Yeezus - Kanye West
Yeezus Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Chief Keef, Daft Punk, Frank Ocean, Kid Cudi, King L, Rick Rubin, RZA, and Justin Vernon are some of the producers and artists the rapper worked with on his sixth solo release influenced by such genres as industrial, new wave, and Chicago house music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. 100
    Yeezus is the complete affirmation of an artist willing to try new endeavors and wholeheartedly nail it.
  2. 100
    Kanye West doesn’t give the listener a second to realize the album is more a masterly response to a masterpiece than a masterpiece itself. With one sweep of the hand, West brushes away expectations. And then he sticks you squarely across the face
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    Yeezus is a divisive album, one that contains some of West’s most inspired samples, collaborations, and racial observations to date while at times being insufferably misogynistic and confoundingly lyrically lazy.
  4. 80
    It’s not quite godlike, but Yeezus certainly feels like it was created by a higher power.
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    80
    With Yeezus clocking in at a short 40 minutes, Kanye achieves his goal of creating a stripped-down, minimalist project; there’s nothing extra or out of place here. More importantly, Kanye makes it abundantly clear that he’s still got a lot to say, and a lot of new ways to say it.
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    72
    It’s a beautiful blast of humanity on an album--a perplexing, fascinating, absorbing album--that often feels outside normal human grasp.
  7. Jun 21, 2013
    30
    Yeezus is ultimately most repugnant in how it heedlessly collapses all the value dichotomies that Kanye has mined so fruitfully over the years into one bottomless cesspool of narcissism.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 273
  1. Nov 16, 2014
    10
    Undoubtedly my initial reaction to Yeezus was pretty mixed. For someone who doesn't listen to industrial or grind music, the entire album'sUndoubtedly my initial reaction to Yeezus was pretty mixed. For someone who doesn't listen to industrial or grind music, the entire album's sound is alienating and offputting, especially in comparison to the artist's earlier albums. The lyrics are also repulsive and completely acerbic to say the least, and his obession with his dick seems to take center stage for lyrical themes.
    Despite this, mostly because of the last two songs on the album, Send it Up which is hilarious and Bound 2, my personal vote for most beautiful song of 2013 I found myself returning to the album and with each listen finding something else that was interesting or striking. Now it is my favorite album of the year.
    Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Yeezus. You either love it or you hate it. I love it. Blood on the leaves is permanently stuck in my brain; the last minute and a half ofYeezus. You either love it or you hate it. I love it. Blood on the leaves is permanently stuck in my brain; the last minute and a half of that song... Amazing work Mr. Kanye West. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Listening to this album is the equivalent of licking iggy azalea's clean, then shoving your tongue into the small hair follicle opening (orListening to this album is the equivalent of licking iggy azalea's clean, then shoving your tongue into the small hair follicle opening (or pore) of your favorite gay porn stars nipple. "I just talked to Jesus, He said what up Yeezus" The sheer imagery of Mr. West calling to the son of god on an iphone makes me cum sperm biscuits. If you give this album anything less than a 100, I will personaly shove my up your dick hole, trust me, this is pure pleasure, but from the reaction of your father, it wasn't for the reciever. Never the less, MBDTF was getting by a sheer excellence, but this, this is like getting by the raunchiest, most dirtiest you've ever gazed upon, truly a magnificant symmetrical veins, proportionate tip, shaft. I swear to god i have literally a massive turd and licked it and this album is still better. I also played this while i was stroking my massive shrivled up and even with the condom on I have had sperm fly into my eyes on few occasions) i lasted less than 10 seconds max, i also farted while i came if that alters anyones mind on wether this album is great or not. Thank you yeezus christ, for the greatest album i've ever heard. 100/100 Collapse
  4. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    It's hard to call Yeezus Kanye's most inventive work, because literally every album he has released was extremely creative in its own time.It's hard to call Yeezus Kanye's most inventive work, because literally every album he has released was extremely creative in its own time. What I can say is that Yeezus is the only rap album this year that I've heard where it genuinely caught me off-guard. There were multiple moments throughout the album where I said out loud "he can't do that... you can't do that, right?" But he did it. He would switch from one sample to the next, different tempo, no supporting beat, and then he would jump right back in to his flow with a new beat and sample behind himself.
    One of Kanye's trademarks is his repetitious use of sampling. Each song is incredibly unique, from the primal, angry satire of Kanye backed with a huge drumline and Tarzan-ish screaming in Black Skinhead, to the industrial, heavily distorted opener On Sight. Bound 2 and Hold My Liquor were standout tracks for originality, although Blood on the Leaves and New Slaves were more recognized and also very inventive in their own right.
    Nothing is in this album that doesn't belong in there, and that's a rare thing to say in the age of digital music recording. He went through ridiculous amounts of modifying, mixing, re-writing, and post-production over the course of this album, ultimately ending with the hiring of Rick Rubin the "reducer" less than three weeks before the album was due, to help over-see the final, drastic changes to the album.
    This album gets a 9.5, but I am going to round down to a 9 because there were some lyrical moments that were distastefully sexual and not even in a clever way. If that album were without the track I'm In It, I might round up to a 10. Still, Kanye's style and artisanship are still leagues ahead of most rappers in the game today, and this album deserves a listen from anyone who claims to be tired of the "same old same old."
    Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    Dark, visceral and intense. Kanye West's latest outing, though very self-indulgent and narcissistic and a little boring at times, is a hecticDark, visceral and intense. Kanye West's latest outing, though very self-indulgent and narcissistic and a little boring at times, is a hectic and engaging experience that is as bold as it is profane. Yeezus is a memorising and artistic album that, even though it isn't as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, will probably divide his fans but it is at least a brave and powerful step for the artist. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    5
    Yeezus is the sixth solo studio album from Chicago hip-hop artist Kanye West. He has had his fair share of up's, (My Beautiful Dark TwistedYeezus is the sixth solo studio album from Chicago hip-hop artist Kanye West. He has had his fair share of up's, (My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Late Registration), and down's, (808's and Heartbreak, Cruel Summer). Yeezus has to fall into the second category with the downs.

    When I first saw the track listing, I thought it was a joke. There were few features and none of them looked good on paper. Specifically I'm talking about the Chief Keef and King L features. Why on Earth did Kanye get these artists on his album, when he can obtain any feature he wants? Now I know a lot of people will argue that it's because they originated in Chicago like Kanye. Well then why didn't he get Lupe Fiasco, Common, or even Chance the Rapper? Was it because "Touch the Sky" and "Don't Stop", which both feature Fiasco were horrible, (that was complete sarcasm). I mean Kanye has already done a song with Chief Keef, and made Keef's song way more popular than it was. Chief Keef then goes on to say that Kanye didn't help him get popular at all. So pretty much Chief Keef says screw you and you decide to work with him. Brilliant.

    As I was saying the features don't add anything at all. I didn't even know that Frank Ocean was on "New Slaves". Chief Keef's feature is horrendous and full of auto-tune which sounds horrible. Kid Cudi does better than he normally does, but that isn't saying much. King Louie is one of the best features on the album, and if that isn't an indication that the features are weak, I don't know what is. Justin Vernon is alright, but he doesn't have the same presence that he did on MBDTF.

    The beats are different and very electronic. I don't hate them, they are kind of enjoyable. Once again though, I prefer more soulful production that Kanye has done. That probably explains why I love the last track on this album "Bound 2". Black Skinhead's beat is fantastic and makes me want to punch a wall. All of the beats provided from Daft Punk are fantastic except for parts on "On Sight". The beat for his verses are too annoying and repetitive. The hook was pretty good though. I didn't like two beats in particular though. The beat for "Guilt Trip" just sounds very generic, and the beat on "Send It Up" gets annoying after awhile. "Guilt Trip" samples "Blocka" by Pusha T, and is a horrible song to sample. It didn't even come close to giving me the same thrill that a song like "Power" did, which sampled King Crimson.

    Lyrics are just irrelevant here for the most part. Lines like "Black dick all in your spouse again", "But I gotta put my dick in her mouth", and "eating Asian p*ssy all I need was sweet and sour sauce" all sound like Lil Wayne lyrics and a line like "get this b*tch shaking like Parkinson's" sounds like a Tyler the Creator punch line used for shock value. Why Kanye steps down to this level of lyricism is beyond me. A song which I love "Blood on the Leaves" still gets complaints from me. It has auto-tune in the beginning which sounds horrible. While using auto-tune he is rapping about Molly. Okay Trinidad West. I have read that Kanye had to rush and write two songs in a day or two and it clearly shows with sloppy lyrics. I bet that the lyrics on "I Am A God" was one of those songs. "I just talked to Jesus. He said what up Yeezus." How weak is that? A song like "I'm in it" is just filled with sexual imagery. Typically I would have a problem with this, but Kanye has proven he can make a song like this with "Hell of a Life". Unfortunately, "I'm in It" just sounds like a generic rap song that will be forgotten about, if it is even remembered in the first place.

    It's safe to say that I am a huge Kanye fan. He is one of my favorite hip-hop artists ever, but when he puts out a weak product I have to call him out for the weak effort. "Cruel Summer" and "Yeezus" are two of the weakest projects that Kanye has worked on. Kim Kardashian needs to stop consuming Kanye's life. Maybe Kanye should go back to dating Amber Rose, (sorry Wiz).
    Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2015
    0
    Just trash period. Listen to the actual album its really trash, it only has two hit songs which include bound 2 and blood on the leaves. ItJust trash period. Listen to the actual album its really trash, it only has two hit songs which include bound 2 and blood on the leaves. It has a really annoying buzzing sound and just terrible. Expand

See all 273 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.