Yes, Virginia... - Dresden Dolls
Yes, Virginia... Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Virginia' is the second album for the cabaret-punk outfit fronted by Amanda Palmer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The Dolls' music... is as gripping as ever. [Jun 2006, p.188]
  2. While the first album was more adventurous, Virginia‘s newfound focus suits the Dresden Dolls to a tee.
  3. The bastard lovechild of Tori Amos and an Eastern European touring circus. [15 Apr 2006, p.35]
  4. The Dolls tighten their musical corset with beguiling style. [May 2006, p.123]
  5. When [Palmer] misses, she comes off as precious. When she hits, she's as moving as anything in music today. [#13, p.84]
  6. Palmer's style is overwhelming: she sings her poetry with such gusto that it crosses from enthusiastic drama to verbose pantomime.
  7. Sometimes it's hard to take seriously a band that bases its identity on a shtick -- but it doesn't seem like the members of the Dresden Dolls are much interested in being taken seriously.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. JackC
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    Taken on its own terms this record is every bit as exciting as the first. It takes a little getting used to, but once you let go of whatever Taken on its own terms this record is every bit as exciting as the first. It takes a little getting used to, but once you let go of whatever baggage you bring to it, if you're a fan you will love this record. If you're not a fan thisprobably won't turn you into one. Then again it just might. Expand
  2. tom
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    Great band, sometimes i just cant understand the critics....Maybe not better from the first album, but how many bands have a second record Great band, sometimes i just cant understand the critics....Maybe not better from the first album, but how many bands have a second record better than their debut anyway... Expand
  3. BrianH
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Maybe one of the greatest albums I've ever listened to, absolutely stunning music, Dirty Business may be my favorite song of all time.
  4. Andrew
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    imho, even better than the first one. On 'Yes, Virginia' the melodies and rhythms are more mature, most of the songs are even imho, even better than the first one. On 'Yes, Virginia' the melodies and rhythms are more mature, most of the songs are even darker and at least as powerful as 'Girl Anachronism' or 'Half jack'. Clearly a "grower" and, as it seems, divides the listeners in very contrary positions. Well i vote for, not against. Expand
  5. williamo
    Apr 21, 2006
    8
    i don't know why critics are so bad, i think they just don't understand dresden dolls world! This is not the first genius album but i don't know why critics are so bad, i think they just don't understand dresden dolls world! This is not the first genius album but this group create something out of the tracks and that's why we love them a lot! Expand
  6. MattD.
    May 2, 2006
    7
    Going by my interest level in the CD, it would be a 6 - but I'm going to give it a 7 so my personal taste doesn't influence my Going by my interest level in the CD, it would be a 6 - but I'm going to give it a 7 so my personal taste doesn't influence my rating. Solid CD if you want something a little different in your collection. They are best when they are upbeat. Expand
  7. AlB
    Apr 17, 2006
    1
    Anyone dying for ani difranco with a piano substituted for a guitar: your band has finally arrived! I was not dying for ani-piano, though, Anyone dying for ani difranco with a piano substituted for a guitar: your band has finally arrived! I was not dying for ani-piano, though, and was terrified accordingly. And just how many songs do we need about jerking off-- the album should be called "yes, vagina." Expand

See all 16 User Reviews