User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. APKeiper
    Mar 1, 2007
    9
    Beautiful album, sweet songs and sounds. Reviewers all seem to want something from this band that the band does not seem to give a hoot about. So tired of hearing critics rail about the critic's term "postrock". If they don't like the term they should ignore it. Also, they seem to all dislike "The Universe". Hear it live, then tell us what you think, critics.
  2. TtableWhy
    Mar 1, 2007
    5
    5.5 - If this was my first album to hear of DMST I would have no interest in seeking out anything else. I would put them down as lacking talent in the melody department. Each album up to now was better than the last. This is the first step backwards. It is simply lacking good melodies. There are some nice crisp guitar sounds on a couple of tracks, but the brass and strings are so muted 5.5 - If this was my first album to hear of DMST I would have no interest in seeking out anything else. I would put them down as lacking talent in the melody department. Each album up to now was better than the last. This is the first step backwards. It is simply lacking good melodies. There are some nice crisp guitar sounds on a couple of tracks, but the brass and strings are so muted that they are practically irrelevant. Obviously they were trying to do something different than "Winter Hymn" and that is to be applauded but there is very little here that makes excites me like their previous stuff. I have listened to this album 5 times. Expand
  3. Judah
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    I didn't think it was possible to be as blown away by their recordings as much as you do by seeing them live, but this new album does it. The songs here are epic, intimate, dense, complex, spacey, sparse-y, incorporating multiple musical genres that, best of all, ensure melodic resonance. Best album of the year, so far.
  4. AlexM
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    The Universe! is worth clicking the repeat button.
  5. BrianJ
    Mar 8, 2007
    9
    One of the best albums, and also one of the best bands, out there right now.
  6. JRD
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    This is possibly their best album yet, incorporating the amazing rock climaxes of winter hymn with beautiful acoustic aspects and perfectly incorporated vocals... awesome album.
  7. domakesaythink
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    any one of 5 of 8 tracks on this album would have made a lesser bands career. these songs achieve coherance like thoughts amongst conjoined siblings who love each other. in other words, forking awesome!
  8. GlenM
    Mar 14, 2007
    9
    The fact that this band can keep up with such profound, moving music is somewhat outstanding. As Pitchfork put it, this band writes albums, not songs, and this one will stick with just as much emotional power as any of their previous equally-fantastic works.
  9. CarlS
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    Some of the band's best work, lots of intricacy and subtlety that mustn't be missed! This will be in the top five of the year for me for sure. They're a very fun band to see live too so if you get a chance, GO!
  10. [Anonymous]
    Mar 8, 2007
    9
    Excellent post-rock album. The vocals work better than I would have expected, they make "In Mind" one of the better tracks on the album. "Bound To Be That Way" and "The Universe!" are great too. This was my first DMST album and it won't be my last.
  11. HollisG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    Not as much of an "album" as "Winter Hymn", but the songs on here are just flat out awesome. I can't count the number of times I've listened to most of the songs on this album, in different moods, different times of day, different seasons, and I'm always getting something new out of them. At first, "A With Living" dominated my headphones & speakers, but over time "Bound to Not as much of an "album" as "Winter Hymn", but the songs on here are just flat out awesome. I can't count the number of times I've listened to most of the songs on this album, in different moods, different times of day, different seasons, and I'm always getting something new out of them. At first, "A With Living" dominated my headphones & speakers, but over time "Bound to Be That Way" and "Herstory of Glory" have probably taken over. The thing is, each song brings something totally different to the table, and I'm sure that I'll be listening to other songs on this album just as much as the calendar turns into 2008. Expand
  12. StevenG
    Feb 27, 2007
    9
    This is probably the most accessible Do Make Say Think album. It also happens to rock, and after seeing them live in Chicago on February 24th of 2007, I would say that Do Make Say Think have hit the peak of their career (so far). I hope they continue to break new ground. A mesmerizing album.
  13. CharlesT
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    Just as good as one could expect from a band that doesnt seem to disappoint
  14. jaym
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    Great follow up to winter hymn. Theres a bit of vocals on this one, only 2 songs and it actually goes really well to the songs. Not the same as their previous album but still has their distinct sound.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. The dabbling in different sounds and textures results in a surprisingly cohesive effort for DMST, and one that successfully sustains interest throughout. [3 Mar 2007]
  2. The band seems unsure of what instincts to follow to get more intimate, streamlined rock; their attempts produce a hodgepodge of style that in turns prevents the kind of gut reaction that normally attracts listeners to rock in the first place.
  3. Despite all the haunting vibes, woodwinds, and honeyed strings, rock music's guitar/bass/drums dynamic is dominant on Rust; it hovers between the rambunctious clatter of Broken Social Scene (which shares two members with DMST) and the elegant contortions of Jaga Jazzist.