User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar
    May 31, 2006
    9
    I don't normally like rap, but I made an exeption for a few and I make an exception here. Smart lyrics, great warm sound, anger and emotion. Love.
  2. MB
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    This is a great album from Atmosphere. The production finally comes together such that both the Slug and Ant complement each other incredibly.
  3. AnselM
    Oct 31, 2005
    9
    Atmosphere is one of the greatest indie rap groups out there and this album is just more evidence of this. Is every cut spectacular? no. ...but, on a whole it is still that much better than ANYTHING else out there. Listen to tracks 8-13 (especially 9, 11, 12, and 13) for evidence of this.
  4. TFieldy
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    Songs, swarm around your head and leave you with a solid neck ache. Classic album which reaches into the past to show us the future.
  5. stephenh
    Apr 18, 2006
    8
    best album yet!
  6. BronxBob
    Dec 28, 2005
    9
    Excellent album, far more consistent than previous outings.
  7. LaurenK
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    amazing album different from the other "that night" and "little man" make the album all worth while
  8. JohnD
    Nov 26, 2005
    6
    This album is not that bad, but it bares mentioning that I would have given the instrumental version of this album a 10, which should tell you something about Slug.
  9. ms
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    This is a simply stunning piece of work from one of the greatest rap groups ever formed. It contains some of Slugs most intricate and playful rhymes and the best production that I have heard from Ant. Beautiful, raging, confident, and dangerously close to becoming a full fledged classic.
  10. DougB
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    I have been a fan of Atmosphere since The Lucy Ford LP, and I can definitely attest to the fact that this is the group's most streamlined release since Lucy Ford. It was in my cd player when I initially bought it for nearly a month, and I still cycle it into rotation every week. Slug seems more elated than he has on previous EP's... But his lyrical delivery and sense of I have been a fan of Atmosphere since The Lucy Ford LP, and I can definitely attest to the fact that this is the group's most streamlined release since Lucy Ford. It was in my cd player when I initially bought it for nearly a month, and I still cycle it into rotation every week. Slug seems more elated than he has on previous EP's... But his lyrical delivery and sense of connection with his listers have never been more on point. I rate this album a 10 due to the solidity of each track, and Ant's beats are so dead-on that any fan of Atmosphere would definitely not hold back on agreeing on that note alone. Kudos to everyone who makes Atmosphere the group that they represent to their fans. Expand
  11. RichardM
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    One of the most exciting albums, Ive been a listener since I hard the bad dub album that my step sis had. Since the show that I saw last night. There is so much energy going through and where he plays. Its pure genius how he get everything going. No matter what happens to ant and slug, il be right behind them.
  12. HannahT
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    so good, i am in love with this guy
  13. sashal
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    dope. took a couple listens to hit the movement of slugs verbage. ant shines, and we get some ALMOST mainstream style beats and tracks, like arrive and musical chairs, with some non-mainstream lyrics and thought. if you didn't really feel this, give it another try.
  14. Jun 10, 2013
    5
    I felt like the weaker part of this album was it's production. It's not that the production was bad, but Ant doesn't help Slug in any way throughout this album. I believe if the Alchemist would have produced for Slug or if Eminem had rapped on Ant's beats this album would've been less dull. Also this is basically general hip-hop that the dull 00's had to offer. For Atmosphere altogether myI felt like the weaker part of this album was it's production. It's not that the production was bad, but Ant doesn't help Slug in any way throughout this album. I believe if the Alchemist would have produced for Slug or if Eminem had rapped on Ant's beats this album would've been less dull. Also this is basically general hip-hop that the dull 00's had to offer. For Atmosphere altogether my favorite release was When Life Gives You Lemons in 08 Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. This all could have been a drag in the hands of a rapper with less self-awareness or sense of humor, or without access to the deft production skills of Atmosphere beatmaster Ant.
  2. [Atmosphere] has never sounded as pointed and focused as it does here on its fifth album. [8 Oct 2005]
  3. Like Blackalicious' recent The Craft, it displays a real hard-earned competency, something a decade of recording together will get you. But the lyrics lack transcendence or resonance.