You & I

Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Uncut
    Jul 26, 2011
    80
    [Guy Berryman's] radio-friendly approach adds depth without sacrificing detail. [Jun 2011, p.93]
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    80
    Throughout, there are unexpected melodic twists and turns, and the whole thing feels like a bid for commercial acceptance, if indeed the market for this classy music even exists anymore.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    80
    It's sad and lovely, and proves the Pierces handle delicacy as well as they do drivetime.
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    80
    The resulting guitar pop sound is more professional and commercial than the Alabama duo's formerly more playful style, but thanks to a wealth of well-written songs, fans of old and new should be equally entertained.
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    Fortunately, while You & I loses some of the distinctive details of its predecessor, the duo pulls off "conventional" just as well as they do twisted.
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    60
    While end-of relationship heartache churns throughout You & I, there is enough twisted darkness to suggest these sisters are here for the long haul.
  7. Mojo
    Jun 29, 2011
    60
    A sameness about these developments diminishes the album's appeal, but given a presence in the ether, airwaves, clouds and such, the Pierces' obsession could become addictive. [Jul 2011, p.114]
  8. Q Magazine
    Jun 29, 2011
    60
    Hexes and such may be the stuff of teenaged girls' diary fantasies, but it's not hard to fall under The Pierces' spell. [Jun 2011, p.120]
  9. Jun 29, 2011
    60
    One crucial difference is The Pierces' music has changed from something that sounded like awkward whimsy a few years ago into something middle-aged people will like; and that's basically the key to selling loads of records these days.
  10. May 15, 2012
    50
    A more stripped down approach may have suited them better and given more attention to the group's stronger suits, which listeners must wait for the album's conclusion to enjoy.
  11. 40
    Whether it's the involvement of Coldplay's Guy Berryman in the production, or simply their shift to a major label, on You & I The Pierces have lost much of what made 2007's Thirteen Tales of Love and Revenge so beguiling.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    I've always been a big fan of the Pierces. Their newest effort sends you into a crowd of gypsies, or into a forest, or even a desertI've always been a big fan of the Pierces. Their newest effort sends you into a crowd of gypsies, or into a forest, or even a desert (basically, anywhere besides your couch on your computer). I loved Thirteen Tales of Love and Revenge, and this is like the sequel. You & I is a lovely, beautiful, solid album without changing too much of their style from the last album. The best part, as usual, is the harmonies and how the sisters' vocals blend together. Some standout tracks are It Will Not Be Forgotten, We Are Stars, Love You More and I Put Your Records On. My only problem is that this album isn't as... playful as their previous efforts. Full Review »