• Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Aug 23, 2011
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    90
    You Are All I See is all about the shimmer, as if rather than playing with cutting edge tech Grossi's touch is so deft, and the sound so seemingly in tune with the natural world, he somehow is able to play with light.
  2. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    2011 is a year for strong albums in general, and You Are All I See deserves to be ranked among the best.
  3. May 31, 2012
    80
    The glitchy future R&B of Playing House is evidence of Active Child's depth, but it's the emotional blood-letting of tracks like dark hymnal Way Too Fast which gives this record a gravitas most popular music never achieves. [Jan 2012, p.92]
  4. Dec 15, 2011
    80
    Getting close to these chilly, inscrutable songs is like trying to hug statuary, but their marbled beauty is impressive all the same. [Dec. 2011 p. 123]
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    80
    Odd missteps apart You Are All I see turns out to be one of the year's boldest, most beautiful debuts. [Nov 2011, p.81]
  6. Sep 7, 2011
    80
    You Are All I See may be surreal and even hard work at times, but this is a work of sheer beauty whose contours are worth exploring in depth.
  7. 80
    Instead of guitar worship, Active Child's generation of fey Romantics have suckled on synthesizer worship, more varied sounds, and a post-"Planet Rock" planet where electronica and rap/R&B music interweave constantly.
  8. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    With the influx of worshippers only getting stronger these days, Active Child is a welcome addition to the pulpit.
  9. Both fluid and ornate, this is a densely produced, subtly assured introduction to an artist who has the tools to grow into something more.
  10. Aug 18, 2011
    75
    His words are layers of palpable atmospherics; subtle and pleading at times, worried and demanding at others, mainly steeped in a falsetto that rarely wears thin - note "rarely" - it occasionally causes the eardrums to glaze over.
  11. Aug 26, 2011
    72
    Taken together, You Are All I See still can't help but feel like an old cathedral--easy to admire in awe, but somehow cold and remote; hard to really make your own.
  12. 70
    The epic emoting can feel a tad weighty towards the end, but you're left with a solid impression of who Active Child is, rather than who he wants to be.
  13. Aug 31, 2011
    70
    You Are All I See suffers from the exact same problem that plagued another act with a helium-voiced frontman: Passion Pit on their 2009 album Manners. Instead of delivering full products that capitalize on their immediate strengths, both albums pad their triumphs with overdramatic bluster storms that fail to really go anywhere, and it's kind of a shame.
  14. Aug 26, 2011
    70
    The biggest caveat of this album is that the retro aesthetic mars Grossi's attempts at emotional connection--it tries to resonate, but by tapping into our memories of heartstrings and not our actual heartstrings, it falls short. But as production goes, it's a success.
  15. Aug 18, 2011
    70
    Ultimately, Grossi's ability to marry elements of electro-pop, soul, classical, gospel, and other divergent influences into a cohesive, lo-fi brew allows You Are All I See to succeed as an evolutionary step beyond Active Child's synth-drenched origins.
  16. 60
    It's all precisely mixed and impressively textured, but lacks Blake's more raw, emotional connection.
  17. Aug 25, 2011
    60
    As it stands, You Are All I See is a very solid debut from a remarkable talent. I fully expect nothing but greater things in the future.
  18. Aug 22, 2011
    60
    Seeing this is Grossi's first full-length, it's an achievement, and although it fizzles out near the end, the killer tracks far eclipse the lesser numbers.
  19. Aug 25, 2011
    50
    You Are All I See is the debut album from Active Child, the band that Los Angeles singer-songwriter Pat Grossi has steadily built around his sweeping harp, pining falsetto, and shuddering beats.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    One of the best chillwave releases of the year; fantastic, ethereal vocals, elegant instrumentation and honest, soulful lyrics. There's aOne of the best chillwave releases of the year; fantastic, ethereal vocals, elegant instrumentation and honest, soulful lyrics. There's a melancholic beauty that permeates the entire album which I'm really impressed by. I can't wait to see what Pat Grossi comes up with next. Full Review »
  2. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    So vastly unique and a real fresh take on bedroom pop. Even the weakest songs in the middle of the record have a certain air around them. WhatSo vastly unique and a real fresh take on bedroom pop. Even the weakest songs in the middle of the record have a certain air around them. What a fantastic album. Full Review »