• Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Feb 18, 2003
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MardyR
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    Absolutly beautiful. This album has almost a hint of twee pop yet seems to have an abrasive rock feel. It's a lovely album well worth buying.
  2. EricB
    Feb 21, 2003
    10
    I love it.A true alternative to all the dumb,empty,image obsessed,fake,manufactured,lame pop and rock on tv and radio.Beautiful and smart and deep and refreshingly in 2003 dark and sad
  3. louiss
    Feb 23, 2003
    8
    haunting innocense are the words that come to mind firstly, been a first timer with her music (im from the caribbean so we are a bit sheltered musically) but the cd her songs are sung with a pure passion
  4. anitas
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    amazing!
  5. GeneM
    Jul 23, 2003
    9
    Chan Marshall has produced one of the most beautiful albums I have ever heard.
  6. timd
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    This seems to be shapping up to be the most underrated album of the year (maybe even the decade). It shows variety in nuance not seen anywhere else in music. Her voice is the most impressive floating around these days.
  7. SolveigGudmundsdottir
    May 30, 2003
    9
    The most beautiful album I've heard. "You are free" has become my drug, my body won't work without it!
  8. AaronF
    Jun 5, 2004
    8
    Very good. I agree with most of the things people are saying about this album below...but, and there's always a but, the last three or four tracks could've been cut. Everything is really great on this album, there's just a bit too much of it (Another upbeat cut could've also broken the doldrums). Otherwise fantastic job, Chan!
  9. JorgeR
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    I dont have the album, but I have heard all the songs and thay are great. Im in love with that girl. Chan I love you!!!!!
  10. ChrisK
    Feb 19, 2003
    9
    Beautifully crafted return to form from Chan. Simple, poignant songs featuring her absolutely stunning voice. "You are Free" is a stupendous achievement from a underappreciated and sometimes misunderstood genius. Highly recommended, especially to those already familiar with her previous work.
  11. PaulD.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    simply put - fu*cking amazing. one of the greatest albums of 2003 without a doubt. on the surface it may seem simplistic, but you'll soon come to appreciate its true depth.
  12. Melissa
    Apr 23, 2003
    9
    Beautiful haunting lyrics sung with a beautiful voice. A small masterpiece.
  13. RachelT
    May 18, 2003
    10
    Such a beautiful voice Chan. Play it as much as my Fiona cds, and that a good good thing. This album was very calm without being depressing. "You are Free" is upbeat and happy, enough to drag anyone out of their depressing winter slums and into summer... please take time to relax to this album, you'll be amazed, it's exhilarating
  14. samr
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    flawed but oddly perfect.
  15. JC
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing album, with the exception of one song
  16. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Since I'm writing this in 2013, I can understand how people are very positive toward this album. While this is a very incredible set, I personally find 2006's "The Greatest" or 2008's "Jukebox" better. Though this album still rocks my world until today. If someone was asking the question "which one album would you take with you if you can only have one for the rest of your life?", thisSince I'm writing this in 2013, I can understand how people are very positive toward this album. While this is a very incredible set, I personally find 2006's "The Greatest" or 2008's "Jukebox" better. Though this album still rocks my world until today. If someone was asking the question "which one album would you take with you if you can only have one for the rest of your life?", this would make choosing very hard for me. Of course, the competition is mostly Marshall's other albums. I'm a huge fan! Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. You Are Free demonstrates a subtle, hopeful change in sentiment--a relief from Cat Power's melancholy.
  2. Musically, it doesn't seem like Chan has gone anywhere. [March 2003, p.88]
  3. 60
    Sadly, distracting overembellishments dog her sixth album. [#14, p.133]