Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The Dolls' music... is as gripping as ever. [Jun 2006, p.188]
  2. Yes, Virginia is the album The White Stripes would make if they were getting more passionate and creative with each successive release instead of lamer and more commercial.
  3. The bastard lovechild of Tori Amos and an Eastern European touring circus. [15 Apr 2006, p.35]
  4. While the first album was more adventurous, Virginia‘s newfound focus suits the Dresden Dolls to a tee.
  5. They sound more confident than ever, igniting their cabaret-rock with more crazed inventiveness and you-are-there immediacy.
  6. Yes, Virginia doesn't have the expressive range of the Dresden Dolls' debut.... But what is here is frequently engaging even if-- for a band that thrives on discomfort-- the record sometimes gets a bit too comfortable for its own good.
  7. Warning: Consume this in small doses. [21 Apr 2006, p.73]
  8. If it ultimately feels as if it's slightly less than its predecessor, that's because there's a sense of the band's acting out more in order to try and show how outrageous it can be.
  9. 70
    An amped-up grotesque of torchy vaudeville and European parlor songs that starts as high-concept camp and winds up strangely illuminating. [May 2006, p.105]
  10. When [Palmer] misses, she comes off as precious. When she hits, she's as moving as anything in music today. [#13, p.84]
  11. The Dolls tighten their musical corset with beguiling style. [May 2006, p.123]
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. BrianH
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Maybe one of the greatest albums I've ever listened to, absolutely stunning music, Dirty Business may be my favorite song of all time.
  2. DaveF
    May 14, 2006
    9
    This is like the White Stripes with more piano and a good drummer.
  3. BenM
    May 10, 2006
    7
    I hated "coin operated boy" but was intrigued by the theatre and musicality of Dresden Dolls. Unlike most of the reviews on this site, "Mandy I hated "coin operated boy" but was intrigued by the theatre and musicality of Dresden Dolls. Unlike most of the reviews on this site, "Mandy Goes To Med School" is one of my favorites. Great jazz piano chords and intriguing lyrics. Full Review »