User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    This is unlike anything I've ever heard. Completely different from any indie pop I have ever listened too. Broken Social Scene consists of 20+ members in the band and strangely enough, they make it sound so good. Each track sounds wonderful. "Anthems For A Seventeen Year-Old Girl" is the stand out track. All In All, You Forgot It In People is a great album. A-
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    10/10. Obscure lyrics, fun instrumentation, and memorable hooks made this album one of my favorites. Since this review needs to have 150 characters, I have to babble nonsensically now.
  3. May 10, 2011
    7
    Easily their best album(which is weird because the last one had NO lyrics) to date and a landmark for mainstream indie music. Every song is perfectly produced and layered but as a lyricist Kevin Drew needs to take a bit more time and stop trying to say really stupid stuff. Overall a solid album that can be overrated most of the time.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    Outstanding. Indie pop at its absolute finest!
  5. RyanM
    Jun 5, 2003
    10
    It's about time America realized that the best independent music in the continent is coming straight out of Toronto. Let this record be a warning, we are taking over.
  6. Fruitbat
    Jun 5, 2003
    10
    Engaging, deep, endlessly surprising and immeasureably satisfying...It's easy to overhype an album that is so off-the-charts inventive as this one, especially with a year's-worth of advance gushing from the Canadian press and public. But the fact that this album succeeds at every one of its varied styles and ambitions is especially amazing when one considers just how many Engaging, deep, endlessly surprising and immeasureably satisfying...It's easy to overhype an album that is so off-the-charts inventive as this one, especially with a year's-worth of advance gushing from the Canadian press and public. But the fact that this album succeeds at every one of its varied styles and ambitions is especially amazing when one considers just how many musicians contributed to every song. This may be the only case in recorded (musical) history where too many cooks do NOT spoil the broth. Expand
  7. Dan
    Jun 6, 2003
    10
    Never has an album bought on a hunch completely blown me away like this. It really is as good as they say and then some. Cannot be recommended enough.
  8. BookerP
    Jul 21, 2003
    10
    Demands 10 listens to even comment. Different. Familiar. Hey, this is pretty good -- I love this song -- wait -- holy shi--
  9. Mark
    Mar 8, 2006
    10
    When I first brought this (unawre of any hype), I listened to it once and thought it was 'alright', and left it on my shelf for a few months without another thought. Then I shoved it on in the background one night and...barely a day has gone by when I haven't given it a spin since. Possibly my favourite album in my collection.
  10. benjaminbunny
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    Sublime. Sounds like falling in love. Gorgeously produced and played, the most endlessly listenable, and I believe best album of 2003.
  11. SteveB
    Jun 20, 2003
    9
    I agree completely with the PopMatters review. I must admit, though, that I really enjoy the "coasting" at the end. They complain about it like it's a bad thing...to me, it was like coming down off of a really gentle high. Which, compared to crashing, is nice.
  12. benc
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    Great record, but if you can, check them out live. Fantastic.
  13. AlexK
    Jun 5, 2003
    9
    It is terrific that this great album has gotten a wide release. As Pitchfork's review eloquently states, this album gracefully walks the line between accessibility and experimentation. An album that is catchy and intelligent at the same time, a must buy.
  14. HYeung
    Jun 6, 2003
    10
    Adventurous. Pop rock in its best form. Best Album of the year so far.
  15. slowspinner
    Jul 10, 2003
    7
    It's a good disc, but it doesn't exactly live up to the hype. Some stellar - and inventive - pop stylings are surrounded by a lot of noodling filler. Still, it's worth the listen for "Lover's Spit" alone.
  16. deanj
    Sep 30, 2003
    9
    9.6 to be more accurate , first saw them at a french festival having never heard any of there stuff - fantastic live performance, all of which has come across perfectly on the album. Some truly majical moments on this album, such as kc accidental and anthems for a seventeen year old girl. genius
  17. AsiaZ
    Jun 13, 2004
    8
    Great stuff. Not on the par of Notwist (my album of the year for 2003), yet still enthralling.
  18. Jacqueline
    Jun 15, 2004
    10
    It's a symphony.
  19. feebsb
    Jun 16, 2004
    10
    this is the best album i've ever heard, and their concert i saw in march 2004 was even better. i am blown away with the musical talent of this band.
  20. Navarre
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    The most amazing release of 2003 will not fade. after two years of listening it's still just as good as it was back then
  21. BrianA
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    simply stunning! each song reveals new elements with each listen, like a cryptic puzzle one keeps finding new pieces for. The song "looks just like the sun" seems to find it's way into my head almost every day.
  22. MusicMaven
    Sep 27, 2005
    6
    It's not terrible, but hardly lives up to it's critical reputation. It's just too diffuse -- I'd probably still own it if it had one or two undeniable classics replacing the meandering instrumentals and half-formed songs. As it stands, most of the album simply isn't very memorable.
  23. SamB
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    Simply awe inspiring, ethereal, timeless music
  24. StephenS
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    Like opening a door into a new world. Outstanding!!
  25. RyanB
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    Outstanding. Indie pop at its absolute finest. Gets better with each listen.
  26. chris
    Jun 10, 2003
    10
    Shockingly good, very rewarding upon repeat listenings. The best I've heard in about two years (and I'm a record fiend). Buy it now!
  27. stoosh
    Jun 17, 2003
    10
    all the pop music should be like this... i'm from italy and i really hope that this album will be imported here...
  28. EtienneJ
    Jun 5, 2003
    10
    One of the best CDs of the year. It's hard to find, but go to Pitchfork's review and at the bottom is a link to an online store where you can buy it. It's well worth it!!
  29. MattDT
    Jun 5, 2003
    9
    It's not groundbreaking, but this album is certainly beautiful and well-crafted with something of an arty-indie rock-pop feel to it. Oh, and it gives legitmacy to Canadian music (along with others like Manitoba) whilst Avril Lavigne is selling records. Blah.
  30. MacM
    Apr 18, 2004
    9
    I'm an Aussie who, on my last US visit had a mate INSIST I buy this and just listen. He described it as "...Trail Of the Dead does verse-chorus-verse. Not sure if that is strictly accurate but what I discovered was probably the most addictive and diverse pop album of the last year. So far, this has not been released in Australia but my copy has been borrowed many times so I'm I'm an Aussie who, on my last US visit had a mate INSIST I buy this and just listen. He described it as "...Trail Of the Dead does verse-chorus-verse. Not sure if that is strictly accurate but what I discovered was probably the most addictive and diverse pop album of the last year. So far, this has not been released in Australia but my copy has been borrowed many times so I'm spreading the word. Incidentally, in return, I made my mate buy The Sleepy Jackson's "Lovers" (coz they're from W.Australia) which he loves equally as much! macsumner@hotmail.com Expand
  31. BryantP
    Apr 23, 2004
    8
    I bought this CD for one reason: Cause = Time, far and away one of the greatest rock songs I've heard in years! The rest of the CD, especially the later half, is so mellow and soothing it makes me think of Jack Johnson meets Radiohead in a really morbid sense. Some of the songs are a little too.. weird for me (take KC Accidental, don't understand the hype behind this one...) but I bought this CD for one reason: Cause = Time, far and away one of the greatest rock songs I've heard in years! The rest of the CD, especially the later half, is so mellow and soothing it makes me think of Jack Johnson meets Radiohead in a really morbid sense. Some of the songs are a little too.. weird for me (take KC Accidental, don't understand the hype behind this one...) but other pop songs like Anthems for a 17-Year-Old Girl and mellow rock songs like Star and Sons and Looks Just Like the Sun are memorable. All in all this CD ain't shabby. Expand
  32. ClarenceW
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    The Best album of this year. Or any of the last five for that matter.
  33. Lex
    Jul 30, 2004
    10
    Best album of the year no doubt
  34. DanC
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Amazing album that when listened to in order will take you on a beautiful journey that shows you anything is possible. And individually the songs are perfectly able to fit whatever mood you're in. But it works best as a whole, showing you all the emotions life has to offer.
  35. matta
    May 27, 2005
    9
    Incredible album. It works so well as a whole. THere are few albums where the instumentals are as good as the actual songs.
  36. Allan
    Sep 17, 2005
    7
    Broken Social Scene are on my craplist, because while this is good album, it is so overrated that it's worrying. The two best tracks on the albums, 'Anthems of a Seventeen Year Old Girl' and 'Almost Crimes' are so much of a higher quality than most of the rest of the album that it's alarming. Two fabulous songs. And while 'Shampoo Suicide' does get Broken Social Scene are on my craplist, because while this is good album, it is so overrated that it's worrying. The two best tracks on the albums, 'Anthems of a Seventeen Year Old Girl' and 'Almost Crimes' are so much of a higher quality than most of the rest of the album that it's alarming. Two fabulous songs. And while 'Shampoo Suicide' does get quite meaningless, along with maybe one other track, it doesn't get to the unlistenable quality. So while this is a good album, it's definately not as amazing as everyone says in my opinion. Expand
  37. BenD
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    There are many words that I use to describe music that I like. "Perfect", however, is not usually one of these words. You Forgot it in People may be the only album that I own that can honestly be described as being perfect. It rocks while somehow managing to be very relaxing at the same time. BSS also takes a different approach than most bands at creating a pop album. Insted of writing There are many words that I use to describe music that I like. "Perfect", however, is not usually one of these words. You Forgot it in People may be the only album that I own that can honestly be described as being perfect. It rocks while somehow managing to be very relaxing at the same time. BSS also takes a different approach than most bands at creating a pop album. Insted of writing every song with the intent of it becoming a huge hit, they write about half of the songs this way and balance out the other half with instrumentals. In fact, the best song on the album (Pacific Theme) is an instrumental. You Forgot it in People is truly music at its finest. Best album of 2003. Expand
  38. jeru
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    So far the greatest band to explode out of canada, with some of the most intelligent music every. It is beautiful.
  39. KiheoT
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    Definitely the year's best. Improves with each listen - a stunning variety of influences and hooks. Stars and sons and lovers spit have been stuck in my head for months. Hope their next album is this strong.
  40. garth
    Jun 14, 2003
    6
    Boring indie sludge.
  41. NTHstars
    Jun 21, 2003
    9
    Believe the hype. This is just an incredible accomplishment for an "assembled" group, or for any group really. The hard chargers, the soft songs, the instrumentals, all brillant.
  42. MarkC
    Jul 23, 2003
    6
    A mix of boring instrumentals and a few good indie and pop songs. They don't do their post-rock upbringings any justice on this album.
  43. TheDude
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    one of the greatest albums ever..
  44. NathanH
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    Amazing Band
  45. brandonb
    May 1, 2007
    9
    Why are people calling this music pop? Broken Social Scene isn't pop. It's not popular, if you asked me. This music is listed as Alternative on iTunes, I guess that's what you could call it. It's certainly not New Kids On The Block. Now.. about this record. It's really something different and places you in a mood. Just watch Half Nelson, you'll hear the best Why are people calling this music pop? Broken Social Scene isn't pop. It's not popular, if you asked me. This music is listed as Alternative on iTunes, I guess that's what you could call it. It's certainly not New Kids On The Block. Now.. about this record. It's really something different and places you in a mood. Just watch Half Nelson, you'll hear the best of Broken Social Scene. Just listen to "Lover's Spit", wonderful track. Expand
  46. IsaacL
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    Broken Social Scene shows great improvement and kin to their their musical talents for this star sophomore release. The culmination of some of the best artists in the business. Kevin, Jimmy Emily and all have real chemistry and show the greatness Canada has to offer for music. This album is great for anybody and is instantly addictive! Put this release on your must have BSS list!
  47. NabihaH.
    Jul 11, 2007
    6
    I agree with Eric...it's good background music, but that's about it. It's not the least bit memorable - not at any point did I think, wow, I really like this song. It was okay for one listen, but I don't see myself going back. I don't see how this album has such great reviews. It's not bad...it's just not good, either.
  48. stevea
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    What a wonderful collection of tracks and musicians......i love it!
  49. RG
    Mar 11, 2007
    9
    the epitome of pop is summed up in this record. one of the best in the new mellenium, the combination of mixing and performance is brilliant on this record. every component of a pop song is given air to breathe and the album feels very loose, almost like a performance. thats not to say that atmosphere doesnt play a big role. the effortless swooning of the two on track after track is the epitome of pop is summed up in this record. one of the best in the new mellenium, the combination of mixing and performance is brilliant on this record. every component of a pop song is given air to breathe and the album feels very loose, almost like a performance. thats not to say that atmosphere doesnt play a big role. the effortless swooning of the two on track after track is simply brilliant. Expand
  50. EricC.
    Jun 27, 2007
    6
    I'd hate to disagree with such a huge fan base, but I just can't bring myself to enjoy these guys as much as The New Pornographers or The Arcade Fire. I know people will disagree with me, but this cd is just too bland to remember.
  51. BobovonB.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    BSS are a brilliant band with very densely textured songs, making cool use of inventive melodies, harmonies, rhythms and timbres.
  52. ScottC.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    Endlessly inventive and re-playable. One effortlessly great song after another covering a huge spectrum of styles. One of the greatest albums of the 2000's so far.
  53. JustinB.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    what an album!
  54. M88
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Wow. MINDBLOWING!
  55. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Excellent. Each song sounds completely different from the one before it, which is really rare in any genre of music. I got into this magnificent band back in High School and I haven't been disappointed yet. My interest was peaked when I was really into a band called At The Drive-In, and I saw a review that said the infamous "for fans of/if you like these guys check out/fans who bought thisExcellent. Each song sounds completely different from the one before it, which is really rare in any genre of music. I got into this magnificent band back in High School and I haven't been disappointed yet. My interest was peaked when I was really into a band called At The Drive-In, and I saw a review that said the infamous "for fans of/if you like these guys check out/fans who bought this album also bought this" tag line which I have always ignored back then(and still do for that matter) but I saw their name and thought "oh now see that's a band name! These guys have to be good!" And so, I purchased You Forgot In People and INSTANTLY I was almost brought to tears at it's beauty. Might sound over dramatic, and maybe even a little embellished, but the point I want to convey is it's that good. At the end of this album you will jump from your couch or chair or bed and scream "BRAVO!!!!" Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. This record explodes with song after song of endlessly replayable, perfect pop.
  2. The commitment to iconoclastic expressiveness, which includes belting out some fairly raunchy lyrics, leads to dead ends, but Broken Social Scene never blows it altogether, because it holds onto its hooks to get out of tough corners.
  3. "People" boasts an uncommon beauty and originality, brimming with tunes that glimmer with pure magic.