Yeezus

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Yeezus Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1245 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Chief Keef, Daft Punk, Frank Ocean, Kid Cudi, King L, Rick Rubin, RZA, and Justin Vernon are some of the producers and artists the rapper worked with on his sixth solo release influenced by such genres as industrial, new wave, and Chicago house music.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. 100
    Yeezus is the complete affirmation of an artist willing to try new endeavors and wholeheartedly nail it.
  2. 100
    Kanye West doesn’t give the listener a second to realize the album is more a masterly response to a masterpiece than a masterpiece itself. With one sweep of the hand, West brushes away expectations. And then he sticks you squarely across the face
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    Yeezus is a divisive album, one that contains some of West’s most inspired samples, collaborations, and racial observations to date while at times being insufferably misogynistic and confoundingly lyrically lazy.
  4. 80
    It’s not quite godlike, but Yeezus certainly feels like it was created by a higher power.
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    80
    With Yeezus clocking in at a short 40 minutes, Kanye achieves his goal of creating a stripped-down, minimalist project; there’s nothing extra or out of place here. More importantly, Kanye makes it abundantly clear that he’s still got a lot to say, and a lot of new ways to say it.
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    72
    It’s a beautiful blast of humanity on an album--a perplexing, fascinating, absorbing album--that often feels outside normal human grasp.
  7. Jun 21, 2013
    30
    Yeezus is ultimately most repugnant in how it heedlessly collapses all the value dichotomies that Kanye has mined so fruitfully over the years into one bottomless cesspool of narcissism.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 290
  1. Apr 17, 2015
    10
    Once again Kanye To The, Chi town god, delivers again. Kanye is the greatest artist on the planet right now, no debate. Yeezus is aOnce again Kanye To The, Chi town god, delivers again. Kanye is the greatest artist on the planet right now, no debate. Yeezus is a masterpiece about his struggles being accepted. Kanye touches on very serious topics while keeping humorous. Incredible beats and harsh notes make this album special, only Kanye would try something like this and it works to perfection. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    An incredible experimental rap album. Kanye West is the most innovative rapper around and never fails to deliver quality music while changingAn incredible experimental rap album. Kanye West is the most innovative rapper around and never fails to deliver quality music while changing the genre for the better. Some people dislike West because of his so-called "arrogant" personality, but he really isn't. West speaks his mind and says what he feels is right. Furthermore, an artist's personality should not affect your opinion of music, which has always been top notch. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Listening to this album is the equivalent of licking iggy azalea's clean, then shoving your tongue into the small hair follicle opening (orListening to this album is the equivalent of licking iggy azalea's clean, then shoving your tongue into the small hair follicle opening (or pore) of your favorite gay porn stars nipple. "I just talked to Jesus, He said what up Yeezus" The sheer imagery of Mr. West calling to the son of god on an iphone makes me cum sperm biscuits. If you give this album anything less than a 100, I will personaly shove my up your dick hole, trust me, this is pure pleasure, but from the reaction of your father, it wasn't for the reciever. Never the less, MBDTF was getting by a sheer excellence, but this, this is like getting by the raunchiest, most dirtiest you've ever gazed upon, truly a magnificant symmetrical veins, proportionate tip, shaft. I swear to god i have literally a massive turd and licked it and this album is still better. I also played this while i was stroking my massive shrivled up and even with the condom on I have had sperm fly into my eyes on few occasions) i lasted less than 10 seconds max, i also farted while i came if that alters anyones mind on wether this album is great or not. Thank you yeezus christ, for the greatest album i've ever heard. 100/100 Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    From the moment one hits play on Kanye West's sixth studio album, Yeezus, strange radio waves begin to make their way through the listeners'From the moment one hits play on Kanye West's sixth studio album, Yeezus, strange radio waves begin to make their way through the listeners' eardrum and into the cerebellum. The sounds are immediately abrasive before becoming agreeable, immediately deprogramming any preconceived notion that this is a typical rap album. It is here most hearers will be lost. Listeners, however, are in for quite the ride, one that will forever change hip hop as we know it.

    I think now is a good time to inform the reader I was of the opinion that 808s and Heartbreaks was "garbage Kanye" and The College Dropout was "the real Kanye", important to note. This was a skeptic's ear to Yeezus.

    I imagine executive producer and hip hop pioneer Rick Rubin smiling a wry smile about an album like Yeezus years before it was created. "What if the most respected electronic producers worked with one of the biggest hip hop artists in the industry to create a multi-collaborative, minimalist album?". The idea was probably quickly brushed away by rational thoughts like "Nah. No one has the balls nor vision for that" or "Who the hell would do that?"

    Enter Yeezus. Sonically, it is 40+ minutes of caution to the wind. The Chicago ties are well documented, the acid house and industrial genre influence apparent. This has been done before in hip hop, and in fact, it could be argued this is a commercial adaptation of previous Saul Williams-Trent Reznor collaborations. Yeezus separates itself in the nuances, though. The first sample on the album comes at the 1:17 mark and says "He'll give us what we need, may not be what we want". This is a fine tuned monster we're dealing with; an album that assumes a certain intelligence from its audience and does not apologize to those who do not understand

    Lyrically, this is quintessential Kanye. The punch lines are abundant and raunchy, and making a welcome return are socially conscious lines about the prison industrial complex, corporate control and modern slavery. And yes, there is such a thing. Like crack, both the lines and drum patterns have been boiled down a highly flammable essence. At its core, its just beats and rhymes. This sole fact keeps it in the hip hop realm, somewhere, years away from being accepted.

    The album triumphs most when any confining parameters are shed. Indeed, the very idea of God is shaken within the confines of Yeezus. There is perhaps no better example on the album than "Blood on the Leaves", a song about the woe of an unwilling father which features a sample from Nina Simone's cover of Strange Fruit. On paper is seems clever if not downright odd to sample a song about lynchings on a song about unwelcome borne fruit. It is executed to near perfection, with TNGHT supplied arrangement reaching horn-apexed crescendos as Simone exclaims "black bodies swingin in the summer breeze".

    Many were(and are) caught up in the proclamation that Kanye West "is a god". If that is the case, let them forever stay in ignorance of the Nation of the Five Percenters. But I digress. The son of a Black Panther, Mr. West is well versed in his heritage, or rather, the dehumanization of it. Said West of the tittle of this project, "West was my slave name. Yeezus is my god name." Let us also gloss over the beliefs held by the major four religions and speak nothing of destiny in accordance with free will in godmind. This is but an album review. The track, however, again plays with an idea often attributed to Kanye. How egotiscal he must be, unless of course, he is serious. Any Youtube researcher can tell you West is a part of the globalist elite, the Illuminati, and the demonic yelling at the end of the track is only but further proof of devil worship. Indeed he tells us on Black Skinhead "I think I'm possessed, it's an omen". Whether you believe it to be literal or liberal, is your choice.

    West finally comprises on the last track, the sample driven Bound 2. To me, it sticks out like a sore thumb and proves to be one of the worst on the album. Worst being a relative term, of course. It feels out of place, and instead of a traditional Kanye chop, its done in a looped style, which makes the track feel a bit busy and un-involved. When considered in the body of work (the body of Yeezus, if you will), its almost a statement track. Just because its what you might want to hear from Kanye doesn't mean its good, and just because Yeezus isn't necessarily what you want to hear from Kanye doesn't mean it isn't great.

    This album will change the way hip hop is accepted in the years to come. I firmly hold that Yeezus will have Revolver like influence in the hip hop community and open doors both to new artists and different collaborates alike. Ever the lane maker, Kanye West has once again opened the door for a new era of artist. Yeezus is probably not the best work of this multiple Grammy award winner, but it will be his most influential, and for that, I applaud him.
    Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    Kanye has succeeded in creating a sonically engaging album that stands out from all his previous efforts. The lyrics could have been better inKanye has succeeded in creating a sonically engaging album that stands out from all his previous efforts. The lyrics could have been better in some spots, for sure, but I think in terms of production this is excellent. It's totally different from anything he's ever done, but still feels very much like Kanye. Got a slight Death Grips vibe from it, but that might just be me. Paranoia and darkness are some of the more obvious themes. Not as good overall as MBDTF, for sure, but it's pretty damn good. Can't wait to see what comes next from the self-proclaimed god of hip-hop, Yeezus.

    FAVE TRACKS: Black Skinhead, New Slaves, Blood On the Leaves
    LEAST FAVE: Guilt Trip
    Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2013
    5
    Following his highly successful collaboration album with Jay-Z ('Watch the Throne'), rapper Kanye West is back with what will most likely beFollowing his highly successful collaboration album with Jay-Z ('Watch the Throne'), rapper Kanye West is back with what will most likely be the most polarizing album of 2013. The original reception for this album ranged wildly from hailing it as the greatest rap album of all time, to dismissing it as the worst record Kanye has ever put out. Unfortunately, I find it hard to stray away from the latter.

    The overly noisy and cacophonous production is just one of the things that hurts 'Yeezus'. On the majority of these tracks, it sounds like Kanye is just being different and loud for the sake of being different and loud, and not to reach a deeper musical meaning or theme. Sporadic outbursts of crazy randomness are all over the production of this LP, which in the end to me seem pretty damn uninspired. With the exception of a few tracks (see "Black Skinhead" and "New Slaves"), a no point is Kanye able to generate any of kind of groove rhythm, melody, or really any real musical substance whatsoever. Perhaps the highlight of the album production-wise is the closer "Bound 2", which really sounds like a bonus track from Kanye's previous solo album, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy'.

    Although I've never been a huge fan of Kanye's lyrics and flow, this album even perhaps reaches a new low. With again the exception of a few tracks, almost practically every song on 'Yeezus' is composed of cheap, egotistical, and overall pretty stupid lyricism. If after 'Watch the Throne' you thought it was impossible for Kanye to be even more eccentric, you thought wrong (see 'I Am a God' lol). 'New Slaves' is one of the few songs on this album that contains a relevant lyrics and themes.

    Overall, the only reason why this album is rated as a 5/10 is thanks to the presence of a few golden tracks, that don't feature annoyingly noisy production or stupid lyrics. And don't get me started on the auto tune.

    STANDOUT TRACKS:
    'New Slaves'
    'Black Skinhead'
    'Bound 2'
    Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2016
    0
    Dull, boring and pathetic and that's just Kanye. This is quite possibly one of the worst excuses for an album though to be fair none of hisDull, boring and pathetic and that's just Kanye. This is quite possibly one of the worst excuses for an album though to be fair none of his albums are awful so this is no surprise. Expand

See all 290 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.