Yours Truly

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Yours Truly Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 270 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release for the Nickelodeon actress from Victorious and Sam & Cat was produced by Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds and includes guest appearances from Big Sean, Mac Miller, Mika, and the Wanted's Nathan Sykes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 91
    One of the most purely enjoyable albums of the year, powered by her lithe, Broadway-honed voice and a canny exploitation of her most "adult" indulgence: nostalgia.
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    86
    Ariana Grande's debut LP is a surprisingly varied affair for a 20-year-old Nickelodeon star with a devastatingly strong voice.
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    80
    Thankfully, Grande has the chops to pull it off, and Yours Truly makes the most of her talent.
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    80
    Minor missteps aside, Yours Truly is ultimately an impressive debut for Grande.
  5. 75
    This might be the most inviting pop record of 2013, with a bubbly ebullience that makes even its most familiar moves feel fresh.
  6. Yours Truly is more tempered and less likely to put you in a beaming state of catatonia.
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    65
    Yours Truly is a very safe record. Mostly written by two of R&B's most mawkish hawkers, Babyface and Harmony Samuels, it’s built on cliché and tradition, and written professionally to a fault.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 68
  2. Negative: 5 out of 68
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Ariana Grande first debut is spetacular, a strong album with great songs and Ariana's powerful voice make this one of the best album I everAriana Grande first debut is spetacular, a strong album with great songs and Ariana's powerful voice make this one of the best album I ever listening this year so far. Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2015
    10
    Sobre esse negócio de rainha teen, Ariana é com certeza. Esse trabalho é tão bem feito, o melhor album de uma teen, melhor que todos osSobre esse negócio de rainha teen, Ariana é com certeza. Esse trabalho é tão bem feito, o melhor album de uma teen, melhor que todos os trabalhos de Demi, Selena e Miley juntas, em questão de composições, músicas muito bem produzidas e vocal ótimo! O vocal da Ariana é realmente impecável, uma voz limpa, uma técnica ótima ao vivo, a única teen que eu consigo gostar. Yours Truly é ótimo, pra mim as únicas que deixam a desejar é Baby I, You'll never know e lovin' it mas o resto do álbum não se pode botar defeito. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    This is the best album of her! My favorite of all out there! I can not believe her powerful voice, is perfect!

    This album means a lot to
    This is the best album of her! My favorite of all out there! I can not believe her powerful voice, is perfect!

    This album means a lot to me, I don't know what to say, just feel. This album should be an inspiration to others, because they could never do anything like this.

    She's the best, I'm completely addicted to all the songs on this album, it really deserves all he could with the album!

    Best ones: Honeymoon Avenue, Tattooed Heart, Lovin 'It, The Way and Better Left Unsaid.
    Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely one of the best albums of the year. Yours truly for a first album is amazing. And by someone this young is impressive. What's amazing about this album is her voice. Ariana's voice is a gem to listen to and something you can't really find by singers these days. This is one of the best of the year because of that. Stand outs are the way, honeymoon avenue, and my favorite tattooed heart. The only reason why this Doesn't get the full ten is because only 2 songs popular song and you'll never know are the ones I don't like. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    Flawless, catchy beats set Ariana apart from all of her fellow similar-aged ex-teen competitors. Yours Truly comes together as we witness theFlawless, catchy beats set Ariana apart from all of her fellow similar-aged ex-teen competitors. Yours Truly comes together as we witness the rise of an A-class star. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    After 1 F****** Year, I'm still in love with this album. The vocals and the instrumentals are incredible. I'll hope she does some day anotherAfter 1 F****** Year, I'm still in love with this album. The vocals and the instrumentals are incredible. I'll hope she does some day another album so great as this one. Expand
  7. May 10, 2014
    1
    Mariah Carey. Regardless of who inspires you, one artist who copies another to the T, should not be considered an artists. Mariah Carey hasMariah Carey. Regardless of who inspires you, one artist who copies another to the T, should not be considered an artists. Mariah Carey has the most unique voice in modern pop music history and should not have been touched. Ariana Grande virtually robbed Mariah. Its not acceptable, unless pop culture blinds you, as it does the great majority (pop culture IS bias and prejudice [it matters not if one is commoner, president, professional, etc]). More so, MUSIC is much more than just vocals, and Arianas music is nothing special. Considering every aspect, then, Arianas music is a 4 or 5 of ten at best. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews