• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Yellow House Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This intricate second album for the Brooklyn-based band led by Edward Droste is their first for Warp Records.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Beyond production, Grizzly Bear have stepped up their songwriting in every way, assembling melodies that proceed in a logical fashion but never sound overused or overly familiar. Yellow House is a much better record than we could rightfully have expected from these guys, better, even, than we could have imagined them making.
  2. 80
    The production is more sophisticated, the arrangements more intricate, the melodies and harmonies more complex. [Oct 2006, p.106]
  3. There's a kind of timeless haze that drifts through 'Yellow House' and makes it a pleasingly elusive listen.
  4. This isn't a folk record by any means, but it's the one Grizzly Bear should have been making all along. [Summer 2006, p.81]
  5. This is a subtle, whispered scream of a work, one that demands nothing of a consumer’s time but pays decent dividends for those willing to make the investment.
  6. 40
    There's little discernable rhyme or reason holding it all together. [Oct 2006, p.110]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    I cannot imagine me without having this album. It had such an impact. The songs are all beautiful and come together to create a memorableI cannot imagine me without having this album. It had such an impact. The songs are all beautiful and come together to create a memorable experience. You can really appreciate a work of music when every song in the album is good and none are "fillers". Expand
  2. seab
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    is it just me or does this album awesomely remind you of all the aforementioned artists plus the moody blues? i think it does and it's is it just me or does this album awesomely remind you of all the aforementioned artists plus the moody blues? i think it does and it's excellent, production is amazing! Expand
  3. alexh
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    a truly great record.
  4. miked
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Upon first listen I was unsure about Yellow House, but the best albums are often those whose genius takes a while to appreciate. It is now Upon first listen I was unsure about Yellow House, but the best albums are often those whose genius takes a while to appreciate. It is now one of my favorite albums ever. It has incredible staying power, and I find myself listening to it often and loving it more with each listen. Expand
  5. OtmS
    Sep 9, 2006
    9
    beautiful, ambitious, great sound, the right blend of experimentation and melody: worthwhile
  6. mirandah
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Yellow House is beautifully crafted & layered. Grizzly Bear captured an essence that is failing and fading...the simple lyrics stand out as Yellow House is beautifully crafted & layered. Grizzly Bear captured an essence that is failing and fading...the simple lyrics stand out as honest and heartfelt. This is a great album. Expand
  7. Danielm
    Sep 6, 2006
    0
    all moaning with nothing interesting to say

See all 41 User Reviews