Yellow & Green - Baroness
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    100
    They deliver 18 tracks of timeless, gimmick-free and inventive rock. [14 Jul 2012, p.52]
  2. 90
    The band resorts to an 18-set record simply because everything is indisputably necessary and furthermore, solid gold.
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    90
    This is an album of atmosphere, huge highs, crushing lows, melodies, crescendos and something entirely new that still sounds natural. Stunning.
  4. Jul 16, 2012
    90
    Sure it comes with its imperfections, but it's this humanity that makes music so life affirming. Like all great rock bands that have gone before them-allow Baroness the opportunity to change your life. They just might succeed in doing so.
  5. Jul 16, 2012
    90
    On Yellow & Green, he [John Baizley] finds the confines of metal itself too limiting; so Baroness dive, dive, dive, dive into '90s commercial alternative harder than a sackful of Yucks and come out smarter and weirder and better than any metal band this year.
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    90
    This nearly flawless collection is simply the next step in the Baroness saga, and it's a beautiful one.
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    85
    Each disc stands on its own as a powerful document; together, they genuinely earn the word "epic.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    I love Red album and Blue record. New stuff is different, but as good as older records. Best songs: Take my bones away, Psalms Alive, The Line Between
  2. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This album took me a few listens, because I was expecting some more of the same Baroness that I know and love. Overall, it is a very mellow record for them. Baizley has certainly cleaned up the vocals, and the backing vocals stand out a lot more. There are some very nice instrumental moments, some great heavy moments, but overall it is a very enjoyable listen. In a year where I've been let down by a lot of albums that I've been looking forward to, this does not disappoint. Just buy it, crank it up, and enjoy the ride. Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    I am absurdly pleased with this album. The songs flow together beautifully and balance the dynamics of heavy and melodic to perfection. Only a fool would pigeon hole this band as metal after the metamorphosis that was Red and Blue. They are musicians that are evolving as they learn about themselves, the world, and what it means to grow. They are far from stale and have not gone soft. They have simply taken the next step too many musicians these days are afraid to make. Full Review »