• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jun 18, 2013
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1113 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    Yeezus sees Kanye West push himself like never before and he once again brings something new to the hip-hop party. The man is hard to like as a person but there is no doubt that he is an exceptional talent. He could have easily recycled what he's been doing for the last decade, released it and sold shedloads but instead he's launched a sonic attack on the music world. Musically, Yeezus isYeezus sees Kanye West push himself like never before and he once again brings something new to the hip-hop party. The man is hard to like as a person but there is no doubt that he is an exceptional talent. He could have easily recycled what he's been doing for the last decade, released it and sold shedloads but instead he's launched a sonic attack on the music world. Musically, Yeezus is astonishing with West bringing all of his producer skills and musical talent to produce something truly creative. Unfortunately and perhaps surprisingly, the album is let down by West's lyrics, an area in which he often excels. Yeezus doesn't seem to have anything new to say and outside of "New Slaves", West could be freestyling about anything and too often the material tries to shock but ends up just being plain distasteful. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    The transformation Kanye West has taken throughout his hip-hop career has all led to this 40 minute, sprawling descent into industry hell. Kanye sounds at his most angered, most torn down by the entertainment industry and previous love affairs, more so than on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The production ranges from grimy electro, to minimalists tribal drums, and fantastic samples.The transformation Kanye West has taken throughout his hip-hop career has all led to this 40 minute, sprawling descent into industry hell. Kanye sounds at his most angered, most torn down by the entertainment industry and previous love affairs, more so than on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The production ranges from grimy electro, to minimalists tribal drums, and fantastic samples. Kanye's lyrics are his most deranged on Yeezus, rhymes upon rhymes about how he feels as if he is a slave in in the entertainment industry and all the scum he encounters throughout his day to day life. Not to mention his view on previous relationships, something he's been singing about since 808's & Heartbreaks. If there's one complaint to be had about this record, it's that it loses replay value if you've listened to it at least 5 times, which is true for any album really, but more so if comparing it to other Kanye West records.

    All In All, Yeezus is about a black man on the brink of insanity, pushing through day to day demons that probably will never escape him, and also a fantastic, dark voyage of hip-hop music. A-
    Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    How can you adequately follow up to the greatest hip hop album in music history? Well, you can’t. Kanye West got subsequently worse after My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, with his Jay-Z collaboration Watch The Throne being more back to the roots, yet still awesome and his record’s group album Cruel Summer being not much more than well-made fun for the summer with tons of prominent guestsHow can you adequately follow up to the greatest hip hop album in music history? Well, you can’t. Kanye West got subsequently worse after My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, with his Jay-Z collaboration Watch The Throne being more back to the roots, yet still awesome and his record’s group album Cruel Summer being not much more than well-made fun for the summer with tons of prominent guests on it. His newest release Yeezus is anything but spectacular just look at its cover. And if West’s Saturday Night Live performance of ‘New Slaves’ and ‘Black Skinhead’ induced you to think that his much anticipated 6th studio album is completely different to his former releases, it’s not either. He was clearly experimenting with beats when he made the album and some Daft Punk productions are quite unique in hip hop, admittedly; but his rap style, which is the topmost in a hip hop album, has stayed very similar to earlier releases. What is it then that still makes it a great album? It’s actually the fact that it isn’t anything new. The Chicago rapper mixes every single one of styles he had in his rap career into this album, meaning The College Dropout’s and Late Registration’s pun- and wordplay-laden lyrics, 808’s & Heartbreak whining, poetic lyrics and Autotune effects, and MBDTF’s epic atmosphere. And seriously, there isn’t anything bad with that because there’s something for everyone included in Yeezus: However, a bit more uniqueness wouldn’t have derogated the record, that’s for sure. Basically, the album may be disappointing just because it isn’t as colossal as ‘Ye’s former albums, but doesn’t lack anything that would make it a great hip hop record. It should seamlessly fit in in your Yeezy CD collection at home and even if it may take some listens to get accustomed to it, you will like it eventually. Yeezus is an original, unconventional, and adventurous hip hop album like you’ve never seen one before. He tries a lot of new things with his music and although he doesn’t succeed every time, it’s great fun to listen to his musical mixture of feelings. Just think of the majestic beats and Justin Vernon’s grand guest parts how can you not love that? Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    6
    I'll admit that I've only recently gotten into this guy's work around the time this album came out & I was pretty much blown away. However there seems to be an inverse pattern of Kanye's production getting better & more experimental while the lyrical content gets increasingly worse. And with Yeezus that pattern continues.

    Admittedly about 90% of the good thing I have to say are in the
    I'll admit that I've only recently gotten into this guy's work around the time this album came out & I was pretty much blown away. However there seems to be an inverse pattern of Kanye's production getting better & more experimental while the lyrical content gets increasingly worse. And with Yeezus that pattern continues.

    Admittedly about 90% of the good thing I have to say are in the production & instrumentation. If you're reading this, chances are you've already heard about the bizarre change in direction here to something less accessible & more raw, and that'd be a great way of describing it in a nutshell. It's dark, minimalist, straightforward & aggressive in the best ways possible. The lush, drawn-out & practically orchestrated sound of MBDTF was great to hear but this is an extremely rewarding change of pace. That's not to say this album is without its subtle catchiness, since even in his earliest albums Kanye's had a talent for creating great hooks, not just in some pop chorus but in the instrumentals too. The synths might be buzzing & droning but there's still a keen sense of melody in how they're arranged that makes them stick out in a unique way. Same can be said for the samples, which are generally well-incorporated. The 2 tracks that stand out musically for me the most though are lead single “Black Skinhead” & closing track “Bound 2”. The former is just awesome, combining pulsating tribal drum beats, primal screams in the background & quiet synths in the chorus that builds expertly with the drums back into the verse. The latter is my, and what I imagine a lot of people's, favorite song on this album. This is mainly due to the soul sample-looping back-to-basics approach that was all over Kanye's first few albums, aka the “college trilogy”, helped by the comparatively more genuine lyrics. There's also “New Slaves”, probably the strongest track lyrically, which gives some insightful jabs at the materialism that brainwashes the upper class, as well as overly intrusive “journalists” that constantly hassle him & other celebrities for no good reason.

    However, no matter how great this album may be musically & occasionally lyrically, those lyrical moments are few & far between. For the most part in this department, Yeezus is obnoxious, egomaniacal, hypocritical & at times outright cringeworthy. I think the main problem isn't so much that he's not self-aware about the public's perception about him, but for that he's not self-aware about how poorly he expresses his self-awareness about the public's perception about him. He's so hot-headed & over-the-top about the topic that it can only add to his already bad media persona. Say what you want about the braggadocios tracks on MBDTF or the 2011 Jay-Z collab album Watch the Throne, but at least there he sounded like he was having some level of fun with it in a way that was at times pretty enjoyable in its ridiculousness. But here the way he brushes off detractors & brags about how much sex he has is just forced & uncomfortable. And sometimes this can ruin an otherwise good track, particularly “I'm in It”, which pairs a nice slow groove & a soulful chorus from Bon Iver's Justin Vernon with poetry like “Eatin' Asian all I need is sweet & sour sauce”. And even one of my favorites “Black Skinhead” has its bad lyrical traits, but in a different way. The main thing is that in a song where he's talking about racially inequality & stereotypes, he acts angry and irrational, brags about his possessions & says lines like “300 where the Trojans”. There's a clever line here & there but I find it hard to get past that. Surprisingly one of the more positively notable tracks is “I Am A God”, which despite its obvious pretentious delusions is more of an exaggerated declaration of confidence than anything else, and brings back the enjoyable ego-projecting of the last couple albums.

    With even that big ol rant out of the way, I still can't recommend checking this album out enough. Yes, it's as a whole Kanye's weakest effort to date lyrically & very front-loaded, but it's just so interesting & engaging musically that it's worth a listen even despite its big flaws. I still like his older stuff more though.

    Top 5 tracks: Bound 2, New Slaves, Black Skinhead, I Am a God, Hold My Liquor
    Score: 66/100
    Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    I'm a big Kanye fan and Kanye certainly delivered here. This is not a hip hop album, but rather a musical exercise where Kanye experiments with anything and everything at his disposal. Despite this mish mash of sounds, the album is extremely successful and in my mind, it's a modern day classic, much like My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was. It will be interesting to see what kind ofI'm a big Kanye fan and Kanye certainly delivered here. This is not a hip hop album, but rather a musical exercise where Kanye experiments with anything and everything at his disposal. Despite this mish mash of sounds, the album is extremely successful and in my mind, it's a modern day classic, much like My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was. It will be interesting to see what kind of influence this album has on future hip hop artists as it will undoubtedly impact the genre for a long time. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2015
    6
    6.4/100...............................................................................................................................................
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Can't say I like this guy personality or anything associated to him outside of music. Howvere, gotta admit, this is a good album. Quite a departure from past Kanye albums as has always been the case. His lyrics are not the tightest in comparision, but I love how this album pushes hip hop in another direction. A bit electronica at time but stripped down at other times. I don't like all theCan't say I like this guy personality or anything associated to him outside of music. Howvere, gotta admit, this is a good album. Quite a departure from past Kanye albums as has always been the case. His lyrics are not the tightest in comparision, but I love how this album pushes hip hop in another direction. A bit electronica at time but stripped down at other times. I don't like all the tracks but as usual, Kanye is polarizing. Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    [7.9] Although Kanye may have intended to land himself among the hipsterisms of rap, what he makes is a thoroughly enjoyable, albeit slightly too uniform hard rap album. He certainly doesn't lose his alternative appeal, and while his lyrics might not be as sharp as an artist like Kendrick Lamar, his beats are solid, and his brute swagger is stronger than ever, which is really all that[7.9] Although Kanye may have intended to land himself among the hipsterisms of rap, what he makes is a thoroughly enjoyable, albeit slightly too uniform hard rap album. He certainly doesn't lose his alternative appeal, and while his lyrics might not be as sharp as an artist like Kendrick Lamar, his beats are solid, and his brute swagger is stronger than ever, which is really all that matters in a Kanye album. Expand
  9. Apr 24, 2015
    9
    Kanye West may have let fans down with an ambient record, but he's Kanye - every one of his albums are different. Kanye's at his lyrical worst on this album, but the production makes up for it. The production is interesting in every aspect - heck, even Daft Punk produced a few songs on here. It ranges from rock to trap, it's ambient, it probably has some of the most revolutionaryKanye West may have let fans down with an ambient record, but he's Kanye - every one of his albums are different. Kanye's at his lyrical worst on this album, but the production makes up for it. The production is interesting in every aspect - heck, even Daft Punk produced a few songs on here. It ranges from rock to trap, it's ambient, it probably has some of the most revolutionary production on any hip hop album. We even get a touch of College Dropout Kanye with "Bound 2". And of course, this is original too. Yeezus is unlike anything else ever released, even his own other studio albums. And plus, he may not be lyrically strong on this album but some of these lines make for a good laugh. "New Slaves" is one of the best songs I have ever heard in my whole life - not another song like this will be created for another decade at least. In general, what makes this album so special and unique is the production, originality, and clear showing of West's artistry. Grade: A. Highlights: "New Slaves" and most tracks. Worst song: "Hold My Liquor" Expand
  10. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Put simply if you don't like this album, you're a hater. The production is truly legendary, and anyone who says the album doesn't have meaning or is narcissistic didn't listen well. Yeezus is a true work of art and will go down as a revolutionary album in the increasingly electronic music world.
  11. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    Dark, visceral and intense. Kanye West's latest outing, though very self-indulgent and narcissistic and a little boring at times, is a hectic and engaging experience that is as bold as it is profane. Yeezus is a memorising and artistic album that, even though it isn't as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, will probably divide his fans but it is at least a brave and powerful stepDark, visceral and intense. Kanye West's latest outing, though very self-indulgent and narcissistic and a little boring at times, is a hectic and engaging experience that is as bold as it is profane. Yeezus is a memorising and artistic album that, even though it isn't as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, will probably divide his fans but it is at least a brave and powerful step for the artist. Expand
  12. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    After the Picasso-art of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye West reinvents itself again, with an album much more Hip-Hop and Minimal than MBDTF thet reminiscent in some ways Watch The Throne and 808s & Heartbreak. Songs like On Sight, Black Skinhead and Blood on the Leaves are examples of good and innovative production, that's right, the production that perhaps on this album is theAfter the Picasso-art of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye West reinvents itself again, with an album much more Hip-Hop and Minimal than MBDTF thet reminiscent in some ways Watch The Throne and 808s & Heartbreak. Songs like On Sight, Black Skinhead and Blood on the Leaves are examples of good and innovative production, that's right, the production that perhaps on this album is the most innovative of the year with Daft Punk, No.ID, 88 Keys and Kanye same in the height of the form. In conclusion, Yeezus of abstract-art is an album of pure genius that we have never heard. A classic to remember for many, many years. Expand
  13. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    Kanye West's 6th solo album is something of an initial 'Kid A' reception inspired industrial mess. As an artist West moves back and forth from the early 00's hip-hop that put him on the household map, but unlike its incredible predecessor Yeezus doesn't move far enough in a particular direction to warrant overwhelming acclaim nor deserve condemnation (a 0? Who are you kidding?) for itsKanye West's 6th solo album is something of an initial 'Kid A' reception inspired industrial mess. As an artist West moves back and forth from the early 00's hip-hop that put him on the household map, but unlike its incredible predecessor Yeezus doesn't move far enough in a particular direction to warrant overwhelming acclaim nor deserve condemnation (a 0? Who are you kidding?) for its failings. Instead Yeezus is a fairly competent album that attempts to stitch together all of Kanye's styles up to this point and it doesn't always work. Blood on The Leaves samples Nina Simone's soulful 'Strange Fruit' in an off-shoot that could have been a B-Side on Late Registration whilst closer Bound 2 has more in common with The College Dropout than any of West's more recent material. These contrasts in quality are often found in style, and the albums first half is by far its strongest, yielding schizophrenic beats and idiosyncratic lyrics. Although I agree the production of Daft Punk (considering their potential) is perhaps wasted, tracks like 'Black Skinhead' and opener 'On Sight' are far and away the most interesting works here though far from entirely original. Other all Yeezus is still a succinct and more consistent listen than '808's' or 'Graduation', but the lyrical depth and egotistical ravings although perhaps designed to contrast the juvenile substances with the poetic are misjudged in crucial moments and apart from Frank Ocean his guest line-up squandered. Still, even if it does not match up to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy in scale or scope, it is far from unlistenable as others have stated, and fits in with the Kanye discography for now. Expand
  14. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    A very different type of Hip Hop album. One of the year best album. Kanye West returns with an excellent album Daft Punk and Kanye West makes a great team. This album is very short but every song is worth listening to.

    The album has a electronic sound to it. The highlight song on the album is "Bloood on the Leaves." "New Slaves" and "Black Skinned Head." Those are clearly the best
    A very different type of Hip Hop album. One of the year best album. Kanye West returns with an excellent album Daft Punk and Kanye West makes a great team. This album is very short but every song is worth listening to.

    The album has a electronic sound to it. The highlight song on the album is "Bloood on the Leaves." "New Slaves" and "Black Skinned Head." Those are clearly the best tracks on the album. Lyrically Kanye did a very great job. Kanye West never been an outstanding lyricist but he also been an good lyricist.

    This isn't his best album...but it still an outstanding album and deserve Grammys buzz. I love how kanye didn't out out any singles for the album. Very brilliant album ....I must say this is the most interesting album he made. I'll always love his first two album more than his new album but I wouldn't be surprise if some people label this album as his best yet.

    The thing I disliked about the album is the features ....I never been a fan of albums with too many features but that just me... This album is worth listening to,,, it's better to listen to the album from track 1-10 with out skipping songs the first few times.
    Expand
  15. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    This album is way more than I was expecting! With Ye's most experimental release yet we see a hard defined Ye that would please most of his new and old fans. It sound like if Kanye got MBDTF and pushed it a little bit further. He also speaks out more against the Illuminati which unfortunately is the only way to convince people you're not a devil worshiper. My disappointments on this were,This album is way more than I was expecting! With Ye's most experimental release yet we see a hard defined Ye that would please most of his new and old fans. It sound like if Kanye got MBDTF and pushed it a little bit further. He also speaks out more against the Illuminati which unfortunately is the only way to convince people you're not a devil worshiper. My disappointments on this were, first that he didn't produce this all himself, but the help benefits Ye like on the TNGHT produced track "Blood on the Leaves" Also I didn't care much for the features on this. Overall this is an outstanding album. Expand
  16. Jun 22, 2013
    5
    Kane produces Yeezus enough to make it worth listening to for a bit, but also throws his questionable ego, lazy lyricism and horrible guest acts in the mix.
  17. Feb 18, 2014
    3
    This is a very strange, if not, odd album. 'Bound 2' was a good ending to the album, but that was the only song that I could enjoy. The rest were...just bad (giving 'Black Skinhead' a narrow exception).
  18. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    Honestly, I wanted so badly to hate this album, I could hardly stand it. With Kanye West's massive ego brought out to its fullest on several aspects of this album (really, Kanye, "I Am God (feat. God)?") I wanted to hate it even more after I listened to it, but the music is just too epic and just plain good to hate. Tracks like "Black Skinhead", "Bound 2", "New Slaves", and "Blood On theHonestly, I wanted so badly to hate this album, I could hardly stand it. With Kanye West's massive ego brought out to its fullest on several aspects of this album (really, Kanye, "I Am God (feat. God)?") I wanted to hate it even more after I listened to it, but the music is just too epic and just plain good to hate. Tracks like "Black Skinhead", "Bound 2", "New Slaves", and "Blood On the Leaves" are smart, if not somewhat dark and disturbing at points, and melodically perfect. The only reasons I could not give this album the ten that a majority of the album's tracks deserve are 1) the massive amounts of self-glorification in multiple songs (as mentioned before, he literally calls himself God in one of the songs, and on several others basically says that his greatness means he do whatever he wants) and 2) track 6 "I'm In It" (an awful and shallow song that is unforgivable on an album that is otherwise amazing). One warning though: if you are offended by violent and profanity ridden lyrics, avoid this album like the plague. Just trust me on that one. Expand
  19. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    Talk about a year Kanye's had, performing at the VMA's (Video Music Awards), having a baby with an odd name (North West? Sounds like an insurance company) and even banging his head on a sign then fighting with the cameraman. Even with all that, we still have to remember that Kanye still does music, and he changes things up with his new album "Yeezus" (which sounds like Jesus sneezing) NowTalk about a year Kanye's had, performing at the VMA's (Video Music Awards), having a baby with an odd name (North West? Sounds like an insurance company) and even banging his head on a sign then fighting with the cameraman. Even with all that, we still have to remember that Kanye still does music, and he changes things up with his new album "Yeezus" (which sounds like Jesus sneezing) Now Yeezus has divided up people, critics obviously love, but listeners don't know whether to love it or hate it. For me I liked it. Yeezus isn't Kanye's most memorable album and no everyone will like it, but it doesn't know what it's trying to say, and I recommend it to any Kanye West fans. The opening song "On sight" sounds like something made in a garage (actually this whole album feels like it was made in a garage) but I like that Kanye changed up his style but managed to keep things fresh. The best song on this album is "Black Skinhead", which has a great beat, some amazing sounds, and an interesting take on Kanye West's view of life. Another standout includes "Blood on Leaves" which again shows everyone that West's songs have social commentary and will make you think. Some problems with this album is there's less to think about on the songs, which I blame the pacing at less than 50 minutes it's one of West's more shorter albums. Also no of the songs really stick out expect for "Black Skinhead" and "Blood on Leaves" everything else is more filler than fun. But still Kanye West still manages to impress with his latest release, as I did listen to the album on repeat a few times, and at some points, "Yeezus" is kinda brilliant. If you're a fan of Kanye West, Yeezus is definitely worth listening to. Expand
  20. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Well there are 2 kind of people in the matter of Yeezus .... the sane and insane people and of course people who think Yeezus is a masterpiece are sane ...... This album is beyond description and until now it's the best album in the new millennium!
  21. Jul 10, 2013
    5
    It starts off with a raw electronic sound, that sonically is different to Kanye’s Work, and this sound has been created with the help of Daft Punk. I have never been a fan of rap, or Kanye West other than “Runaways” from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. So the fact that I can listen to this from beginning to end is a feat in itself, but it is still poor. I like the raw electronic soundIt starts off with a raw electronic sound, that sonically is different to Kanye’s Work, and this sound has been created with the help of Daft Punk. I have never been a fan of rap, or Kanye West other than “Runaways” from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. So the fact that I can listen to this from beginning to end is a feat in itself, but it is still poor. I like the raw electronic sound on the beginning of the album, the industrial feel, and the good use of samples to break up and add to the songs, but the lyrics are poor. They are boring and predictable, Saying that the first two songs are better than the rest of the album until the end. “On Site” and “Blackhead” are good, I can listen to them and they don’t have any of the incessant auto-tune that features later on in the album.

    “New Slaves” maybe could be the most dance floor friendly seeing as it is bass heavy, and it’s one of the few songs where the lyrics mean something, even if Kanye goes about it in a brash way, not exactly using the most sophisticated language.

    From there on, the album becomes a mess, until “Bound 2″ with the seductive sample of Brenda Lee going “Uh huh Honey”, along with a bridge featuring Charlie Wilson that really breaks the song up, and I like that it came as a surprise, it was refreshing. Sure the lyrics may again be poor, “I want to you hard in the sink”, but it’s enjoyable, and for one song, I can look past the flaws.

    Overall, musically the album is decent, I like it here and there, Kanye has some good ideas that he ruins with his rap and the autotune, I really have no strong likes or dislikes to this album, just disappointment with what could have been, and the score is maybe just out of kindness.
    Expand
  22. Sep 17, 2013
    6
    This is a messy album that I tried so hard to like. I really, really did. But I find most of the album to be rather unlistenable.

    The positive 6 score is for three reasons:
    1. "Bound 2"
    2. "Black Skinhead"
    3. "New Slaves"

    These are three of the greatest tracks I heard this summer. Unfortunately, Yeezus isn't a three-song EP, and the rest of the album falls flat in comparison.
  23. Jan 18, 2015
    8
    This album is so underrated by the internet, so its great to see critics give it a decent rating. Yeezus is produced to intentionally be dirty and sound unproduced. I love it because it really represents how crazy Kanye West has become as an artist, and how little he cares about his audience. As usual, he has some great metaphors and sick rhymes that emphasize the points he makes about racism.
  24. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    Bërë shumë mirë Expirimental / hip hop album duke treguar Kanye është në kulmin e karrierës së tij muzikore , jo në fund ! Shumë keq rreh si , bëhet me prodhim i tepërt dhe një të hedhura të karakteristikave dërrmuese ! Ju duhet të blej ! :) 10/10
  25. N10
    Jun 18, 2013
    7
    I don't really have much too write about this album. Cause clearly people hate on Cole's beautiful and darker sophmore project just for the sake of Kanye West's Yeezus. Sad to see how people instantly throw words around before they even heared it. If so I would gladly listen to your opinions. In my opinion when it comes to the lyrics, Born Sinner is the winner of the two by far, on YeezusI don't really have much too write about this album. Cause clearly people hate on Cole's beautiful and darker sophmore project just for the sake of Kanye West's Yeezus. Sad to see how people instantly throw words around before they even heared it. If so I would gladly listen to your opinions. In my opinion when it comes to the lyrics, Born Sinner is the winner of the two by far, on Yeezus it felt kinda lazy with it but he sure had his moments at times. Not Ye's best tough. Production wise Yeezus has more flavour to it, more harder bass and production. Either you love the production of Yeezus or you simply dislike it. I'm a huge Kanye fan but to me the lyrics didn't to me or the production really well. Yeezus is good, great in it's five first tracks. And Black Skinhead is so far one of the year's best with New Slaves. Born Sinner.. too me, is fantastic. He's rhymes are really well put-together and he's flow switches up good and dosen't get boring. 18th June is a great day in Hip Hop. Let's welcome "the newer" faces, if J. Cole's albums are at least as good as Born Sinner then he sure is going to do ous well in the future. And thank you Mr. West for keeping Hip Hop exciting. Ps. MBDTF is one of my fave. Expand
  26. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    On the walls of various chosen buildings and the SNL stage, the words "NOT FOR SALE" lit up the darkness. On the stage West's silhouette brought out the birth of a new era and his own evolution, on the building West's fiery return projects itself upon the hopeful and excited fans. The derivative hip hop beats don't appear here, he's not selling himself. He's simply letting go, and forcingOn the walls of various chosen buildings and the SNL stage, the words "NOT FOR SALE" lit up the darkness. On the stage West's silhouette brought out the birth of a new era and his own evolution, on the building West's fiery return projects itself upon the hopeful and excited fans. The derivative hip hop beats don't appear here, he's not selling himself. He's simply letting go, and forcing us to accept it with rocky, crude and reluctant understanding. What Kanye serves is impetuous, gut wrenching and takes you by surprise. But then again that's hip hop isn't it? By pushing the envelope he leaves a big crash in the ocean of music, West rises in ranks and gives us a breathtaking journey that's only just beginning. Reluctantly, I can't help but to begin and relive again and again. Soak in the repercussions, for just as the projection shut off as "New Slaves" ended on the W Hotel late at night in LA, we and the world had just gotten a glimpse of Kanye's artistic statement. What's next for Kanye West? Considering the birth of North West, nothing for a while now. Still, the anticipation for what's next is at an all time high and the stage has been set. Let's begin. Expand
  27. Jul 3, 2014
    5
    I love industrial noise rap, but Kanye didn't get it right here. Easily his worst album. From lazy wordplay to lackluster production to an overall lack of inspiration in the album, it's weak. There are a few great tracks, namely Black Skinhead, New Slaves, and Blood on the Leaves, but even those aren't up to par for Kanye.
    It also does seem to be a borderline shameless ripoff of what
    I love industrial noise rap, but Kanye didn't get it right here. Easily his worst album. From lazy wordplay to lackluster production to an overall lack of inspiration in the album, it's weak. There are a few great tracks, namely Black Skinhead, New Slaves, and Blood on the Leaves, but even those aren't up to par for Kanye.
    It also does seem to be a borderline shameless ripoff of what Death Grips is doing, so there's that too.
    Expand
  28. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    Another great album by Kanye. Sadly, the lyrics don't live up to the music on this album. They are quite forgettable and not well thought out. Musically is a new direction for Kanye. The sound is very reminiscent of Death Grips (industrial/glitchy hip hop) however, he is able to deliver is own take on this style.
  29. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Am I late to the Yeezus party? It's been almost a month since the release of Yeezus, but I feel I need to get my opinion out there. On my first listen of Yeezus, I hated every minute of it, except a few tracks. I despised the autotune on Blood on the Leaves and Guilt Trip, and some of the subject matter felt like he wrote it in 2 minutes, and said it, I'm Kanye, people gon' buy my sh**Am I late to the Yeezus party? It's been almost a month since the release of Yeezus, but I feel I need to get my opinion out there. On my first listen of Yeezus, I hated every minute of it, except a few tracks. I despised the autotune on Blood on the Leaves and Guilt Trip, and some of the subject matter felt like he wrote it in 2 minutes, and said it, I'm Kanye, people gon' buy my sh** anyway.' Then I listened again, and again, and again. I don't know how 'Ye does it, but Yeezus has become my fourth favorite 'Ye album (CD, LR, MBDTF). My ears still hurt listening to the ridiculous gong show that is 'I Am A God' (HURRY UP WITH MY D*MN CROISSANT), but I sincerely enjoy a large percentage of every track on this album.

    Favorite Songs: Black Skinhead, New Slaves, Guilt Trip, Bound 2
    Least Favorite Songs: On Sight, I Am A God

    Edit 2014: Kanye is a genius. all praise Yeezus.

    Favourite Tracks: Most of 'em
    Least Favourite Track: On Sight

    Overall grade: 95-96/100
    Expand
  30. Apr 30, 2014
    0
    "I just talked to Jeezus, he said, "WHAT UP YEEZUS??!" I said, **** im chillin, tryna stack these millions" (Car crash sonic disaster blares in the background)
    I AM A GOD, I LIKE MASSAGE'S, KIM OPEN MY DAMN GARAGE, I LIKE RESTAURANTS, I AM A GOD!

    This is what critics like these days huh. Smh.
  31. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye has gone out and changed his sound, as usual. This time, he's dabbling in industrial hip hip. Yeezus is more or less an expansion on the industrial genre, using it as a perfect vehicle for Kanye's social commentary and infinite egotism. Though it may not be as honed as something like Death Grips' The Money Store, Yeezus is aggressively schizophrenic, and there's not a weak track toKanye has gone out and changed his sound, as usual. This time, he's dabbling in industrial hip hip. Yeezus is more or less an expansion on the industrial genre, using it as a perfect vehicle for Kanye's social commentary and infinite egotism. Though it may not be as honed as something like Death Grips' The Money Store, Yeezus is aggressively schizophrenic, and there's not a weak track to be had. One of the best of 2013. Expand
  32. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    Wow As much as I love Kanye since the Roc a fella days, and reading some of these critic reviews, I cannot help but get the feeling that this album is the audio equivalent of watching a model at a fashion show with a steaming turd on her head and having the critics tell me its "high brow" and "innovative" fashion.

    Mr West has officially "jumped the shark"
  33. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    "How much do I not give a f*ck?" Mr. West asks in On Sight, the first track of Yeezus. The answer is clear. The question is quickly followed with a familiar College Dropout sample sounding tune that goes on to say "He'll give us what we need It may not be what we want." Which, is the perfect way to describe what this album is. Not something we want(old Kanye), but something we need(New Kanye).
  34. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    The difference between Yeezus and other albums released in 2013 was how different it sounded and it was done successfully. This is definitely the music of the future.
  35. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    If I had it my way, Kanye West would not be allowed to talk in public. Ever. When it comes to his albums I would say the reverse. Kanye typically has a good ear and great taste in big production rap albums that churn out anthems and original content alike. On Yeezus, Kanye is starting to push the good and bad elements of his music more radically. The results end up being much more rawIf I had it my way, Kanye West would not be allowed to talk in public. Ever. When it comes to his albums I would say the reverse. Kanye typically has a good ear and great taste in big production rap albums that churn out anthems and original content alike. On Yeezus, Kanye is starting to push the good and bad elements of his music more radically. The results end up being much more raw and chaotic. On tracks like "Black Skinhead", "I Am A God", and "Send It Up", there's enough hook and form to keep the music and rhymes on track amidst some wobbly production and pitchy sound effects. But with cuts like "On Sight" and "Bound 2" the chaos and switheroos are too much and make it tough to endure a listen for more than a moment. "Bound 2" is especially annoying perhaps one of Kanye's worst to date, which is unfortunate given that the chorus is actually fine. It's the transitions marked with the "uh huh honey" that make my ears bleed a bit. By the time I got through the record I realized that Kanye's massive and annoying ego is beginning to affect his work. That is a travesty, because Kanye has some killer tracks and albums leading up to Yeezus an album that I'd rather only occasionally pick from on Spotify rather than spend even .99 on a track to contribute toward. Expand
  36. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    People are comparing this album to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and I think that's the wrong approach because both albums are vastly different, and excellent in their own ways. This album helps Kanye's producer credit more than his lyrical credit, but I've still got it in heavy rotation on my phone. Black Skinhead is probably the best track. This a really high quality album, despitePeople are comparing this album to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and I think that's the wrong approach because both albums are vastly different, and excellent in their own ways. This album helps Kanye's producer credit more than his lyrical credit, but I've still got it in heavy rotation on my phone. Black Skinhead is probably the best track. This a really high quality album, despite the barely-there artwork. My only gripe is that there are only 10 tracks. Perhaps he will release volume II in the future. Expand
  37. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    This is what you get when you mix very clever writing with expert sampling and producing. it has some really emotional moments, like the brilliant breakdown at the end of new slaves and the first verse of blood on the leaves to the awesome pumping beats on black skinhead to the hypnotic track guilt track. favorites: black skinhead, im a god, new slaves, blood on the leaves, im in it.
  38. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    After the first listen, "Yeezus" may sound like just a group of jarring noises, all meant to piss you off and get you thinking to yourself, "how did anybody think this guy was good?" There lies your issue: repeated listens begin to really flesh out the gorgeous in what is Mr. West's darkest and craziest work to date. After his enormous success with the critically-lauded "My Beautiful DarkAfter the first listen, "Yeezus" may sound like just a group of jarring noises, all meant to piss you off and get you thinking to yourself, "how did anybody think this guy was good?" There lies your issue: repeated listens begin to really flesh out the gorgeous in what is Mr. West's darkest and craziest work to date. After his enormous success with the critically-lauded "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy," Kanye sought out to change his game yet again, repeatedly informing interviewers about him doing the complete opposite of what people wanted from him musically. Abrasive, pummeling, extreme, grinding, droney and industrial are all words I would use to describe the sound from this record, yet in the hands of a man with talent like Mr. West, the irritating noises soon begin to take shape, form, and end up becoming a masterpiece that the perfectionist is obsessively using to stay far, far ahead of the game. Remember when hip-hop was uncomfortable? When it was weird and unpleasant and jarring and crazy? That's exactly what this album is, constantly knocking you off of your feet, and as you stand up to brush the dust off, hits you yet again. Ye also stated that he wanted a minimalist design to the record, and it is very much so; clocking in at 40 minutes, there's no beat or noise or scream that isn't perfectly in place. Also treading on the minimalism line is Ye's screams: unexpected and primal, they pierce the song abruptly, with beat changes coming and going in a manner never heard before. Personally, the tracks that were the least expected were my favorite: "On Sight" as an introduction is the most confused I've ever been when starting to listen to an album (I thought something was wrong with my iPod when it began). "Hold My Liquor" sounds ridiculous at first, but the longer it goes, the prettier it gets. "Blood On The Leaves" is my absolute favorite, with six minutes of him rapping/singing/wailing over a girl that he got pregnant, all on top of a sample of "Strange Fruit," a song about lynching. This moment alone smacked me in the face and deftly declared that Mr. West sure had the guts, balls and genius to pull it off. It's bold, it's urgent, but it's most importantly, revolutionary. Expand
  39. Mar 11, 2015
    8
    Que vous reste-t-il à faire lorsque le sommet n’est plus assez élevé pour contenir votre personne debout ? Vous le défoncez, le sommet. C’est dans cet esprit que Kanye West œuvre depuis My Beautiful Twisted Fantasy. Toujours très créatif, l’américain n’avait probablement pas évalué l’onde de choc que produirait Yeezus. L’album est complètement à l’opposé de ce qu’il fait normalement enQue vous reste-t-il à faire lorsque le sommet n’est plus assez élevé pour contenir votre personne debout ? Vous le défoncez, le sommet. C’est dans cet esprit que Kanye West œuvre depuis My Beautiful Twisted Fantasy. Toujours très créatif, l’américain n’avait probablement pas évalué l’onde de choc que produirait Yeezus. L’album est complètement à l’opposé de ce qu’il fait normalement en studio. Mise à part 808 and HeartBreaks, le producteur-compositeur-architecte-provocateur-interprète et papa à temps partiel, a toujours été très méticuleux mais assez conventionnel dans ses créations musicales. Yeezus est l’interprétation du bon côté de l’égocentrisme de Kanye West. «I Am God», répète-t-il sur la troisième piste de l’album. Son niveau d’arrogance est allé tellement loin qu’il a repoussé les limites que ses fans purs et durs étaient prêt à lui accorder. Cet album a probablement plus satisfait les détracteurs de Kanye West. Dans le sens ou l’artiste dépasse les conventions accordées par l’industrie (incluant largement la base de fan), l’initiative se doit d’être soulignée. Je l’accorde, ce n’est pas le meilleur album de Kanye West. Mais de repousser les contraintes qui lui sont inévitablement liées et de continuer à réussir, c’est du Génie avec un grand G. Les procédés utilisés sur Yeezus sont difficilement interprétables. C’est un diamant brut, un bijou. Comparer la conversion de Bob Dylan à la guitare électrique me parait maintenant pertinent pour décrire et définir Yeezus. C’est un album complètement à contre-courant du West habituel. Compte tenu des circonstances, c’était presque à prévoir puisque la tête de Kanye West peut facilement intégrer le monde au grand complet, deux fois au moins. Expand
  40. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    Kanye West has yet again stepped outside of the box and he's delivered another innovative piece of work burning with purpose. That being said, his lyrics have never been so lifeless. Case and point: "hurry up with my damn croissants!", or "eating asian all I needed was sweet and sour sauce". There's no underlying meaning to bars like this, as much as I'd like there to be. The positives doKanye West has yet again stepped outside of the box and he's delivered another innovative piece of work burning with purpose. That being said, his lyrics have never been so lifeless. Case and point: "hurry up with my damn croissants!", or "eating asian all I needed was sweet and sour sauce". There's no underlying meaning to bars like this, as much as I'd like there to be. The positives do outweigh the negatives though, as Kanye is just being Kanye and gives us yet another piece of art. Sounds like this have never made it to the mainstream, albums have never sold 300,000+ first week without promotion, albums like this have never hit such a broad audience, and no artist has ever had the guts to accomplish any of those goals. At this point, we can't even pat Kanye on the back anymore. This is just what we've come to expect. Expand
  41. Feb 9, 2014
    3
    Honestly, this album works better as an instrumental. There are some songs that DP worked on, which pisses me off since R.A.M. was poorly executed and the instrumentals are amazing here. Otherwise, this album is just rubbish put together that ends up just being all over the place. No structure, just an inflated ego. I don't care for it.
  42. May 14, 2014
    4
    wow where do i start.. i felt like kanye rushed this album the lyrics are meaning less on most tracks he's going over the same **** song after song the only song that is decent on this thing is bound 2, and new slaves which has some good verses in it while all the other songs felt dry and the production has a (death grips) feel to it. all up this album isn't that bad some songs are catchywow where do i start.. i felt like kanye rushed this album the lyrics are meaning less on most tracks he's going over the same **** song after song the only song that is decent on this thing is bound 2, and new slaves which has some good verses in it while all the other songs felt dry and the production has a (death grips) feel to it. all up this album isn't that bad some songs are catchy but with a second listen you can't take him seriously dont waste your money on this thing if anything pirate it.. I'm giving it a 4/10 thanks if you read this :) Expand
  43. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    A terrific piece of record. A dark, abrasive, industrial hip hop album, Yeezus is a breakthrough. You can feel the anti-pop vibes it sets off. The production is strikingly magnificent, the samples couldn't be more befitting and contents of the lyrics is an unorthodox yet innovative representation of various themes including (but not exclusively) Christianity and anti racism.

    Bottomline,
    A terrific piece of record. A dark, abrasive, industrial hip hop album, Yeezus is a breakthrough. You can feel the anti-pop vibes it sets off. The production is strikingly magnificent, the samples couldn't be more befitting and contents of the lyrics is an unorthodox yet innovative representation of various themes including (but not exclusively) Christianity and anti racism.

    Bottomline, it's not what you expect from Kanye, but still a masterpiece

    Essential tracks: Black Skinhead, New Slaves, Hold My Liquor, I am God
    Expand
  44. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    Is this album Yeezy’s best? Not quite. But is it unlike anything he has ever produced? Definitely. It’s eccentric, unnatural, and about as far away from the Kanye we all know and sometimes love, but Kanye proclaims himself as the Jesus of the game today, and if he keeps diving into new frontiers, then that shouldn’t change.
  45. Sep 10, 2014
    1
    Kanye's first two albums were decent hip hop albums with actual effort put into the lyrics. Since Graduation, Kanye has gotten lazy and most of his lyrics sound like a bad freestyle. He needs to sit down actually spend time writing lyrics and polishing them like the great rappers of the 90s (Nas, Tupac, Ice T KRS-One, etc.) Yeezus is without a doubt, Kanye's worst album to date. Dating KimKanye's first two albums were decent hip hop albums with actual effort put into the lyrics. Since Graduation, Kanye has gotten lazy and most of his lyrics sound like a bad freestyle. He needs to sit down actually spend time writing lyrics and polishing them like the great rappers of the 90s (Nas, Tupac, Ice T KRS-One, etc.) Yeezus is without a doubt, Kanye's worst album to date. Dating Kim Kardashian has lowered Kanye's IQ to a few points above retarded. Kanye has been drinking some of Kim K's stupid juice. Kanye sounds incredibly trashy on this album. Bound 2 is by far the worst song Kanye has ever written. Bound 2 belongs in the top 5 worst hip hop songs ever written. Yeezus is a disgrace to hip hop and music in general. Kanye you should be ashamed of yourself. Expand
  46. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    West's new album still suffers from dumbfounded lyrics and pretentious segments, but has a lot of excellent collaborators (such as Frank Ocean and Daft Punk) and simplistic but masterful beats. Most of the songs are very distinctive and show that Kanye is back in the game.
  47. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Kanye doing what he does: making great music. I find this album oddly both fun to listen to and annoying as hell The best moment is on "New Slaves" when Cher bursts into chorus. Yeezus isn't the most fun to listen of Kanye's albums, but it deserves to be considered among his best.
  48. Jun 22, 2013
    1
    I think it is a very boring album, with nothing new to offer. All the hype is for nothing. People like this music because they are told it is good through different medias, but it is nothing more just pop music, in a fancy packaging, which want you to believe it is unique.
  49. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Is this album Yeezy’s best? Not quite. But is it unlike anything he has ever produced? Definitely. It’s eccentric, unnatural, and about as far away from the Kanye we all know and sometimes love, but Kanye proclaims himself as the Jesus of the game today, and if he keeps diving into new frontiers, then that shouldn’t change.
  50. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    A solid, innovative album, but a little bit offensive. This sounds like an M.I.A. album. My favs are Blood on the leaves, Black Skinhead & Bound 2 (BBB lol).
  51. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This sounds like a M.I.A. album with some hardcore rap verses on it. A very innovative album by a very innovative artist. I love it. The best tracks are Black Skinhead, Blood on the leaves, On Sight, New Slaves & Bound 2.
  52. Mar 11, 2015
    6
    Kanye West's latest album is an interesting and experimental project. For his first solo album since 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy', 'Yeezus' has typical Kanye themes (like money and religion), but expands on its lyrical content with more introspective themes of racism. The production is loud and abrasive, something which kind of alienates its audience. Some of the lyrics, especiallyKanye West's latest album is an interesting and experimental project. For his first solo album since 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy', 'Yeezus' has typical Kanye themes (like money and religion), but expands on its lyrical content with more introspective themes of racism. The production is loud and abrasive, something which kind of alienates its audience. Some of the lyrics, especially regarding women, are repetitive for Kanye, but at least he tries. However, 'Yeezus' remains a better improvement from 'Watch the Throne'. Expand
  53. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    Shocking, experimental, and abrasive, Yeezus may not be West's best work, yet it still features some brilliant lyrics and some memorable moments. Highlights include "On Sight," "Black Skinhead," "New Slaves," "Blood on the Leaves," and "Send it Up."
  54. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Yeezus is a great album that is helping rap evolve. Kanye finds a new way to push hip hop into a new boundary. Soon other hip-hop acts might join Kanye in having EDM production on their albums. Yeezus is just the start of the new boundary that Kanye created.
  55. Aug 23, 2013
    5
    Yeezus is the sixth solo studio album from Chicago hip-hop artist Kanye West. He has had his fair share of up's, (My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Late Registration), and down's, (808's and Heartbreak, Cruel Summer). Yeezus has to fall into the second category with the downs.

    When I first saw the track listing, I thought it was a joke. There were few features and none of them looked
    Yeezus is the sixth solo studio album from Chicago hip-hop artist Kanye West. He has had his fair share of up's, (My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Late Registration), and down's, (808's and Heartbreak, Cruel Summer). Yeezus has to fall into the second category with the downs.

    When I first saw the track listing, I thought it was a joke. There were few features and none of them looked good on paper. Specifically I'm talking about the Chief Keef and King L features. Why on Earth did Kanye get these artists on his album, when he can obtain any feature he wants? Now I know a lot of people will argue that it's because they originated in Chicago like Kanye. Well then why didn't he get Lupe Fiasco, Common, or even Chance the Rapper? Was it because "Touch the Sky" and "Don't Stop", which both feature Fiasco were horrible, (that was complete sarcasm). I mean Kanye has already done a song with Chief Keef, and made Keef's song way more popular than it was. Chief Keef then goes on to say that Kanye didn't help him get popular at all. So pretty much Chief Keef says screw you and you decide to work with him. Brilliant.

    As I was saying the features don't add anything at all. I didn't even know that Frank Ocean was on "New Slaves". Chief Keef's feature is horrendous and full of auto-tune which sounds horrible. Kid Cudi does better than he normally does, but that isn't saying much. King Louie is one of the best features on the album, and if that isn't an indication that the features are weak, I don't know what is. Justin Vernon is alright, but he doesn't have the same presence that he did on MBDTF.

    The beats are different and very electronic. I don't hate them, they are kind of enjoyable. Once again though, I prefer more soulful production that Kanye has done. That probably explains why I love the last track on this album "Bound 2". Black Skinhead's beat is fantastic and makes me want to punch a wall. All of the beats provided from Daft Punk are fantastic except for parts on "On Sight". The beat for his verses are too annoying and repetitive. The hook was pretty good though. I didn't like two beats in particular though. The beat for "Guilt Trip" just sounds very generic, and the beat on "Send It Up" gets annoying after awhile. "Guilt Trip" samples "Blocka" by Pusha T, and is a horrible song to sample. It didn't even come close to giving me the same thrill that a song like "Power" did, which sampled King Crimson.

    Lyrics are just irrelevant here for the most part. Lines like "Black dick all in your spouse again", "But I gotta put my dick in her mouth", and "eating Asian p*ssy all I need was sweet and sour sauce" all sound like Lil Wayne lyrics and a line like "get this b*tch shaking like Parkinson's" sounds like a Tyler the Creator punch line used for shock value. Why Kanye steps down to this level of lyricism is beyond me. A song which I love "Blood on the Leaves" still gets complaints from me. It has auto-tune in the beginning which sounds horrible. While using auto-tune he is rapping about Molly. Okay Trinidad West. I have read that Kanye had to rush and write two songs in a day or two and it clearly shows with sloppy lyrics. I bet that the lyrics on "I Am A God" was one of those songs. "I just talked to Jesus. He said what up Yeezus." How weak is that? A song like "I'm in it" is just filled with sexual imagery. Typically I would have a problem with this, but Kanye has proven he can make a song like this with "Hell of a Life". Unfortunately, "I'm in It" just sounds like a generic rap song that will be forgotten about, if it is even remembered in the first place.

    It's safe to say that I am a huge Kanye fan. He is one of my favorite hip-hop artists ever, but when he puts out a weak product I have to call him out for the weak effort. "Cruel Summer" and "Yeezus" are two of the weakest projects that Kanye has worked on. Kim Kardashian needs to stop consuming Kanye's life. Maybe Kanye should go back to dating Amber Rose, (sorry Wiz).
    Expand
  56. May 3, 2014
    10
    "He'll give us what we need / It may not be what we want"

    This about sums it up nicely. Kanye knows what I want, better than I do. I never thought this album would sound like this. But I really like it. And that's because Kanye always keeps it fresh. He always tries to do something new, which is probably also why his career is so consistently good. He doesn't try to re-do or top what
    "He'll give us what we need / It may not be what we want"

    This about sums it up nicely. Kanye knows what I want, better than I do. I never thought this album would sound like this. But I really like it.
    And that's because Kanye always keeps it fresh. He always tries to do something new, which is probably also why his career is so consistently good. He doesn't try to re-do or top what he did in the past.

    On his everlasting quest to do something fresh and bring something new to the mainstream music-world he decided it would be time to make some industrial-hip-hop. And please don't think I'm saying Yeezus is the first album of this sound, but seriously: Kanye is a major player. You'd expect something like this from a niche group (Death Grips), not a music star.
    Nonetheless Kanye does it. And he does it good. And the acid-y sound of On Sight that greets you on the first listen to the album hits you in the face. In a good way.

    It may not be Kanye's strongest Album in the lyrical term, but it still features some nice commentary.

    The production is on another level though. Minimalistic, experimental, hard-hitting - great.
    Expand
  57. Nov 23, 2014
    3
    As someone who has always loved Kanye's beats, but almost never his lyrics, this album was a nightmare. There are redeemable moments, or brief glimpses of thoughtfulness, but the LP as a whole is a mess. Where MBDTF was epic and musically stunning, this album feels confused and muddled. The album went for a more industrial, heavily electronic taste. Where there is some merit to thatAs someone who has always loved Kanye's beats, but almost never his lyrics, this album was a nightmare. There are redeemable moments, or brief glimpses of thoughtfulness, but the LP as a whole is a mess. Where MBDTF was epic and musically stunning, this album feels confused and muddled. The album went for a more industrial, heavily electronic taste. Where there is some merit to that idea, it comes across sour. The opening track, though only two and a half minutes, feels like 5. This isn't to touch upon his lyrics, which are at an all time low. Not only are they even more self absorbed, they're almost completely useless. Except for moments on "New Slaves", I have a hard time calling any of these lines inspired or even quality. They're even worse than the music he puts them over. Okay, so what is good? After all I gave this a three, which means at least something was worthwhile. I'd have to give that to "Blood on The Leaves", "New Slaves" and "Black Skinhead." All of these beats are memorable, refined, and unique. Plus these are probably the closest we get to Kanye West actually rapping even remotely "Well". Those three songs, though not my favorite of his, I may put on at some point. For the other seven songs, I could care less. You compare the pro's to the cons and you easily can see the problem. I won't be as arrogant to say that this IS how the album is. A lot of people adore this album, and if you do too, great. I wish I could like it, but I am personally very sick of Kanye's arrogance, which is no longer an aspect of his personal life, but a key player in all of his songs. Plus some pretty bad, unfocused electronic beats, and awful lyrics, it's no wonder this album divided a lot of people. And I'm pretty safely on the dislike side. Expand
  58. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Surprisingly great album. I loved My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy however felt Watch the Throne was just okay. This album is different, however it grows on you. Love him or hate him, Kanye West is an amazing musician and proves it with Yeezus.
  59. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I wouldn't say its better than Yeezy's last solo effort, but it comes pretty damn close. Yeezy tries something new with the dub-step beat behind On Sight. Excellent start. Hold My Liquor is halfway through the album's disappointing 10 tracks, and its straight amazing. The album ends with Bound 42 which everybody drooled over because it was sort of a throwback to College Dropout. This isn'tI wouldn't say its better than Yeezy's last solo effort, but it comes pretty damn close. Yeezy tries something new with the dub-step beat behind On Sight. Excellent start. Hold My Liquor is halfway through the album's disappointing 10 tracks, and its straight amazing. The album ends with Bound 42 which everybody drooled over because it was sort of a throwback to College Dropout. This isn't hip-hop, nor is this a rap album. Kanye changed up his style again and was very successful.... again. Of course people aren't going to like this album because its not stupid trap beats & raps. Its straight up MUSIC. NO GENRE. JUST ART IN ONE ALBUM. You hate this album? Get out of here. Your opinion is stupid. You're entitled to it, but its stupid because you're writing Kanye off because he's not hip-hop. Expand
  60. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Really Good Album sounds total different from his past albums and you will have to listen a couple of times but this album is dope lyrically/production wise on point its a masterpiece
  61. Mar 29, 2015
    4
    I don't blame the man for trying to put a breath of fresh air to the table, but, I wonder how he could think this was a good idea, the production is great on some tracks (Bound 2, Blood On The Leaves) and some other tracks just sound like R2D2's ballsack, the subject matter, is LAZY. Maybe aside from New Slaves, but the way it is executed is poor.
  62. Sep 8, 2013
    6
    Superstar Kanye West's newest album features instant hits in "Black Skinhead" among others, but the album lacks strength throughout it's entirety by attempting to use over-powerful beats and backgrounds alongside his rapping. Despite this, it is clear why he is one of the biggest stars in the world.
  63. Aoi
    Oct 12, 2013
    8
    Great production. Terrible lyrics. Poor delivery. It sounds rushed, why ruin a potential classic with just a poor performance? I really think ye's passion for music has gone. Hope his next solo is a classic.
  64. Jan 2, 2015
    8
    Amazing experimental hip-hop album by Kanye West. He is always showing us some new.

    The beats are amazing.. the lyrics.. well.. sometimes it works.

    AMAZING TRACKS:

    - On Sight
    - New Slaves
    - Hold My Liquor
    - Blood on the Leaves
    - Guilt Trip

    - BAD TRACKS:

    - Send It Up
  65. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's pretty damn sad... when a person cannot make it through a "musical" album. Kanye...you f*cking suck...even at naming babies...you f*cking suck. I wonder if you were on meth when you were making this album... Expand
  66. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    Undoubtedly Kanye's most harsh, dark, and experimental work, Yeezus is the culmination of his egoism and productive creativity. Unfortunately, his latest album fails to lyrically live up to MBDTF.
  67. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Kanye's most recent album is by far his most extreme. Its angry, violent, dark yet brilliant. Amazing production is he icing on the cake. Best album of the year.
  68. Feb 23, 2015
    0
    It's because of this album's metacritic score I've decided to kill myself. As long as albums by Drake and Kanye are getting higher ratings than great artists like Eminem I don't want to live here. Lyrically his album is trash. Kanye used to be decent but now he's just horrible.
  69. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    It's hard to call Yeezus Kanye's most inventive work, because literally every album he has released was extremely creative in its own time. What I can say is that Yeezus is the only rap album this year that I've heard where it genuinely caught me off-guard. There were multiple moments throughout the album where I said out loud "he can't do that... you can't do that, right?" But he did it.It's hard to call Yeezus Kanye's most inventive work, because literally every album he has released was extremely creative in its own time. What I can say is that Yeezus is the only rap album this year that I've heard where it genuinely caught me off-guard. There were multiple moments throughout the album where I said out loud "he can't do that... you can't do that, right?" But he did it. He would switch from one sample to the next, different tempo, no supporting beat, and then he would jump right back in to his flow with a new beat and sample behind himself.
    One of Kanye's trademarks is his repetitious use of sampling. Each song is incredibly unique, from the primal, angry satire of Kanye backed with a huge drumline and Tarzan-ish screaming in Black Skinhead, to the industrial, heavily distorted opener On Sight. Bound 2 and Hold My Liquor were standout tracks for originality, although Blood on the Leaves and New Slaves were more recognized and also very inventive in their own right.
    Nothing is in this album that doesn't belong in there, and that's a rare thing to say in the age of digital music recording. He went through ridiculous amounts of modifying, mixing, re-writing, and post-production over the course of this album, ultimately ending with the hiring of Rick Rubin the "reducer" less than three weeks before the album was due, to help over-see the final, drastic changes to the album.
    This album gets a 9.5, but I am going to round down to a 9 because there were some lyrical moments that were distastefully sexual and not even in a clever way. If that album were without the track I'm In It, I might round up to a 10. Still, Kanye's style and artisanship are still leagues ahead of most rappers in the game today, and this album deserves a listen from anyone who claims to be tired of the "same old same old."
    Expand
  70. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    This album... is pretty crazy, between the starting effect of "On Sight", or the bashing of the beat in "I Am A God", you feel like you're losing your mind. Yeezus is what happens when someone from a basement full of ideas, makes them into one. Kanye has always showed he can be the difference and the leader. Each song has a feel of ecstatic movement. I feel as if you can look at thisThis album... is pretty crazy, between the starting effect of "On Sight", or the bashing of the beat in "I Am A God", you feel like you're losing your mind. Yeezus is what happens when someone from a basement full of ideas, makes them into one. Kanye has always showed he can be the difference and the leader. Each song has a feel of ecstatic movement. I feel as if you can look at this album as a "Rap Album" or "Pop Album", nor am I trying to say it's a groundbreaking genre in itself. The album is minimalism at its finest, its a mash up of culture and experience. Expand
  71. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    To me this record has split personality disorder, possibly like Ye himself.

    The first 6 songs seem pseudo-angry and pretentious. He talks about how rich he is, "stacking millions", being able to buy someones life he is so wealthy, comparing picking his own shirt to "picking cotton" in the fields. The anger and frustration seems so put on and acted especially coming from someone who is
    To me this record has split personality disorder, possibly like Ye himself.

    The first 6 songs seem pseudo-angry and pretentious. He talks about how rich he is, "stacking millions", being able to buy someones life he is so wealthy, comparing picking his own shirt to "picking cotton" in the fields.
    The anger and frustration seems so put on and acted especially coming from someone who is with a Kardashian and buys Ferraris as birthday presents.

    The last 4 songs seem more real and are actually really good songs. But on those Ye complains about the downsides of being a celebrity and showing some true emotions.

    I've been a Kanye fan since the beginning but his underdog complex just doesn't hold true anymore and he needs to keep about it. Especially lyrically this is one of his worst efforts. His rhymes are not only weak but full of pretentious pseudo-anger.

    808s was so raw and real and full of powerful emotions and to me this record is the exact opposite. It seems Kanye has no real inspiration anymore other than feeding on all the rumors and from the tabloids so he just goes with that. If that's your gig ...ENJOY!!
    Expand
  72. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Kanye does it again. Yeezus is a triumph of unparalleled musical imagination, created by the ultimate music nerd who thinks nothing of genres and styles and gleefuly mashes everything he wants like a mad alchemist, creating an unholy concoction that works even though it really shouldn't. Who else would even dare to have Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and Chicago drill poster boy Chief Keef singKanye does it again. Yeezus is a triumph of unparalleled musical imagination, created by the ultimate music nerd who thinks nothing of genres and styles and gleefuly mashes everything he wants like a mad alchemist, creating an unholy concoction that works even though it really shouldn't. Who else would even dare to have Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and Chicago drill poster boy Chief Keef sing on the same track? Who would imagine that you could mix TNGHT and Nina Simone? Who would slap a hefty chunk of a track by a 1970s Hungarian prog rock band at the end of his own composition and then sing all over it? Only Yeezus. Expand
  73. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    Are you a believer of Yeezianity???? Well you should be. Yeezus is undoubtedly his most abrasive album to date. He is as aggressive and egoistical as ever before on this project. When you're a GOD you make the rules hence giving a single F***k on his lazy braggadocios lyrics used where it could be seen a major flaw but when its as organic as 'Ye makes it out to be we cannot beAre you a believer of Yeezianity???? Well you should be. Yeezus is undoubtedly his most abrasive album to date. He is as aggressive and egoistical as ever before on this project. When you're a GOD you make the rules hence giving a single F***k on his lazy braggadocios lyrics used where it could be seen a major flaw but when its as organic as 'Ye makes it out to be we cannot be disappointed. For every stan out there who loved My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, it could turn out to be a surprise or a disaster for some however it thrives on excitement. He made it clear he's here to be the next Steve Jobs, Andy Warhol e.t.c. but seriously with a discography as compelling to most current artists today giving him the benefit of the doubt is an understatement. Daft Punk did brilliantly on constructing the acid-house influenced track "On Sight" and its Punk influenced "Black skinhead". I cannot say its his best album to date due to its craft work as times sounds underwhelming however Kanye West has once again set his ego bar at an all time high, as for things goes its simply a breath of fresh air. 9/10 Expand
  74. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Another classic from Kanye West. It's natural that some people don't like it; he's pushing the boundaries of hip-hop. You'll thank him in 10 years. An excellent album.
  75. Aug 31, 2013
    6
    This album is really an album that you need to let sit. When I first played this, I didn't know what to think, their was definite disappointment but I knew I was missing something with this project. It wasn't till I had played this album, probably a good 10 times that it really all sank in. As a person that loves music, I always tell people to judge music based on what it's suppose to beThis album is really an album that you need to let sit. When I first played this, I didn't know what to think, their was definite disappointment but I knew I was missing something with this project. It wasn't till I had played this album, probably a good 10 times that it really all sank in. As a person that loves music, I always tell people to judge music based on what it's suppose to be NOT what you want it to be, with that being said this is not an awful project. Kanye brought "Industrial Hip-Hop" to a new limelight with this album. I want to start off by saying NOTHING Kanye did on this album, hasn't be done before and that's really the biggest misconception with this album. Artists like El-P and groups like Death Grips have all been making music like this for some time now so Kanye is not the first person to make music like this. Now that, that's cleared let me get into the album.

    The production is well done for the most part. If the majority of music you listen to is strictly Hip-Hop I advise you to not let this type of production throw you off on your first or even 2nd or 3rd listen. The sounds are abstract and even weird but they work in perspective of what Kanye is attempting to do (or at least for the most part). Songs like I'm In It, Send It Up or even Blood On The Leaves which have very hard hitting bases with abstract horns and sirens, it's really a lot to soak in at first put like I said in my opening paragraph, you have to let this album sit. Now while Kanye's production did work in a lot of ways, it also failed in some ways as well. Songs like I Am God where I feel like I'm hearing this hard hitting bass with some toned down horns that really don't go together at all. Or a song like Hold My Liquor which unlike the rest of the album has a very clam and soothing beat, that's until the annoying horn that comes in every other bar in the verses. Overall I understand the direction sound wise Kanye was going with this and while some aspects of it could of been done better for the most part it's solid.

    Now on to the weakest link of the whole album, the writing. Let me start off by saying while everyone praises Kanye for being an incredible writer/poet the writing on Yeezus is far from great. It's very questionable at some points especially in songs like I'm In It where he has quotable like "eating Asian all I need is sweet and sour sauce" or "Black girl sippin white whine, I put my fist in her like the civil rights sign". Bars like these are kind of tossed throughout the album and does raise awareness when I do generally believe Kanye is a good writer and is very capable of writing better than this. The lyrics don't derail the album to much but it does go to show that this album is far from perfect.

    Overall, I praise Kanye for going in this direction, for bringing this type of hip hop to the mainstream level. It was a risk and I'm sure he was aware of the mixed reviews he would receive for doing so. This project was a decent attempt for going for a Industrial Hip-Hop sounding album, point being that their are artists out there that have made music like this but of much higher quality. I feel like critics pay attention to much to how the album was made rather than the music itself. On the other hand I feel like Hip-Hop listeners are so caught up in the fact that it sounds different that they don't even give it a chance. Like I said decent effort from Kanye, They're artists out there that have done this much better before, giving this a 6/10.
    Expand
  76. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Yeezus fails at what My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was fantastic. It hasn't a concrete atmosphere and it lacks innovation (as a hip-hop album). Punchlines are there but they are not really concentrated and cohesive. But I think this is maybe the most important thing when you are listening to this new Kanye's album. It is empty, unsettling, dark, aggressive and still mind-blowing. AndYeezus fails at what My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was fantastic. It hasn't a concrete atmosphere and it lacks innovation (as a hip-hop album). Punchlines are there but they are not really concentrated and cohesive. But I think this is maybe the most important thing when you are listening to this new Kanye's album. It is empty, unsettling, dark, aggressive and still mind-blowing. And it gets better with every listen. Yeezus just rose again. Expand
  77. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye West must of lost something in the last 3 years but still manages to deliver a kick-ass album. Kanye West is definitely one of the more outspoken and lyrically talented rappers of this day and age, but i don't think this album is as World changing the "God" wanted. I mean this is expected, personally, i think it would be extremely hard to compete with his previous effort "MyKanye West must of lost something in the last 3 years but still manages to deliver a kick-ass album. Kanye West is definitely one of the more outspoken and lyrically talented rappers of this day and age, but i don't think this album is as World changing the "God" wanted. I mean this is expected, personally, i think it would be extremely hard to compete with his previous effort "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" but Kanye still knows how to deliver and hasn't lost his touch completely. What i do love about this album is i feel that Ye has connected back into his roots of The College Dropout while still using his overproduced beats that critics have fell in love with. Now, Yeezy is actually bringing back some rap and doing a good job mixing the two together. I hope for more efforts like this for the future ofr raps "God". Expand
  78. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    Yeezus is a perfect example of trying out new sounds and succeeding at them. The album has futuristic, electronic vibes, great samples and overall production, and the experimentation is a breath of fresh air for the rap music genre. Not much negativity about Yeezus, it's a great 40 minute listen.
  79. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    This is worth listening to... The creativity of his production along with his egotistical rhymes makes Yeezus an ultimate classic even though it's not in West's top 3 albums...
  80. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Brilliance mixed with Ignorance with a side of Egotistical-ness, if thats even a word. But overall for what it is being an experimental album, I really feel like Kanye delivered just in a different way then he did with MBDTF, Dropout, and LR
  81. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    The album is an angry, muddled, ignorant, slapped-together heap of vulgar expression that works better than anyone else in music could've done. It's an album so angrily sure of itself it'll have you convinced that a man worth 100 million dollars faces oppression comparable to that of a slave.
  82. Dec 15, 2014
    10
    This album is perfect production is remarkably excellent. The songs and personality led him to become a "Yeezus" of music although it is too egocentric. I think his selfishness led him to create this perfect album. The best are: "Black Skinhead", "I Am a God", "Bound 2", "Blood On The Leaves".
  83. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Expect the unexpected. Open your mind. Free your mind of any prejudices. Be open and listen to the lyrics closely. Kanye is here to speak his mind in a very raw way. It's industrial in sound and very punchy in it's delivery. This isn't for the laid back listen. But it can be once you are used to it. It's different from his previous albums but there are familiar elements mixed in. KanyeExpect the unexpected. Open your mind. Free your mind of any prejudices. Be open and listen to the lyrics closely. Kanye is here to speak his mind in a very raw way. It's industrial in sound and very punchy in it's delivery. This isn't for the laid back listen. But it can be once you are used to it. It's different from his previous albums but there are familiar elements mixed in. Kanye West is still in top form here. The good far outweighs the bad. It's hardcore Kanye.....but spoken through....well....YEEZUS. Expand
  84. Jun 20, 2013
    6
    When it comes to the production, the mood and the overall sound, this album is notable for its uniqueness and creativity, though the rough and extreme nature of this album will be too much for many people.

    the lyrics however are simplistic and often off-point. this album's serious tone is marred by many corny lines. such as him wanting to pour sweet and sour sauce all over an asian
    When it comes to the production, the mood and the overall sound, this album is notable for its uniqueness and creativity, though the rough and extreme nature of this album will be too much for many people.

    the lyrics however are simplistic and often off-point. this album's serious tone is marred by many corny lines. such as him wanting to pour sweet and sour sauce all over an asian woman's body.
    Expand
  85. Jun 24, 2013
    1
    The songs are generic and very un-inspired, West has fallen off, every single song sounds like a filler, it seems as if he was just bored and decided to get in the studio. There isn't any melodies, drum patterns. This is not music at all. I do not recommend this album, Buy it at your own risk.
  86. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This is truly a work of art that needs multiple listens to fully appreciate it for what it is. Yeezus is a huge creative chance and the only guy who could pull it off with such perfection is Kanye West. Yeezus isn't the Hip-Hop album out on June 18th, but it is the best album.
  87. Jun 21, 2013
    5
    With all the hype surrounding "Yeezus," the album is only a production achievement. Reminiscent to "808s & Heartbreak," Kanye provides his auto-tune with very heavy, industrial hip-hop beats. The result is an album that most casual listeners will dislike, save a few songs ("Blood on the Leaves," "Bound 2"). Otherwise, heavy clipping is apparent and the synth uncomfortable-sounding.With all the hype surrounding "Yeezus," the album is only a production achievement. Reminiscent to "808s & Heartbreak," Kanye provides his auto-tune with very heavy, industrial hip-hop beats. The result is an album that most casual listeners will dislike, save a few songs ("Blood on the Leaves," "Bound 2"). Otherwise, heavy clipping is apparent and the synth uncomfortable-sounding. Lyricism is sub-par at best, only touching on some issues of race while other times, Kanye delivers punchlines similar to Lil Wayne. If this album were produced by anyone else, it would be considered not worthwhile at all. Because it is Kanye, though, he is given credit for his foray into industrial hip-hop, albeit not much. Expand
  88. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    first listen i was heavily disappointed, but having faith in Kanye I listened again and it sounded much better. With every listen the record grew on me as I discovered new layers to it, and it once again shows that Kanye is the most innovative artist out right now in pulling this off.
  89. Jul 15, 2013
    3
    Kanye West is a lyrical genius. He showed it on this one. My favorite song on this whole album was "Hold My Liquor" with Cheif Keef. It's pretty bad for THAT to be the best song. "Bound 2" was just annoying, the beat was just weird with the voice in the back round. I disliked this album ALOT.
  90. Mar 3, 2014
    1
    Painful to listen to. It's been out for a while but i still struggle to see why it even exists. I've never been a big fan of Kanye West and this album does nothing that even makes me consider caring about what he does. Everything about this album, from the promotion to the production was awful. Horrible album. One okay song but that's about it.
  91. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus is captivating, exhilarating and mind blowing at the same time. Every song has it's own entity and it pushes new boundaries for hip hop and music as a whole. If Kanye would put out a single from the album, Blood on the leaves would be the perfect single coming from this diverse 10 track disc.
  92. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    The first side of YEEZUS is bold and to the point. The production is great and Kanye delivers his lines with passion. "On Sight", "Black Skinhead" and "New Slaves" rank among the best tracks Kanye has delivered. On the second side of the album the pace slows down and some of the songs (notably "I'm In It") are forgettable with their stale synthesizer beats and autotune'd vocals. Had theThe first side of YEEZUS is bold and to the point. The production is great and Kanye delivers his lines with passion. "On Sight", "Black Skinhead" and "New Slaves" rank among the best tracks Kanye has delivered. On the second side of the album the pace slows down and some of the songs (notably "I'm In It") are forgettable with their stale synthesizer beats and autotune'd vocals. Had the album been a passionate percussion-heavy punk rap barrage all the way through, we'd be listening to a classic. Now it seems half-assed and hurried. Expand
  93. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    Great album, took me a few plays to appreciate it, but worth while. Lyrically I felt it lacked a touch which is why I wouldn't give it a full 10. xxxx
  94. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    This album is pretty disappointing. Nothing bold or creative about it. It drones on for the first half of the album, has a couple of average songs, then sputters against towards the end. I think he has too much going on in his life to put out a great album atm. Hopefully future efforts will be better, because this was disappointing.
  95. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    YEEZUS, is the album's name. Kanye feels like a God, and can do whatever the hell he wants, even if it's sacrificing some great lyricism heard on MBDTF for a lot of braggadocios, dick in your mouth, stupid punch lines. We've heard Kanye spit those kind of lines before, recently on Watch The Throne and Cruel Summer, so to me lyrically, this album feels like a recovery from the top 40YEEZUS, is the album's name. Kanye feels like a God, and can do whatever the hell he wants, even if it's sacrificing some great lyricism heard on MBDTF for a lot of braggadocios, dick in your mouth, stupid punch lines. We've heard Kanye spit those kind of lines before, recently on Watch The Throne and Cruel Summer, so to me lyrically, this album feels like a recovery from the top 40 pop/rap sound he's been putting out.
    So if you're looking for that MBDTF Kanye, or even College Dropout/Late Registration Kanye, just listen to Black Skinheads, New Slaves, and Bound2.
    BUT, if you don't mind hearing some really ambitious, dark, hard-hitting production bang on your whip, drowning the lazy lyricism and hooks, well you're in for a ride.

    Pros

    . Kanye's most ambitious production to date, brings industrial music out to the open. Some really dark sounds. Saving grace.
    . Kanye's aggressiveness comes even harder on this album.

    Cons

    . Lazy lyricism. 2Chainz inspired punclines, dick inspired hooks haha.

    Recommended Tracks: Black Skinheads, I Am A God, New Slaves, I'm In It, Guilt Trip, Bound2
    Expand
  96. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye tries to do something different with each of his albums. His last solo album, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, is a masterpiece. I don't think he'd be able to create an album just as good as MBDTF just yet. However, Yeezus is definitely welcomed and a fresh listen. It's different, experimental, and wild. The production is phenomenal and the lyrics always have those hidden meaningsKanye tries to do something different with each of his albums. His last solo album, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, is a masterpiece. I don't think he'd be able to create an album just as good as MBDTF just yet. However, Yeezus is definitely welcomed and a fresh listen. It's different, experimental, and wild. The production is phenomenal and the lyrics always have those hidden meanings you gotta search for, just like any other Kanye album. The album starts off strong with colab productions between Kanye and Daft Punk. The final track, Bound 2, is an ode to his old style (College Dropout/Late Registration) with some new spice, and is a great ending to the total 40 minutes this album will give you.

    Of course, this album isn't for everyone. It's darker than anything he's put out before. My first listen, I didn't feel the album. But now, after listening to it much more, I can definitely saw this album is worthy of a 9. People who don't like this album are just scared of experimentation and change.
    Expand
  97. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    I've been listening to music from different generation 60's 70's 80's 90's and this generation no album made me this speechless this i by far the best album this year and one of my favorite albums of all time This album is not for everybody but you should give it a listen to see if it's for you
  98. Jun 27, 2013
    4
    Initially this album sounds amazing. The minimal production, the intensity it's a giant middle finger.
    I loved Black Skinheads and New Slaves. However, aside from those tunes you're mostly going to find lyrics about Kanye's dick and how he likes to put it places.
    The lyrical content is severely lacking. This is a nasty record that could use some more soul, or at least something to say.
  99. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Sonically, this is a great departure for West, and it's pretty exciting. But thematically, this is absolutely nothing new, for him or hip-hop/rap. But you can't just have a good album with just music alone, and unfortunately his lyricism and tone just completely destroy this album could have had. Maybe I am being harsh with a zero, but I guess hyped destroyed it as well. I was expectingSonically, this is a great departure for West, and it's pretty exciting. But thematically, this is absolutely nothing new, for him or hip-hop/rap. But you can't just have a good album with just music alone, and unfortunately his lyricism and tone just completely destroy this album could have had. Maybe I am being harsh with a zero, but I guess hyped destroyed it as well. I was expecting something great with all the raving from everybody, but with the expectations set before me this album was pretty underwhelming. I agree with a user who said this earlier. A lot of the praise for Kanye simply comes from him being Kanye, not that he actually does anything good or not. And sadly, this time he did not. Expand
  100. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    If there's one thing you can expect from Kanye West, it's that you never know what to expect from Kanye West. Yeezus is darker and more twisted than his last fantasy that had us all screaming masterpiece, and after a few listens through this album, you'll be thinking the same thing.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    50
    His concerns are serious--consumerism, race, fame, relationships--but he rarely addresses them with the craft or focus they deserve. [Sep 2013, p.66]
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Contradiction incarnate, Yeezus is Kanye's most Kanyeish LP yet. [Sep 2013, p.103]
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    Nasty, brutish, short, and wholly compelling, Yeezus begs only one question: where next? [Sep 2013, p.89]