Yeezus - Kanye West
Yeezus Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1024 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Chief Keef, Daft Punk, Frank Ocean, Kid Cudi, King L, Rick Rubin, RZA, and Justin Vernon are some of the producers and artists the rapper worked with on his sixth solo release influenced by such genres as industrial, new wave, and Chicago house music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. 100
    Yeezus is the complete affirmation of an artist willing to try new endeavors and wholeheartedly nail it.
  2. 100
    Kanye West doesn’t give the listener a second to realize the album is more a masterly response to a masterpiece than a masterpiece itself. With one sweep of the hand, West brushes away expectations. And then he sticks you squarely across the face
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    Yeezus is a divisive album, one that contains some of West’s most inspired samples, collaborations, and racial observations to date while at times being insufferably misogynistic and confoundingly lyrically lazy.
  4. 80
    It’s not quite godlike, but Yeezus certainly feels like it was created by a higher power.
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    80
    With Yeezus clocking in at a short 40 minutes, Kanye achieves his goal of creating a stripped-down, minimalist project; there’s nothing extra or out of place here. More importantly, Kanye makes it abundantly clear that he’s still got a lot to say, and a lot of new ways to say it.
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    72
    It’s a beautiful blast of humanity on an album--a perplexing, fascinating, absorbing album--that often feels outside normal human grasp.
  7. Jun 21, 2013
    30
    Yeezus is ultimately most repugnant in how it heedlessly collapses all the value dichotomies that Kanye has mined so fruitfully over the years into one bottomless cesspool of narcissism.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 262
  1. Dec 15, 2014
    10
    This album is perfect production is remarkably excellent. The songs and personality led him to become a "Yeezus" of music although it is tooThis album is perfect production is remarkably excellent. The songs and personality led him to become a "Yeezus" of music although it is too egocentric. I think his selfishness led him to create this perfect album. The best are: "Black Skinhead", "I Am a God", "Bound 2", "Blood On The Leaves". Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Ok everyone, if you don't like Yeezus, it's either you have a hatred for Kanye, you didn't give it a chance, or you want another collegeOk everyone, if you don't like Yeezus, it's either you have a hatred for Kanye, you didn't give it a chance, or you want another college dropout album. Personally I think that this album is great not only for the incredible amount of time Kanye puts in, and not for the unmistakable genius throughout the entire album. This album also proves that Kanye can make any style of music. he had gone from soul to pop to straight up rap to industrial. He has made a great album in every genre of rap. This album is an easy 10, especially when you consider the risk he took in creating a whole new style. He could have easily made another fantastic album like My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, but instead, he did his own thing and created my personal favorite album of all time. By the way, the purpose of that American Psycho video was to show that I am a god is not a song about how amazing Kanye is, it's about him going crazy and convincing himself that he is god. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Listening to this album is the equivalent of licking iggy azalea's clean, then shoving your tongue into the small hair follicle opening (orListening to this album is the equivalent of licking iggy azalea's clean, then shoving your tongue into the small hair follicle opening (or pore) of your favorite gay porn stars nipple. "I just talked to Jesus, He said what up Yeezus" The sheer imagery of Mr. West calling to the son of god on an iphone makes me cum sperm biscuits. If you give this album anything less than a 100, I will personaly shove my up your dick hole, trust me, this is pure pleasure, but from the reaction of your father, it wasn't for the reciever. Never the less, MBDTF was getting by a sheer excellence, but this, this is like getting by the raunchiest, most dirtiest you've ever gazed upon, truly a magnificant symmetrical veins, proportionate tip, shaft. I swear to god i have literally a massive turd and licked it and this album is still better. I also played this while i was stroking my massive shrivled up and even with the condom on I have had sperm fly into my eyes on few occasions) i lasted less than 10 seconds max, i also farted while i came if that alters anyones mind on wether this album is great or not. Thank you yeezus christ, for the greatest album i've ever heard. 100/100 Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    The album is an angry, muddled, ignorant, slapped-together heap of vulgar expression that works better than anyone else in music could'veThe album is an angry, muddled, ignorant, slapped-together heap of vulgar expression that works better than anyone else in music could've done. It's an album so angrily sure of itself it'll have you convinced that a man worth 100 million dollars faces oppression comparable to that of a slave. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    West's new album still suffers from dumbfounded lyrics and pretentious segments, but has a lot of excellent collaborators (such as Frank OceanWest's new album still suffers from dumbfounded lyrics and pretentious segments, but has a lot of excellent collaborators (such as Frank Ocean and Daft Punk) and simplistic but masterful beats. Most of the songs are very distinctive and show that Kanye is back in the game. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2013
    5
    Following his highly successful collaboration album with Jay-Z ('Watch the Throne'), rapper Kanye West is back with what will most likely beFollowing his highly successful collaboration album with Jay-Z ('Watch the Throne'), rapper Kanye West is back with what will most likely be the most polarizing album of 2013. The original reception for this album ranged wildly from hailing it as the greatest rap album of all time, to dismissing it as the worst record Kanye has ever put out. Unfortunately, I find it hard to stray away from the latter.

    The overly noisy and cacophonous production is just one of the things that hurts 'Yeezus'. On the majority of these tracks, it sounds like Kanye is just being different and loud for the sake of being different and loud, and not to reach a deeper musical meaning or theme. Sporadic outbursts of crazy randomness are all over the production of this LP, which in the end to me seem pretty damn uninspired. With the exception of a few tracks (see "Black Skinhead" and "New Slaves"), a no point is Kanye able to generate any of kind of groove rhythm, melody, or really any real musical substance whatsoever. Perhaps the highlight of the album production-wise is the closer "Bound 2", which really sounds like a bonus track from Kanye's previous solo album, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy'.

    Although I've never been a huge fan of Kanye's lyrics and flow, this album even perhaps reaches a new low. With again the exception of a few tracks, almost practically every song on 'Yeezus' is composed of cheap, egotistical, and overall pretty stupid lyricism. If after 'Watch the Throne' you thought it was impossible for Kanye to be even more eccentric, you thought wrong (see 'I Am a God' lol). 'New Slaves' is one of the few songs on this album that contains a relevant lyrics and themes.

    Overall, the only reason why this album is rated as a 5/10 is thanks to the presence of a few golden tracks, that don't feature annoyingly noisy production or stupid lyrics. And don't get me started on the auto tune.

    STANDOUT TRACKS:
    'New Slaves'
    'Black Skinhead'
    'Bound 2'
    Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    This is a weed plate...Something I'd use to break buds on...The only people who would find this album "revolutionary" are people who aren'tThis is a weed plate...Something I'd use to break buds on...The only people who would find this album "revolutionary" are people who aren't familiar with anything outside of top 40...He's biting styles left and right, but his take on other genres is sub-par to put it nicely...and the lyrics...bwahaha!...Kanye is the type of guy that would have a baby with Kim Kardashian...enough said Expand

See all 262 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.