Yellow & Green - Baroness
Yellow & Green Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third studio full-length release from the hard rock/metal band from Virginia was produced by John Congleton.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    90
    This nearly flawless collection is simply the next step in the Baroness saga, and it's a beautiful one.
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    90
    This is an album of atmosphere, huge highs, crushing lows, melodies, crescendos and something entirely new that still sounds natural. Stunning.
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Most songs keep to a more humble pace, unfurling slowly and often with surprising beauty. [Aug 2012, p.86]
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    72
    Yellow & Green casts off the shackles of expectation while simultaneously taking a measured step in the direction of accessibility.
  5. Jul 23, 2012
    70
    What is perhaps this record's greatest strength: Baroness has crafted an epic collection of heavy music with two distinct spheres: the hard-hitting paranoia of Yellow, and the more organic, earthiness of Green.
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    40
    Throughout this often incoherent hodgepodge of tunes, Baroness has mostly abandoned the contrast that made its previous records work so well.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very bold direction for the band, but one I absolutely adore. Yellow begins with a slow, instrumental medley, followed by the major single Take My Bones Away, which kicks you onto the floor with it's power. Cocainium starts mellow but turns into one of the grooviest things you've ever heard. Yellow ends with Eula, a 7 minute affair of bliss, almost making you want to cry at the end. Green starts off with the powerful Green Theme and Board up the House, before dissolving into pure beauty on MTNS., Foolsong, Collapse and Psalms Alive. Stretchmaker fuzes in country elements (don't scream just yet, it sounds amazing). The Line Between gives one last kick before If I Forget Thee, Lowcountry seals off the 75 minute double album with a whisper. Definitely in my top 10 albums of all time. Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    I am absurdly pleased with this album. The songs flow together beautifully and balance the dynamics of heavy and melodic to perfection. Only a fool would pigeon hole this band as metal after the metamorphosis that was Red and Blue. They are musicians that are evolving as they learn about themselves, the world, and what it means to grow. They are far from stale and have not gone soft. They have simply taken the next step too many musicians these days are afraid to make. Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This album took me a few listens, because I was expecting some more of the same Baroness that I know and love. Overall, it is a very mellow record for them. Baizley has certainly cleaned up the vocals, and the backing vocals stand out a lot more. There are some very nice instrumental moments, some great heavy moments, but overall it is a very enjoyable listen. In a year where I've been let down by a lot of albums that I've been looking forward to, this does not disappoint. Just buy it, crank it up, and enjoy the ride. Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    8
    All I can say is two albums for the price of one. While I only liked two songs on the Green Album I loved every song on the yellow album, making it another success in my opinion. If the two albums were released separately I'd have a different opinion but seeing as they coupled the two I really like the new album(s). Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2012
    6
    While this album will probably win more new fans than lose old ones, it no doubt lacks the "metal" appeal of Red and Blue. Somewhat bloated as a double album, one gets the feeling that there's a bit of filler watering down what could have been a much stronger single album. Compared to the vocal muscle and guitar madness on songs like "Isaak" and "Rays of Pinion," a song like "March to the Sea" sounds like Nickelback. And though I thought I'd never have to mention these two bands in the same sentence, I sadly just did. Baroness is still "good," but no longer "great." Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    This is by no means a bad album. In fact, it's quite an enjoyable listen. Above anything, I found it...simply....odd. There are many contrasting and/or conflicting ideas happening, often times within a single track. Baizley has gone many new places vocally, singing beautifully clean in some places, and nearing his trademark howl in others. Baroness' dueling guitars still remain prevalent and welcome, but they are often used in the strangest of places. Often times, it seems as if they were added just because the band felt obligated to add some pizzazz to an otherwise simple hard rock tune. Overall, the Yellow/Green formula works moderately well, but there are a few red flags flying at places down the road. Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2012
    2
    While this double album was easily the most anticipated release of this year, Yellow and Green fizzled like stale sprite.Some call this style progressive, mellow and other words that just mask what this album really is.
    It is a boring mediocre record from a great band, it reeks of filler, guidance of production and Nickelback influenced **** rock.I habe the double vinyl pre release and while the layout and artwork are supreme...
    That doesn't justify the total lack of rock inside said package.I am bothered by the fact that this polished turd of an album was ever considered a good idea from anyone in the Baroness camp. Maybe the other guys were too afraid to speak up in fear they would also be replaced? All in all its the greatest rock n roll swindle in quite some time.
    Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews