creating arguably one of the greatest rap albums of all time. He is back again doing what he does best, defy the norms and he still refuses to make the rap albums that everybody else seems to make. Its only been 3 days since the album was released but I can say this with full conviction:

    I took notice of this genius when I heard his second album: Late Registration. Shortly, its my favourite rap album of all time.

    With this album, Kanye West de-constructs the rap/hip-hop conventions, chops them up and makes something that’s sonically akin to Massive Attack’s: “Mezzanine” than say, any of his other albums. He created his own genre twice before with “808s & Heartbreak” and “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy” and this one is inventive and different in the same vein as these two albums.
    Expand
  51. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    From the moment one hits play on Kanye West's sixth studio album, Yeezus, strange radio waves begin to make their way through the listeners' eardrum and into the cerebellum. The sounds are immediately abrasive before becoming agreeable, immediately deprogramming any preconceived notion that this is a typical rap album. It is here most hearers will be lost. Listeners, however, are in for quite the ride, one that will forever change hip hop as we know it.

    I think now is a good time to inform the reader I was of the opinion that 808s and Heartbreaks was "garbage Kanye" and The College Dropout was "the real Kanye", important to note. This was a skeptic's ear to Yeezus.

    I imagine executive producer and hip hop pioneer Rick Rubin smiling a wry smile about an album like Yeezus years before it was created. "What if the most respected electronic producers worked with one of the biggest hip hop artists in the industry to create a multi-collaborative, minimalist album?". The idea was probably quickly brushed away by rational thoughts like "Nah. No one has the balls nor vision for that" or "Who the hell would do that?"

    Enter Yeezus. Sonically, it is 40+ minutes of caution to the wind. The Chicago ties are well documented, the acid house and industrial genre influence apparent. This has been done before in hip hop, and in fact, it could be argued this is a commercial adaptation of previous Saul Williams-Trent Reznor collaborations. Yeezus separates itself in the nuances, though. The first sample on the album comes at the 1:17 mark and says "He'll give us what we need, may not be what we want". This is a fine tuned monster we're dealing with; an album that assumes a certain intelligence from its audience and does not apologize to those who do not understand

    Lyrically, this is quintessential Kanye. The punch lines are abundant and raunchy, and making a welcome return are socially conscious lines about the prison industrial complex, corporate control and modern slavery. And yes, there is such a thing. Like crack, both the lines and drum patterns have been boiled down a highly flammable essence. At its core, its just beats and rhymes. This sole fact keeps it in the hip hop realm, somewhere, years away from being accepted.

    The album triumphs most when any confining parameters are shed. Indeed, the very idea of God is shaken within the confines of Yeezus. There is perhaps no better example on the album than "Blood on the Leaves", a song about the woe of an unwilling father which features a sample from Nina Simone's cover of Strange Fruit. On paper is seems clever if not downright odd to sample a song about lynchings on a song about unwelcome borne fruit. It is executed to near perfection, with TNGHT supplied arrangement reaching horn-apexed crescendos as Simone exclaims "black bodies swingin in the summer breeze".

    Many were(and are) caught up in the proclamation that Kanye West "is a god". If that is the case, let them forever stay in ignorance of the Nation of the Five Percenters. But I digress. The son of a Black Panther, Mr. West is well versed in his heritage, or rather, the dehumanization of it. Said West of the tittle of this project, "West was my slave name. Yeezus is my god name." Let us also gloss over the beliefs held by the major four religions and speak nothing of destiny in accordance with free will in godmind. This is but an album review. The track, however, again plays with an idea often attributed to Kanye. How egotiscal he must be, unless of course, he is serious. Any Youtube researcher can tell you West is a part of the globalist elite, the Illuminati, and the demonic yelling at the end of the track is only but further proof of devil worship. Indeed he tells us on Black Skinhead "I think I'm possessed, it's an omen". Whether you believe it to be literal or liberal, is your choice.

    West finally comprises on the last track, the sample driven Bound 2. To me, it sticks out like a sore thumb and proves to be one of the worst on the album. Worst being a relative term, of course. It feels out of place, and instead of a traditional Kanye chop, its done in a looped style, which makes the track feel a bit busy and un-involved. When considered in the body of work (the body of Yeezus, if you will), its almost a statement track. Just because its what you might want to hear from Kanye doesn't mean its good, and just because Yeezus isn't necessarily what you want to hear from Kanye doesn't mean it isn't great.

    This album will change the way hip hop is accepted in the years to come. I firmly hold that Yeezus will have Revolver like influence in the hip hop community and open doors both to new artists and different collaborates alike. Ever the lane maker, Kanye West has once again opened the door for a new era of artist. Yeezus is probably not the best work of this multiple Grammy award winner, but it will be his most influential, and for that, I applaud him.
    Expand
  52. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    When I first heard this album, I was like "WTF is this Ye?". The 2nd time I heard it, I thought "okay this isn't too bad".

    And then something strange happened. I was in the same boat as others wanting that "classic" Kanye back for a while. Those soulful, sped up samples that created his signature style. But then I went back and listened to College Dropout, Late Registration and
    Graduation....and then I went back and listened to Yeezus, and got this feeling...like Yeezus filled me with an energy that those past albums couldn't touch. Those were all great albums (I also really enjoyed 808 and MBDTF), but Yeezus is clearly in another league in terms of the emotion and feeling you receive from it.

    And this is where I realized that what separates Kanye from other artists, lets just use Jay Z as an example, is that Kanye is constantly pushing hip hop to new heights and barriers. While Jay Z plays the conservative route...giving people what they want to hear, Kanye gives people music that they didn't realize they wanted to hear. I remember a quote by Steve Jobs, when asked why Apple doesn't do a lot of consumer research (compared to Samsung, MSFT, etc...) and his reply was "Because people don't know what they want".

    I feel Kanye has the same approach. A creative innovator like Kanye isn't just going to give us an album of sped up samples like some want, because that's been done. He's going to keep giving us new music, and new perspectives on things. And I love it. I don't want 10 albums that sound all sound alike (blueprint 1, blueprint 2, etc..), I'd rather have 10 albums that all sound uniquely different in their own awesome way (Rubber Soul, Sgt Peppers, White album, etc...) wouldn't you?
    Expand
  53. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Kanye is great because he does what he wants, because he's an egomaniac with a stunning gift for writing both beats and rhymes. Every album has been a different extension of his genius mixed with a facet of his personality. If My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was his expression of celebrity and intimate feelings, then Yeezus is Kanye at the VMAs, telling Taylor Swift that Beyonce was better. This album is Kanye screaming at the world, ego inflated, that whatever he does is a masterpiece because only HE can pull it off.

    Yeezus, the title, suggests this. It's an obvious allusion to Jesus, who by the words of the Bible could do things others could not. This is Yeezus. It's Kanye doing what others can't. He took a synth and turned it into a dark, grinding, acidic extension of his ego.

    However, this album isn't all dark grit and grind. I personally think "Bound 2" belongs more on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy in terms of stylistic qualities, but its beautiful sampling and clever lyrics will not be depricated in the slightest by being a part of this album. It might be my favorite song Kanye has ever made, it's that good.

    If you have an open mind, you'll enjoy this album. It takes two or three listens to really get a grasp on what Kanye was trying to do here; however, once this has been achieved, this album is brilliant in its own right.

    This isn't My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. This is more ambitious, more egotistical, more narcissistic. Not every can produce M.B.D.T.F. (a classic, mind you) every album. This is about as close to a great repeat effort as one can be. It's a great album. IF there's one thing we know about Kanye, ti's that he doesn't think he has a ceiling. This album is a reflection of that.

    Enjoy it.
    Expand
  54. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Great album. Beats are very simplistic and loud, almost perfect production, lyrics are brash and in your face, occasionally inconsistent. This isn't an album for anyone who solely listens to hip hop, it pretty much transcends the genre. 9/10
  55. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Kanye doing what he does: making great music. I find this album oddly both fun to listen to and annoying as hell The best moment is on "New Slaves" when Cher bursts into chorus. Yeezus isn't the most fun to listen of Kanye's albums, but it deserves to be considered among his best.
  56. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    I've been listening to music from different generation 60's 70's 80's 90's and this generation no album made me this speechless this i by far the best album this year and one of my favorite albums of all time This album is not for everybody but you should give it a listen to see if it's for you
  57. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This albums so special, it really is masterpiece with the mix of electronic beats and dark aura with Yeezy's lyrics cutting deep making it uniquely amazing. This is the start of the revival of Rap with J.Cole, Wale, Jay-Z and Drake to follow.
  58. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    first listen i was heavily disappointed, but having faith in Kanye I listened again and it sounded much better. With every listen the record grew on me as I discovered new layers to it, and it once again shows that Kanye is the most innovative artist out right now in pulling this off.
  59. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    Great album, took me a few plays to appreciate it, but worth while. Lyrically I felt it lacked a touch which is why I wouldn't give it a full 10. xxxx
  60. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    I honestly think this album goes right over people's heads............................................................................................
  61. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Anyone who expects this album to be as good or better than MBDTF is obviously going to be disappointed. But anyone who says this isnt anything knew is obviously lying. It takes production elements from all his previous albums and mixes them together in just 40 minutes. Although the lyrics might not be as good as what we have come to expect from 'Ye they are still better than pretty much every other artist alive today and he does tackle some serious themes throughout the recording. This album isn't an easy listen and it wont click the first time you hear it, it takes perseverance and time to start to like this album, but after a few listens you will really start to see the genius of 'Yeezus'. Expand
  62. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Another classic from Kanye West. It's natural that some people don't like it; he's pushing the boundaries of hip-hop. You'll thank him in 10 years. An excellent album.
  63. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I wouldn't say its better than Yeezy's last solo effort, but it comes pretty damn close. Yeezy tries something new with the dub-step beat behind On Sight. Excellent start. Hold My Liquor is halfway through the album's disappointing 10 tracks, and its straight amazing. The album ends with Bound 42 which everybody drooled over because it was sort of a throwback to College Dropout. This isn't hip-hop, nor is this a rap album. Kanye changed up his style again and was very successful.... again. Of course people aren't going to like this album because its not stupid trap beats & raps. Its straight up MUSIC. NO GENRE. JUST ART IN ONE ALBUM. You hate this album? Get out of here. Your opinion is stupid. You're entitled to it, but its stupid because you're writing Kanye off because he's not hip-hop. Expand
  64. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I can see why people don't like this album...its very different. But Kanye is Kanye and he always does something different..I think this album will grow much more on the people who don't like it if they just take it for what it is. Great album imo.
  65. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    "How much do I not give a f*ck?" Mr. West asks in On Sight, the first track of Yeezus. The answer is clear. The question is quickly followed with a familiar College Dropout sample sounding tune that goes on to say "He'll give us what we need It may not be what we want." Which, is the perfect way to describe what this album is. Not something we want(old Kanye), but something we need(New Kanye).
  66. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing except for the first song, which starts the entire ordeal on a sour note. However, by the time "Hold my liquor" is reached, the album has reached it's epitome, and ending the album on "Bound 2" was hands down an excellent choice. Perfect.
  67. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Really Good Album sounds total different from his past albums and you will have to listen a couple of times but this album is dope lyrically/production wise on point its a masterpiece
  68. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This album is nothing short of a masterpiece, i still prefer MBDTF but this is grabbing at it's heals. Kanye west is a genius and if you doubt that then you clearly need to go listen to your trashy beats with no lyrics.
  69. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    After the first listen I wanted to immediately play it again, and then again after the second listen, and so on. I can't honestly say that about any other hip hop album that has dropped in a while. Musically it's great, and anybody who understands MUSIC would agree. Lyrically, it's tongue & cheek but that's always been Kanye, no reason for him to change that up now. Whether or not this entertains you is where opinions come in, but how the music is composed is great. I feel that most of the bad ratings come from a biased mind, who judge Kanye personally & music talent on their own definition and not the actual meaning. Expand
  70. gsc
    Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This album with it's fearless egotistical lyrics, dark themes, and hard inventive beats is Kanye's best album yet. This is an album more complex and more complete than anything the artist has done before. All the songs flow into each other and all but one "bound 2" would feel out of place on any other Kanye album. This is an album that requires more than one listen to truly appreciate. The first time you listen to it you're left dumbfounded and do not know what to make of the strangeness you have just heard. But upon a second listen you realize this is the birth of a new darker Kanye. The egotism of this album would be unforgivable if this album was not as good as it is, but it is. Yeezus is the dark twisted masterpiece of a mad genius. Expand
  71. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Yeezy has done it again and like all his previous albums its something totally different than the others.... The music production is exceptional his lyrics darker than ever. Kanye West always pours his heart and effort into each album and this was no exception and in this one Kanye is at his best creativity efforts lyrical, musical and promotion wise. This album although is a great piece of work isnt as good as MBDTW but still a Kanye album is a Kanye album. I just dont get all the ignorant haters.... Expand
  72. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    A powerfully strong and sweeping album, Yeezus breaks down barriers and cares little about the fallout. A great album full of sexual and religious imagery (most Kanye albums are). Production is fantastic with heavy-hitting synths and bass beats. A new song, a great sound. Yeezus demonstrates that Kanye is back on his feet (although he never even fell).
  73. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye's lyrics are both as lazy and as clever as ever, but the production is incredible. Occasionally repetitive flow, but Kanye's album gives me the same feeling as listening to "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy". Great album, and a new take and sound to his music.
  74. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye West must of lost something in the last 3 years but still manages to deliver a kick-ass album. Kanye West is definitely one of the more outspoken and lyrically talented rappers of this day and age, but i don't think this album is as World changing the "God" wanted. I mean this is expected, personally, i think it would be extremely hard to compete with his previous effort "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" but Kanye still knows how to deliver and hasn't lost his touch completely. What i do love about this album is i feel that Ye has connected back into his roots of The College Dropout while still using his overproduced beats that critics have fell in love with. Now, Yeezy is actually bringing back some rap and doing a good job mixing the two together. I hope for more efforts like this for the future ofr raps "God". Expand
  75. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    People need to listen. Listen. You will not like it, You will LOVE IT. It changes everything. Give it a second, third and fourth listen. I bet you that you will love it. Evolution. Every time. Good Job Kanye WeST.
  76. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Surprisingly great album. I loved My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy however felt Watch the Throne was just okay. This album is different, however it grows on you. Love him or hate him, Kanye West is an amazing musician and proves it with Yeezus.
  77. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Kanye West doesn’t give the listener a second to realize the album is more a masterly response to a masterpiece than a masterpiece itself. With one sweep of the hand, West brushes away expectations
  78. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye tries to do something different with each of his albums. His last solo album, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, is a masterpiece. I don't think he'd be able to create an album just as good as MBDTF just yet. However, Yeezus is definitely welcomed and a fresh listen. It's different, experimental, and wild. The production is phenomenal and the lyrics always have those hidden meanings you gotta search for, just like any other Kanye album. The album starts off strong with colab productions between Kanye and Daft Punk. The final track, Bound 2, is an ode to his old style (College Dropout/Late Registration) with some new spice, and is a great ending to the total 40 minutes this album will give you.

    Of course, this album isn't for everyone. It's darker than anything he's put out before. My first listen, I didn't feel the album. But now, after listening to it much more, I can definitely saw this album is worthy of a 9. People who don't like this album are just scared of experimentation and change.
    Expand
  79. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus.
    This album obviously isn't for the faint of heart, or those who enjoyed the vast orchestras of MBDTF. Kanye West takes a hard left in his music career to a minimalist-based but hard driven music style. This album is like 808's and Heartbreak meets Random Access Memories(Daft Punk) with a dash of Toxicity(System of a Down). Yeezus isn't for everyone, but if it is for you, it will
    fulfill every single one of your music dreams.
    Track Ratings:
    On Site 7/10( Far too much energy, but respectable seeing where the album comes from), Black Skinhead 10/10, I am a God 9/10, New Slaves 10/10, Hold my Liquor 10/10(Potential Single), Im in it 9/10, Blood on the Leaves 10/10, Guilt Trip 9.5/10, Send it Up 10/10(Definite Dance Track), Bound 2 10/10(College Dropout 2 Anyone?)
    Expand
  80. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Ok everyone, if you don't like Yeezus, it's either you have a hatred for Kanye, you didn't give it a chance, or you want another college dropout album. Personally I think that this album is great not only for the incredible amount of time Kanye puts in, and not for the unmistakable genius throughout the entire album. This album also proves that Kanye can make any style of music. he had gone from soul to pop to straight up rap to industrial. He has made a great album in every genre of rap. This album is an easy 10, especially when you consider the risk he took in creating a whole new style. He could have easily made another fantastic album like My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, but instead, he did his own thing and created my personal favorite album of all time. By the way, the purpose of that American Psycho video was to show that I am a god is not a song about how amazing Kanye is, it's about him going crazy and convincing himself that he is god. Expand
  81. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Can't say I like this guy personality or anything associated to him outside of music. Howvere, gotta admit, this is a good album. Quite a departure from past Kanye albums as has always been the case. His lyrics are not the tightest in comparision, but I love how this album pushes hip hop in another direction. A bit electronica at time but stripped down at other times. I don't like all the tracks but as usual, Kanye is polarizing. Expand
  82. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    excellent album.
    just wanted to bump the user score up a bit.

    carry on.
    #KTT

    150 character limit hasn't been reached. I Am A God, hurry up with my damn massage.
  83. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Innovation in hip hop amazing album do not listen to the haters they are just late comers and are gonna love it in the end! this album changes everything you thought you knew hip hop it will blow your mind.
  84. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Yeezus fails at what My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was fantastic. It hasn't a concrete atmosphere and it lacks innovation (as a hip-hop album). Punchlines are there but they are not really concentrated and cohesive. But I think this is maybe the most important thing when you are listening to this new Kanye's album. It is empty, unsettling, dark, aggressive and still mind-blowing. And it gets better with every listen. Yeezus just rose again. Expand
  85. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Yeezus is the type of album you can listen to if your sad, happy, or angry. I was disappointed after the first listen, but after a couple more this album grows on you.
  86. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Hurry up with my damn croissants. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . :hah:
  87. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Dark, cold, sometimes frightening. The generally polar opposite opinions this album is generating are not surprising. It's a masterpiece, and it's often not very accessible, which is what makes it a masterpiece to begin with. Some people don't like inaccessible, which is fine. It's a challenging record that will piss off a lot of people. Completely brilliant. What would Jeromey-romey-romey-rome think? Expand
  88. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    An incredible album. Truly. Great production, entertaining and provocative lyrics. Cemented classic by Pitchfork (9.5). This is the opposite of J Coal's audio nyquil.
  89. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Revolutionary, great album, hip hop heads will not get it. New slaves & black skinhead will change the structure of music for some time

    Also Cole lost
  90. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Yeezus proves to be a raw, visceral, and brash album that takes its place in Kanye's discography as one of his best. Kanye uses some of his most interesting samples yet in creating this mechanical-esque masterpiece.
  91. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This album isn't a 10/10, but I'm giving it a 10, purely to balance out the absurd 0/1 out of 10 scores from people who can't appreciate music.

    The production is twisted, choppy, dark & experimental but it works. Sure Kanye drops some corny lines (e.g. the "sweet and sour sauce" line & the "croissants" line) but he's always been a musician first, rapper second so that's forgivable.


    Bottom line, no mainstream artist expresses himself as freely/as uniquely as Kanye West does. Good artists have a tendency to stick to a tried & tested formula which, after a while, becomes uninteresting, this is why so many musicians' best albums happen to be their debut album e.g. 50 Cent, Nas, Pharcyde, Eminem, The Strokes etc. The truly GREAT artists are the ones that can continue to bring something NEW to the table e.g. The Roots, OutKast, Radiohead, Pink Floyd Kanye West belongs in this list.

    Love him or hate him, he's an innovator with balls, and that's something you very, very rarely find in mainstream music.
    Expand
  92. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus is an evolved feature of the sounds and ideas from many of his past projects. The production that comes with Yeezus is a perfect pairing for the emotion and intesity that Kayes brings to the table.
  93. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus left me dazed, with ears ringing. I mean this in the best way possible, Yeezus has an impact. It challengers the listener with obscure production and incredible sonics. Yeezy comes out spitting clever, braggadocios rhymes but at the same time touching up on his own views on social and political issues. This is the album Kanye always wanted to make and I am glad he did.
  94. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing! Kanye can't go wrong! Wow lost for words Amazing from start to finish & this is way better than all the June eighteen albums coming out.
  95. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The most highly anticipated album of the year, Yeezus, by Kanye West has finally been unleashed and it’s ready to invade your ear drums.
    Opening the album is the ultramodern banger, ‘On Sight’ which was produced by Daft Punk. The track is driven by a menacing, fuzzy synth that is backed by some intensely abrasive drums. This track is one of many on the album that bring back the Acid House
    sound that was started in Chicago in the ’80s. ‘On Sight’ particularly is reminiscent of one of the first in the genre of Chicago House, ‘Acid Tracks,’ by Phuture and has Kanye dancing all over the track like a savage beast. “Yeezy season’s approaching,” Kanye raps. “..The monster’s about to come alive again.” Following, is the recalcitrant and near-tribal track ‘Black Skinhead’, that threads between both Ye’s traditional boastering of anti-establishment and anti-racism themes. “For my theme song” Kanye raps at the start of the Daft Punk produced track similar to his line “I guess every superhero need his theme music” on ‘Power’, the first single to his 2010 project My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. Perhaps “Black Skinhead” is supposed to pick up where ‘Power’ left off, delineating the aftermath and hangover of a power trip. The metaphor could be stretched even further to foster the idea of Kanye having some sort of allegorical attraction to the DC superhero Batman. Being a “dark knight” or being seen as a vigilante or bad guy, when only trying to do good. Kanye has been showing up to recent performances wearing masks and elaborate costumes going on about how he “isn’t a celebrity.” He is the hero for music and culture in a similar way Batman is a hero for Gotham City. The media may claim the perspective of both as something that should encourage hate, they are “The hero the city deserves, but not the one it needs right now.” At track number three is the highly controversial ‘I Am a God’ which has Kanye basking in all the negativity he’s experienced the hate received for everything from his music to his fashion and proclaims himself to be a God over a barrage of synths, howls and bass. Kanye won’t stop until another god decides to strike him down.

    Keep Reading http://dopedrops.com/2013/06/kanye-west-yeezus-review/
    Expand
  96. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Completely on par with Kanye's magnum opus: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy; but with a completely different outlook on production and lyricism. Everything sounds and feels cleaner, sort of like a silver razor.
  97. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This album moves hip-hop into a new era, its THAT good. Every song brings a new element into the genre, my personal favorites being Send It Up, I am A God, who am I kidding, they all are my favorites. Its not quite as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, but it's definitely his 2nd best album to date, 10/10.
  98. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    This album will define every hip-hop album after it. So So different, that u want to hate it at first, but after, its genius. HURRY UP WITH MY DAMN CROISSANTS!!!
  99. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This, is quite simply, the greatest project Mr. Kanye Omari Yeezus West has ever created EVER. Anyone who says otherwise is a hipster who says "his old music is better". Other than that the naysayers are idiots who aren't rap fans to begin with. Highlights of the album are I'm In It, I Am A God,Blood on the Leaves & New......f*ck it. THE WHOLE ALBUM IS AMAZING... GO BUY IT NOW. OR ELSE.
  100. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Very experimental hip hop album, but it comes together very well. This album is dark and edgy, especially in the beginning. If you're looking for great lyrical content then this is not the album for you, because the lyrics are average at best, but what this album lacks in lyrical content it excels in production.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    50
    His concerns are serious--consumerism, race, fame, relationships--but he rarely addresses them with the craft or focus they deserve. [Sep 2013, p.66]
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Contradiction incarnate, Yeezus is Kanye's most Kanyeish LP yet. [Sep 2013, p.103]
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    Nasty, brutish, short, and wholly compelling, Yeezus begs only one question: where next? [Sep 2013, p.89]