• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Mar 9, 2004
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 1 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ed
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    No one can touch this guy. He's leagues beyond anyone else working in music. Anyone. Unfortunately, like all great artists, he' all but ignored in the popular sphere. Give this one a listen. Bejar's a genius with talent. And then go back and find everything else in his catalogue.
  2. QueenieMcFadden
    Mar 17, 2004
    9
    A pure delight! All the nuts synth stuff from the previous records unleashed in greater doses, with some of his most brilliant lyrics to date. "Notorious Lightning" and "New Ways of Living," especially. While it saddens me that Dan Bejar isn't that 'popular' among many in the snotty indie set, it also makes me love the guy for making such bizarre and brilliant music--so A pure delight! All the nuts synth stuff from the previous records unleashed in greater doses, with some of his most brilliant lyrics to date. "Notorious Lightning" and "New Ways of Living," especially. While it saddens me that Dan Bejar isn't that 'popular' among many in the snotty indie set, it also makes me love the guy for making such bizarre and brilliant music--so bizarre and brilliant, in fact, that most people don't know about him..... Expand
  3. CodyH
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    Totally unbelievable. Dan Bejar is truly a genius. For him to create an album so beautiful and moving using such a cold inhuman sonic palette as the MIDI synth is breathtaking. My pick for best album of the year thus far.
  4. billparcels
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    Sick.
  5. DangerCart
    Dec 5, 2004
    10
    This album is just one of those things you hear when everything is terrific. If you don't absoultely love a good percentage of this album, you've failed as a music fan. There. I said it. I'd say it again if I had to.
  6. GuyM
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    fantastic just fantastic and it makes me cry too Votre, Guy.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Blender
    70
    Destroyer's slickest synthesis yet of ornate hooks and cryptic poetics. [Apr 2004, p.127]
  2. It doesn't always work.... But when it does, in the blended tones and dark piano chords of "The Fox and the Hound", the result is magical and otherworldly.
  3. Whilst Bejar's songs are blessed with mucho rhythm and melody, you should still be made aware that there's no real beat, no real bass, and little that sounds organic. Yet there's still something quite regal and symphonic about it all, the synthesized strings and horns and piano stirring up a romanticism that goes with Bejar's fancy-pants lyricism.