You Are Free - Cat Power
You Are Free Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Chan Marshall's first album of new material since 1998 was recorded in Los Angeles with Adam Kasper (Queens of the Stone Age, Foo Fighters, Pearl Jam), who in turn brought in friends such as Dave Grohl and Eddie Vedder.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Melodically exquisite, this is a triumph of minimalism.
  2. Recorded with an ear for detail but guided by a loose hand, this is the most open, welcoming Cat Power album yet.
  3. When Dave Grohl's scruffy drumming enters, themusic finally lives up to the second half of her stage name. [21 Feb 2003, p.150]
  4. Rarely breaking from a single, unrelenting mood, Free has a tendency to repeat itself: It could stand to be broken up by more uptempo tracks like "He War," particularly since Marshall does well with them.
  5. The album's last third slows to the glacial pace of 2001's Covers Record with underdeveloped song fragments rendered in a numbing, spare style. But the album's first half more than makes up for it with Marshall's inimitably concise songwriting painting roses on demons and frowning children alike.
  6. A polished, carefully crafted set of beautiful, intense songs that lay bare the singer’s heart as honestly and effectively as anything she’s attempted before.
  7. Musically, it doesn't seem like Chan has gone anywhere. [March 2003, p.88]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Since I'm writing this in 2013, I can understand how people are very positive toward this album. While this is a very incredible set, I personally find 2006's "The Greatest" or 2008's "Jukebox" better. Though this album still rocks my world until today. If someone was asking the question "which one album would you take with you if you can only have one for the rest of your life?", this would make choosing very hard for me. Of course, the competition is mostly Marshall's other albums. I'm a huge fan! Expand
  2. JC
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing album, with the exception of one song
  3. JorgeR
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    I dont have the album, but I have heard all the songs and thay are great. Im in love with that girl. Chan I love you!!!!!
  4. ChrisK
    Feb 19, 2003
    9
    Beautifully crafted return to form from Chan. Simple, poignant songs featuring her absolutely stunning voice. "You are Free" is a stupendous achievement from a underappreciated and sometimes misunderstood genius. Highly recommended, especially to those already familiar with her previous work. Expand
  5. GeneM
    Jul 23, 2003
    9
    Chan Marshall has produced one of the most beautiful albums I have ever heard.
  6. SolveigGudmundsdottir
    May 30, 2003
    9
    The most beautiful album I've heard. "You are free" has become my drug, my body won't work without it!
  7. BenjaminBunny
    Apr 17, 2004
    6
    Maybe I've seen her smashed onstage too many times, maybe I miss the genuinely spooky catharsis of older LPs like "What Would The Community Think" (still her best) but on this album Chan Marshall comes off as disingenous and (at worst) cloying. Most of it is pretty listenable but instead of letting real demons loose, she just seems to be half-heartedly putting on poses here. Makes me sad for all the wrong reasons. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews