Yellow House

  • Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Sep 5, 2006
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 85
  2. Negative: 3 out of 85

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    I cannot imagine me without having this album. It had such an impact. The songs are all beautiful and come together to create a memorable experience. You can really appreciate a work of music when every song in the album is good and none are "fillers".
  2. alex
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    a unique and captivating album, one that for me came out of nowhere and within a week is now firmly in my top 3 of 2006 a must have album
  3. NC
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Amazing album........best of the year. Way better than the overated Bob Dylan album.
  4. MJ
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    While I think it is interesting to see how the critical averages weigh out on albums, by no means is it an inidcator of what is conisdered relevant or classic down the road. A lot critics simply miss the boat the first time around and this is a great example. This should average at least a 80 or up and is a more outstanding album on repeated listens then most of the critical top ten.
  5. KevinC
    Oct 3, 2006
    9
    I was going to make the same point that Rob G made before I saw his comment, but seriously, what the fuck does Mojo magazine know about anything that isn't Paul McCartney? They had to go and bring down the metascore.
  6. GuyH
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    Best listened to from start to finish for full effect - the songs flow into each other perfectly. The mix of minimal acoustic sounds and epic flourishes is seamless. On A Neck and Colorado are current favourites.
  7. V
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    Yellow House deserves a better overall critic score. This album is one of the best to come out this year. It's one of those most thoughtful, carefully composed, and strikingly beautiful albums I've ever listened to.
  8. michael
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    not really into this type of genre but, this album is definetly worth listening to. stand out tracks 'Central and Remote' and 'Colorado' for me, superb
  9. arik
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    amazing album
  10. natsukoh
    Sep 6, 2006
    9
    this is a beauftiful record!!! I can't wait to see them on tour with TVOTR!
  11. heyoyayo
    Sep 7, 2006
    8
    not as good as horn of plenty
  12. alexh
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    a truly great record.
  13. RB
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    'Yellow House' is one of my favorites of the year! I haven't heard the Dylan yet (might pick that up this weekend). It is hard to imagine anything more sweeping, lovely, and emotional as this....
  14. JesseY
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    Enchanting. Every moment of this album is beautiful.
  15. daveg
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    If this isn't 2006's best album, it is definetly close. I haven't heard better production anywhere. LISTEN TO THIS
  16. Alexandra
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    There really aren't enough good things I could say about this album. Hauntingly beautiful. "Knife" is one of the most powerful songs I've heard in some time. Critics really underrated this one.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums this year. "Colorado" and "Lullabye" are simply amazing. I don't know how Mojo could give it such a low rating...this album should be above 80 for sure.
  18. MikeyMagic
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    Album of the Year!
  19. BenW
    Sep 12, 2006
    9
    A masterpiece......"Knife" is song of the year to this point in time. 9/10
  20. ToddW
    Sep 27, 2006
    8
    Give these guys more and better studio time and they've got masterworks in them. This album is a harbinger of that direction, it's that good. (Sorry to confuse you again , Bimbo.) A fresh amalgam of many styles working on different levels, Grizzly Bear will never feel the warmth from our cultural hibernation, and "popular" music is thinner for it, but I'll gladly hike the Give these guys more and better studio time and they've got masterworks in them. This album is a harbinger of that direction, it's that good. (Sorry to confuse you again , Bimbo.) A fresh amalgam of many styles working on different levels, Grizzly Bear will never feel the warmth from our cultural hibernation, and "popular" music is thinner for it, but I'll gladly hike the rock-n-roll wilderness looking for another hearing. Expand
  21. StewartH
    Sep 6, 2006
    9
    Melodic, blissful, and a breath of fresh air!
  22. JeremyD
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Epic and sweeping Grizzly Bear's Yellow House is the best release of 2006 to date. Artistic virtuosity and listenability are present from the album's start to it's end. This album was obviously carefully crafted and it captures the beauty of all that is right with music. Get sucked into Grizzly Bear's world, you won't be the same afterwards. You definately will Epic and sweeping Grizzly Bear's Yellow House is the best release of 2006 to date. Artistic virtuosity and listenability are present from the album's start to it's end. This album was obviously carefully crafted and it captures the beauty of all that is right with music. Get sucked into Grizzly Bear's world, you won't be the same afterwards. You definately will NOT regret it. Collapse
  23. wilkesb
    Sep 7, 2006
    9
    I like it, can tell it'll grow on me too
  24. HaroldF
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    Wow, what a fantastic record!!!!! It gets a 10 from me.
  25. OtmS
    Sep 9, 2006
    9
    beautiful, ambitious, great sound, the right blend of experimentation and melody: worthwhile
  26. mirandah
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Yellow House is beautifully crafted & layered. Grizzly Bear captured an essence that is failing and fading...the simple lyrics stand out as honest and heartfelt. This is a great album.
  27. RG
    May 13, 2007
    8
    damn good album that flows brilliantly. there is this tension that their sound have that is about to explode but never does. arrangements just heighten the effect and those sparse drums become very special.
  28. YepaJ
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    I bought this album after seeing them life in BCN. I can't relate their music to anything I heard before: it's intriguing, detailed and beautiful.
  29. miked
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Upon first listen I was unsure about Yellow House, but the best albums are often those whose genius takes a while to appreciate. It is now one of my favorite albums ever. It has incredible staying power, and I find myself listening to it often and loving it more with each listen.
  30. seab
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    is it just me or does this album awesomely remind you of all the aforementioned artists plus the moody blues? i think it does and it's excellent, production is amazing!
  31. RobG
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    I think Mojo missed the boat on this one big time. 'Yellow House' is enchanting and beautiful and one of the records of the year.
  32. mleraux
    Sep 22, 2006
    8
    This reminds me of Genesis circa "Trick of the Tail" (1976). Some lovely midievil harmonic stuff happenning
  33. PhilipK
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    I don't know how some critics rated this below 70 (and I don't consider such ratings valid at all). This album is simply amazing: composition, musicianship, arrangement, effects. Everything is fantastic, and the songs, although each unique, fit nicely together as a cohesive unit. This album plays like a beautiful story.
  34. theweave
    Jan 15, 2009
    10
    I'd give this a 9.5 were that an option (just because I don't like to throw 10s around), but I'll round up because it's a travesty that this album has such a low score. Solid through and through, if not always brilliant, never worse than very good, and that's a very rare thing.
  35. Sep 19, 2012
    7
    Although it's very experimental, and very ambitious to an extent, I can't quite buy into this album as much as I wanted too. Grizzly Bear is a great psych-folk band and there are moments in this LP where I gasped at how impressive either the production was, or the emotional lyrics that linger in your head, but for every moment I enjoyed, there were moments where I found it to be very dull.Although it's very experimental, and very ambitious to an extent, I can't quite buy into this album as much as I wanted too. Grizzly Bear is a great psych-folk band and there are moments in this LP where I gasped at how impressive either the production was, or the emotional lyrics that linger in your head, but for every moment I enjoyed, there were moments where I found it to be very dull. Too many noises at once that drowns out the vocals and more importantly: the lyrics. All In All, Yellow House is a solid record, It's just a flawed one. C+ Expand
  36. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    Soft and soothing, and yet so powerful and moving, Yellow House is easily my favourite album this year. The imaginative lyrics take your thoughts away and leave you fantasizing about being lost in a some childhood memory; of walking around alone in the woods, watching a golden sun, set over picturesque rolling hills in the west. Of falling in love but leaping to conclusions too fast andSoft and soothing, and yet so powerful and moving, Yellow House is easily my favourite album this year. The imaginative lyrics take your thoughts away and leave you fantasizing about being lost in a some childhood memory; of walking around alone in the woods, watching a golden sun, set over picturesque rolling hills in the west. Of falling in love but leaping to conclusions too fast and then seeing that dream fade away like the last pieces of Droste's heavenly vocals. Of finding reality in your own hands; of learning to learn and loving love; of grabbing hold of your own beating heart.

    These 50 minutes will change every minute.
    Expand
  37. May 4, 2011
    9
    A masterpiece from begging to end, like a puzzle with every piece in it's right place. The band has improved as whole in songwriting, resulting in an over produced but peacefull album.
  38. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    This is a wildly creative album; I have never quite heard anything like it before. Every song transcends the typical verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus formula that is present in 99% of modern music, and yet somehow manages to sound familiar and accessible. This work of art has reinvigorated my love for music, and I highly recommend this to ANYONE looking for something unique.
  39. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    For me, this is a bit like a modern day version of Brian Wilson's Smile record. It's a bit meandering, it's experimental, there aren't too many traditional form songs on it and it's very very good. Whatever else about Grizzly bear, they've got their own unique style going on. Closing track "Colorado" is the highlight for me.
  40. Feb 8, 2015
    10
    Alright, I have been known to obsess over things, and I haven't desired listening to another album since listening to this fully for the first time a few months ago. I absolutely love it. I am just sad it took me so long to get this album, I had Vacketimest and Shields, so it's literally strange I hadn't burned this record into my memory before those two. If I am going to be honest, I likeAlright, I have been known to obsess over things, and I haven't desired listening to another album since listening to this fully for the first time a few months ago. I absolutely love it. I am just sad it took me so long to get this album, I had Vacketimest and Shields, so it's literally strange I hadn't burned this record into my memory before those two. If I am going to be honest, I like Yellow House more than either. It's just fricken magical to me. The song 'Little Brother' from 4:52 on, unbelievable. 'On a Neck On a Spit', from 2:04 on, mesmerizing. I could seriously go on like this about the snippets for another 5k words. It seriously has to be in my top 5. It's one of those albums one doesn't know they needed until they finally have it, and now this one couldn't do without it. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Yellow House is... required listening not just for fans of Horn of Plenty, but for anyone who enjoys ambitious, creative music with an emotional undercurrent.
  2. Under The Radar
    80
    This isn't a folk record by any means, but it's the one Grizzly Bear should have been making all along. [Summer 2006, p.81]
  3. Urb
    80
    Submersive, almost submissive. [Jul/Aug 2006, p.118]