Yours Truly - Ariana Grande
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 91
    One of the most purely enjoyable albums of the year, powered by her lithe, Broadway-honed voice and a canny exploitation of her most "adult" indulgence: nostalgia.
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    86
    Ariana Grande's debut LP is a surprisingly varied affair for a 20-year-old Nickelodeon star with a devastatingly strong voice.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    80
    Minor missteps aside, Yours Truly is ultimately an impressive debut for Grande.
  4. 80
    [A] surprisingly strong album.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    80
    Thankfully, Grande has the chops to pull it off, and Yours Truly makes the most of her talent.
  6. 75
    This might be the most inviting pop record of 2013, with a bubbly ebullience that makes even its most familiar moves feel fresh.
  7. Yours Truly is more tempered and less likely to put you in a beaming state of catatonia.
  8. Sep 25, 2013
    70
    A relatively safe debut where much of the takeaway is the salivating at Grande’s potential.
  9. Sep 23, 2013
    65
    Yours Truly is a very safe record. Mostly written by two of R&B's most mawkish hawkers, Babyface and Harmony Samuels, it’s built on cliché and tradition, and written professionally to a fault.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 238 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 64
  2. Negative: 5 out of 64
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Ariana Grande first debut is spetacular, a strong album with great songs and Ariana's powerful voice make this one of the best album I everAriana Grande first debut is spetacular, a strong album with great songs and Ariana's powerful voice make this one of the best album I ever listening this year so far. Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This girl is definitely one of the greatest talents that entered the biz in a long, long time! And the amazing thing is that, instead ofThis girl is definitely one of the greatest talents that entered the biz in a long, long time! And the amazing thing is that, instead of wasting that incredible voice on the bubblegum pop most people her age do nowadays, she decided to bring that late-90's urban/R&B/soul feeling back to the charts, and I think we're all grateful for that! And yes, her vocal-style and songs do remind me of Mariah sometimes, but do you guys really see that as a bad thing? Full Review »
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    I have heard a lot of albums this year and I have to say Yours Truly blew me away ...Hey this album is amazing you can hear a lot ofI have heard a lot of albums this year and I have to say Yours Truly blew me away ...Hey this album is amazing you can hear a lot of instruments good melodies that sound of the 60`s and the most important a strong and Flawless Voice! I personally think Ariana is the revelation of the year She has to win a grammy for best new artist Ariana Grande you have all my respect and support thanks for bringing real music back Full Review »